Giorgio Armani • Face Fabric Second Skin Nude Makeup • Foundations

rated 4.1(232 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 piellelux on 9/18/2011 2:27:00 AM more reviews by piellelux

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Like someone stated below, this is the better version of the YSL Touch Matte Foundation. This one is much better as it blurs/even imperfections, lasts nearly all day long even without primer, sheer yet buildable coverage, and looks like skin. Extremely unique foundation = semi-matte finish, smooth consistency, and looks just like skin. A staple.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Becky2009 on 9/16/2011 7:01:00 PM more reviews by Becky2009

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I think this might even be better than Luminous Silk, my previous favourite! Like all the other reviewers say, the texture of this is really unusual - kind of like a dry gel I suppose. It sort of "sweeps" over your face, rather than sinks in. It is very light - doesn't cover blemishes really, but takes a bit of the redness out of them and makes them look better. And it just improves the overall look of your skin without looking like makeup at all.

I suppose the coverage is a bit like a tinted moisturiser, but in texture it's totally different. I don't really like the idea of tinted moisturiser anyway because isn't the point of moisteriser that it sinks into your skin? I don't really like the idea of all that pigment sinking in. I'd much rather it just sat on top, thank you very much.

I still use Luminous Silk when my skin is a bit more of a challenge. Not because the coverage is that different - LS is pretty light too - but because it's a lot easier to use concealer and powder with LS. Concealer doesn't really work with FF and I wouldn't put powder over the top. It's pretty matte and has great wear anyway, so you don't need it.

I use shade 2. I'm fair-medium with pinkish undertones. Since the coverage is so light though you don't need to be quite as precise about colour matching. I swear that is true - I'm normally really hardcore about getting the right shade.

It's expensive, but completely worth it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* piggiejan on 9/3/2011 2:28:00 PM more reviews by piggiejan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product so much that I felt compelled to write a review on it. I'm a MAC NW 20 and i use this in 2 (disclaimer that i bought this when i was slightly tanned from a holiday so i picked a slightly 'darker' shade then what a NW20 would be)

I never liked foundations or bases or primers or sunscreen because it would always (regardless of what brand i used) end up feeling heavy or oily - and it would inevitably oxidise or 'melt' so it was just a pain, when at the end of a long day, my makeup would not look fresh or in place - but kind of 'tired' and grimy. so i've stuck with just concealor (tons of it because i dont have perfect skin) and loose power for almost all of my makeup wearing life. i have on occasion (especially when on vacation in climates which is alot less humid then it is here in singapore) used the armani LSF - and it worked fine - but when i came back to singapore, the same problem would happen. another issue i've always had - was that i would end up getting clogged pores and breaking out - whenever i tried to use foundation or sunscreen here.

i purchased face fabric on a whim - because i was on another 'i think i need some sort of spf on my skin' phase (this has spf 12) - i was fully expecting to discover that it would cause the same issues and that i would have to bin it.

BUT - it has now been maybe two months - and i've even bought a backup tube. i LOVE this product. i use it daily now (and cannot imagine what life was like before it)

its some sort of a mousse texture - but on application it dries to a powder finish. it is very easy to blend - is near impossible to 'streak' on skin (even though i do my makeup really quickly in the mornings and just squeeze a dollop on finger and just blend it all onto my face with my fingers -- it is very quick and goes on very well and doesnt get patchy etc)

It also does not oxidise and it provides a very good canvas for the rest of my makeup to go on and stays put all day (we're talking in excess of 12 hours here!) i actually think it helps my makeup stay on better and look fresher!

on good skin days - using this alone is enough !

i would highly recomend this if you wanted a very light foundation or a light/good base to use. but if you need more then sheer coverage then you need to pair it with something else.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 citizendumonde on 8/26/2011 1:41:00 AM more reviews by citizendumonde

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Whisper-finish. Smooth application that disappears. Never tugs or creases. I love this foundation because it simply makes your skin look a silky matte, but you would definitely pass as someone who "doesn't need foundation". I also love that just a dab is enough for the whole face, so it takes approximately 10 seconds in the morning to apply, and is error-proof. I always wear this during the day at my boyfriend's at at work. It also has a mind, pleasant vanilla fragrance that is very fresh and light.

I will admit that this is not for people who have a tons of blemishes to cover. On the other hand, it's lightness does let your skin breathe, it does not clog pores, and miraculously gives me absolutely no issues.

