CeraVe • Hydrating Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(508 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MikaLovesMakeUp on 3/7/2014 6:05:00 PM more reviews by MikaLovesMakeUp

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I really like the fact that it has no particular smell. The texture is smooth, kind of like a hair conditionner. I have dry, flaky skin during the winter and I found that CeraVe makes it a lot better. I tried Cetaphil but it didn't make my skin feel as soft and clean as CeraVe. Great hydrating cleanser :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cosmic007 on 2/26/2014 10:20:00 PM more reviews by cosmic007

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This product was recommended by my dermatologist after I started taking a prescription that dried out my skin. While it doesn't lather/foam up, it's gentle on my skin. It took a bit of getting used to- as all my cleansers have been bubbly washes, and after 30-some years, change is tough. I've found I have to use a separate towelette to remove my makeup, as this cleanser is not effective enough for that. After removing my makeup, I follow up with this cleanser. I make sure to wet my face first, gently rub the cleanser into my skin in circular motions for about 30 seconds, then let the cleanser sit on my face for an extra minute before I wash it off. It washes off easily, and leaves my skin feeling fresh (not at all like Cetaphil, which I could not stand). I'm hoping this product improves the overall quality of my skin (and considering it's got hylauronic acid, there's a good chance it does) :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mibrola on 2/24/2014 12:41:00 PM more reviews by mibrola

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for three days; twice a day morning and night. Saw results immediately. Skin flaking has signifigantly reduced and the overall redness in my face has subsided as well. Be warned this is not a lathering foamy wash, in fact it feels and looks rather like a conditioner or lotion. And putting that right on your face will make you wary if you have oily skin but this has yet to cause a single breakout or pimple.
Due to oily skin I stay away from anything "hydrating" or "moisturizing", but recently I had a dry patch around my nose brought on by my liberal use of 90% alcohol to dry out huge pimples brought on by waxing my lip.... *sigh. In addition to acne, I had the wax pimples popping up, now that they were subsiding the alcohol had worked but all the dry flakes were there and even a clinique 7 day scrub wasn't taking them away. I decided somethign kind was now in order and saw this had decent reviewso n ulta. Came here to confirm then made ethe committment of $13 at a nearby target. I will continue use until summer time then alternate back with Nutrogena go-to orangey facial wash

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bakerbaker19 on 2/23/2014 3:41:00 PM more reviews by bakerbaker19

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff! It leaves me feeling clean and truly not stripped. In fact I find that Cetaphil dries me out even more than this. I would love to try other cleansers, but would probably always go back to this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pauser on 2/21/2014 9:42:00 PM more reviews by Pauser

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this cleanser! It's gentle, hydrating, and unscented. It doesn't strip my skin or leave it feeling tight after I wash. I've been using this for years. It costs about $13 for a 12-ounce bottle. I keep one on my bathroom sink and one in my shower, and I replace them maybe twice a year.

It does not remove makeup effectively, so you'll need to use a makeup remover first, but it is a gentle cleanser similar to Cetaphil with a few extra ingredients that are good for your skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lollikist on 2/20/2014 1:41:00 AM more reviews by Lollikist

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

After getting some pretty mild acne I went through all sorts of remedies, cleansers, etc. I have to say that I enjoy this the most.
This face wash is very gentle, and hydrating. I love the research behind it and I am comfortable knowing that my skin is in good hands.
I use this with my Foreo Luna Mini and it feels like such a nice facial massage. I also use it in conjunction with the moisturizing cream. My skin is left very soft and I don't see myself using any other product.
I bought this at BJs whole sale so I got two bottles for $17.99.
It's been two months of me using it and I haven't finished the first bottle yet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WynterOlly on 2/12/2014 2:51:00 AM more reviews by WynterOlly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG morning cleanser.

I have slightly oily, very sensitive skin. I break out in small flesh colored bumps and blackheads, never pimples.

This cleanser leaves my skin perfectly balanced - not oily, nor dry. It's too gentle at night to remove my makeup (concealer, powder, brow pencil, mascara, blush or Bronzer, and sometimes eyeshadow or eyeliner,) so I use a deeper cleanser with my Clarisonic at night. But for the morning, when my skin just needs a little refresher, this cleanser is perfect! Leaves my skin soft and ready for makeup. Reduces redness. Calms skin. Fragrance free. I love it(:


UPDATE: It's been a good solid 4 or 5 weeks of using this. Still my fav.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yellowease on 1/27/2014 1:56:00 PM more reviews by yellowease

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I began using this cleanser when I reintroduced cetaphil in my skincare regimen. My skin is currently recovering from a winter breakout (and perhaps the tragic result of experimenting with too many products) and while I initially started with Cetaphil, I bought this one because I found it far more gentle on my skin.

The consistency is very similar to cetaphil, it does not lather but it feels more like a cream cleanser. It is non-drying which is a plus! After I pat my face with a towel, my skin feels rehydrated and ready for my moisturizer.

The biggest plus is Cerave DOES NOT test on animals! This is my new HG cleanser.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 noname4 on 1/25/2014 10:16:00 AM more reviews by noname4

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Having a dermatitis condition on my face, I have to be careful not to irritate it. I've used Cetaphil for years and it's good, but there's something about the CeraVe that makes it better. I think it feels creamier on my skin and I just like the feel of my face after I've washed with it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DVick on 1/23/2014 11:01:00 PM more reviews by DVick

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Green    

This burns my skin on contact. Probably the alcohol in it. Don't understand how it's suppose to be gentle and hydrating. It makes my skin red and dry. I wouldn't recommend it if you have sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More CeraVe products

More Cleansers products