Unlisted Brand • Coconut Oil • Hair

rated 4.5(177 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 shyaa on 12/15/2012 1:13:00 AM more reviews by shyaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

BEST HAIR PRODUCT HANDS DOWN! I began using the oil after reading from a scientific journal that proved coconut oil penetrated the hair shaft and moisturized, rather than just coat the outer layer which is what conditioners and other oils do. (Also, I believe the journal stated that the oil yields best results when used as a prewash) Anyway, this oil surprised me because it gave my hair the most incredible, healthiest, shine that I wouldn't have expected from just one product.

I like to do the oil hair treatment atleast once a week, sometimes twice a week if I have time. Go buy it, try it out for a couple of weeks, and after a few times of usage you will definitely see results.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DiJO on 12/8/2012 4:09:00 AM more reviews by DiJO

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Wow I can't believe Cocnut oil works!!
I heard a lot about it and how some celebrities use it to nourish their hair, but I was so dubious about it.
It's cheap, it's natural, easy to store and use.
Most importantly, coconut oil is the best hair product I've ever used!
I still can't believe it works!!!
It makes my hair so, so smooth, my hair has never been smoother than before.

I'll definitely be using this until I die!! It's AMAZING!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aksharad on 11/22/2012 4:39:00 AM more reviews by aksharad

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I come from India, a country wherein coconut oil is perhaps the most widely used and loved hair treatment of all times. It is relatively inexpensive, easily available and absolutely natural! It is a natural source of lauric acid, capric acid, caprylic acid, vitamin E, vitamin K and protein and it has antimicrobial, antioxidant, antifungal, antibacterial and soothing properties.


The benefits of coconut oil are ample, both internal and external, however this review is for coconut oil as a hair treatment :). I have tried coconut oils of various types - the standard blue bottle of pure coconut oil that we get almost everywhere in India, the "enriched" versions and even the super expensive coconut hair oil from the body shop. They all work wonders, however nothing can beat the no frills pure coconut oil.


I usually prefer to use coconut oil as an overnight deep conditioning treatment. What I do is, I take a good amount of coconut oil, warm it up and apply it all over my hair including the scalp. A lot of people insist that you need not use any oils on your scalp, but hey, even your scalp needs nourishment and nutrition, right? I also focus on the ends of my hair since they tend to get dry and split easily. Then I braid my hair and go to bed and wash it off the next day (you might have to shampoo your hair twice to make sure that your hair is completely clean)


I have been doing this on and off since months and I can definitely tell that my hair looks a lot smoother, bouncier and most importantly HEALTHIER because of coconut oil. The ends of my hair look tamed and there is no dryness whatsoever. If used regularly, it can help your hair to recover from the damage that is caused by chemicals and heat styling due to the natural protein content. It can also be used as a leave-in conditioner but I personally do not prefer it that way since my hair tends to look greasy, but as an overnight treatment I absolutely love it and recommend it :)



17 out of 18 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* melangerehab on 9/27/2012 4:56:00 PM more reviews by melangerehab

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Good for hair! Read what other folks are saying about it, I don't see the need to repeat what they're saying. Shiny, silky, soft hair, blah blah blah. I like leaving it in overnight but leaving it in for just an hour or two will help too.

I will say this though: coconut oil is NOT GOOD FOR THE FACE. If you put it in your hair, avoid getting it near your hairline. You WILL break out. Break out, not "purge". You do not "purge" with coconut oil. It is extremely comedogenic. Matter of fact, take any review that says a product will make your skin "purge" with a HUGE grain of salt. It is more than likely just bad for your skin. I tried to use coconut oil as a face moisturizer and I had the worst acne I've had in years. Don't try it.

36 out of 40 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 FleurDeCherisier on 8/1/2012 8:34:00 AM more reviews by FleurDeCherisier

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Do not doubt when you see extra virgin coconut oil in a store! It's the best hair care product, best facial moisturizer and best body moisturizer. It's a lifesaver for naturally dry and/or damaged hair.