I will continue using MUFE High Definition foundation in 118 for evening events when I need fuller coverage.

Love love love.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lindsayloohoo on 8/16/2011 1:33:00 PM more reviews by lindsayloohoo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really love this stuff. It really is lovely. It's a 5 in terms of finish, effect, etc. but I feel the price and texture could be improved upon and would make it better.


I am usually an NC20-25 in MAC, #20 in MUFE Face and Body, #5 in Giorgio Armani Luminous Silk (a tad pink/dark but passable), Ceylan in Nars Sheer Glow, W3 in L'Oreal True Match, #118 in MUFE HD, #30 in Mat Velvet + (touch too pink/dark but passable) - and I think that should provide some background for a colour match haha. I don't wear MAC foundation anymore, but I have worn NC25 and I use NC20 and NW20 concealers. Truthfully - all of this doesn't matter that much. I'm a #2 in this foundation, and it is very forgiving/sheer so it doesn't much matter if the foundation is an exact match. In the tube/on back of hand this looks too dark - however, one shade up is defiitely too dark and one down is too light. Blended on my face this is a PERFECT match (still not quite sure how that happens, even though it IS sheer).


I have normal/combo skin (slightly dry/slightly oily depending on season). I am acne prone and if it's irritating I don't put it on my skin (i.e. alcohol). This doesn't break me out and feels lovely on the skin.


The texture of this foundation is souffle-like in terms of it being thick and light, but it is actually quite dry and not fluffy/creamy-wet like conventional souffle formulas. Because of the nature of the texture, I feel like I always put too much on my hand and a little actually goes a long way. I blend with my fingers for best results. A conventional foundation brush works well but can leave streaks, a flat top kabuki works well but eats more product and sheers it out more than I need (since this is already sheer), and the beautyblender sheers this out/eats product as well.


The coverage is light, and best for someone with normal skin who wants to blur imperfections and not hide them. Any red scars/acne, undereye circles, etc. will not be covered with this foundation so you will need concealer for that (which kinda ruins the finish, so I use concealer first with this if I'm going to use any at all). This HONESTLY looks like my skin but better - like no perceptible foundation in the slightest. When I put this on, it looks like another foundation that had 3 hours to set on my skin - pores minimized, satiny natural finish, blurred imperfections but no obvious makeup look, and it's obvious I have skin and am not secretly an alien wearing flesh-coloured paint. As another reviewer mentioned, I too get a confidence kick and feel like my skin is smokin' amazing whenever I wear this foundation. Definitely for good-skin days, though. This can cling to flakey skin, but I find the effect is marginal when compared to other skin-flake-clingy foundations (i.e. Armani Luminous Silk being the worst, then Nars Sheer Glow, then Face Fabric). Moisturized skin will make this more pleasant to apply.


I don't think this will hold up throughout the day for someone with really oily skin. I've worn this on the hottest days this summer (when I most want that no-makeup look), and it has stood up to the heat and not melted off my face but it still doesn't have the BEST staying power. However, I can't stress enough that this is sheer. It will last longer with a primer - which I don't generally use. I use toner/BHA liquid/moisturizer sunscreen and then foundation.


This comes in a tube ($48 for 1oz) and the tube makes it seem like less product than it is, but it's actually the same amount as most foundations. I like the tube because it's convenient to pack, and once you get used to how much you need to cover your face the way you like, you won't waste product like you can with a pump (even if you're careful).


I'm from Canada and got this online, sight-unseen from Neiman Marcus (neimanmarcus.com). For Canadians - they charged me a $5 brokerage fee (I think) and regular taxes, but shipping was free. No customs or any other charges. Doing this was actually cheaper than going to Holt Renfrew in Toronto and buying it there. I actually saved money (over our American friends) because of the USD-CAD exchange rate at the time. I've also heard GA foundations run around $15 more expensive in Canada (at Holt Renfrew) than if you buy in the US, so it's still worth it to go through NM if our dollar is at parity, especially if you get other items. This foundation was totally worth it and I wasn't sure I'd like it - but I LOVE IT. The price is exorbitant, so this might not end up as a staple. Surprised there's not more raves about this on youtube, though.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hetsy on 8/12/2011 5:39:00 PM more reviews by hetsy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is one of the most natural finishes I have come across for a tm or foundation. It is so easy to spread and I don't even need to finish it of with powder. I will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rigantona on 8/8/2011 1:55:00 AM more reviews by rigantona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this after visiting the Armani counter to look at the lasting silk foundation. On expressing my wish for a light, matte but not flat coverage, she also recommended Face Fabric.

