MAC • Studio Sculpt SPF 15 Foundation • Liquid

rated 3.5(1084 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 kayliexx on 2/27/2014 3:21:00 PM more reviews by kayliexx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

**UPDATE** I tried applying this with my Pur Minerals powder foundation brush which is basically a small kabuki brush with a longer handle on it. This made the application FLAWLESS, quick and easy. Love it!! It made getting full coverage on the first application effortless. Would definitely recommend trying your kabuki brush with this foundation rather than a flat liquid foundation brush!!

Love this foundation for my dry, flaky, (yet oily on nose and chin) combination type skin. I also love the coverage and the colour is the closest I've come to my actual colour (extremely pale with pink undertones). I experience a lot of redness, especially on my nose, and this in combination with the studio fix concealer does a great job of hiding it. My only critique is that while after setting with my Cover FX matte setting powder in the morning (and looking flawless I might add), I do find that later on that day it starts to transfer and become oily on my nose and chin area. This might be solved by using a different setting powder (suggestions??) or by just carrying a compact powder with me to set it through out the day. This is most likely because of its gel formula that is quite hydrating (great on my forehead, not so much on my nose). I also have a difficult time perfecting the application of this foundation as using my fingers is quite time consuming and a flat foundation brush can leave it streaky and not giving as full coverage as I know it can give. I will just have to keep searching for the perfect brush for this. The next foundation I buy may be a different one as I like to try new things, but this is a good one for sure that I may end up coming back to some day.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nickys79 on 2/27/2014 4:57:00 AM more reviews by nickys79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have repurchased this product 3 times! and considering I am so fickle and get bored with things quickly that's pretty incredible. I am a woman in my 30's with fine lines and have dry skin, this foundation looks amazing on me, I like quite a full coverage which is hard as I have dry skin and I always end up with cake face... not with this, love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 brionyw on 2/17/2014 7:18:00 PM more reviews by brionyw

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm really fussy with foundations, and really struggle to find one that ticks all the boxes to suit my ridiculously complicated skin. This was definitely the best I've found so far. The colour matched perfectly ( I have a very pale, ashy, pink toned completion and NC15 is the only colour I've found that matches). My skin is very dry, especially in winter, but because this is gel based it doesn't increase dryness, in fact I think it's even helped slightly. It's quite dewy and wet looking when first applied but with just a light layer of powder it looks flawlessly matte. I find it can be a little awkward to apply, the best way I've found is just dabbling on a tiny bit at a time and really blending it in with a stippling brush ( I like Mac 187). The coverage is great, I need very little product and just a hint of concealer on my acne scars and dark circles and my skin looks flawless. The best part is it hasn't brought me on it spots, which heavy makeup tends to do.

Overall I'm pretty happy with the product, probably wouldn't be great for oily skin but for dry skin like mine it works really well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* HottSauce on 2/11/2014 8:00:00 PM more reviews by HottSauce

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is great stuff. A Wonderful foundation find. I bought this because I had a company party to go to and I'm impressed. It's winter so I have dry skin at the moment and this stuff goes on so creamy, smooth, and leaves a dewy finish behind. Perfect for normal-dry skin. At first application is will be "wet" and then gets drier after some minutes. My skin drinks up all that dewiness quickly. Also with setting powder, it tones down the dewiness. Besides that, this foundation NEEDS to be set, otherwise it will easily rub off/disappear. I was in a hurry once and forgot to set it and I learned my lesson. But when set, this is amazing!!! This is medium-full coverage. This product can easily be sheered out. I wish there was an In between shade. Nc42 is great but could be slightly darker but nc44 is too dark,only in summertime will be ok. I danced, hugged people, took photos and at the end of a long night, my makeup still looked fabulous. Everything is covered, nothing bad extenuated, no breakouts....but oily skinned ladies, this is not for you unfortunately. I used to have oily skin before medication and my skin would explode if I would put such a foundation on my skin back then. I don't think I'll wear it I'm summer either. I could get away with it, but lots of touch ups. I really like the squeeze out tube packaging. The price isn't that bad either compared to my shiseido foundation. My first MAC foundation. I would buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 1/31/2014 10:24:00 PM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this for a little while now and love it. It's almost full coverage on me. I asked for something for dry skin that would be fuller coverage without looking cakey and dull. the rep suggested this. I am very happy with it.

It is hydrating and looks like skin. It's slightly dewy but not dewy. More like a natural skin-like finish. I have this foundation and the Mineralize liquid. I like this one more. The other one can get too dewy especially in summer.

