Unlisted Brand • Coconut Oil • Hair

rated 4.5(171 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.91%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 scareyj on 6/30/2012 7:15:00 AM more reviews by scareyj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I use Nutiva brand that is organic. I use it on my hair only when it is completely dry. For me it works the best this way. I have very thick, coarse, wavy hair that is very dry and coconut oil is the only oil that has worked on my hair to make it feel softer. I rub it between my hands to melt it and distribute it all over. I just leave it in. A wonderful bonus is the smell...num num :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shopaholic14 on 6/29/2012 11:53:00 PM more reviews by shopaholic14

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I really have to thank my mom for my long, thick hair. Since I was a baby, she has been mixing castor and coconut oils and massaging them into my hair twice a week. This combination really nourishes the scalp and the hair (of course you have to leave it on for at least an hour if not overnight and then shampoo twice to get it all out). I used to have waist-length, thick, lush, jet black wavy hair. Now that I am a mother of two, I simply don't have time or energy for oil massages and that has taken a severe toll on my hair. I'm going to start the castor+coconut oil regime again to get my lush mane back. Its a natural hair spa, the massage stimulates blood circulation in the scalp and as a bonus, the oil on ur fingers hydrates ur cuticles as well. I recommend this to everyone because I have seen what miracles it works. I do it for both my sons too and they have amazing hair!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nshym on 6/11/2012 8:01:00 PM more reviews by nshym

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

For the record I use Trader Joe's Organic Extra Virgin Coconut Oil.

I put it in my hair before sleeping, then shampoo in the morning, leave it in my hair when damp. Works well! I haven't used a conditioner since or any silicon styling products. It takes trial and error to know how much you need.

I also use it on my face with a combination of jojoba and Vitamin E oil for dry patches and sun damage along with oil cleansing. At first, I thought my pores got clogged, but actually in fact it was all the gunk from my skin coming to the surface. Now I have clear skin, and the redness from my face is slowly fading. I also use it beneath my bb cream when I need a little extra moisture around the extremely dry areas around my mouth.

The container is a jar, so I suggest you transfer some over in a small travel-sized bottle if you want to make things easier for you. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 saromakeup on 6/10/2012 10:22:00 AM more reviews by saromakeup

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Coconut oil is the only oil known to be able to penetrate the cortex of the hair. Therefore, one of the most effective hair moisturizers on earth.
Hair needs to be uncoated (most conditioners/products will coat).
Ideally, should go on hair after use of a clarifying shampoo or baking soda wash and vinegar rinse. Can also be added to shampoo in the coconut oil shampoo method.
When used on uncoated hair, the coconut oil penetrates the hair - and the results you wouldn't believe. Almost born again hair!! When used on coated hair, can result in a crunchy feeling. Well worth experimenting with.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fihe on 6/10/2012 3:08:00 AM more reviews by fihe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Coconut oil has proven to be AMAZING for my hair! even though I have somewhat thin hair with oily roots, it seems like over the past year or so, my ends have gotten dry. I suppose this is because I wash and blow dry my hair every day now. since I exercise daily, I don't like to have a dirty, sweaty head of hair on my pillow at night. well, anyway, I was in need of something to moisturize my ends since my Suave Humectant conditioner just wasn't cutting it. so I decided to apply coconut oil to my hair. the first time I used it, it was a huge fail and made my hair completely greasy. then I realized I was using it wrong, as well as using way too much. I've realized the best way for me to use coconut oil as a hair treatment is to rub a bit into my hair, avoiding the roots, tie up my hair with a jaw clip, wait 30-60 minutes, and then shampoo, condition, and style as usual. my hair is left incredibly soft and beautiful! I've found that coconut oil works much better for me than olive oil; because it's a solid at room temperature, it's much easier to control how much I use so that I don't end up with greasy ends.

the coconut oil I use is the same one I cook with, but I keep some in a little jar in my room with my hair products. I purchased a 16 fl. oz. jar from my local Indian grocery for about $4, so not only is it super cheap considering how long it lasts, but it's not just good for the hair!

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missligit on 8/15/2011 7:05:00 PM more reviews by missligit

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

So this all natural product is meant for people with thick, coarse, and, typically, dry hair. If your hair is normal-oily, fine, or thin, you most likely will find coconut oil too heavy/unhelpful for your hair. Coconut oil is very thick and heavy. Even on my coarse and relatively thick hair I find that it ways my hair down sometimes after applying a drop too much. Also, the fact that, at room temp, this product is mostly solid makes it difficult to use and often results in a lot of hassle and a big mess. Despite all of those flaws, I would have to say that coconut oil is a great product FOR MY HAIR TYPE. It makes my hair so incredibly soft and manageable. My hair feels silky and healthy after applying this product.

