Givenchy Phenomen'eyes Mascara

3.4

303 reviews

48% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

aqua, paraffin, cera alba (beeswax), polybutene, styrene/acrylates/ammonium methacrylate copolymer, bis-diglyceryl polyacyladipate-2, palmitic acid, stearic acid, triethanolamine, vp/eicosene copolymer, acacia senegal (acacia senegal gum), hydroxyethylcellulose, phenoxyethanol, glycerin, panthenol, butylene glycol, terasodium edta, sodium lauryl sulfate, tocopheryl acetate, disodium cetyl phenyl ether disulfonate, potassium sorbate, methylparaben, propylparaben, edta, butylparaben, ethylparaben, isobutylparaben, bht, CI 77266 (Black 2), CI 77499 (Iron Oxides).


on 4/13/2012 4:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've been wanting to try this for a long time and once I was in Berlin I bought it and I loved it! It works really well for my lashes - but I mostly use it as the second layer and use Armani Eyes to Kill at first.



on 4/13/2012 1:25:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Bleck, what a horrible product. The "innovative" ball, was actually way more of a hindrance than a help. It was hard to apply, and when it was applied, it applied unevenly and clumpy. Maybe there's an art to this, but seriously...who has time?
It's going back to Sephora and I'm going to get something cheaper and easier to use!


on 4/6/2012 6:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this mascara, it creates a nice spider web effect to the lashes, it is however a bit of a hassle to apply it correctly, it's long-lasting and not the least bit clumpy, it's great for a night out but it's not really practical for everyday use.


on 4/3/2012 4:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I love this one, but is so freaking expensive! $30 for a tube, in which you need every month probably. If you only wear mascara and no other makeup i can see how it would be worth buying every month, but still, I would not say it's worth $30.
The formula is definitely one of the best at sephora! don't let the brush throw you off. the way it works is you get the base and corners of your lashes with the small brush, which i love! It curls, volumizes, and lengthens. if you can afford it, buy it!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I never ever wear make-up, I only do skin care. I curl my lashes, but I don't wear mascara. But when I do, I use this. It's hands down THE best I've ever tried. I really do think it's the brush. It fans out my lashes, lengthens them, and makes this look great! And when I take it off, my lashes still feel healthy and light. This is the best, it's definitely expensive, but worth the splurge.


on 3/22/2012 3:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Clumpsville! I first bought the waterproof version and it was incredibly clumpy. I exchanged it for the non-waterproof formula and it was still clumpy! I'm continuing to experiment though and I am not convinced I'm applying it in the best manner--I like the idea of being able to reach all the little lashes but so far it hasn't been working out. If I figure out a way to apply that works I will amend this review but for now I'm not satisfied with this purchase.


on 2/14/2012 9:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Just got this today. Never thought I would get a mascara this expensive or this unusual, but the SA at Sephora went right for it when I asked for a brown mascara that would go with my red hair. In response to all the reviewers who complained that this ran and smudged, she did insist I get the waterproof version. I usually reserve waterproof mascara for pool days because I heard it was not good for your lashes, but since I use a cream (Clinique Comforting Cream Cleanser) to remove all my make up, I knew removal would not be a problem. I was quite impressed with how she did my lashes. I also bought the Givenchy eyebrow pencil in blonde (she said it was best for my coloring), and she tried to sell me the new Mister Light concealer to highlight under the brow and under the eyes. I will wait on that expensive purchase. But I think the insistence on the waterproof version was because she knew the regular version had deficiencies. Hopefully I will avoid the problems with this mascara and only enjoy the benefits. I will keep this updated, but for those of you who loved the concept but had smearing problems, try the waterproof one!

Now getting the hang of using the ball/brush. This lasts pretty well and doesn't smudge. Once you master the application, I think this is a pretty impressive mascara. I never swayed from my Almay One Coat Thickening mascara for many, many years. And I still think it is phenomenal, one coat and full lashes. But lately most tubes I buy are already dried out before I've even used them. That's really poor quality control or a bad change in formula. Either way, I started an extensive search for a new mascara. I'd love to find a little less expensive one. I tried the Estee Lauder Sumptuous in Brown, but it seems to take many coats to get the results I'got with one coat of the Almay. The Givenchy gives good coverage if you swipe the ball over the tops of the top lashes and then try to coat them from bottom to top. Its great for the bottom lashes, just coat each individually or swish the ball across the whole bottom lash. Once you find the application technique that is best and fastest for you, I think the expensive mascara will be well worth it. I'm tempted to try the non-waterproof version, just as a comparison, I think the brown color is lighter in that version and may be better for my complexion. I'll keep you updated!!

Yes, the application cannot be done in a flash, and care is required, but long, fluttery lashes are the result. Definitely get the waterproof formula if smearing is a problem. That is the one I have and I have no smudging problems. May have to buy this one again. Now if I could only find that perfect brown color. This is brown, but a dark one!


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

RETURNING AS FAST AS I CAN It stayed wet and got that weird clumpy thing someone mentioned. Figured out why! I used another mascara with it. This is a one mascara only product. Worked ok if alone. And sorry I had to edit this again, something happened to the rest of my post. I am sure it was my fault!


LOVE this mascara. The ball was not hard to get used o at all for me. The spikes separate my lashes very well. This mascara makes my lashes look "fringe-y" which is what I love. If I go heavier on the outer corners they get a very nice effect, almost as if I had falsies in the corners. This is not the case with all mascaras. Some will just get you clumpy/weird looking lashes if you try to do this. My lashes still feel soft, too. Not crunchy at all. One dip gave me enough mascara to do one coat on each eye, and I found this to be shockingly enough mascara! I loooove big lashes. This works my lashes, which are long and full naturally, to dramatic lengthy and nice volume. More coats and I'll faint dead away! This is one BLACK mascara. It's 5 star, 10 points, excellent across the board.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/30/2012 12:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got this mascara after 3 years of deliberation wheter I should get it or not. I decided to go dor it and am pleasantly surprised. I like it a lot more than I thought I would, but I won't be repurchasing since it is very expensive.


on 1/16/2012 10:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This smudged and ran, and I looked like a panda six hours after application. Definitely not for monolid Asian eyes. The only plus is that the packaging is cute.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

DISAPPOINTING PRODUCTS... Make-up by Madeleine Loves



Top Rated Givenchy Products

image

Pi (For Men)

73 reviews
Back to Top