Giorgio Armani Face Fabric Second Skin Nude Makeup

4.1

238 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

CYCLOPENTASILOXANE, DIMETHICONE CROSSPOLYMER, ETHYLEXYL METHOXYCINNAMATE, LIMONENE, BENZYL SALICYLATE, LINALOOL, BENZYL ALCOHOL, PARFUM/FRAGRANCE, DISODIUM STEAROYL GLUTAMATE, BUTYLPHENYL METHYLPROPIONAL, ALUMINIUM HYDROXIDE, HEXYL CINNAMAL +/- MAY CONTAIN, CI 77891 / TITANIUM DIOXIDE, CI 77499, CI 77492, CI 77491/ IRON OXIDES, CI 12085 / RED 36, CI 19140 / YELLOW 5 LAKE, MICA


on 12/2/2011 9:46:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely love it! The texture is a little different but blends easily and you also don't need much product to get a nice finish. It leaves my face velvety without looking heavy. I am using #2 for my medium olive complexion and the color blends very well. I do use a foundation brush to help with blending and just the lightest dusting of powder to set everything. Although I love the Luminous Silk foundation this product is perfect for every day or when you don't want much on your face



on 11/19/2011 9:48:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love it. It's a primer and light foundation in one. Covers pores and provides very transparent coverage so it's perfect for everyday use. I set it with a little powder (either SB HD or Mattify!) and it's lasts all day. If I want a little more coverage, I use Diorskin mineral powder over it. . I am light olive skinned with yellow undertones - usually #5.5 in GA Silk, Diorskin #40. With this product, I could use either 4 or 3 however, I went with 3 because it is a yellow base (4 is sort of pink). Do not use if you have dry patches - it just magnifies them. Best over freshly moisturized skin. Apply with fingers - beauty blender, make-up sponge, and brushes absorb the product. Also, be wary of areas with heavy peach fuzz hair - the silicone in this product will make it look like your peeling. It sort of rolls up and you spend time brushing away the little silicone flakes (hairy MA users know what I'm talking about!) It's expensive sure- compared to drugstore products. It's Armani, so of course it's a bit pricey! Then again, you do not need to buy a primer in addition to foundation. Definitely will repurchase!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2011 7:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this foundation. Started using it last winter and decided to try a tinted moist. for summer. Got the MAC one but it made me break out so I went back to GA FF. My skin is oily and this is a bit drying which actually works for me. doesn't make me break out and the coverage is light which is nice. I use a setting powder after this and it lasts all day, when clean my face at night I see the product in the wipes. I think you either like it or not. There's not medium range.


on 10/23/2011 6:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this! It's really expensive- I can't believe I let myself buy this. But what it does is amazing. It doesn't cover so much as it just blends everything and smoothes it all out. It feels great - actually you just don't really feel it at all. This does not wear off on me. I notice that at the end of a long day, my skin still looks great- not shiny or greasy at all. I have sensitive skin and have no issue with the scent.

This is a great alternative to a tinted moisturizer. Great for a no-makeup look. Not a serious foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/10/2011 6:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I got a generous sample of this at the GA counter at Nordstrom 3 weeks ago and I've been using it everyday. Pros: 2 is a perfect color match for my yellow-undertoned, NC20-25 skin tone. I love the finish - matte, velvety, almost powdery without ever looking too dry. Sheer coverage never looks masklike. Cons: Price (duh), fragrance (not sure why companies add perfume to foundation), and transfers easily. It has no lasting power and it never really sets, which is why I will not be purchasing the full size. When I blot at lunchtime, this is completely gone. Bummer because there are some great things about it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/6/2011 3:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It is very easy to apply and surprisingly lasts about 5-6 hours before blotting (I always use at least a bit of primer and blot powder when using foundation due to my oilyness). Natural finish but I tend to look very shiny even with blot papers after about 7 hours. That's fine but the silicone content clogged more pores more than foundations with less silicone. Boo...
Shadewise, I would have liked it leaning more towards yellow than neutral but it's quite sheer so it wasn't super obvious.
Recommended for those who are less oily and clog-prone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2011 2:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Like someone stated below, this is the better version of the YSL Touch Matte Foundation. This one is much better as it blurs/even imperfections, lasts nearly all day long even without primer, sheer yet buildable coverage, and looks like skin. Extremely unique foundation = semi-matte finish, smooth consistency, and looks just like skin. A staple.


on 9/16/2011 7:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I think this might even be better than Luminous Silk, my previous favourite! Like all the other reviewers say, the texture of this is really unusual - kind of like a dry gel I suppose. It sort of "sweeps" over your face, rather than sinks in. It is very light - doesn't cover blemishes really, but takes a bit of the redness out of them and makes them look better. And it just improves the overall look of your skin without looking like makeup at all.

