Cover Girl • Lash Blast Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.4(1002 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 lrigtnahpele on 3/17/2013 9:15:00 AM more reviews by lrigtnahpele

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I used to really love this mascara, but the one I just bought last week was really bad for some reason. Did they change the formula??

When I put it on, it just clumped my eyelashes together and somehow made the bunch look like one single eyelash so I ended up looking like I had a bunch of lashes that were just really spaced out.

I'm not really a believer of formula, more about wands I feel. I like the traditional mascara wands but this mascara never used to give me trouble and made my lashes look really nice.

So confused and disappointed :( especially now since they discontinued lash exact (or they just don't have it anywhere near me anymore).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lavroxanna on 3/15/2013 8:05:00 PM more reviews by lavroxanna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Very wet. Be careful not to blink too much right after applying because this will leave specks all over your face that are hard to clean!! It's difficult to remove with the makeup removers I use now (CVS brand) and clumps easily. Haven't tested for waterproofness yet because whenever I apply this, I have to wipe it off immediately because it clumps so much!! I'll continue to use it though and make an update later....

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 babeybearz on 3/6/2013 3:36:00 PM more reviews by babeybearz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This has been my go-to mascara for quite some time, I'd say a few years or so. Now, I usually stick to higher-end makeup and not because I'm a makeup snob, just because I feel more comfortable that whatever I'm buying is really going to do what it's supposed to do and do it BETTER than other brands out there, and buying the more expensive stuff gives me that confidence. That being said, no matter what brand of mascara I try, I always come back to the Lash Blast. I've tried quite a few high-end mascaras and I'll always use them and think, "Wow, this is a great mascara!" and continue using it until it runs out. Then I'll be in need of more mascara and pick up some Lash Blast at the store and think, "Wow, this really makes my eyelashes so much bigger and bolder than that other stuff!" It's happened so many times now that I just use the Lash Blast mascara regularly and don't stray much anymore. It's great if you want big, bold, pretty lashes (not so much a natural look). I've tried both the waterproof and regular and they're both great. Would definitely recommend and will continue to buy unless/until I find a brand that works better (but at this point I kind of think it's a waste to spend a lot on a mascara when this one works so well anyway).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SugarCelebi on 2/12/2013 10:19:00 PM more reviews by SugarCelebi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It took me a while to finally try this, but I'm SO glad I did! I have so many issues with mascara, having stubbornly straight Asian lashes and oily eyes (AKA smudge city). The thing I find most amazing is that this mascara HOLDS CURL. All day long. I've never experienced that before. It isn't the most lengthening mascara I've used, but as it is meant for volume this isn't a big deal. Also, what use are long lashes when they stick straight out? I only ever use one coat of mascara, and that one coat volumizes, lengthens somewhat, and holds the curl for my lashes. It does wind up smudging by the end of the day, but I haven't yet found a mascara that doesn't, so I won't hold that against it too much. All in all, I love this stuff. Will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* secondadonna on 2/6/2013 9:14:00 AM more reviews by secondadonna

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

After using the Fusion version of Last Blast (water "resistant" version) and deciding it was okay, I decided to try out the original (waterproof). It's really disappointing. I would have thought that it would be more volumizing, since the formula's not also trying to achieve length; instead, it's much LESS volumizing. The formula is very wet/waxy, and the first coat seems to just blacken the lashes, nothing more. Adding further coats just glues the lashes together. To get any kind of decent look, I have to fight with this mascara for quite a while. Using it regularly would add several minutes to my daily routine.

It's more waterproof than the Fusion formula, I'll give it that, but it's really pointless. If I'd tried this first, I would never have bothered with any of the other Lash Blast line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fihe on 1/16/2013 9:14:00 PM more reviews by fihe

