Unlisted Brand • Coconut Oil • Hair

rated 4.5(175 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.92%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 aksharad on 11/22/2012 4:39:00 AM more reviews by aksharad

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I come from India, a country wherein coconut oil is perhaps the most widely used and loved hair treatment of all times. It is relatively inexpensive, easily available and absolutely natural! It is a natural source of lauric acid, capric acid, caprylic acid, vitamin E, vitamin K and protein and it has antimicrobial, antioxidant, antifungal, antibacterial and soothing properties.


The benefits of coconut oil are ample, both internal and external, however this review is for coconut oil as a hair treatment :). I have tried coconut oils of various types - the standard blue bottle of pure coconut oil that we get almost everywhere in India, the "enriched" versions and even the super expensive coconut hair oil from the body shop. They all work wonders, however nothing can beat the no frills pure coconut oil.


I usually prefer to use coconut oil as an overnight deep conditioning treatment. What I do is, I take a good amount of coconut oil, warm it up and apply it all over my hair including the scalp. A lot of people insist that you need not use any oils on your scalp, but hey, even your scalp needs nourishment and nutrition, right? I also focus on the ends of my hair since they tend to get dry and split easily. Then I braid my hair and go to bed and wash it off the next day (you might have to shampoo your hair twice to make sure that your hair is completely clean)


I have been doing this on and off since months and I can definitely tell that my hair looks a lot smoother, bouncier and most importantly HEALTHIER because of coconut oil. The ends of my hair look tamed and there is no dryness whatsoever. If used regularly, it can help your hair to recover from the damage that is caused by chemicals and heat styling due to the natural protein content. It can also be used as a leave-in conditioner but I personally do not prefer it that way since my hair tends to look greasy, but as an overnight treatment I absolutely love it and recommend it :)



16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* melangerehab on 9/27/2012 4:56:00 PM more reviews by melangerehab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Good for hair! Read what other folks are saying about it, I don't see the need to repeat what they're saying. Shiny, silky, soft hair, blah blah blah. I like leaving it in overnight but leaving it in for just an hour or two will help too.

I will say this though: coconut oil is NOT GOOD FOR THE FACE. If you put it in your hair, avoid getting it near your hairline. You WILL break out. Break out, not "purge". You do not "purge" with coconut oil. It is extremely comedogenic. Matter of fact, take any review that says a product will make your skin "purge" with a HUGE grain of salt. It is more than likely just bad for your skin. I tried to use coconut oil as a face moisturizer and I had the worst acne I've had in years. Don't try it.

36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FleurDeCherisier on 8/1/2012 8:34:00 AM more reviews by FleurDeCherisier

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Do not doubt when you see extra virgin coconut oil in a store! It's the best hair care product, best facial moisturizer and best body moisturizer. It's a lifesaver for naturally dry and/or damaged hair.

Hair care: Rub a pea sized amount of the solid oil between your fingers until it's warm and put it on your hair ends an hour or a night before you wash your hair. For an intensive treatment heat a table spoon of coconut oil au bain Marie and rub it in your wet, not yet shampooed hair, wait thirty minutes and shampoo twice.

Moisturizer: Rub a little amount of the oil between your fingers until warm and apply it on your face and all other dry spots. Tip: when you see/feel an upcoming pimple dab a little coconut oil on it before you go to sleep.

My dry, damaged hair and skin love extra virgin coconut oil!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ECLion on 7/1/2012 3:35:00 AM more reviews by ECLion

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I swim regularly (five days a week) and the chlorine has really taken a toll on my hair. It was starting to feel dry and brittle, very unusual for my generally healthy locks. I used coconut oil as a winter moisturizer, and had some left over that I was unlikely to cook with (been sitting in my makeup bag with my fingers in it -nothanks). Anyway, I rubbed LOTS of it through my hair and scalp, especially on the ends. I let it sit for an hour or so, and then shampooed twice with head and shoulders classic. I woke up this morning with soft, healthy hair. Would consider repeating once a week or as needed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scareyj on 6/30/2012 7:15:00 AM more reviews by scareyj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I use Nutiva brand that is organic. I use it on my hair only when it is completely dry. For me it works the best this way. I have very thick, coarse, wavy hair that is very dry and coconut oil is the only oil that has worked on my hair to make it feel softer. I rub it between my hands to melt it and distribute it all over. I just leave it in. A wonderful bonus is the smell...num num :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shopaholic14 on 6/29/2012 11:53:00 PM more reviews by shopaholic14

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I really have to thank my mom for my long, thick hair. Since I was a baby, she has been mixing castor and coconut oils and massaging them into my hair twice a week. This combination really nourishes the scalp and the hair (of course you have to leave it on for at least an hour if not overnight and then shampoo twice to get it all out). I used to have waist-length, thick, lush, jet black wavy hair. Now that I am a mother of two, I simply don't have time or energy for oil massages and that has taken a severe toll on my hair. I'm going to start the castor+coconut oil regime again to get my lush mane back. Its a natural hair spa, the massage stimulates blood circulation in the scalp and as a bonus, the oil on ur fingers hydrates ur cuticles as well. I recommend this to everyone because I have seen what miracles it works. I do it for both my sons too and they have amazing hair!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nshym on 6/11/2012 8:01:00 PM more reviews by nshym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For the record I use Trader Joe's Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil.