I suppose the coverage is a bit like a tinted moisturiser, but in texture it's totally different. I don't really like the idea of tinted moisturiser anyway because isn't the point of moisteriser that it sinks into your skin? I don't really like the idea of all that pigment sinking in. I'd much rather it just sat on top, thank you very much.

I still use Luminous Silk when my skin is a bit more of a challenge. Not because the coverage is that different - LS is pretty light too - but because it's a lot easier to use concealer and powder with LS. Concealer doesn't really work with FF and I wouldn't put powder over the top. It's pretty matte and has great wear anyway, so you don't need it.

I use shade 2. I'm fair-medium with pinkish undertones. Since the coverage is so light though you don't need to be quite as precise about colour matching. I swear that is true - I'm normally really hardcore about getting the right shade.

It's expensive, but completely worth it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2011 2:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this product so much that I felt compelled to write a review on it. I'm a MAC NW 20 and i use this in 2 (disclaimer that i bought this when i was slightly tanned from a holiday so i picked a slightly 'darker' shade then what a NW20 would be)

I never liked foundations or bases or primers or sunscreen because it would always (regardless of what brand i used) end up feeling heavy or oily - and it would inevitably oxidise or 'melt' so it was just a pain, when at the end of a long day, my makeup would not look fresh or in place - but kind of 'tired' and grimy. so i've stuck with just concealor (tons of it because i dont have perfect skin) and loose power for almost all of my makeup wearing life. i have on occasion (especially when on vacation in climates which is alot less humid then it is here in singapore) used the armani LSF - and it worked fine - but when i came back to singapore, the same problem would happen. another issue i've always had - was that i would end up getting clogged pores and breaking out - whenever i tried to use foundation or sunscreen here.

i purchased face fabric on a whim - because i was on another 'i think i need some sort of spf on my skin' phase (this has spf 12) - i was fully expecting to discover that it would cause the same issues and that i would have to bin it.

BUT - it has now been maybe two months - and i've even bought a backup tube. i LOVE this product. i use it daily now (and cannot imagine what life was like before it)

its some sort of a mousse texture - but on application it dries to a powder finish. it is very easy to blend - is near impossible to 'streak' on skin (even though i do my makeup really quickly in the mornings and just squeeze a dollop on finger and just blend it all onto my face with my fingers -- it is very quick and goes on very well and doesnt get patchy etc)

It also does not oxidise and it provides a very good canvas for the rest of my makeup to go on and stays put all day (we're talking in excess of 12 hours here!) i actually think it helps my makeup stay on better and look fresher!

on good skin days - using this alone is enough !

i would highly recomend this if you wanted a very light foundation or a light/good base to use. but if you need more then sheer coverage then you need to pair it with something else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Whisper-finish. Smooth application that disappears. Never tugs or creases. I love this foundation because it simply makes your skin look a silky matte, but you would definitely pass as someone who "doesn't need foundation". I also love that just a dab is enough for the whole face, so it takes approximately 10 seconds in the morning to apply, and is error-proof. I always wear this during the day at my boyfriend's at at work. It also has a mind, pleasant vanilla fragrance that is very fresh and light.

I will admit that this is not for people who have a tons of blemishes to cover. On the other hand, it's lightness does let your skin breathe, it does not clog pores, and miraculously gives me absolutely no issues.

I will continue using MUFE High Definition foundation in 118 for evening events when I need fuller coverage.

Love love love.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Foundation - Tony Moly CC Cream vs. Hera UV BB Mist vs. Armani Maestro vs. Armani Face Fabric by Josephine Chiu



Top Rated Giorgio Armani Products

image

Black Code

49 reviews
Back to Top