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

about three years ago, I had this in the regular version, and now I have been using the waterproof, after not using any kind of waterproof mascara for three years either. I'm not sure how I dealt with it when I had the non-waterproof version, because the wand is so big and I always get smudging on my eyelid because the wand is difficult to maneuver. (maybe because I've been using mascaras with smaller, lighter wands since then.) fortunately, with the waterproof version, unlike regular mascaras that I've used that smudge, it wipes easily off skin if I smudge some. it also stays on the lashes pretty well; I remove it with mineral or olive oil. but I gave this mascara only a 3 not just because of the hard-to-control big wand, but also because it gives my lashes plenty of length, but little volume. I thought I remember Lash Blast Volume giving me more volume when I last used it a few years ago, unless my lashes have thinned out since then, or perhaps I have fewer! :( nevertheless, for something that's marketed as a volumizing mascara, I think it should do more. I'll keep on using it, but I need to be extra careful so as not to get it all over my eyelids.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pec on 1/5/2013 2:14:00 AM more reviews by pec

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Applicator:
Rubber bristles. This style of applicator evenly coats your lashes, as well as define & separate enough during application that you don't need to comb afterwards. I haven't used a mascara with a traditional brush wand since I tried rubber bristles, as I find they just clump chunks of lashes together and require lots of combing to separate. However, the applicator on this mascara is so fat that unless you are extremely skilled/careful, you will smudge mascara on your eyelid, waterlines or lashlines. The tip is only very slightly tapered.


Easy to Hold:
No. The grip on the wand is too fat & awkwardly shaped, and is made of a satin finish plastic that is a little slippery. Everytime I use this mascara I grip the wand for dear life out of fear that I'll drop it on the carpet.


Easy to Use:
No. As mentioned above, the wand is difficult to work with because of the fat applicator that isn't tapered enough at the tip and the awkward grip. I find it extremely hard to get right to the root of my lashes (both top and bottom) without accidentally smearing mascara on my lashlines. I can't get to the root of my inner corner lashes at all (for fear of ruining my eyeshadow with a huge blob of mascara), so they end up coated from the mid-lengths only. The stopper in the tube doesn't scrape enough product off the tip, so extra wiping or blotting is required. I can't wear a light, soft or neutral eyeshadow look with this because if I accidentally smear some on my lashline (happens 99% of the time), I need to then smoke out my look by adding a smudged pencil or shadow eyeliner to disguise the boo-boo. I save this mascara for dramatic looks only so if I do make a mistake, it's already hidden by black liquid liner.


Lashes Achieved:
Defined & Volumised. A light application will darken, define & add lots of volume, a few more coats will add defined mega volume. Doesn't add much length.


Buildable:
Yes. You can apply several layers to build up extra definition or volume without clumping or spidery lashes. However, it is too easy to goop too much mascara on the lash tips due to the fat applicator, so you need to be careful.


Holds a Curl:
As it is waterproof, yes.


Flakes/Smudges:
As it is waterproof, no. Though if your lashes get wet (tears, rain or swimming) you will lose the defined look and have clumpy chunks of lashes.


Formula/Consistency:
Perfect - not too wet or dry. You can use the mascara straight away without having to wait a few days or weeks for it to dry out to a manageable consistency. This is the only reason this mascara gets 2 lippies instead of 1.


Recommended:
Mascara experts; someone who regularly wears dramatic/smokey looks and won't be bothered by accidental smearing on lashlines; someone who wants a mascara that can give volume from the very first coat; someone who needs a truly waterproof formula.


Not Recommended:
Those who already have a hard time applying mascara; someone who applies makeup in a rush to get out the door and won't have time to fix mistakes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 megancya on 12/28/2012 12:59:00 PM more reviews by megancya

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara, it does what I always wanted falsies to do. It makes my lashes look full and thick, will definitely always have one of these around!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ldimples00 on 12/24/2012 7:34:00 PM more reviews by ldimples00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara def makes my lashes look fuller and gives me more volume. I sometimes use this with Maybelline Full N' Soft and it makes me look like I have on falsies. I only use waterproof mascara as the non-waterproof mascaras will not hold a curl. With using waterproof mascara all the time, I make sure to remove it every night and condition my lashes every night so my lashes will not dry out and break off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Heart433 on 12/23/2012 1:38:00 AM more reviews by Heart433

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Adds blackness and a modest amount of length. Two layers shows much more added length. Smudges horribly after a few hours however, and is nearly impossible to remove deliberately. Finishing coat of clear mascara is required. Application wand also has good shape and the thick handle makes it easy to manipulate.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover Girl products

More Mascara products