Coconut Oil

4.5

182 reviews

91% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Cocos Nucifera Oil.


on 1/15/2013 7:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

What can I say... this is amazing!!!

I have Keratosis Pilaris also known as chicken skin on my legs and my skin is all bumpy and rough. I did some research and read that KP can be partially caused due to dry skin and some articles/videos recommended using extra virgin coconut oil. At first I was a little reluctant because I felt that it would be too greasy and my skin wouldn't absorb it properly especially because I had bad experience with Palmer's Cocoa Butter just sitting on my skin and not doing anything but finally I decided I could give it a try and it's been about 4 days since using it and my skin has never felt so good and my chicken skin has not disappeared but it has gotten a lot better. My skin feels softer and looks healthier. I haven't used it on my face but I have also used it on my hair. I massaged it into my hair and scalp and left it in for 45min before shampooing and conditioning my hair. It left my hair shiny and soft.


Extra Virgin Cononut Oil is a wonderful versatile product and here are other ways of using it


1) as a body moisturiser


2) to soothe dry hands


3) as a shaving cream substitute


4) as a deep hair conditioner


5) to remove eye-make up


6) to clean and hydrate your face


Because coconut oil is naturally antibacterial, anti fungal, moisturizing and, according to research, great for atopic dermatitis, many women swear by its use as a nighttime moisturizer for their face, too. Try the double-cleansing method: Simply rub the oil in circular motions all over your face and neck, giving yourself a gentle massage as you go. When you’re done, wash off the residue with your favorite cleanser. (If you’re adult-acne prone, avoid this technique unless you know your skin tolerates coconut oil.)


Why use coconut oil? Because it's inexpensive and all natural!



Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I've been using pure coconut oil on my hair for about 3 weeks now, and the results have been AMAZING! Just fyi, I have medium length brown hair that I had balayaged last year, so the ends were extremely dry and frazzled. I used a blow dryer straightening iron on my hair everyday until I decided enough was enough. I'd read some reviews online about coconut oil as a hair treatment but honestly didn't believe the hype... Until I decided to buy a jar and try it out for myself.
The results were amazing! The way I used it was applying a liberal amount (enough to saturate the hair without it dripping, including roots) to dry hair and letting it soak in for 3 hours. I then washed it, twice with shampoo & once with conditioner (Tigi Resurrection which I think add to the success of making my hair healthy again), as well as a 5 minute leave in coconut treatment by Palmers (Coconut Oil Formula Conditioner). This might sound like a lot, but doing this once a week has literally transformed my hair, and I think the coconut oil is definitely whats helping it.
I've now changed my routine which believe is helping it more. I now apply liberally, the same as before, to damp hair and sleep on it, so that it's on the hair for 10-12 hours, then wash using the same steps as above. This is more of a deep clean as it is on the hair for longer, so only needs to be done every 1-2 weeks. The results speak for themselves though!
I now also regularly dip 3 or 4 fingers into the jar to get enough to coat the ends of my hair (without it being greasy) if my hair is going to be in a bun for the day.
Before genuinely caring about my hair, I never got regular trims and used ordinary, cheap supermarket shampoos. While these work for people with normal, healthy hair, I think that if you want to see lasting success with Coconut Oil, it is important to invest in a good shampoo - not necessarily expensive, but not cheap.
If you haven't tried coconut oil and you're stuck thinking nothing is ever going to make your hair look and feel healthy again, I seriously recommend you try Coconut Oil. It takes a little bit of trial and error to discover what works for you, but you'll be seriously thankful once you've used it!


on 12/22/2012 11:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Other, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Here's what I did: I bought the extra virgin, organic stuff from Trader Joes, took half out of the jar and put it in a clean, empty, wide mouth jar in the bathroom for beauty uses, and kept the other half in the kitchen for cooking (great for Indian recipes, on toast, and supposedly helps to prevent Alzheimer's! Why not!? Tastes amazing.)

I use it as a carrier oil for hair treatments, along with jojoba and almond (I think the almond is way more moisturizing but love jojoba for face). I also put it directly into hair and while it's greasy at first, the next day it doesn't feel so much. Though I think the best use is as a pre-poo. I was a little scared to use it on my skin because I clog easily, and most oils I can't put directly on my skin. Later I found that coconut oil on my skin is a big NO but it's good for my hair. I've used it many times now. I also use it as a pre-bleaching treatment to protect the hair. The bleach still works, but it protects the hair from over drying/becoming too brittle. I found a neat trick when soaking my hair with it all day, I just do a cool braid style (since it's too oily and greasy to wear down.) It looks sleek and polished with no fly aways (since I hate gels and stuff) and no one knows! :) Def try it!!


on 12/19/2012 2:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Oh coconut oil how I love you so.
A while back when I was about 16 or 17 years old I got a really bad haircut and I mean BAD. I also was stupid and constantly straightened my hair and blowdried it and used harsh products on it all the time. My hair was dead, lifeless, dull and would NOT grow. I swear in 3 years my hair probably grew 1.5 inches. It was REALLY REALLY bad and I didn't know what to do. I tried taking biotin, multivitamins, olive oil, expensive repair masks and they only did so much to my hair. I was looking up what would be really helpful and I saw coconut oil. I went to the supermarket and saw a giant jar of it for $5 which is amazing since most expensive hair masks are $20+.

