Unlisted Brand • Coconut Oil • Hair

rated 4.5(180 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CordulaM on 12/22/2012 11:26:00 PM more reviews by CordulaM

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Here's what I did: I bought the extra virgin, organic stuff from Trader Joes, took half out of the jar and put it in a clean, empty, wide mouth jar in the bathroom for beauty uses, and kept the other half in the kitchen for cooking (great for Indian recipes, on toast, and supposedly helps to prevent Alzheimer's! Why not!? Tastes amazing.)

I use it as a carrier oil for hair treatments, along with jojoba and almond (I think the almond is way more moisturizing but love jojoba for face). I also put it directly into hair and while it's greasy at first, the next day it doesn't feel so much. Though I think pre-poo is prob best. I'm a little scared to use it on my skin because I clog easily, and most oils I can't put directly on my skin, but it's good for hair. I've used it many times now. I also use it as a pre-bleaching treatment to protect the hair. The bleach still works, but it protects the hair from over drying/becoming too brittle. I also use it when I have to do my hair in braids or styles that usually have little fly aways, never gel. And on the flip, when I'm soaking my hair before bleaching or just for a conditioning oil mask, I can wear the oil in my hair during the day if I do a cool braid style (since it's too oily and greasy to wear down.) It looks sleek and polished and no one knows. :) Def try it!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 magnifiquee on 12/19/2012 2:26:00 PM more reviews by magnifiquee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh coconut oil how I love you so.
A while back when I was about 16 or 17 years old I got a really bad haircut and I mean BAD. I also was stupid and constantly straightened my hair and blowdried it and used harsh products on it all the time. My hair was dead, lifeless, dull and would NOT grow. I swear in 3 years my hair probably grew 1.5 inches. It was REALLY REALLY bad and I didn't know what to do. I tried taking biotin, multivitamins, olive oil, expensive repair masks and they only did so much to my hair. I was looking up what would be really helpful and I saw coconut oil. I went to the supermarket and saw a giant jar of it for $5 which is amazing since most expensive hair masks are $20+.

I use coconut oil in so many ways, once a week I take the coconut oil, rub it between my hands and work it through my hair from the scalp to the ends and paying more attention to the ends because that's where most of the damage in your hair is. I leave it in for an hour or two and wash it out and then use normal shampoo and conditioner after. The first time I had tried it my hair was soo strong and bouncy feeling. I was hooked!!
Another way I use coconut oil is combined with olive oil, honey and an egg yolk as a protein mask and it has made my hair stronger than EVER before. My hair in this past year has grown probably around 6-7 inches compared to the 1.5 it was before. I am so in love with this product and how cheap and easy to use it is.
It has soo many benefits to the hair and really penetrates and moisturizes and helps repair. I would recommend this to anyone who is having trouble with their hair being dead and damaged, it really is holy grail status and I will use this forever.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anonyym on 12/15/2012 3:49:00 AM more reviews by anonyym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The only hair mask I like so sleep with. Love the smell :i

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shyaa on 12/15/2012 1:13:00 AM more reviews by shyaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

BEST HAIR PRODUCT HANDS DOWN! I began using the oil after reading from a scientific journal that proved coconut oil penetrated the hair shaft and moisturized, rather than just coat the outer layer which is what conditioners and other oils do. (Also, I believe the journal stated that the oil yields best results when used as a prewash) Anyway, this oil surprised me because it gave my hair the most incredible, healthiest, shine that I wouldn't have expected from just one product.

I like to do the oil hair treatment atleast once a week, sometimes twice a week if I have time. Go buy it, try it out for a couple of weeks, and after a few times of usage you will definitely see results.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DiJO on 12/8/2012 4:09:00 AM more reviews by DiJO

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Wow I can't believe Cocnut oil works!!
I heard a lot about it and how some celebrities use it to nourish their hair, but I was so dubious about it.
It's cheap, it's natural, easy to store and use.
Most importantly, coconut oil is the best hair product I've ever used!
I still can't believe it works!!!
It makes my hair so, so smooth, my hair has never been smoother than before.

