MAC Penultimate Eye Liner - Rapidblack

3.1

244 reviews

44% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/10/2012 9:16:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Unbelievable. I've been using liquid liners for more than three years now, and while at the MAC store the salesperson introduced me to this. He recommended this, as it is easier to apply (precision felt tip) instead of the normal messiness a liquid liner would give, plus a tiny bit cheaper. I decided to give it a try, but regret it till this date. Giving SGD 31 for this is worthless in my opinion, as an SGD 6.90 eyeliner did the job better. It never was liquidy, and the colour never came out dark. It always faded in 2-3 hours (without sweating or anything). And now the tip is dried, the product will only come out for like half of an eye, so obviously I don't use it. It dried up within 1 month of irregular use (not everyday, just a maximum of thrice a week). I was extremely disappointed as it was my first MAC, and now I'm scared to use MAC products because they're pricey and I fear it will let me down just like this one. Definitely not recommending nor rebuying!! And people, DO NOT BUY THIS!



on 2/20/2012 8:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Very easy to use, but the quality is disappointing. I need to apply it multiple times to get the dark color desired. Iíve used cheap eyeliners that do a much better job. Also the tip dries out too fast. I will not repurchase.


on 2/11/2012 7:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is Liquid Eyeliner for Dummies. I used to use Clinique's liquid eyeliner, which is gorgeous and also quite easy to use after some practice but I still always needed a quick swipe with a cotton bud to get rid of little irregularities in my 'line'. The penultimate liner is basically a felt tip pen, like the ones you used to use in preschool. You can't really mess this up. The felt tip isn't quite as hard/solid/rigid as the ones I used when I was 5 but still sturdy enough for a clean line.

I have had this for over 6 months and use it almost every day, and it's still working perfectly. I saw in some of the reviews that people were saying it was drying out or not coming out really black anymore after a while, but for me that hasn't been the case. Just out of curiosity I also purchased the Shiseido pen liner, but that is a bit harder to apply properly as it is more of a tiny brush than a felt tip and also didn't stay on as long. The MAC one I can wear all day and it will stay put, but the Shiseido one had more or less come off when I came home and looked in the mirror.

Anyway for people with a steady hand and a knack for this sort of thing I still think the Clinique one is very nice, as unfortunately the MAC one only comes in black and not in dark brown or other softer colours. I'm quite dark myself so I don' mind, but if you're very fair this might be too harsh.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/2/2012 3:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I can't be more disappointed with this eyeliner ...I was allergic to one of the ingredients in this product and my eyelids swelled :( It happened after the third application so I'm not very impressed the product otherwise either. The pen is not very good quality. The worst about this product was that it didn't seem to last for very long...(If you want to have a good quality pen liner that will last Stila is one to go.) In my case I had to bin this one and I'm gutted I had to pay £15!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is a godsend for people like me who struggle to apply normal liquid liner easily. Really easy to apply though sometimes the colour comes out faint so have to go over it. Stays on well though does start to smudge when sweaty or nearing the end of the day.


on 12/21/2011 5:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I have purchased this liner 4 times already. It's my go to, quick liner for a sleek black line, thin or thick. If I sweat too much (working out) or somehow get soaking wet it may run a little but otherwise it stays very well, is an intense black and is pretty easy to use. It also travels well, love this product, I use it quite often, even over other liners, just for an intensified look.


on 12/6/2011 3:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Even it's easy to use it but the eyeliner doesn't fit for the oily skin.


on 10/23/2011 11:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Ditto what all the other negative reviews stated. Felt tip dries out very fast. For this price, the product/packaging should be better quality and last longer. I have dark skin, and the black liner fades halfway into the day. Won't be repurchasing.


on 10/6/2011 10:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am sadly disappointed. I at first thought this eyeliner would be smoothly to glide on, won't smudge, easy application. I was wrong, sure all of those happened at first but as I use it more and more the tip dried out. Total waste of money right there. I wouldn't recommend this. But I do recommend it to people who likes a light application of the chosen color.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I like this eyeliner, it's pretty good. Took just one lippie
off cause it isnt as black as i like my eyeliner to be, but oh well, i can live with that. The formula is really great. Goes on very smoothly, dries superfast and does not smudge, even when you have a combination skin like me that tends to get oily during the day! I also noticed it doesnt dry out and lasts forever! I've been using it for over 4 months now and it's still as good as new.

I remember having big issues with liquid eyeliner, because of the fact that i like
to curl my lashes with a curler AFTER i'd put on my eyeliner and i
always managed to make a whole mess of it. İ'd end
up re-painting the line i had screwed up. I still
am clumsy when working with a lash curler but with
Penultimate my eyeliner stays put no matter how crazy it gets, cause
it dries sooo fast. If you are really looking for a highly pigmented
eyeliner i wouldnt recommend this as it is not really really black, but outside that it's good!


Back to Top