Murad • Oil-Control Mattifier • Moisturizers

rated 4.0(151 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sheill on 3/21/2012 9:58:00 PM more reviews by sheill

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This shit seriously works. I always kinda forget how freaking GOOD it actually stops the oilyness untill i'm somewhere without this cream.
Like today, I was at my sisters house and had a date with this guy tonight. She didnt have this cream, so I tried hers.
After the date I came home, looked at mirror, and freaked out by how shiny i was, Hence this review, I heavily feel the need to share the heavenliness of this daycream.
It just really controls the shinyness. No mather what kind of other products you use, this will work. I know its expensive but its one of the few creams for oily skin that really works. I tried Nivea, Garnier, Olay, even Paula's choice, but none of them could control the oiliness.
Seriously, you will not be disappointed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bih80 on 3/13/2012 11:54:00 AM more reviews by bih80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I seldom splurge on items but this one I will do it in a heartbeat. I have combination skin and I get very oily around my cheeks. I place half a pea-sized drop of this on my cheeks before applying any makeup and smooth it out well. This stuff certainly does what it says it'll do. It controls the oils and smooths out my skin. I ended up getting a small sample size tube and it lasted me nearly a year, so I just bought the full sized one and I fully expect it to last me years. Great stuff.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anonyym on 3/10/2012 4:01:00 PM more reviews by anonyym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this day cream!!! My skin still get oily, but deffently not as much as it used to. I will buy it again!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JackHawkins37 on 3/7/2012 3:33:00 PM more reviews by JackHawkins37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This product is great, it shrinks my pores, controls my oilly skin and has even left me receiving compliments about whether I am wearing make-up or not! Which I don't :)
Would recommend this is if you have oily skin, will always buy!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 briano1092 on 3/4/2012 11:36:00 PM more reviews by briano1092

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very weird product. Yes, it controls my shine. My face looks matte for 6-8 hours after applying this. However, when I use my fingers to touch my nose, I can see oil on my fingers but I can't see oil on my nose at all. Will not repurchase, I feel that when I use powder it give me a more matte look than this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wareagle08 on 2/19/2012 8:46:00 AM more reviews by wareagle08

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this for my combination skin. I get dry patches but my t-zone is very oily, especially in the summer. I was using this just in the warmer months but I've decided to use it year round. I keep trying other primers but I always come back to this. Some days I don't have to blot at all, where with other primers or none at all I'd have to blot at least once or twice. Helps my foundation last longer and look better just because there's less oil to help it slide off and get patchy. I just use a small amount on my nose and spread it out from the center of my face. As another reviewer said, it doesn't work if you use it with another primer. It must be some chemical reaction. I find it works best on top of a very light moisturizer (I use the clinique gel usually) and then sometimes I put clarins balm on top around both sides of my nose where my biggest pores are. Definitely give this a shot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jewelryvixen305 on 1/24/2012 12:08:00 PM more reviews by jewelryvixen305

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Worked wonders at first. Kept my makeup on longer and kept the oilies at bay. But man did it my oily skin out something awful. My skin peeled and was left ashy. I think it would be great for normal skin. Won't pay again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 delta_h52 on 12/16/2011 1:24:00 PM more reviews by delta_h52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this primer! It is the best primer I have tried!

I have a really oily t-zone and nose. I put this on after moisturizer and it keep me looking fresh and my foudation is perfect all day. I don't even have to use blotting sheets at all anymore and I will powder around supper time if I have further plans. It does not 'ball up' like other primers I have tried. This is great stuff!

It is a bit pricey, but totally worth your money and a little bit goes a long way. My only other complaint would be the smell. It isn't great but I perfer it over a nasty perfume smell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PeachFuzzz on 12/5/2011 4:15:00 PM more reviews by PeachFuzzz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I have super oily skin. So oily that when I was accutane my skin was far from dry. I read the reviews here and went to sephora to grab a sample. I actually waited a few days before trying the sample because I was totally over all these primers and crap that claims to control oil. THEN! I put this on and waited a full day at work and my make-up wasn't sliding around and my nose wasn't so shiny that you could see your reflection! WHAT!? a product that works? YES! It's expensive and that's my only complaint.

***EDIT*** returned this. My skin started to break out and the daily oil on my t-zone/cheeks surfaced.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ammasprajna on 12/5/2011 3:34:00 PM more reviews by ammasprajna

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this for every day spf, oil control and light hydration. You just can't beat it. It's a very elegant product that performs exquisitely and does exactly what it says. I wish it was cheaper because I consider this an indispensable part of my daily skin-care routine, but it's so effective I can't resist it's charms.

Sun protection is SO important, and I have to say that the spf 15 in this isn't enough for my fair, sensitive skin on days when I spend significant time outdoors. On those days I like Shiseido Urban Environment SPF 35, which also has a lovely matte finish. But of course, many of us are using products with retinol, AHA/BHA's, etc. and we're shooting ourselves in the foot if we're not backing up all that skin-rejuvination with sun protection.

For oily/combination skin, I think Murad's Oil-Control Mattifier SPF 15 is perfect. I wouldn't use it if your skin is going through winter dryness or irritation from exfoliants, because it really does control oil and might leave you too dry. If my skin is a little on the dry side I like to layer this over a serum like Olay Regenerist.

On other thing I'd like to mention: several reviewers here have complained about this product's lack of efficacy as a primer. It's not a primer at all and doesn't claim to be! I don't wear foundation, but I do find that my Mac Mineralize Skinfinish Powder wears beautifully over this and I scrapped my Smashbox primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Moisturizers products