I'll definitely be using this until I die!! It's AMAZING!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aksharad on 11/22/2012 4:39:00 AM more reviews by aksharad

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I come from India, a country wherein coconut oil is perhaps the most widely used and loved hair treatment of all times. It is relatively inexpensive, easily available and absolutely natural! It is a natural source of lauric acid, capric acid, caprylic acid, vitamin E, vitamin K and protein and it has antimicrobial, antioxidant, antifungal, antibacterial and soothing properties.


The benefits of coconut oil are ample, both internal and external, however this review is for coconut oil as a hair treatment :). I have tried coconut oils of various types - the standard blue bottle of pure coconut oil that we get almost everywhere in India, the "enriched" versions and even the super expensive coconut hair oil from the body shop. They all work wonders, however nothing can beat the no frills pure coconut oil.


I usually prefer to use coconut oil as an overnight deep conditioning treatment. What I do is, I take a good amount of coconut oil, warm it up and apply it all over my hair including the scalp. A lot of people insist that you need not use any oils on your scalp, but hey, even your scalp needs nourishment and nutrition, right? I also focus on the ends of my hair since they tend to get dry and split easily. Then I braid my hair and go to bed and wash it off the next day (you might have to shampoo your hair twice to make sure that your hair is completely clean)


I have been doing this on and off since months and I can definitely tell that my hair looks a lot smoother, bouncier and most importantly HEALTHIER because of coconut oil. The ends of my hair look tamed and there is no dryness whatsoever. If used regularly, it can help your hair to recover from the damage that is caused by chemicals and heat styling due to the natural protein content. It can also be used as a leave-in conditioner but I personally do not prefer it that way since my hair tends to look greasy, but as an overnight treatment I absolutely love it and recommend it :)



17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* melangerehab on 9/27/2012 4:56:00 PM more reviews by melangerehab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Good for hair! Read what other folks are saying about it, I don't see the need to repeat what they're saying. Shiny, silky, soft hair, blah blah blah. I like leaving it in overnight but leaving it in for just an hour or two will help too.

I will say this though: coconut oil is NOT GOOD FOR THE FACE. If you put it in your hair, avoid getting it near your hairline. You WILL break out. Break out, not "purge". You do not "purge" with coconut oil. It is extremely comedogenic. Matter of fact, take any review that says a product will make your skin "purge" with a HUGE grain of salt. It is more than likely just bad for your skin. I tried to use coconut oil as a face moisturizer and I had the worst acne I've had in years. Don't try it.

36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FleurDeCherisier on 8/1/2012 8:34:00 AM more reviews by FleurDeCherisier

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Do not doubt when you see extra virgin coconut oil in a store! It's the best hair care product, best facial moisturizer and best body moisturizer. It's a lifesaver for naturally dry and/or damaged hair.

Hair care: Rub a pea sized amount of the solid oil between your fingers until it's warm and put it on your hair ends an hour or a night before you wash your hair. For an intensive treatment heat a table spoon of coconut oil au bain Marie and rub it in your wet, not yet shampooed hair, wait thirty minutes and shampoo twice.

Moisturizer: Rub a little amount of the oil between your fingers until warm and apply it on your face and all other dry spots. Tip: when you see/feel an upcoming pimple dab a little coconut oil on it before you go to sleep.

My dry, damaged hair and skin love extra virgin coconut oil!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ECLion on 7/1/2012 3:35:00 AM more reviews by ECLion

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I swim regularly (five days a week) and the chlorine has really taken a toll on my hair. It was starting to feel dry and brittle, very unusual for my generally healthy locks. I used coconut oil as a winter moisturizer, and had some left over that I was unlikely to cook with (been sitting in my makeup bag with my fingers in it -nothanks). Anyway, I rubbed LOTS of it through my hair and scalp, especially on the ends. I let it sit for an hour or so, and then shampooed twice with head and shoulders classic. I woke up this morning with soft, healthy hair. Would consider repeating once a week or as needed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scareyj on 6/30/2012 7:15:00 AM more reviews by scareyj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I use Nutiva brand that is organic. I use it on my hair only when it is completely dry. For me it works the best this way. I have very thick, coarse, wavy hair that is very dry and coconut oil is the only oil that has worked on my hair to make it feel softer. I rub it between my hands to melt it and distribute it all over. I just leave it in. A wonderful bonus is the smell...num num :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products