Pros - it gives a very light coverage, which works well if you have mostly good skin and just want to even things out, it is super easy to apply (fingers, brush) and feels very nice on the skin when it is applied. The packaging is good, hygienic and easy to control how much you dispense.

Cons - cost, this is $80 AUS and to be honest it's not worth quite that. While it looks great when it's first applied, i found it's staying power isn't brilliant; admitedly, i don't use a primer with Face Fabric as i was advised to, but then i never use a primer with greater coverage foundations and i don't have an issue. It did tend to oxidise a little on my face by the end of the day as well, but the initial colour match was pretty good.

Over all, it's a good product, and i can see why some love it, i just wasn't enthralled. If this is the best that a tinted moisturiser can do, then i'd rather stick to my bare skin.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LibertyRose on 8/3/2011 4:13:00 AM more reviews by LibertyRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I loved this for a good year, and then changed my mind. This works more like a tinted moisturizer than a foundation, so I wish they're more clear about the name. True, the coverage is more buildable, but expecting it to cover serious blemishes would be a stretch. I think whether you'll like this depends on your tolerance for silicon, because it is REALLY silicon-y, more so than a primer. The advantage of course is that it applies like a dream. Faultlessly easy to spread. Nice scent, too. However, as a foundation it underforms. Very limited coverage, too yellow, and doesn't settle into the skin that well. Despite feeling lightweight, it doesn't look good on dry skin and tends to gather around pores. And the packaging is rather sub-par by Armani standard. I'll stick with a real foundation or a tinted moisturizer next time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Eri88 on 6/17/2011 9:52:00 AM more reviews by Eri88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ok,.I have used so many foundations til now..mostly liquid.
From high end to drugstores even foundations recommended by Youtube makeup gurus. But this is the best foundation for me so far.
I have oily t-zone and dry cheecks. Amazingly the foundation seems control the oil on my t-zone. The product is very light weighted, almost mousse-like texture and gives light coverage. This foundation gives a me fresh, natural glow which looks like I have really good skin.
But, Do not purchase it if you are looking for a good coverage!
I would recommend this product to people who have fairly good skin & just want to even out skin tone. Also I found this product almost conceals my pores on my nose area which I love. Even though it is bit pricey..i would definately re-purachase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ncw1625 on 4/9/2011 2:53:00 PM more reviews by ncw1625

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Best foundation I have ever tried, and I have tried alot of them, and have extremely difficult skin. My skin will react to every ingredient within a product if it has even a number 1 on a rating of 0-5 for comedogenity (if it clogs pores), and irritation. I have to check the ingredients of everything before I put it on my skin. This has 0s all the way through, and my skin agrees. A dream, not just in terms of no skin problems, maybe even better skin, but also in terms of ease of application, and wear. I'm a rub in with the fingers kind of girl. Foundation brushes are just hassle to me- I find them difficult to clean properly, I always find there is a build-up, and I would have to clean them so often because I have such oily skin-bacteria would really thrive. So I squeeze this out of the tube, and lightly blend everywhere. It is a fluid, but it feels like a mousse to apply because it is so unbelievably soft. It goes under my eyes, on my eyelids, everywhere, so easily. It's like folding silk over your face. It wears all day long. 12 hours. It would be no problem. I actually get a little bit cocky about my skin when I wear this, which for me is a very big deal. When I'm wearing it, I seem to think that my skin is the bees knees because you can't actually see foundation, and whilst it's clear that my skin is not perfect, it looks pretty good in this. No oil, pretty matte, but without that dulling effect. No make-up feel. Just an absolute dream. The negatives- the price. But frankly, it's so good, I just don't care. And secondly, I had to go to Selfridges to get a colour match whilst I was in London, and whilst that's fine as I was in London anyhow, it is a bit irriatating that it isn't sold in most places. I'll have to order off the internet now I know my shade. I had suspected a number 2. That's exactly what I am, and whilst it looks too dark in the tube, it is perfect for me when wearing, from the start and throughout the whole day. I am light to medium skinned, with yellow undertones. I am british, fully, with some family history in Scotland. Well, Armani, you have done it as far as I am concerned. Excellent. Everything else is just no match for this.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Giorgio Armani products

More Foundations products