Essie • Mademoiselle • Polishes

rated 4.4(382 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ArizonaAngel on 7/24/2012 12:04:00 AM more reviews by ArizonaAngel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Easy to use - gives you a great, pink and polished nail. No streaks for me. Very sheer - I use this on my fingernails with one coat to even out my nail bed, two for a bit more opacity but it still is sheer. Nothing eye-popping or dramatic, but classy and clean. Will always be a staple in my stash!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rimanuela1 on 7/10/2012 5:59:00 PM more reviews by rimanuela1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

On my NC 25 skin it was like a shiny clear polish... You need 4 coats if you want a light pinkish color... will not buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Roxxy6341 on 7/10/2012 5:25:00 PM more reviews by Roxxy6341

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I think everything about this polish has already been said. It's a sheer (very sheer) milky pink with a blue undertone. This was used by a manicurist when he did a french manicure on me and I knew I had to have it. It is just sheer enough to paint over the white tips without making them look pink. This is a staple polish for me for french manicures. I'm almost done with my first bottle, and will repurchase. The reason I gave it 4/5 is for the obvious fact that this color is time consuming to build up. If you want that opaque color you will need at least 3 coats, granted it looks very pretty when you do.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MissMelanieM on 6/27/2012 10:41:00 PM more reviews by MissMelanieM

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Barely noticeable. Run of the mill sheer pink shade. May as well buy Sally Hansen Hard as Nails sheer pink in that fun vintagey bottle. Looks exactly the same.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sexylovie84 on 6/27/2012 10:30:00 PM more reviews by sexylovie84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this is a nice, paler alternative to my usual favorite ballet slippers. One coat appears useless, and the second/third coat is where the magic is. I did like 3 coats on top of white tips on natural nails. It looks nice on it's own. I would rather use something with more color.. this takes too many coats to have a purpose

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 CristiK on 6/22/2012 1:01:00 AM more reviews by CristiK

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Nice colour in the bottle, but goes on very sheer and tends to streak. Also too light for my skin tone. Meh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nixsticks on 6/17/2012 3:47:00 PM more reviews by nixsticks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just started painting my nails after a several-year hiatus -- I'm usually much too lazy, but I need to stop some bad habits and having pretty nails is a deterrent. So keep in mind that I'm not particularly skilled at applying nail polish.



I tried two other Essie pinks, True Love and BBF (technically a "mauve" but still quite pink). Then I tried Mademoiselle, but was skeptical due to all the hype.



I love it. It's totally worth the hype. Well, not if you want opaque color... it took four (very thin) coats for me to get a semi-opaque color, which to me means opaque except for VNL. But I've found it almost impossible to find a pale pink that doesn't make my warm tan skin look dirty; most of them are cool/blue-toned. Mademoiselle is so clean and pretty. It does apply streaky if you don't do it right, but I've found that to be true of all nail polish. I'm not very good at it, and I have perfect, even nails right now.



Also, weirdly enough, I remember trying OPI Bubble Bath a long time ago and thinking the color didn't live up to the adorable name. This one does!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Maurie97 on 6/6/2012 6:47:00 PM more reviews by Maurie97

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Love Essie nail polish but this one I could do without. I know its a classic and i guess if you are looking for something basically clear it's good. You get a just polished nice look but that's IT. If I am going through all the work of a manicure I just want something a teeny bit darker. Does not look like what you see in bottle. Yes, its a clean look but like another post said, you could probably get the same look with buffing your own nails. Just OK for me but I returned mine and will stick with Ballet Slippers or OPI's Bubble Bath for a tad more color. I do love Essie though, just not this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* franzvonstuck on 5/7/2012 3:01:00 PM more reviews by franzvonstuck

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

For years, this was my first and only Essie polish.
It is a true classic and you can easily see why: Neutral, glossy, clean nude colour, that makes your nails look like a dream.
Thereīs nothing special about this colour and you might think of it as another boring neutral.
But I tell you: My nails look clean and fresh, glossy and healthy. Simple nail polish, but effective as a "nail-beautifier".
Essie describes it as a classic grown up pink.
It goes well with my NC 20/BB sand skin-tone and my nails, that tend to look yellowish with the wrong colour.
I painted it on my auntīs nails and on my motherīs nails. Both are totally different types with totally different skin-tones than mine and it worked on both!
I dare to say that most women can wear this colour, but as with every other colour, there may be an exception to the rule.
I also agree with another reviewer, that this is not meant to be opaque. The sheer pinkish milkiness is one of the classic features of this colour.
As I also own sugar daddy from Essie, I can say that sugar daddy has a stronger pink undertone and while I can build mademoiselle with 2 or 3 coats, sugar daddy becomes to pink on my nails with more than one coat.
So, in a way, mademoiselle is more neutral than sugar daddy, although love them both.
I use it on my hands and toes and love to wear it summertime or wintertime.
It doesīt streak and lasts forever.
I love mademoiselle and it is "the" nude colour from Essie.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LizBabe12 on 4/8/2012 11:33:00 AM more reviews by LizBabe12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I hate to give an essie polish a low rating! Essie polishes and my second favorite brand right behind OPI. The reason I only gave Essie's Mademoiselle 3 stars is for two reasons, the price, and pigmentation.

THE PRICE:
Now paying close to nine dollars (In Canada) is fair amount of money for a tiny bottle. I didn't think much of it, because I own close to 10 essie polishes, and this is probably the only own I've ever had any sort of issue with. I bought the color and brought it home, I painted it on my nails right away hoping for a color close to Mod About You by OPI. Now I realize that this color isn't opaque. Which brings me to my next point.

THE PIGMENTATION:
I don't like the opacity of this polish. To get the actual color the bottle claims to contain you need close to 6 coats. 6 coats of nail polish is way to much for a nine dollar polish.

Now the reason that this polish got 3 stars is because, for a french manicure I love this color. It's a beautiful gloss with a touch of a nudey-pink. If you're looking for a 2-coater light pink I'd go for Mod About You by OPI. This is a great french manicure color, and I love it for that purpose. This polish doesn't have the opacity that I was hoping for, but I still will wear this color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products