Givenchy • Phenomen'eyes Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.4(296 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.49%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 VictoriaMama on 2/6/2012 7:11:00 PM more reviews by VictoriaMama

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

RETURNING AS FAST AS I CAN It stayed wet and got that weird clumpy thing someone mentioned. Figured out why! I used another mascara with it. This is a one mascara only product. Worked ok if alone. And sorry I had to edit this again, something happened to the rest of my post. I am sure it was my fault!


LOVE this mascara. The ball was not hard to get used o at all for me. The spikes separate my lashes very well. This mascara makes my lashes look "fringe-y" which is what I love. If I go heavier on the outer corners they get a very nice effect, almost as if I had falsies in the corners. This is not the case with all mascaras. Some will just get you clumpy/weird looking lashes if you try to do this. My lashes still feel soft, too. Not crunchy at all. One dip gave me enough mascara to do one coat on each eye, and I found this to be shockingly enough mascara! I loooove big lashes. This works my lashes, which are long and full naturally, to dramatic lengthy and nice volume. More coats and I'll faint dead away! This is one BLACK mascara. It's 5 star, 10 points, excellent across the board.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LSButtercup on 1/30/2012 12:34:00 PM more reviews by LSButtercup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this mascara after 3 years of deliberation wheter I should get it or not. I decided to go dor it and am pleasantly surprised. I like it a lot more than I thought I would, but I won't be repurchasing since it is very expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jlee2 on 1/16/2012 10:37:00 PM more reviews by jlee2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This smudged and ran, and I looked like a panda six hours after application. Definitely not for monolid Asian eyes. The only plus is that the packaging is cute.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hannahr20 on 12/27/2011 6:54:00 PM more reviews by hannahr20

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

When browsing the cosmetics at the Givenchy counter in Debenhams I was approached by the sales women who told me how fantastic the Phenomen'eyes Mascara was & how many awards it had won.. I was a little reluctant to go ahead & buy it at first as I personally had never seen it before but I decided to take her word for it & purchase it.
For 20 I dont think the packaging is upto much & have seen better on 8 mascaras from Boots. I did have high expectations from this product but was a rather disappointed, it takes a VERY long time to apply. On the plus side this mascara does seperate my lashes but other than that it's overated & wouldn't buy it again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scarbera on 12/20/2011 1:44:00 PM more reviews by scarbera

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Let me start off by saying that I am a mascara whore. It is the one cosmetic item I just can't live without. I've tried drugstore to high end (falsies flared, maybelline colossal, lash stiletto, covergirl lashblast, lashblast fusion, rimmel day to night, some other rimmel mascara, mac haute and naughty, ysl faux cils, diorshow blackout, diorshow, dior extase, badgal lash, urban decay big fatty, etc etc etc). My favorite look from mascara is super volume.
My favorite up until this past week has been diorshow blackout. Then I bought the phenomen eyes. OMG! This stuff blows diorshow blackout out of the water. I have NEVER been so amazed by a mascara from the first application! My lashes have never looked so inky black, voluminous, and lengthened EVER!!! I am truly in love! I tried it on my mom, who has very short sparse lashes, and even her's looked long and voluminous!
As for the formula. It is thick and slightly gummy. It also stays mildly wet on your lashes throughout the day. I actually don't mind it. It doesn't run or flake and somehow holds the curl, length and volume ALL DAY LONG!
This mascara is honestly my HG. No more searching and scouring the earth anymore!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 pissandvinegar on 11/24/2011 2:48:00 AM more reviews by pissandvinegar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Holy lengthening, Batman! I love this mascara, even if it is a real pain in the butt to apply. This is no "on the go, in the car" mascara... you definitely need a steady hand and patience to apply this properly but when you do the result is gorgeous. I have such skinny short lashes and this stuff makes them look long and defined. The formula is definitely a bit more wet and smudges easier than others but I don't have oily eyelids so normally this is not a problem. My only real qualm with it is that I don't really think it's buildable... once you get your lashes all neat and in place then do it over again that's when they tend to get clumpy. Other than that? Great buy.
PROS: lengthens, defines, fun to use
CONS: difficult to use at first, not buildable IMO, $$$

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ikon on 10/12/2011 5:58:00 PM more reviews by ikon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This mascara is great! It seperates the lashes and provides very buildable length and volume. Only downside is that it takes forever and the brush is prickly. It's not very black and provides a very nice every day effect but can also be applied heavier for evening makeup. With a primer, it's amazing as it seperates all the lashes and it doesn't look like you're wearing mascara at all - just gorgeous lashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 saflee on 10/12/2011 5:17:00 PM more reviews by saflee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I bought this a few years ago when it first released because of all the hype about it.

The wand was interesting and was definitely what sold me but it didn't do anything for me. There are so many reasons why I don't like this mascara.
-The first couple of times I used it, way too much mascara was on the wand. I tried to scrape it off on the tube but then it was unevenly coated.
-Application was painful. Literally, painful. Mascaras like Maybelline's Define-a-lash has silicone spikes along the wand but the Givenchy mascara's spikes are insanely hard and sharp. My lashline was irritated whenever I used it. I couldn't start the mascara at the base of my lashes so it really didn't help with any lifting.
-The formula STAYS wet. I couldn't stop my lashes from clumping. I wouldn't even touch them and they'd manage to clump by the end of the HOUR. Godforbid you accidentally have a dot of mascara during application, it's a hassle to remove this without removing the rest of your face or just messing up all your lashes.
-Soooo much smudging. I had traces of mascara under my eyes by the end of the day.
-This isn't that much of a complaint but the handle is pretty small compared to the other mascaras I have used.

The best part of this mascara is the packaging being.. cute? And even then, I had a complaint about that. I guess the formula is pretty pigmented but there are other products that have the same pigmentation without the problems or pain.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scrappymamas on 10/10/2011 2:40:00 AM more reviews by scrappymamas

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Great Mascara has distinct creamy formula that has spoiled me. I don't want to go back to the big goopy waxy mascaras anymore. This mascara goes on super smooth and fans out lashes beautifully!! they look long and defined and it adds a natural thickness to your lashes. It doesn't look clumpy at all. I use it for everyday. I use my more thick and waxy formula Loreal Voluminous for when i go out on the town because it gets my lashes more dramatic. But i really dislike the removal process that makes my lashes shed. The givenchy one is definitely much more healthier for my lashes. Love this mascara just a bit expensive at $29.50. but i would still repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Claudia22 on 10/2/2011 10:24:00 PM more reviews by Claudia22

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

No, no and NO... I was so exited when I got it in my hands,...first of all it was a bit difficult to apply however I tough it was worth the time, but I was mistaken, it does smudge like nothing I have tried before; and worst it did NOT DRY over 8 hours! I had wet lashes all day long with black patches of this product all over my whole eye. I had a really bad experience with this mascara and for that price? I gave it to my 14 year old daughter who is starting playing around with makeup.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Givenchy products

More Mascara products