MAC • Penultimate Eye Liner - Rapidblack • Eyeliner

rated 3.1(242 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.45%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsHepburn on 2/11/2012 7:47:00 PM more reviews by MsHepburn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is Liquid Eyeliner for Dummies. I used to use Clinique's liquid eyeliner, which is gorgeous and also quite easy to use after some practice but I still always needed a quick swipe with a cotton bud to get rid of little irregularities in my 'line'. The penultimate liner is basically a felt tip pen, like the ones you used to use in preschool. You can't really mess this up. The felt tip isn't quite as hard/solid/rigid as the ones I used when I was 5 but still sturdy enough for a clean line.

I have had this for over 6 months and use it almost every day, and it's still working perfectly. I saw in some of the reviews that people were saying it was drying out or not coming out really black anymore after a while, but for me that hasn't been the case. Just out of curiosity I also purchased the Shiseido pen liner, but that is a bit harder to apply properly as it is more of a tiny brush than a felt tip and also didn't stay on as long. The MAC one I can wear all day and it will stay put, but the Shiseido one had more or less come off when I came home and looked in the mirror.

Anyway for people with a steady hand and a knack for this sort of thing I still think the Clinique one is very nice, as unfortunately the MAC one only comes in black and not in dark brown or other softer colours. I'm quite dark myself so I don' mind, but if you're very fair this might be too harsh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Shiorin on 2/2/2012 3:17:00 PM more reviews by Shiorin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I can't be more disappointed with this eyeliner ...I was allergic to one of the ingredients in this product and my eyelids swelled :( It happened after the third application so I'm not very impressed the product otherwise either. The pen is not very good quality. The worst about this product was that it didn't seem to last for very long...(If you want to have a good quality pen liner that will last Stila is one to go.) In my case I had to bin this one and I'm gutted I had to pay 15!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rachelrainbow on 1/4/2012 6:25:00 PM more reviews by rachelrainbow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is a godsend for people like me who struggle to apply normal liquid liner easily. Really easy to apply though sometimes the colour comes out faint so have to go over it. Stays on well though does start to smudge when sweaty or nearing the end of the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yotabunny on 12/21/2011 5:50:00 PM more reviews by yotabunny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have purchased this liner 4 times already. It's my go to, quick liner for a sleek black line, thin or thick. If I sweat too much (working out) or somehow get soaking wet it may run a little but otherwise it stays very well, is an intense black and is pretty easy to use. It also travels well, love this product, I use it quite often, even over other liners, just for an intensified look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Fairuzrizky on 12/6/2011 3:26:00 AM more reviews by Fairuzrizky

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Even it's easy to use it but the eyeliner doesn't fit for the oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sairababy on 10/23/2011 11:11:00 PM more reviews by sairababy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Ditto what all the other negative reviews stated. Felt tip dries out very fast. For this price, the product/packaging should be better quality and last longer. I have dark skin, and the black liner fades halfway into the day. Won't be repurchasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lbxgreen on 10/6/2011 10:18:00 PM more reviews by lbxgreen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am sadly disappointed. I at first thought this eyeliner would be smoothly to glide on, won't smudge, easy application. I was wrong, sure all of those happened at first but as I use it more and more the tip dried out. Total waste of money right there. I wouldn't recommend this. But I do recommend it to people who likes a light application of the chosen color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blissfulnessx on 10/2/2011 8:05:00 PM more reviews by blissfulnessx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I like this eyeliner, it's pretty good. Took just one lippie
off cause it isnt as black as i like my eyeliner to be, but oh well, i can live with that. The formula is really great. Goes on very smoothly, dries superfast and does not smudge, even when you have a combination skin like me that tends to get oily during the day! I also noticed it doesnt dry out and lasts forever! I've been using it for over 4 months now and it's still as good as new.

I remember having big issues with liquid eyeliner, because of the fact that i like
to curl my lashes with a curler AFTER i'd put on my eyeliner and i
always managed to make a whole mess of it. İ'd end
up re-painting the line i had screwed up. I still
am clumsy when working with a lash curler but with
Penultimate my eyeliner stays put no matter how crazy it gets, cause
it dries sooo fast. If you are really looking for a highly pigmented
eyeliner i wouldnt recommend this as it is not really really black, but outside that it's good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kdenae88 on 8/25/2011 10:51:00 AM more reviews by kdenae88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this!!! I find it a little harder to apply than gel liner, but I do like it!! I love the fact that its a pen, it makes for better precision and so much easier to apply than the normal liquid liner application. It dries quickly and stays put!! I really like this!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Catarah on 8/15/2011 2:06:00 PM more reviews by Catarah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I was really looking for a dramatic liquid eyeliner so I decided to buy this. At first like alot of reviews mentioned, it was vibrant and very easy to use. After about a week, it turned out to be extremely dull, not pigmented, and the felt tip started to dry up. I made sure the cover was always on, but nothing. I do like the idea of the pen type eyeliner mainly for precision, but this fell really short for me. I'd rather use my Mac blacktrack or even Palladio from Sally's beauty supply for a fraction of the price!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products