Estee Lauder • Double Wear Zero Smudge Lengthening Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.8(202 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 genxer123 on 4/13/2012 11:08:00 PM more reviews by genxer123

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Underwhelmed. The formula is dry. Does very little for my lashes except a bit of definition (my lash tips are blonde, so this made them look longer) and a tiny bit of volume.

I have easy lashes, fairly thick and long -- most top-rated drugstore mascaras give me whatever I want: more length, more volume, more curl, more drama . . . I use Stiletto and the Falsies, in both waterproof and not in both cases, and get MUCH better results than EL's Doublewear. (When I wear the two together, as one lovely MUA poster suggested, my eyelashes draw TONS of compliments.)

Oh, and EL's Doublewear, with even just one coat so not very heavy, sucked all the curl out of my lashes. Meh. It's not even waterproof! Just "water resistant." Don't waste your money. Spend a bit more for Chanel, Dior, or Lancome, or spend less at the drugstore (see Paula Begoun's beautypedia site for drugstore recommendations). You'll be happier either way!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 boredtotears1 on 4/10/2012 11:58:00 AM more reviews by boredtotears1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this mascara. I've tried so many on my sparce spindly lashes & this is the best results yet - makes me look like I've got really long luscious lashes. The only downside is that it doesnt stay a good consistency for long - after about 4-5weeks it starts to go a bit clumpy! :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 naziaahmed on 3/28/2012 4:56:00 PM more reviews by naziaahmed

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

It's a good mascara but not the best. Definetely separates the lashes and makes it long but nothing really special. Defo keeps the curl of the lashes last all day. I've noticed when I use this before I apply my false lashes, I don't need to apply the mascara again because it just looks flawless and keeps it's position.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* polarpooch on 12/28/2011 9:44:00 PM more reviews by polarpooch

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara, despite the fact that it's overpriced. i have long lashes, but this mascara makes them jump off my face. The classic brush easily separates and volumizes lashes and gives impressive length. My lashes feel very soft and the mascara lasts all day. it's water resistant, too. It comes off easily with a water soluble cleanser. I love this stuff. best mascara i've used.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Melavia on 12/28/2011 10:14:00 AM more reviews by Melavia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this mascara without much research here but I am glad I did. The size of the product is smaller than the other HE mascaras I had before. What the product really get me is the promise of no smudging and I have to say it keeps its promise very well.

I did not get any smudge after a full day of wear. With careful application in the morning, there is no clumping, smudging or flaking throughout the entire day. I am really surprised by the result. As much as I enjoyed Lancome and Dior, they always give me a bit smudge at the end of the day.

I have medium length straight asian lashes and this mascara lengthens quite well. It does not weight my lashes down and is able to hold the curl for a satisfying period of time.

I use SAO to remove it and it comes off easily. Also, during the entire process of removing it, there is still next to none smudge. The mascara comes off as little black bits. Even with gentle rubbing around the eye area, I do not get racoon eyes, maybe a little bit of color but this is so much better than other mascaras.

I am very impressed by the formula itself and its ability to keep its promises.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 icing78 on 12/18/2011 10:44:00 AM more reviews by icing78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Got it in a GWP and love it! I have Asian eye lashes yet I don't have to use lash curler withi this product to lift my lashes. It lengthens and doens't smudge. I think this is comparable to EL's Sumptuous, which is my favorite mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andreangel on 12/17/2011 12:48:00 PM more reviews by Andreangel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

Great mascara, received it in a swap and absolutely love it. It definitely lengthened my lashes and gave me that fake eyelash look. I thought Tarte's Light, Camera, Action Mascara was good...but this is equally good in a different way. So why the 4 stars? Impossible to remove. I dont like spending extra $$$ for eye make up remover or the extra step and hassle, usually my cleansing oils does the job fine. This one definitely requires it...so I only save it for special occasions when I want that seductive long lash look. Would I buy it again? Absolutely!!! It definitely doesn't smudge...lol...or go anywhere..even when I want to take it off...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 libbier on 12/13/2011 8:51:00 PM more reviews by libbier

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Nice packaging, nice mascara wand/brush, nice mascara formula which is not too runny and not too dry, nice colour, nice staying-power.
Maybe this did lengthen the look of my lashes just a little but doesnt give much volume.
Overall, good mascara :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 maybom on 11/17/2011 5:28:00 PM more reviews by maybom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this trial-sized mascara which came hooked up to the trial-sized lash primer (which is my go-to primer and that I love). I have medium length/thin Asian lashes and this mascara lifted and lengthened my lashes and did not smudge on my oily skin. It also didn't flake and I liked the thinner bristles on the brush. I agree that it does take a bit of effort to remove - maybe that's why it's called "Double Wear" - lasts twice as long? I bought this at the Cosmetics Company Store in Seattle, WA and it was mega cheap, so I don't know how much it would be if it had been full sized, regularly priced. I found the results comparable to Cover Girl Super Thick Mascara (which is my go-to mascara and less than $7!) I would only buy this product again only if it's in the same configuration (trial-sized and hooked up with the primer).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dutchgirll on 11/12/2011 4:40:00 PM more reviews by Dutchgirll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I got this mascara as a present with so I dont know the price so I cannot judge if it is worth the costs.

This mascara is one of my favorites, the packaging is nice and pretty and the brush is simple with short 'hairs'. It applies easy and does not smudge a lot. If the price is reasonable I would buy this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Mascara products