Givenchy • Phenomen'eyes Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.4(300 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.48%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Akaia on 4/3/2012 4:03:00 PM more reviews by Akaia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this one, but is so freaking expensive! $30 for a tube, in which you need every month probably. If you only wear mascara and no other makeup i can see how it would be worth buying every month, but still, I would not say it's worth $30.
The formula is definitely one of the best at sephora! don't let the brush throw you off. the way it works is you get the base and corners of your lashes with the small brush, which i love! It curls, volumizes, and lengthens. if you can afford it, buy it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heartsinwonderland on 3/27/2012 1:55:00 PM more reviews by heartsinwonderland

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I never ever wear make-up, I only do skin care. I curl my lashes, but I don't wear mascara. But when I do, I use this. It's hands down THE best I've ever tried. I really do think it's the brush. It fans out my lashes, lengthens them, and makes this look great! And when I take it off, my lashes still feel healthy and light. This is the best, it's definitely expensive, but worth the splurge.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 elyse34 on 3/22/2012 3:13:00 PM more reviews by elyse34

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Clumpsville! I first bought the waterproof version and it was incredibly clumpy. I exchanged it for the non-waterproof formula and it was still clumpy! I'm continuing to experiment though and I am not convinced I'm applying it in the best manner--I like the idea of being able to reach all the little lashes but so far it hasn't been working out. If I figure out a way to apply that works I will amend this review but for now I'm not satisfied with this purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ellenmd on 2/14/2012 9:04:00 PM more reviews by ellenmd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Just got this today. Never thought I would get a mascara this expensive or this unusual, but the SA at Sephora went right for it when I asked for a brown mascara that would go with my red hair. In response to all the reviewers who complained that this ran and smudged, she did insist I get the waterproof version. I usually reserve waterproof mascara for pool days because I heard it was not good for your lashes, but since I use a cream (Clinique Comforting Cream Cleanser) to remove all my make up, I knew removal would not be a problem. I was quite impressed with how she did my lashes. I also bought the Givenchy eyebrow pencil in blonde (she said it was best for my coloring), and she tried to sell me the new Mister Light concealer to highlight under the brow and under the eyes. I will wait on that expensive purchase. But I think the insistence on the waterproof version was because she knew the regular version had deficiencies. Hopefully I will avoid the problems with this mascara and only enjoy the benefits. I will keep this updated, but for those of you who loved the concept but had smearing problems, try the waterproof one!

Now getting the hang of using the ball/brush. This lasts pretty well and doesn't smudge. Once you master the application, I think this is a pretty impressive mascara. I never swayed from my Almay One Coat Thickening mascara for many, many years. And I still think it is phenomenal, one coat and full lashes. But lately most tubes I buy are already dried out before I've even used them. That's really poor quality control or a bad change in formula. Either way, I started an extensive search for a new mascara. I'd love to find a little less expensive one. I tried the Estee Lauder Sumptuous in Brown, but it seems to take many coats to get the results I'got with one coat of the Almay. The Givenchy gives good coverage if you swipe the ball over the tops of the top lashes and then try to coat them from bottom to top. Its great for the bottom lashes, just coat each individually or swish the ball across the whole bottom lash. Once you find the application technique that is best and fastest for you, I think the expensive mascara will be well worth it. I'm tempted to try the non-waterproof version, just as a comparison, I think the brown color is lighter in that version and may be better for my complexion. I'll keep you updated!!

Yes, the application cannot be done in a flash, and care is required, but long, fluttery lashes are the result. Definitely get the waterproof formula if smearing is a problem. That is the one I have and I have no smudging problems. May have to buy this one again. Now if I could only find that perfect brown color. This is brown, but a dark one!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 VictoriaMama on 2/6/2012 7:11:00 PM more reviews by VictoriaMama

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

RETURNING AS FAST AS I CAN It stayed wet and got that weird clumpy thing someone mentioned. Figured out why! I used another mascara with it. This is a one mascara only product. Worked ok if alone. And sorry I had to edit this again, something happened to the rest of my post. I am sure it was my fault!