I use coconut oil in so many ways, once a week I take the coconut oil, rub it between my hands and work it through my hair from the scalp to the ends and paying more attention to the ends because that's where most of the damage in your hair is. I leave it in for an hour or two and wash it out and then use normal shampoo and conditioner after. The first time I had tried it my hair was soo strong and bouncy feeling. I was hooked!!
Another way I use coconut oil is combined with olive oil, honey and an egg yolk as a protein mask and it has made my hair stronger than EVER before. My hair in this past year has grown probably around 6-7 inches compared to the 1.5 it was before. I am so in love with this product and how cheap and easy to use it is.
It has soo many benefits to the hair and really penetrates and moisturizes and helps repair. I would recommend this to anyone who is having trouble with their hair being dead and damaged, it really is holy grail status and I will use this forever.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/15/2012 3:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The only hair mask I like so sleep with. Love the smell :i


on 12/15/2012 1:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

BEST HAIR PRODUCT HANDS DOWN! I began using the oil after reading from a scientific journal that proved coconut oil penetrated the hair shaft and moisturized, rather than just coat the outer layer which is what conditioners and other oils do. (Also, I believe the journal stated that the oil yields best results when used as a prewash) Anyway, this oil surprised me because it gave my hair the most incredible, healthiest, shine that I wouldn't have expected from just one product.

I like to do the oil hair treatment atleast once a week, sometimes twice a week if I have time. Go buy it, try it out for a couple of weeks, and after a few times of usage you will definitely see results.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2012 4:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Wow I can't believe Cocnut oil works!!
I heard a lot about it and how some celebrities use it to nourish their hair, but I was so dubious about it.
It's cheap, it's natural, easy to store and use.
Most importantly, coconut oil is the best hair product I've ever used!
I still can't believe it works!!!
It makes my hair so, so smooth, my hair has never been smoother than before.

I'll definitely be using this until I die!! It's AMAZING!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2012 4:39:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I come from India, a country wherein coconut oil is perhaps the most widely used and loved hair treatment of all times. It is relatively inexpensive, easily available and absolutely natural! It is a natural source of lauric acid, capric acid, caprylic acid, vitamin E, vitamin K and protein and it has antimicrobial, antioxidant, antifungal, antibacterial and soothing properties.


The benefits of coconut oil are ample, both internal and external, however this review is for coconut oil as a hair treatment :). I have tried coconut oils of various types - the standard blue bottle of pure coconut oil that we get almost everywhere in India, the "enriched" versions and even the super expensive coconut hair oil from the body shop. They all work wonders, however nothing can beat the no frills pure coconut oil.


I usually prefer to use coconut oil as an overnight deep conditioning treatment. What I do is, I take a good amount of coconut oil, warm it up and apply it all over my hair including the scalp. A lot of people insist that you need not use any oils on your scalp, but hey, even your scalp needs nourishment and nutrition, right? I also focus on the ends of my hair since they tend to get dry and split easily. Then I braid my hair and go to bed and wash it off the next day (you might have to shampoo your hair twice to make sure that your hair is completely clean)


I have been doing this on and off since months and I can definitely tell that my hair looks a lot smoother, bouncier and most importantly HEALTHIER because of coconut oil. The ends of my hair look tamed and there is no dryness whatsoever. If used regularly, it can help your hair to recover from the damage that is caused by chemicals and heat styling due to the natural protein content. It can also be used as a leave-in conditioner but I personally do not prefer it that way since my hair tends to look greasy, but as an overnight treatment I absolutely love it and recommend it :)



17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2012 4:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Good for hair! Read what other folks are saying about it, I don't see the need to repeat what they're saying. Shiny, silky, soft hair, blah blah blah. I like leaving it in overnight but leaving it in for just an hour or two will help too.

I will say this though: coconut oil is NOT GOOD FOR THE FACE. If you put it in your hair, avoid getting it near your hairline. You WILL break out. Break out, not "purge". You do not "purge" with coconut oil. It is extremely comedogenic. Matter of fact, take any review that says a product will make your skin "purge" with a HUGE grain of salt. It is more than likely just bad for your skin. I tried to use coconut oil as a face moisturizer and I had the worst acne I've had in years. Don't try it.

38 out of 43 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Do not doubt when you see extra virgin coconut oil in a store! It's the best hair care product, best facial moisturizer and best body moisturizer. It's a lifesaver for naturally dry and/or damaged hair.

Hair care: Rub a pea sized amount of the solid oil between your fingers until it's warm and put it on your hair ends an hour or a night before you wash your hair. For an intensive treatment heat a table spoon of coconut oil au bain Marie and rub it in your wet, not yet shampooed hair, wait thirty minutes and shampoo twice.

Moisturizer: Rub a little amount of the oil between your fingers until warm and apply it on your face and all other dry spots. Tip: when you see/feel an upcoming pimple dab a little coconut oil on it before you go to sleep.

My dry, damaged hair and skin love extra virgin coconut oil!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Hair Products


Moroccan Oil
809 Reviews
Deep Repair Mask
307 Reviews


Back to Top