Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.8(340 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 supergal197 on 9/11/2013 2:09:00 PM more reviews by supergal197

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this is the shade naked, and it is one of the only foundations i have used that matched me perfectly. I would say the coverage is light-medium, and it has a natural finish. I really think it makes me look like i'm not wearing any make up. I have some problem areas, so it doesn't cover everything up, and its not buildable. If you try to build up the coverage it will mess up the foundation, making it kinda smudge. I'm not sure how else to describe it. I have oily skin and i don't get shiny at all when using this. If i had better skin I think I would use this daily, because it looks natural and keeps me shine free. Currently I only use it on good skin days because the coverage isn't as high as i'd like.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 opheliae on 9/10/2013 7:07:00 PM more reviews by opheliae

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i am in absolute love with this foundation.
i have some post acne pigmentation. my acne is now gone thanks to acne.org's treatment but i did pop them (:x) but i was careful to further irritate them also so my pigmentation marks aren't the worse.
i also wear sunscreen daily but the old formulation of this contains spf. (the newer one doesn't and much of the cyclomethicone has been traded off for cyclopentasiloxane, smaller molecule silicone but still volatile)
this covers everything for me like a concealer yet doesn't feel mask like.
i never look oily in it without a setting powder but it doesn't feel drying at all either.
the color ivory actually matches my nw10/15 skin tone and is a very neutral shade.
it LASTS and it doesn't look any different either. it was over 95 degrees today & i was outside for maybe only 2 hours but i applied my current foudation 10 hours ago and it still looks exactly the same.

the only other foundation i have found that i have really loved is MUFE Face & Body but it is much lighter coverage than this and it is not silicone based so it is sometimes fussy with spf or moisturizer underneath it.


pros
great pale shade
very long lasting
good coverage
doesn't break down or oxidize
controls MY oil (i am not very oily though)
doesn't feel drying
very natural looking
not expensive compared to HE foundations
pump

cons
new formula doesn't have spf

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MiniAndBoss on 9/9/2013 12:28:00 PM more reviews by MiniAndBoss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Finally! A drugstore foundation that has lighthetrue yellow undertones!!!! I used Revlon colorstay for the longest time, and while I loved the lasting power and coverage, the color match was poor. Sand beige in Revlon was always too pink and i needed to blend down my neck and use a more yellow powder on top to make the foundation look not like a mask. Almay TLC in buff is my new love! The color match is perfect for my light/medium nc20-25 skin with yellow undertones. The coverage of this foundation is not as heavy as that of color stay, but since I mainly need to cover the redness on my cheeks and around my nose, TLC does that pretty well. The lasting power is pretty great too, I can wear this from 7am to 7pm without it separating or creasing around my mouth. The only con I can think of is that the texture of this foundation is kind of sticky at first, but the stickyness does go away once it completely dries.

Overall, I love this foundation sooooo much more than Revlon colorstay. Although the shade selection is limited, if you can find a color match, definitely give this a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pipaya on 9/2/2013 3:38:00 AM more reviews by pipaya

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this foundation so much, I always come back to it! Very well priced too! I used to use $80-$100 foundations and this is better! It stays in place and the colour selection seems pretty good, I have pale to medium skin with a pinkish undertone and it's nice it's not too yellowy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 heatherbelleday on 8/20/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by heatherbelleday

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I keep trying other foundations but keep coming back to this one. It lasts wonderfully well and does not irritate my quite sensitive skin. I do find that it applies best with fingers, I smooth it on and then kind of "pat" it in (I learned that from Mary Greenwell video on YouTube). This means that my lovely brushes don't get used for it but I suppose I shouldn't complain about that! I do have to apply it soon after moisturising, and make sure that my skin is really well moisturised, otherwise it will "grab" to the drier spots and look terrible. And I go easy with the powder - a light dusting on the T-zone only. Once I have it on, it looks great and lasts all day. I really think it's excellent value for money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 catmj on 8/16/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by catmj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this foundation, and I'll use it in the winter when the humidity goes down. It is so smooth in its application, no weird smell. I have cystic nodular acne breakouts once a month and this provides natural looking coverage with the added benefit that it's water resistant, sweat proof, and has a ton of natural ingredients like green tea extract, kelp extract, lemon peel extract, etc. Most importantly, if you compare the ingredients (the top 4) to the ingredients of high-end products like Make Up Forever Foundations, this is A MATCH. HOLY GRAIL!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ShawndyLee on 8/1/2013 8:01:00 PM more reviews by ShawndyLee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My skin is quite fair, combination, sensitive, and I have rosacea. I love the coverage and finish of this product. It has truly lasted all day and didn't cause any skin irritation. I wear the "naked" shade, which blended perfectly with my Samantha Chapman stippling brush. I didn't feel the need to powder my forehead once while wearing this. I typically wear much more expensive foundations due to my sensitive skin, but this is just as nice as my high end products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JMiami on 7/25/2013 9:22:00 PM more reviews by JMiami

