Gillette • venus embrace • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.1(150 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 dany06 on 1/27/2011 7:26:00 PM more reviews by dany06

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This product is vastly overrated. To be honest a cheap pack of $2 bic disposable do far better than this expensive razor. So let me tell you about the pros and cons. The pros are the nifty litte cartridge holder/shower pod. You have storage for the cartridges and a place to hold your razor. This is what I like best about this product. The second pro is that you cant possibly cut yourself with this razor. The protective strips prevent the razor from getting anywhere near the skin. No wonder they recommend this one for first time shavers on their website. the last pro is that it glides over the skin effortlessly. the swivel/pivoting head makes it easily move over irregular or curved surfaces.

The cons. The prices suck. I usually dont spend more than 3 dollars for a pack of razors that I can use for weeks at a time. The biggest issue is that it doesnt give a clean shave. Not even close to one. I could still feel stuble after shaving with it.

I recently started back to shaving. I found some old unused bic disposible razors and I had could achieve sleek looking legs for 3 days. Even when stubble started to come back it was very very low. I then decided to try out the embrace after a few weeks of using up my bics. Well, the embrace couldnt cut down the hair at all. I shaved in the opposite direction of the hair growth and went over the areas about 4 times. This razor is probably meant for people with soft fine leg hair. I have thick coarse leg hair and lots of it. I thought going out and getting a more expensive(quality) one that tons of people raved about would make it even better. I guess not.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Rita19 on 1/8/2011 2:56:00 PM more reviews by Rita19

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely the best manual razor I have ever used!! This is my HG item. Rarely do I ever cut myself anymore. I get a nice close shave on my legs and underarms with no razor burn. I use either Skintimate or Gillette Satin Care Shave Gel along with this. I also like the original Venus too - works almost just as good. I highly recommend this product. A bit expensive for a razor but I almost always use coupons or stock up when I find them on sale/clearance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mackdilly on 11/23/2010 6:22:00 PM more reviews by mackdilly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love this razor!! It gets my legs silky smooth without irritating them. The blade stays sharp for a long time so I can get a few uses out of one before I trash it. I only wish that the cartridges weren't so expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 11/20/2010 2:03:00 AM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This seems flimsy to me, and it takes more strokes than my usual Gilette razor. Not the worst razor ever but I'm not impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 penguin10 on 11/19/2010 11:26:00 PM more reviews by penguin10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this razor for free and I've been waiting about a year or two for a chnace to try it except I never did because I was very happy with my Schick Quattro. Yes, it makes your legs smooth (just don't press hard, also, it does make a weird noise when you shave like I saw in another review). However, it seems pricey and the head, like everyone else has said, is really big and I'm not going to even attempt to shave my armpits. I was careful to shave over each spot once since I heard people rave about how they only have to go over everything once. A quick close up of my leg showed that it had missed three hairs on one leg, FYI for anyone who is picky about that. I'm probably going to stick with my Schick Quattro, but this was a nice blade to use (for free). It also made my legs shinier then the Quattro does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yourphatness on 11/9/2010 11:16:00 AM more reviews by yourphatness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

On the fence.. I think i might prefer Gillette Fusion (men's) because i feel it gives a closer shave. I dunno, lately it seems as though my legs aren't perfectly smooth using this, but i remember that they felt like silk with Gillette Fusion. I think it's overall good, i just prefer the men's.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Addicted2Makeup101 on 11/6/2010 5:49:00 PM more reviews by Addicted2Makeup101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Pretty decent razor. Gets the job done but honestly it's the exact same as those gillette daisy pink one blade razors, it just has more blades and a bigger razor head.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kilyblst08 on 9/29/2010 8:29:00 PM more reviews by kilyblst08

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I liked it until I switched my Venus heads to the original three-blade cartridges. Wow, what a difference. A much closer, smoother and more gentle shave, and no more having to deal with such a massive-sized cartridge. Won't buy these again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Liita on 8/23/2010 9:40:00 PM more reviews by Liita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this, the regular Venus is my favorite razor and I'd give that one 5 lippies and a buy again and again and again! but this one sadly wasn't as good as its sister. I find that the strip that surround the blades bothers me and doesn't allow a really close shave, so I have to swipe the razor a lot to get rid of all the hairs and still my legs are not soft.. and it's more expensive than regular Venus... never again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mandyja on 8/23/2010 9:31:00 PM more reviews by mandyja

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been cursed with having to shave my legs everyday in order to prevent stubble and keep them smooth. My hair does not grow finely, but rather thick. With the average razor(even 4 blades) I have to definitely stick to this rule. However,with the Venus Embrace I get a much closer shave and can bend the rules a little. I feel I shave so much faster with the Embrace because of the way the head moves. The razor lasts a good amount of time before it gets dull.

I agree with the other review that states you do need to be careful not to press so hard because these are very good blades. I have never cut myself with Venus Embrace, but I could imagine someone who is used to the 2 blade razors cutting themselves with this if not careful.

I have to say this is the best I have tried so far and that is a compliment from someone that shaves their legs all the time. I have tried all the cheapies, schick quattro, and other venus razors. l ♥this one the most.

The only drawback for me is the price..It's pretty expensive although I can justify the price because of my hair type. If you don't grow thick hair, and don't normally have to shave often you can get away with something less $$.

I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Gillette products

More Misc Beauty Tools products