E.L.F. Mineral Booster


98 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $


Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Talc, Magnesium Stearate, Dimethicone/Vinyl Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Silica, Retinyl Palmitate (Va), Panthenol (Vb), Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate (Vc), Tocopheryl Acetate (Ve), Sodium Dehydroacetate May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)

on 2/19/2011 7:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Got this in shimmer and the huge sheer one and I really like them.
Shimmer review: I wouldn't really call it "shimmer" it's more of a pearlescent kind of glow. Not sure how to describe it but oh well. Basically, don't go expecting huge bits of shimmer, the shimmer is TINY and I can barely even notice it, I really need to stare at my face to see it. Keeps me matte which is a must, my skin's so oily - if I wash my face, an hour afterwards I will be completely oily. So you can see my dilemma with oily skin. This is good though. Won't repurchase the shimmery one because you can get a large one in sheer which is much better value and when reapplying, the shimmer won't build up. Very finely milled.

I have to apply this very regularly to keep the shine down. Once I do that, the shimmer does build up and become more noticable. However, I won't be knocking a lippie off for that because it's due to my extremely oily skin that I have to repeatedly apply and most people won't have to deal with that.
Sheer: much better. I can apply this over and over and won't have to worry about the shimmer build up. It absorbs oil without making me look orange and cakey. It's really good for setting concealer and foundation too. If you buy this, it would help if you only open a few of the holes to avoid mess!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 2/15/2011 11:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have mixed feelings about this product but realistically I do not think I like it.

I do like that it makes my skin feel baby soft....

I like that you get a good amount of powder, it comes completely full whereas some loose powders seem like they come half empty.

I love the price

It doesn't sink into my fine lines under my eyes too badly but I've used better.

It controls my shine OK but then again I have dry skin, I'm not that oily to begin with.

...With that said the deal breaker for me is that I do not like the color of the powder. Its way too pink for my NC44 skin. Its weird cause yes it is translucent but I get a pink cast that totally brings the pink out of my foundation. Not Cute! I think I would like it a lot more if it were yellow-based, I've been hearing that the BMMV is yellow-based and I think I'm going to try that.

Overall I can only use this with a really light hand (to avoid looking like a piglet!) and I'm going to keep it because I use it on my mom who is a lot lighter than me. It works very well for her because she has natural pink undertones in her skin. But I won't repurchase this.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a great powder, and a great alternative to ELF HD powder, depending on what foundation you're using. I use the HD powder to set heavier coverage makeup, or over a sheer foundation if I want to keep the dewy effect. This one is a little thicker - but still it is very finely milled and transparent - so the mattyfing power is higher, it really manages to make my foundation last extra hours! It never cakes and adds a nice natural glow to my skin. I can reapply throughout the day without it looking fake or overdone. Also, it's very mild and I would say suitable for dry and sensitive skin, it doesn't emphasize lines or dry patches. My mother (50s) and my two aunts (40s) use this with great success.
I believe this is probably the best value for money powder that you can find around!!
and my two aunts (40s)

on 1/1/2011 8:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This powder does an ok job at controlling shine, but the color is horrible! I wore it for a couple of days until I realized it looked orange/red on my face! Horrible horrible. And this was during the summer when I'm a bit tanned. My skin tone is pure neutral and this didn't work for me at all. I think it could work for certain skin tones (pink), but certainly not for neutral skin.

on 1/1/2011 3:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

At least for me, this powder didn't control shine as much as I'd like. I have combination skin, and even after using this product, my skin was super oily toward the middle of the day. I wouldn't buy it again at all. And FYI: if you're looking for a great loose powder, try Palladio's Rice Powder-- it's really effective.

on 11/18/2010 3:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a nice and good finishing powder! It is similar to Mineral Veil, contains a lot of similar ingredients - but cheaper. It does not keep the skin "matte"/fresh-looking as long as MV does, but still it is almost as good....

It minimizes pores a little and gives a soft look, without any breakouts or irritations in the skin ( I have extremly sensitive skin, beside that it is acne-prone)... The only con, in my opinion, is that it is a little pink in the colour (Mineral veil is more yellow compared to this) and cause i'm so pale you can se a difference of colour in my face when i wear this...

on 11/15/2010 5:50:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

pretty comparable to the b.e mineral veil, dxceptthis has more of peachy tint to it,, which I like since the veil doesn't show up sheer on me, but this mineral booster does. it's not the best but it's a good bang for your buck, i wish it had better staying power but it's not bad for $8.

on 9/7/2010 10:35:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought the shimmer version of this product, mainly because I thought it looked cooler and pinker than the sheer version (better for my colouring) but also because I was going on holiday and fancied something cheerful with a subtle shimmer. I knew there was a danger of looking like a glitter ball, but at 3.50 I decided to take the chance.

It's a lovely pale ivory powder with a slight pink shift. This is ideal for me, as with my pale skin, rosy cheeks, and at this time of the year a bit of a tan there is plenty of uneven skin tone to be dealt with. And this powder does the trick! It works it's magic without settling into wrinkles or looking obvious or "made up"... and the price is right!

I'd wear this every single day...if it wasn't for the shimmer.

The shimmer is actually quite lovely in a holiday situation, but it is definitely a tad glittery and I'll need something subtler now the holiday is over. I'll buy the sheer version and hope it won't turn out too warm for me, but I'd certainly recommend this powder anyway because if it suits you the quality for the price is astonishing. I will certainly buy again.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 8/26/2010 11:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

My fav setting powder! Never makes me cakey when I put the right amount on and looks fresh and natural. Doesn't offer too much colour, if any at all, and keeps down shine nicely. Will repurchase until they stop selling it!

on 8/24/2010 1:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The yellow color is utterly amazing on me. I've been wearing a cooler-toned foundation because I love the formula but can't find a good color match. So when I put the yellow-toned powder on top, it balances everything out. This is a very finely milled powder that applies smoothly and evenly. I'm normally pretty oily, but this has been a miracle worker in the oil-suppression department. Looks and feels 100% natural on the skin.

A huge win!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Recommended for Normal Skin

Back to Top