Hair care: Rub a pea sized amount of the solid oil between your fingers until it's warm and put it on your hair ends an hour or a night before you wash your hair. For an intensive treatment heat a table spoon of coconut oil au bain Marie and rub it in your wet, not yet shampooed hair, wait thirty minutes and shampoo twice.

Moisturizer: Rub a little amount of the oil between your fingers until warm and apply it on your face and all other dry spots. Tip: when you see/feel an upcoming pimple dab a little coconut oil on it before you go to sleep.

My dry, damaged hair and skin love extra virgin coconut oil!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ECLion on 7/1/2012 3:35:00 AM more reviews by ECLion

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I swim regularly (five days a week) and the chlorine has really taken a toll on my hair. It was starting to feel dry and brittle, very unusual for my generally healthy locks. I used coconut oil as a winter moisturizer, and had some left over that I was unlikely to cook with (been sitting in my makeup bag with my fingers in it -nothanks). Anyway, I rubbed LOTS of it through my hair and scalp, especially on the ends. I let it sit for an hour or so, and then shampooed twice with head and shoulders classic. I woke up this morning with soft, healthy hair. Would consider repeating once a week or as needed.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 scareyj on 6/30/2012 7:15:00 AM more reviews by scareyj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I use Nutiva brand that is organic. I use it on my hair only when it is completely dry. For me it works the best this way. I have very thick, coarse, wavy hair that is very dry and coconut oil is the only oil that has worked on my hair to make it feel softer. I rub it between my hands to melt it and distribute it all over. I just leave it in. A wonderful bonus is the smell...num num :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shopaholic14 on 6/29/2012 11:53:00 PM more reviews by shopaholic14

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I really have to thank my mom for my long, thick hair. Since I was a baby, she has been mixing castor and coconut oils and massaging them into my hair twice a week. This combination really nourishes the scalp and the hair (of course you have to leave it on for at least an hour if not overnight and then shampoo twice to get it all out). I used to have waist-length, thick, lush, jet black wavy hair. Now that I am a mother of two, I simply don't have time or energy for oil massages and that has taken a severe toll on my hair. I'm going to start the castor+coconut oil regime again to get my lush mane back. Its a natural hair spa, the massage stimulates blood circulation in the scalp and as a bonus, the oil on ur fingers hydrates ur cuticles as well. I recommend this to everyone because I have seen what miracles it works. I do it for both my sons too and they have amazing hair!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nshym on 6/11/2012 8:01:00 PM more reviews by nshym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For the record I use Trader Joe's Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil.

I put it in my hair before sleeping, then shampoo in the morning, leave it in my hair when damp. Works well! I haven't used a conditioner since or any silicon styling products. It takes trial and error to know how much you need.

I also use it on my face with a combination of jojoba and Vitamin E oil for dry patches and sun damage along with oil cleansing. At first, I thought my pores got clogged, but actually in fact it was all the gunk from my skin coming to the surface. Now I have clear skin, and the redness from my face is slowly fading. I also use it beneath my bb cream when I need a little extra moisture around the extremely dry areas around my mouth.

The container is a jar, so I suggest you transfer some over in a small travel-sized bottle if you want to make things easier for you. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saromakeup on 6/10/2012 10:22:00 AM more reviews by saromakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Coconut oil is the only oil known to be able to penetrate the cortex of the hair. Therefore, one of the most effective hair moisturizers on earth.
Hair needs to be uncoated (most conditioners/products will coat).
Ideally, should go on hair after use of a clarifying shampoo or baking soda wash and vinegar rinse. Can also be added to shampoo in the coconut oil shampoo method.
When used on uncoated hair, the coconut oil penetrates the hair - and the results you wouldn't believe. Almost born again hair!! When used on coated hair, can result in a crunchy feeling. Well worth experimenting with.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products