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I loooove this foundation. It works perfect for my oily skin in the Miami heat and humidity. Unfortunately the color I use (Honey) is rarely in stock. I can wear this all day and it doesn't cake or get super oily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chicagosun on 7/2/2013 10:36:00 PM more reviews by chicagosun

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this foundation! I have dry, fair-medium NC30 asian skin. The shade Sand has a good amount of yellow in it so it matches me pretty well. These days its getting harder and harder to find Sand in the stores I go - I really hope its not getting discontinued!! This foundation has great staying power! I put it on at 7am and it lasts until I wash my face at 11pm. It sets pretty fast so I have to apply it quickly. I was using Revlon Photoready in 04 for awhile but was looking for something better. Well I found my HG foundation right here!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thankful1 on 6/28/2013 10:23:00 AM more reviews by thankful1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

5/3/2014 - I like this more then ever now since it *does not* settle into, or emphasize my marionette lines (I'll be 47 in 5 days) - this is huge for me. I recently tried L'Oreal Serum Absolute as well as Clinique Even Better and holy cow - those two (CG Aquasmooth as well) show every little line - not good lol! Yet another reason I love this stuff.

12/8/2013 - Just opened bottle #3. Still working well - my skin has never looked better.

8/22/2013 - I have gone through an entire bottle of this new formula and am on my second. I'm still loving it. No acne or irritation - it's my new HG foundation.

This was recently reformulated like everything that once had labeled SPF due to a change in the FDA regulations in the USA. The new formula no longer contains titanium dioxide or zinc oxide as "active ingredients" so there is no longer any "sun protection factor - SPF" or viable sunscreen in this. The original ingredients can be seen above in the "ingredients section". I will include the new ones not only here in my review, but also above for comparison.

I really like this foundation for a number of reasons that I'll list here.

1. Ivory matches my nw10/15 skin perfectly.
2. It lasts all day on my oily skin (with primer, set with oil-controlling powder, and I use blotting papers as needed).
3. It doesn't irritate my extremely sensitive skin despite the botanicals it contains.
4. With one pump the coverage is light/sheer IMO. It can be built up easily in areas that need it though. After applied, it barely evens my skintone & I can still see old acne discoloration as well as freckles so in no way would I say this is medium or full coverage. This new formula is not as heavy or thick as the old was either.
5. It does not sink into or emphasize my pores
6. This should probably be #1 - it does not cause my very acne-prone skin to break out.
7. It does NOT emphasize or settle into my fine lines like almost all other foundations do.

New ingredients - hand typed from my new bottle: Aqua (water, EAU), cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, trimethylsiloxysilicate, cyclohexasiloxane, butylene glycol,talc, boron nitride, HDI/trimethylol hexllactone crosspolymer, nylon-12, PEG/PPG -18/18, dimethicone, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, phenyl trimethicone, sodium chloride, trisiloxane, hydrolyzed rice protein, prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond seed extract), laminara japonica extract, nerreocystis leutkeana extract, macrocystis pyrifera extract, saccharomyces/magnesium ferment, saccharomyces/potassium ferment, trihydroxystearin, lactobacillus/lemon peel ferment extract, camellia sinesis leaf (green tea) extract, aspalathus linearis leaf extract, aloe barbadensis leaf extract, tocepherol acetate, sodium ascorbyl phophate, methicone, tribehenin, hydrogenated lecithin, triethoxycaprylysilane, alumina, silica, hydrolyzed glycolsaminogkycans, sodium hyaluronate, sorbitan sesquioleate, palmitoyl, hydroxypropyltrimonium amylopectin/glycerin crosspolymer, sorbitol, tetrasodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, May contain/ +/- titanion dioxide (ci 77891), iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499) zinc oxide (ci77947), 22757

Link to it's ingredient breakdown on cos/DNA - http://www.cosdna.com/eng/cosmetic_33cd113407.html



26 out of 26 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products