I use coconut oil in 2 ways.

1) As a leave in: After my hair has been shampooed and conditioned and is now damp, I apply a moisturizing leave-in conditioner and then apply a dime sized amount of coconut oil to my entire head (including my scalp). Or, if I'm wearing my hair straight, then after I have completely straightened my hair I apply less than a dime-sized amount (when my hair is straight it's more likely to look weighed down) to my ends.

2) As a deep conditioning oil treatment: 1-2 days after I have shampooed my hair ( I shampoo it every 3-4 days) I will spray water all over my hair to get it damp. Then, I will apply the coconut oil all over my head (and I mean get a LOT of this stuff, like, a handful almost). Once my hair is completely saturated in the oil I wrap my head in plastic wrap to lock in the natural heat that radiates from my head and leave it on for about 45 min-1 hour. Then I rinse it off and follow with a leave in product of choice.


Overall, I would definitely recommend this product to black people because we tend to have extremely coarse and thick (and dry) hair. I would also recommend it to people with curly or frizzy hair to smooth it down and add nutrients to your hair.

CAUTION: People with straight, thin, and fine hair: beware. It might make you look like a grease monster.

DOUBLE CAUTION: do NOT wear a lot of this product outside in the winter as the "oil" will solidify and turn hard as a rock...and so will your hair.

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hotpinklips on 5/17/2011 5:13:00 PM more reviews by hotpinklips

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been wanting to do a review of Coconut Oil for several months now, as I have been using it for about a year.

Now i finally got around to doing it :) Anyway, first off, you can see what my hair looks like in my profile. Very dry, highlighted once or twice a year, and long. My main problems are split ends, frizziness, and just the general unruliness of wavy-but-not-quite-curly hair.

Coconut oil was recommended to me by the wonderful girls on MUA, and after trying it, I am glad I did. I use it on my dry hair, i section off parts with clips, and then scoop out a small amount of CO with my hand. I let it melt in my palm (sometimes you need to rub your hands together) and then smooth it over the section of hair.

Repeat this until all your hair is a greasy mess. Haha! It will look wet and gross and feel oily. I usually put it all up in a clip or something and watch a movie. I've slept with it in before, but you will HAVE to put a towel down, unless you want to ruin your sheets.

I should add that the longer it sits on your hair, the better. More oil will be absorbed, and this is what you want.

Anyway, once you decide to wash it out (i find that a minimum of 4 hours on my hair is necessary--but this may vary depending on hairtype) be SURE to shampoo twice, or use a clarifying shampoo.

I once went on a date with a greasy strand by my right ear. The guy kept smelling me. And it looked awful. He didn't call back.

ANYWAYS.

Once you have gotten ALL the coconut oil out of your hair, don't condition, you don't want product buildup. Let it dry naturally and then style as you want. I noticed an immediate change in texture, and of course smell. Less frizz, and it SOFTENS your hair so nicely. It becomes really nice to touch and play with.

I try to do this every 2 weeks at least, and since CO is cheap, its definitely possible. The smell is truly amazing--think tropical beach vacation. Love what it does to my hair, i would recommend this to anyone!

I hope my experience can help out somebody else :)
good luck!

23 out of 25 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* renia22 on 5/17/2011 3:37:00 PM more reviews by renia22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The one have is Jarrow 100% organic unrefined Extra Virgin Cocout oil. It was $10.99 at Whole Foods My hair is fine and prone to damage. I use the tinie st bit of this coconut oil, rubbed on my palms & then on my hair, concentrating it on the ends. The key to using it on fine hair is to use only a little on dry hair, and leave it on overnight . When it's time to wash out, apply shampoo first (or conditioner if co-washing or using conditioner prior to shampooing), work through hair, then add water. If you add water first it binds the oil to your hair & it's more difficult to wash out. Used this way, my hair comes out clean, shiny, full & residue free. It's a misconception that more is better, studies have show that it's the amount of time left on hair that will determine whether or not hair improves, not the amount you use (studies have shown improvement & penetration after 14 hours). Loading it up is not going to make it penetrate any better or faster; you end up wasting the oil unnecessarily & it makes it harder to wash out, especially if you have fine hair.


The Jarrow brand does have a nice, light coconut scent. I store it in the fridge & keep a few shavings in a tiny tin in my bathroom for daily use. I also like the fiji brand, which comes in various sizes and does not need to be refrigerated. I usually use it during the day since if any gets on my face, back of my neck or back I get acne. This has a comedogenic rating of 4 on a scale of 1-5, so be careful if you are acne prone. Best to start with a little & add more if you find that your hair & skin can handle it. For me, less is more, my hair absorbs what it needs even if I only use a little. This stuff is thick & rich. It really helps improve my hair texture & any damaged areas.

