MAC • Paint Pot in Soft Ochre • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(316 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 lukeyb on 12/30/2012 1:06:00 PM more reviews by lukeyb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I've tried many things to prep my es. MAC paint pots are always raved in the beauty blog/YouTube world so I bought one. I choose soft ochre as opposed to painterly because the color matched my lids better.

I was pretty disappointed. This worked about as good as the ELF $1 primer which didn't work for me. One reason I thought it didn't work was because I don't have oily lids. Everyone who raves about paint pots seems to have oily lids. But if you have normal lids like me, pass it up! I may use this to conceal or highlight but not as an es primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mecepeda on 12/27/2012 1:15:00 PM more reviews by mecepeda

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I purchased this paint pot with the intention of using it as an eyeshadow primer. Given that I have olive skin (NC35/40 in the winter, a bit higher in the summer), I chose Soft Ochre over Painterly, which has more pinkish undertones. The SA also recommended this shade to me because I tend to wear warm-toned shadows more often, and Painterly workers better as a base for cool-toned eyeshadows. My interest in trying this product was largely motivated by the fact that I was looking for alternatives to Too Faced Shadow Insurance...while definitely an excellent primer, TFSI makes blending many of my shadows very difficult, and I was hoping that the Paint Pot would resolve that issue. Here's what I have experienced so far:
Pros: Soft Ochre, while definitely significantly lighter than the skin on my eyelids, does do a nice job of evening out the skin tone there so that shadow colors appear more true. It was also relatively easy to apply smoothly, though since it lacks the silicone feel and transparency of TFSI it is not as effortless to apply as TFSI. However, it did make blending shadows a bit easier than with TFSI, and my shadows did not crease or change color during the day. I also think that the amount of product you receive for the price is pretty fair, given that just a tiny amount is needed for each use.
Cons: The packaging...it's not as sanitary as TFIS, and I'm afraid that this paint pot will dry up before I hit the bottom of the little glass jar - this is a non-issue with the TFSI tube. Also (and this is a big negative), if you have any dryness on your lids and/or brow bone, Soft Ochre magnifies it considerably. (I have an eye cream with retinol to thank for the dryness I'm currently experiencing). Once the dryness is under control, though, I think that this product will work wonderfully, both as a primer or all by itself.
ETA: Now that the dryness around my eyes has gone away, I gave this paint pot another try and am happy to report that it worked very well to keep eye shadow creases and color changes under control. I would just re-emphasize the fact that a little goes a long way with Soft Ochre, making this an even better buy in the long run.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Rin13 on 12/19/2012 7:25:00 PM more reviews by Rin13

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This is my second favorite paint pot thus far (second to Painterly) The reason it's second is because this color is more yellow while the painterly is more beige and blends in with my skin better. I use this as an eye primer for my lighter looks. (whites, nudes, etc) Great staying power. Very creamy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leavingthingsbehind on 11/6/2012 4:21:00 PM more reviews by leavingthingsbehind

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I am not a big fan of this product - I was looking for something that would double up as an eyeshadow primer but unfortunately this makes even my MAC eyeshadows to become a bit pale and more matte than I would like them to be and it creases more than my Benefit creaseless cream es/liner at the end of the day.

Instead I use it also as an undereye concealer and it works quite well in that way.
I am keeping the pot inside of the cardboard box it came in to prevent it drying too fast. So far after 6 months of occasional use it is still going strong though I know better primers. Next time I should go with a slightly less matte colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 waterlilly26 on 11/3/2012 2:44:00 AM more reviews by waterlilly26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good eye shadow base to have in your stash, I like the fact that it evens out my eyelids and helps my eye shadow to stay on longer but it seems to feel a bit heavy, if that's the word I'm looking for. By mid day I can feel that I have a "base" on, that's the reason I gave it 4 stars. I also found the best way to apply it is to use your finger, blend it over the lid and then pat it in, it gets rid of any "uneven" spots that I seem to get when I don't pat it on. Overall I do really like the product, makes my shadow more vibrant and my eyes look bright and awake.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fuzzybluelogic on 10/27/2012 10:04:00 PM more reviews by fuzzybluelogic

