Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(147 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 briano1092 on 3/4/2012 11:36:00 PM more reviews by briano1092

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very weird product. Yes, it controls my shine. My face looks matte for 6-8 hours after applying this. However, when I use my fingers to touch my nose, I can see oil on my fingers but I can't see oil on my nose at all. Will not repurchase, I feel that when I use powder it give me a more matte look than this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wareagle08 on 2/19/2012 8:46:00 AM more reviews by wareagle08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this for my combination skin. I get dry patches but my t-zone is very oily, especially in the summer. I was using this just in the warmer months but I've decided to use it year round. I keep trying other primers but I always come back to this. Some days I don't have to blot at all, where with other primers or none at all I'd have to blot at least once or twice. Helps my foundation last longer and look better just because there's less oil to help it slide off and get patchy. I just use a small amount on my nose and spread it out from the center of my face. As another reviewer said, it doesn't work if you use it with another primer. It must be some chemical reaction. I find it works best on top of a very light moisturizer (I use the clinique gel usually) and then sometimes I put clarins balm on top around both sides of my nose where my biggest pores are. Definitely give this a shot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jewelryvixen305 on 1/24/2012 12:08:00 PM more reviews by jewelryvixen305

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Worked wonders at first. Kept my makeup on longer and kept the oilies at bay. But man did it my oily skin out something awful. My skin peeled and was left ashy. I think it would be great for normal skin. Won't pay again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 delta_h52 on 12/16/2011 1:24:00 PM more reviews by delta_h52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this primer! It is the best primer I have tried!

I have a really oily t-zone and nose. I put this on after moisturizer and it keep me looking fresh and my foudation is perfect all day. I don't even have to use blotting sheets at all anymore and I will powder around supper time if I have further plans. It does not 'ball up' like other primers I have tried. This is great stuff!

It is a bit pricey, but totally worth your money and a little bit goes a long way. My only other complaint would be the smell. It isn't great but I perfer it over a nasty perfume smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PeachFuzzz on 12/5/2011 4:15:00 PM more reviews by PeachFuzzz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I have super oily skin. So oily that when I was accutane my skin was far from dry. I read the reviews here and went to sephora to grab a sample. I actually waited a few days before trying the sample because I was totally over all these primers and crap that claims to control oil. THEN! I put this on and waited a full day at work and my make-up wasn't sliding around and my nose wasn't so shiny that you could see your reflection! WHAT!? a product that works? YES! It's expensive and that's my only complaint.

***EDIT*** returned this. My skin started to break out and the daily oil on my t-zone/cheeks surfaced.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ammasprajna on 12/5/2011 3:34:00 PM more reviews by ammasprajna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this for every day spf, oil control and light hydration. You just can't beat it. It's a very elegant product that performs exquisitely and does exactly what it says. I wish it was cheaper because I consider this an indispensable part of my daily skin-care routine, but it's so effective I can't resist it's charms.

Sun protection is SO important, and I have to say that the spf 15 in this isn't enough for my fair, sensitive skin on days when I spend significant time outdoors. On those days I like Shiseido Urban Environment SPF 35, which also has a lovely matte finish. But of course, many of us are using products with retinol, AHA/BHA's, etc. and we're shooting ourselves in the foot if we're not backing up all that skin-rejuvination with sun protection.

For oily/combination skin, I think Murad's Oil-Control Mattifier SPF 15 is perfect. I wouldn't use it if your skin is going through winter dryness or irritation from exfoliants, because it really does control oil and might leave you too dry. If my skin is a little on the dry side I like to layer this over a serum like Olay Regenerist.

On other thing I'd like to mention: several reviewers here have complained about this product's lack of efficacy as a primer. It's not a primer at all and doesn't claim to be! I don't wear foundation, but I do find that my Mac Mineralize Skinfinish Powder wears beautifully over this and I scrapped my Smashbox primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aufabiana on 11/23/2011 10:59:00 PM more reviews by aufabiana

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First off, I have combination skin, I am 25 years old and is living in California. This is one of those product that I would use on special occasions. I find using it too often, it will end up clogging my pores. Although i have the oiliest t-zone, it is not worth breaking out over. But when I do use it, this baby gives you a very natural matte look for a good amount of time. A touch-up may be needed, depending on how oily you are but overall, it doesn't make you ashy. It literally gave me the impression of how my skin would have looked like if I were to have normal skin. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenkenne on 10/26/2011 10:09:00 PM more reviews by jenkenne

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product has been a game changer for me, especially when paired with murad's skin perfecting lotion. I use this more like a primer, after I've applied the skin perfecting lotion and before I apply my mineral makeup. It makes a noticable difference in terms of how long the makeup lasts, how well it "sticks" to my face, and the amount of oil produced throughout the day. I've tried nearly every primer to improve the staying power of mineral makeup and this, by far, is the most effective one period. It has a thicker consistency and goes on a bit like spackle, dries to a powdery silky finish. This has become a staple in my skin care routine and I love this product!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 goldenfae on 10/16/2011 6:08:00 PM more reviews by goldenfae

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

So my face has always been really oily that I have basically given up trying to keep it shine free. And I mean really oily, that from when I wash my face to half an hr later when I get to work, I am shiny again. This stuff kept me more or less shine free during a party for 2 or 3 hours and I only had to use 2 blotting sheets for my whole face instead of 5. Score! BUT... if you are planning on having your picture taken (especially with flash), DO NOT use this as a primer. Your face will look insanely ghost like compared to your neck and like you don't know how to match your foundation/powder to your skin. I'm guessing it is because of the spf stuff that I can't think of the name right now. Or you can try a extremely thin layer of it. Or else you will want to burn all the pictures like I did. On the plus side, it is a really good sunscreen for the face.

Packaging wise, the holes for the tube and for the cap are strange. The tube one is larger than the cap so you will potentially have a lot of product build up in the cap. And it has the consistency of liquidy paste. I never store this thing cap down and I apply a lot of little dots all over my face and the spread or else I would overapply to one spot on my face just bc it won't spread.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thud on 10/14/2011 4:28:00 PM more reviews by thud

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was my HG until recently, when I was put on RX meds and my skin was too irritated to handle it. Seriously-if you've got oily skin, save up your money and BUY THIS. You'll have perfectly smooth, non-greasy skin that isn't dried out all day. I miss it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products