LOVE this mascara. The ball was not hard to get used o at all for me. The spikes separate my lashes very well. This mascara makes my lashes look "fringe-y" which is what I love. If I go heavier on the outer corners they get a very nice effect, almost as if I had falsies in the corners. This is not the case with all mascaras. Some will just get you clumpy/weird looking lashes if you try to do this. My lashes still feel soft, too. Not crunchy at all. One dip gave me enough mascara to do one coat on each eye, and I found this to be shockingly enough mascara! I loooove big lashes. This works my lashes, which are long and full naturally, to dramatic lengthy and nice volume. More coats and I'll faint dead away! This is one BLACK mascara. It's 5 star, 10 points, excellent across the board.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LSButtercup on 1/30/2012 12:34:00 PM more reviews by LSButtercup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this mascara after 3 years of deliberation wheter I should get it or not. I decided to go dor it and am pleasantly surprised. I like it a lot more than I thought I would, but I won't be repurchasing since it is very expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jlee2 on 1/16/2012 10:37:00 PM more reviews by jlee2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This smudged and ran, and I looked like a panda six hours after application. Definitely not for monolid Asian eyes. The only plus is that the packaging is cute.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hannahr20 on 12/27/2011 6:54:00 PM more reviews by hannahr20

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

When browsing the cosmetics at the Givenchy counter in Debenhams I was approached by the sales women who told me how fantastic the Phenomen'eyes Mascara was & how many awards it had won.. I was a little reluctant to go ahead & buy it at first as I personally had never seen it before but I decided to take her word for it & purchase it.
For 20 I dont think the packaging is upto much & have seen better on 8 mascaras from Boots. I did have high expectations from this product but was a rather disappointed, it takes a VERY long time to apply. On the plus side this mascara does seperate my lashes but other than that it's overated & wouldn't buy it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scarbera on 12/20/2011 1:44:00 PM more reviews by scarbera

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Let me start off by saying that I am a mascara whore. It is the one cosmetic item I just can't live without. I've tried drugstore to high end (falsies flared, maybelline colossal, lash stiletto, covergirl lashblast, lashblast fusion, rimmel day to night, some other rimmel mascara, mac haute and naughty, ysl faux cils, diorshow blackout, diorshow, dior extase, badgal lash, urban decay big fatty, etc etc etc). My favorite look from mascara is super volume.
My favorite up until this past week has been diorshow blackout. Then I bought the phenomen eyes. OMG! This stuff blows diorshow blackout out of the water. I have NEVER been so amazed by a mascara from the first application! My lashes have never looked so inky black, voluminous, and lengthened EVER!!! I am truly in love! I tried it on my mom, who has very short sparse lashes, and even her's looked long and voluminous!
As for the formula. It is thick and slightly gummy. It also stays mildly wet on your lashes throughout the day. I actually don't mind it. It doesn't run or flake and somehow holds the curl, length and volume ALL DAY LONG!
This mascara is honestly my HG. No more searching and scouring the earth anymore!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pissandvinegar on 11/24/2011 2:48:00 AM more reviews by pissandvinegar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Holy lengthening, Batman! I love this mascara, even if it is a real pain in the butt to apply. This is no "on the go, in the car" mascara... you definitely need a steady hand and patience to apply this properly but when you do the result is gorgeous. I have such skinny short lashes and this stuff makes them look long and defined. The formula is definitely a bit more wet and smudges easier than others but I don't have oily eyelids so normally this is not a problem. My only real qualm with it is that I don't really think it's buildable... once you get your lashes all neat and in place then do it over again that's when they tend to get clumpy. Other than that? Great buy.
PROS: lengthens, defines, fun to use
CONS: difficult to use at first, not buildable IMO, $$$

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Givenchy products

More Mascara products