I put it in my hair before sleeping, then shampoo in the morning, leave it in my hair when damp. Works well! I haven't used a conditioner since or any silicon styling products. It takes trial and error to know how much you need.

I also use it on my face with a combination of jojoba and Vitamin E oil for dry patches and sun damage along with oil cleansing. At first, I thought my pores got clogged, but actually in fact it was all the gunk from my skin coming to the surface. Now I have clear skin, and the redness from my face is slowly fading. I also use it beneath my bb cream when I need a little extra moisture around the extremely dry areas around my mouth.

The container is a jar, so I suggest you transfer some over in a small travel-sized bottle if you want to make things easier for you. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saromakeup on 6/10/2012 10:22:00 AM more reviews by saromakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Coconut oil is the only oil known to be able to penetrate the cortex of the hair. Therefore, one of the most effective hair moisturizers on earth.
Hair needs to be uncoated (most conditioners/products will coat).
Ideally, should go on hair after use of a clarifying shampoo or baking soda wash and vinegar rinse. Can also be added to shampoo in the coconut oil shampoo method.
When used on uncoated hair, the coconut oil penetrates the hair - and the results you wouldn't believe. Almost born again hair!! When used on coated hair, can result in a crunchy feeling. Well worth experimenting with.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fihe on 6/10/2012 3:08:00 AM more reviews by fihe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Coconut oil has proven to be AMAZING for my hair! even though I have somewhat thin hair with oily roots, it seems like over the past year or so, my ends have gotten dry. I suppose this is because I wash and blow dry my hair every day now. since I exercise daily, I don't like to have a dirty, sweaty head of hair on my pillow at night. well, anyway, I was in need of something to moisturize my ends since my Suave Humectant conditioner just wasn't cutting it. so I decided to apply coconut oil to my hair. the first time I used it, it was a huge fail and made my hair completely greasy. then I realized I was using it wrong, as well as using way too much. I've realized the best way for me to use coconut oil as a hair treatment is to rub a bit into my hair, avoiding the roots, tie up my hair with a jaw clip, wait 30-60 minutes, and then shampoo, condition, and style as usual. my hair is left incredibly soft and beautiful! I've found that coconut oil works much better for me than olive oil; because it's a solid at room temperature, it's much easier to control how much I use so that I don't end up with greasy ends.

the coconut oil I use is the same one I cook with, but I keep some in a little jar in my room with my hair products. I purchased a 16 fl. oz. jar from my local Indian grocery for about $4, so not only is it super cheap considering how long it lasts, but it's not just good for the hair!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missligit on 8/15/2011 7:05:00 PM more reviews by missligit

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

So this all natural product is meant for people with thick, coarse, and, typically, dry hair. If your hair is normal-oily, fine, or thin, you most likely will find coconut oil too heavy/unhelpful for your hair. Coconut oil is very thick and heavy. Even on my coarse and relatively thick hair I find that it ways my hair down sometimes after applying a drop too much. Also, the fact that, at room temp, this product is mostly solid makes it difficult to use and often results in a lot of hassle and a big mess. Despite all of those flaws, I would have to say that coconut oil is a great product FOR MY HAIR TYPE. It makes my hair so incredibly soft and manageable. My hair feels silky and healthy after applying this product.

I use coconut oil in 2 ways.

1) As a leave in: After my hair has been shampooed and conditioned and is now damp, I apply a moisturizing leave-in conditioner and then apply a dime sized amount of coconut oil to my entire head (including my scalp). Or, if I'm wearing my hair straight, then after I have completely straightened my hair I apply less than a dime-sized amount (when my hair is straight it's more likely to look weighed down) to my ends.

2) As a deep conditioning oil treatment: 1-2 days after I have shampooed my hair ( I shampoo it every 3-4 days) I will spray water all over my hair to get it damp. Then, I will apply the coconut oil all over my head (and I mean get a LOT of this stuff, like, a handful almost). Once my hair is completely saturated in the oil I wrap my head in plastic wrap to lock in the natural heat that radiates from my head and leave it on for about 45 min-1 hour. Then I rinse it off and follow with a leave in product of choice.


Overall, I would definitely recommend this product to black people because we tend to have extremely coarse and thick (and dry) hair. I would also recommend it to people with curly or frizzy hair to smooth it down and add nutrients to your hair.

CAUTION: People with straight, thin, and fine hair: beware. It might make you look like a grease monster.

DOUBLE CAUTION: do NOT wear a lot of this product outside in the winter as the "oil" will solidify and turn hard as a rock...and so will your hair.

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products