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have oily lids and being native american, I have very hooded eyes. This is the only product that acts as an effective eye primer for me. And I use it as an undereye concealer, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahmarie86 on 10/27/2012 9:42:00 PM more reviews by sarahmarie86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Soft Ochre is an extremely warm (yelllow based) paint pot that can be used as an eyeshadow base... and some say primer. Although I don't get any creasing when I use it, I do find that my shadows fade a little quicker than if I used UD Primer Potion. I like Soft Ochre because it covers all the redness on my eyelid, but the formula is definitely a bit dry -- much drier than Painterly. I did a full review and comparison with swatches between Soft Ochre and Painterly on my blog if you would like to check it out:

http://www.eyeshadowaddictsanonymous.com/2013/01/mac-paint-pots-painterly-vs-soft-ochre.html


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 muaKissAndMakeUp on 10/15/2012 5:47:00 AM more reviews by muaKissAndMakeUp

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

MAC's paint pots can be used as cream eyeshadow, but I personally like the use them as an eyelide base to use under my actual eyeshadow. Using a paint pot under my powder eyeshadow triples the wear of my eyeshadow, makes the color a lot more vibrant and gives my eyeshadow perfect coverage and eveness. Soft Ochre is one of my favorite paint pots, and I use this under any color eyeshadow. So it's not really necessary to match your paint pot with your eyeshadow if you're using it as an eyelid base.

I recently did a before and after on my blog where I used the same eyeshadow without and with Soft Ochre underneath it. The difference was dramatic, seriously!

Pro's:
- perfect eyelid base
- triples the wear of powder eyeshadow
- makes colors alot more vibrant
- gives perfect coverage and eveness
- no real need to "match" colors

Con's:
- very thick and creamy, so it calls for a rather rough application (which sensitive lids might not like)
- makes your powder eyeshadow harder to blend

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angiee0215 on 8/28/2012 3:46:00 PM more reviews by angiee0215

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've never owned a paint pot before. I am NC15 with oily lids. Sometimes if I dont wear eyeshadow you can see the oil on my lids creasing. gross. Also, my eye lids are very red and you can see my veins. My skin type is normal/oily in the summer and normal/dry in the winter.

I bought this paint pot to cover up the redness and the veins showing on my eyelids. This has a yellow undertone and I chose this to counteract the red. Upon first application it is very dry and you need to get past the top layer to really warm it up with your fingers to get that creamy texture. One layer of this blurs my veiny red eyes. I need about 2-3 coats to completely cover what I need. It blends into my eyelids and makes them look brighter and more awake. You cannot tell that I am wearing this because it is about the same color as my skin tone maybe a little lighter.

I have worn this over 10 hours before with no creasing or fading. After dinner is when it starts to fade.

I have only had this for a couple of weeks so its hard to say if it dries out over time or not. I will update if anything changes or if it starts to dry out.
EDIT 12/10/2012: Still love and use this stuff with no drying out
Edit: 1/28/13 I still love this stuff and no drying out!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladymakeupfan on 8/27/2012 11:54:00 PM more reviews by ladymakeupfan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really do like this paint pot, as other reviewers have mentioned, definitely don't be fulled by the boring or dull color of this! It is a dream! It really brightens the eyelid up! And I almost want to use it as concealer due to the color, I never would! But itis basically a concealer for the eyelids, eyeshadows stick to this well and look brighter and prettier. I also own bare study, I like this one more! I however cannot give it a full 5 star rating because of the packaging, for one, its pretty, but bulky jar, and I would say non travel friendly, also the product will dry up at the edges within time. I have heard storing them upside down will help, I don't do this, so can't say if it works or not. I love the product, don't love the packaging. However I would buy again if only for this particular color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products