L'Oreal • HIP Jelly Balm [DISCONTINUED] • Lip Gloss

rated 4.4(353 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 cyberkaren on 9/6/2010 12:14:00 PM more reviews by cyberkaren

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love their new "HIP" line of products. These Jelly Balm lip glosses are excellent. The shade I bought is called "Lucious"...a gorgeous deep berry brown shade. It looks very dark in the pot, but It is very sheer when applied...not dark at all. This is the perfect shade for my very fair and ruddy skin tone, and I will purchase it again for sure. I gave this a rating of 4 instead of 5 because, like most lip gloss products, it does not stay on very long and needs to be re-applied often throughout the day. I do love the way it moisturizes your lips leaving them very soft and smooth. It also has a delicious caramel scent which I love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 blushingpammy on 9/3/2010 12:11:00 AM more reviews by blushingpammy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Where the heck is the "high intensity pigment" on this balm?! I am a tinted lip balm lover but this barely has any pigmentation, even when swatched on my hand! I got the color Ripe but it hardly shows any color. I had to put like 5-6 layers for just a little color to show up and it feels like a gooey mess on my lips for just very little color. Disappointed with this. I guess I should just stick with MAC TLC. I am giving it 2 lippies anyway - 1 for the caramel scent and another one for the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shirlyxgurl on 8/30/2010 3:28:00 AM more reviews by shirlyxgurl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I usually don't like pot glosses bc the ones I've tried in the past were too firm and not glossy enough. I got this in Plush and it's a good everyday color for me. It has a great shiny, glossy, not too sticky consistency and very moisturizing, too. This is the only pot gloss that I've hit pan on, so it's a sign that it's a good one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gaijin on 8/29/2010 12:37:00 AM more reviews by Gaijin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in Plush and Succulent and love them both. They are so moisturizing and glossy at the same time. The vanilla/caramel scent is delicious. The color comes out more sheer on my lips than it appears in the pot. I like the glass packaging, it looks nice, although it is sometimes annoying to have to dip my fingers or a brush into the pot. I've almost completely used mine up because I reach for these often, and would definitely pick up some more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aislings on 8/25/2010 6:57:00 PM more reviews by aislings

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I own the colors Ripe and Plush. I have fairly pigmented lips, so Ripe adds a little more color than Plush. I keep these in my desk at work for when I need a little touch up of color in the afternoon. They don't feel to heavy on my lips and my hair doesn't stick to them like other similar products. A little also goes a long way, and I don't have to touch up very often. They are a great deal if you can find them at the drugstore on sale( I got them at buy 1 get 1 50% off)!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Heyyeyy05 on 8/25/2010 4:11:00 PM more reviews by Heyyeyy05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I just purchased L'Oreal's H.I.P. jelly balm in delectable, and I do like this product, but it is not the best tinted balm I have tried (my favorite being Joe Fresh's tinted lip balm stick, which is only available in Canada). First off, I love the color. Delectable is a sheer pinkish red which is really pretty and natural looking, almost as if you just ate a cherry popsicle and then slicked on some clear gloss. It also has more of a gloss finish, as previously mentioned, as opposed to the more traditional finish of a balm. Finally, The smell is amazing! it smells like vanilla or caramel or a hybrid of the two-mmm.

On the downside, I do find this "balm" quite sticky, which I don't hate, but I don't love either. The price is another downfall; at around 10$ a pop, this balm is pretty pricey for only .158 ounces.

Overall, I would re-purchase because I do love the color, but it does not deserve a full five lippies.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PurpleCupcake87 on 8/21/2010 4:28:00 PM more reviews by PurpleCupcake87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

One of my favorite drugstore lipbalms. I own plush which gives a sheer light pink color, and succulent which is sort of a berry wine shade. I find myself reaching for plush more for the day and succulent for night. Nice color payoff, fair price, moisturizes lips, nice cotton candy smell (plush)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tarzina789 on 8/21/2010 3:45:00 PM more reviews by tarzina789

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have these in Plush and Savory.
These balms are super moisturizing and the packaging is adorable. I love that L'Oréal is using glass jars for their creams eyeliners and balms. It looks so expensive and luxurious!
The quality of these balms is wonderful. They're not waxy like a lot of drugstore balms are. They're not easy to find, but if you do, you need to pick them up! A must have for any makeup or lip gloss junkie!

I find that because it's in a pot it's less portable. I don't like using my fingers when I'm out and about because you're not always able to wash your hands. I don't want to contaminate these beauties. All in all, a fabulous product.
I'm more and more impressed with the quality of L'Oréal HIP products. Definitely a great line!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 frannylovesyou on 8/20/2010 11:18:00 PM more reviews by frannylovesyou

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I really like the product, but I was a bit disappointed with the color payoff. I have it in the color Plush, which is a beautiful hot pink color, but when I apply it on my lips, it's pretty sheer. I don't mind this, but since it's part of L'Oreal's H.I.P (Hight Intensity Pigments) line, I expected it to be pretty pigmented. Other than that, it looks and feels good on the lips, and smells nice. It was also decently priced.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Tiffieotheory14 on 8/16/2010 10:20:00 PM more reviews by Tiffieotheory14

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVELOVELOVELOVE this lip balm. It is so moisturizing and has a beautiful and tinted finish. I have delecable (my favorite), ripe (my second favorite), succulent, luscious, and savory. I'm not into the bubblegum color of plush so that will not be in my makeup setup any time soon. I'm a lip product junkie and I'm incredibly picky with balms. I usually hate the pot packaging, but I love the glass packaging on these products. The L'Oreal HIP jelly balm is by far the best lip balm I've ever invested in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Lip Gloss products