I have heard it accentuates pores and lines but it does not on me. It lasts all day on me, today for example I was doing stuff all day outside and in and it lasted til I took it off after 12 hours. I did not see any breakthrough or wear that I do see with others, like Givenchy's. I love that foundation and looks like skin and covers well, BUT it shows serious wear after only 4 hours. That is unacceptable to me for the price it is.

I had no breakouts with this either, which is another concern people have with MAC. I have sensitive skin with rosacea and I had no problems. It doesn't feel sticky or weird either, BUT you DO have to let it dry down after applying it. DO NOT set it with powder ASAP. Wait a few minutes.

Another plus I have with this is the packaging. It is not a glass bottle. It's a tube like a CC cream and I find it much easier to use.

All in all, I would repurchase this and I am very happy with it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mackenzielovesmac on 1/29/2014 8:23:00 PM more reviews by mackenzielovesmac

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I recently got this product a few days ago, and so far i am loving the finish of this foundation. I have normal to dry skin, so this looks great on me. i had heard that mac foundations tend to make you breakout, but so far it hasn't made me breakout. You do need a pretty heavy finishing powder because it is left a little wet and it does take a little time to dry but i have no problem doing my brows waiting for it to dry! It stays on ALL day... and i mean ALLLLL day. I do recommend this product to someone who doesn't want a full full coverage, just something to cover a little blemishes and make your skin look flawless and even.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pattsy on 1/27/2014 2:15:00 PM more reviews by pattsy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is probably my favourite MAC foundation so far! While I'm usually a bigger fan of matte foundations this one just looks so natural and beautiful.

My only issue with this is that NW15 is still just that tiniest bit too dark for my skin. I have tried diluting it with moisturiser, which works wonders for the colour, but it takes away the beautiful consistency and light-weighted feel of this product, and of course alters the finish. I wish they'd bring out an NW10. Also, like with many MAC foundations, it tends to be a bit too pink.

It generally lasts most of the day when I wear this over primer, in hotter weather it can wear off a lot faster though, and look oily. So I need to keep a powder compact around.
I apply the foundation lightly with a stippling brush most of the time. I don't really like the finish when I use a normal foundation brush, and I find that because of the thicker nature of the foundation it doesn't always spread out as well if I don't stipple.

If it weren't for the colour I probably would have given this one 5/5! The price here in Australia is a bit ridiculous too, at $52 a tube! However, you do get a decent amount (there's a lot more in there than it looks!)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Annelindw on 1/26/2014 10:11:00 AM more reviews by Annelindw

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I like this foundation. It is moisturizing and has great coverage. I can apply it with my fingers or a flat foundation brush - works great either way.

I find it great that there's SPF in it, since I'm not the sun's best friend (redhead)... It has a sunscreen ish smell, I think, which doesn't really bother me.

One thing that I am a little upset about is the color range. I have NC15, and I can get away with wearing it and not looking weird, but still I'd need a tad lighter color tbh.

The packaging is convenient, since it takes up little space, when traveling and also you can get the amount of product that you need, because it's a tube.

4/5 because of the color range - lovely foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 screensiren on 1/24/2014 8:27:00 PM more reviews by screensiren

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I prefer the studio fluid for my combination acne prone skin, but this is an excellent choice for someone normal to dry who wants full coverage while still feeling light. I do still like this for a more natural look, not for all day wear on my skin type

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Siobhan88 on 1/24/2014 12:41:00 AM more reviews by Siobhan88

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

My 40something skin is mostly on the dry side, especially in the winter. My favorite foundations eventually start showing the flakiness and dry patches mid-winter, so I switch to this a few months of the year. Though the consistency is unusual, it is very creamy, moisturizing, and a little goes a long way. I use UD's optical blurring blush to apply for a light to medium coverage. It does nicely evening out skin tone, but you might need a concealer from more troublesome areas like dark circles. It leaves a dewy finish that is quite nice, but I set it with MAC MSF Natural due to it taking longer to set. With a primer, it usually lasts most of the day. It isn't transfer-proof, but on the other hand, it is never gets all over my collar or coat. I like a variety of foundations for their different finishes and coverages. This isn't an HG for me, but it is the best thing for me in the winter that doesn't transfer all over or accentuate my dry skin. MAC Face and Body would be my next choice for winter foundations, but that formula is more sheer. MAC has a new moisturizing foundation that might work for some, but I haven't tried it. For reference, I wear this in NW20, and my non-winter foundations include MAC Studio Fix liquid, MAC F&B, MUFE HD, Smashbox Halo liquid, or Guerlain Lingerie de Peau.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Liquid products