13 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hellokittybrock on 5/4/2011 12:15:00 PM more reviews by hellokittybrock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Extra Virgin coconut oil is a life saver. During my long gone bad hair days, I had tons of split ends and my hair tangled like crazy. I dun color my hair but i digital perm it. I am Asian Chinese. Yes. It tangled like crazy. It was like some fur ball. I oil my hair from 1 inch below my ears all the way to the ends. Bun up my hair during the day and at night, i leave a towel on my pillow and i sleep thru it at night. In the morning i rinse off. Try it, it will make a difference in your split ends and cut your budget for all those deep conditioners u used to buy. U need to ensure few things for this to work. 1. Buy extra virgin coconut oil. Not virgin. Has to be extra virgin. I buy mine from iherb.com and it is really cheap. Try to leave it on overnight for it to work really well. How often u should do this depends on whether your hair needs protein or moisture. Yeah u need to understand this before you proceed. Usually if you have thin or fine hair, your hair needs moisture. But my hair needs protein as it has tons of split ends. If unsure, as a good hair stylist. I might be wrong as I am not a professional. Lastly, dun wash your hair everyday and use less styling tools. Good luck!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bennodalove on 5/4/2011 7:27:00 AM more reviews by bennodalove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Hair: My hair is a hot frizzy mess usually. I'm biracial with naturally very curly bushy hair. I have relaxed/dyed/bleached/used straighteners since I was in my early teens, so you can imagine my hair is very dry and I have a load of split ends. I use coconut oil as a deep conditioner once every fortnight (put onto dry hair and massage into the scalp and throughout the length of the hair, leave on for an hour and wash out as normal) and it gives my hair some added shine, softness, fullness and strength. My hair used to fall out in clumps in the shower but now it is back to being all thick and full again (can't decide if that's a blessing or a curse tbh!). I also suffer from a very dry scalp and dandruff, this helps reduce any flakes I have and relieve itchiness for a while which is nice. I don't think it is a miracle for hair as damaged as mine, but it really does help and has really improved the condition of my hair. I used to be so embarrassed going to the hairdressers as they would always comment on how brittle and damaged my hair was. But now they no longer say that :)


Cleanser: I only use as a *pre* cleanser. Coconut oil leaves a slippery film on the face and if you don't remove it properly it will probably break most people out (this used to happen to me back when I knew nothing about skincare). Now I use it as a pre-cleanser to melt my foundation and eye makeup off. It takes everything off. Follow up with my regular foaming cleanser and voila - beautifully clean skin. I used to have very bad acne (think cystic pimples...EVERYWHERE) and my skin used to be really oily. Now my skin is normal and clearer than it has been since I hit puberty. I don't get breakouts anymore unless makeup irritates my skin. It leaves my skin looking really plump and feeling ridiculously soft and smooth.


Moisturizer: I can't use it as a moisturizer on my face but as a body moisturizer it's lovely! Absorbs in roughly 10 minutes or so, doesn't feel sticky or heavy, and my skin feels like satin for days and days on end. Plus it's all natural so you don't have to worry about parabens and whatnot (if that sort of stuff worries you). I get really bad KP on the tops of my arms and coconut oil is THE only thing that has ever cleared it up. Please try it if you suffer from KP because it seriously cleared mine up within days and it never comes back as long as I keep using the coconut oil.


Health: Did you know that coconut oil increases HDL, reduces LDL, and reduces the triglycerides all at once? I convinced my dad to start having a tablespoon of coconut oil twice a day after he found out he was diabetic and had high cholesterol - after cutting out the bad food and having his coconut oil everyday, he now no longer suffers from those conditions, which he is really happy about as his mother died from diabetic induced diseases. I use coconut oil daily as a spread on my toast, in my daily protein shakes, to cook food with. It's a fairly efficient fuel source and the extra fats of coconut oil are not even stored in the body, they are usually utilized. I've had this in my diet for the past 4 years or so and it's worked wonders on my digestion, aided my weight loss, help clear up the nasty acne I used to have and made me feel more energetic. Coconut oil contains several components that are antifungal and antiviral, which helps in the treatment of viral caused illness. I rarely get colds or get ill anymore (unless I'm hungover hehehe...) BTW if you suffer from yeast infections/thrush, try using coconut oil! It kills yeast and has saved me from many tedious trips to the doctors...


I know some people think coconut oil is overrated but for me it works great. It's a staple in my house and I have about 4 tubs all over the place. Make sure it's unrefined and hasn't been through any chemical or bleaching processes. Hope everyone else who trys it has a positive experience with it like I have!

18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair products