Gillette • venus embrace • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.1(148 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 mackdilly on 11/23/2010 6:22:00 PM more reviews by mackdilly

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I love this razor!! It gets my legs silky smooth without irritating them. The blade stays sharp for a long time so I can get a few uses out of one before I trash it. I only wish that the cartridges weren't so expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ayngemac on 11/20/2010 2:03:00 AM more reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This seems flimsy to me, and it takes more strokes than my usual Gilette razor. Not the worst razor ever but I'm not impressed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 penguin10 on 11/19/2010 11:26:00 PM more reviews by penguin10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this razor for free and I've been waiting about a year or two for a chnace to try it except I never did because I was very happy with my Schick Quattro. Yes, it makes your legs smooth (just don't press hard, also, it does make a weird noise when you shave like I saw in another review). However, it seems pricey and the head, like everyone else has said, is really big and I'm not going to even attempt to shave my armpits. I was careful to shave over each spot once since I heard people rave about how they only have to go over everything once. A quick close up of my leg showed that it had missed three hairs on one leg, FYI for anyone who is picky about that. I'm probably going to stick with my Schick Quattro, but this was a nice blade to use (for free). It also made my legs shinier then the Quattro does.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yourphatness on 11/9/2010 11:16:00 AM more reviews by yourphatness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

On the fence.. I think i might prefer Gillette Fusion (men's) because i feel it gives a closer shave. I dunno, lately it seems as though my legs aren't perfectly smooth using this, but i remember that they felt like silk with Gillette Fusion. I think it's overall good, i just prefer the men's.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Addicted2Makeup101 on 11/6/2010 5:49:00 PM more reviews by Addicted2Makeup101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

Pretty decent razor. Gets the job done but honestly it's the exact same as those gillette daisy pink one blade razors, it just has more blades and a bigger razor head.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kilyblst08 on 9/29/2010 8:29:00 PM more reviews by kilyblst08

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I liked it until I switched my Venus heads to the original three-blade cartridges. Wow, what a difference. A much closer, smoother and more gentle shave, and no more having to deal with such a massive-sized cartridge. Won't buy these again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Liita on 8/23/2010 9:40:00 PM more reviews by Liita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I don't like this, the regular Venus is my favorite razor and I'd give that one 5 lippies and a buy again and again and again! but this one sadly wasn't as good as its sister. I find that the strip that surround the blades bothers me and doesn't allow a really close shave, so I have to swipe the razor a lot to get rid of all the hairs and still my legs are not soft.. and it's more expensive than regular Venus... never again!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mandyja on 8/23/2010 9:31:00 PM more reviews by mandyja

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been cursed with having to shave my legs everyday in order to prevent stubble and keep them smooth. My hair does not grow finely, but rather thick. With the average razor(even 4 blades) I have to definitely stick to this rule. However,with the Venus Embrace I get a much closer shave and can bend the rules a little. I feel I shave so much faster with the Embrace because of the way the head moves. The razor lasts a good amount of time before it gets dull.

I agree with the other review that states you do need to be careful not to press so hard because these are very good blades. I have never cut myself with Venus Embrace, but I could imagine someone who is used to the 2 blade razors cutting themselves with this if not careful.

I have to say this is the best I have tried so far and that is a compliment from someone that shaves their legs all the time. I have tried all the cheapies, schick quattro, and other venus razors. l ♥this one the most.

The only drawback for me is the price..It's pretty expensive although I can justify the price because of my hair type. If you don't grow thick hair, and don't normally have to shave often you can get away with something less $$.

I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hisoneandonly on 8/21/2010 10:05:00 AM more reviews by Hisoneandonly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have used Venus (the org.) since 2004 and haven't purchased any of the newer versions - so I figured it was time to see if there was anything new that I was missing out on.

First of all, my shaving routine: I have to shave daily, I am fair skinned with nauturally dark hair. My legs tend to show regrowth after 8 hours and I can see it even before then whether I can feel it or not. I have the org. Venus which has three blades and before this I could never get a close and smooth shave without hurting myself.

In walks Venus Embrace. First impression - bulky. But, I remained hopeful that I could tell the difference with five blades. I honestly can not tell the difference. Three blades or five I get the same shave:( My skin felt fine, the razor did not irritate me at all. Also, the buffer around the razor made shaving feel really comfortable and the razor glides across my skin.

Bottom line: Smooth, comfortable shave without irritation. However, not noticeably different from the org. Venus razor with three blades. I get the same shave regardless. I would not repurchase - I know it gets no love but BIC Soleil is the best razor I have ever tried.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sweetanger on 8/17/2010 11:57:00 PM more reviews by sweetanger

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought the disposable ones and they work great. Only cut myself twice and there was not much irritation

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Gillette products

More Misc Beauty Tools products