Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.9(329 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 sdaw on 5/30/2013 8:22:00 PM more reviews by sdaw

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Waste of money. It was thick and hard to work with. It looks cakey on the skin in certain spots.. Not 100% sure, but I think it broke me out too. No thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* krsn89 on 5/19/2013 11:59:00 PM more reviews by krsn89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

* ABOUT MY SKIN *
- My skin is oily but dehydrated. My t-zone is an oil slick, but I also tend to get flaky around the nose and forehead. I have dark acne scars and hyperpigmentation on my chin. Any active acne tends to be extremely red and my cheeks get very red/flushed as well.
- I am Asian with yellow undertones. My colour in MAC (SFF) is NC35.


* PACKAGING & PRICE *
Almay Truly Lasting Colour comes in a sleek glass bottle with a pump. There is also a plastic cap to go over the pump. No complaints about packaging here! I purchased this on sale for about $13 (CDN) at Shoppers Drug Mart, but the regular price for this foundation is around $18, which is pretty steep for a drugstore foundation. I used to see this at Wal-Mart for much cheaper, but I haven't seen it there for a while. This is available in 8 shades.


* FORMULA, COLOUR & APPLICATION *
Almay TLC has a fairly thick consistency, which I prefer. It comes out of the pump easily, but does not drip or run on the back of your hand. It has a paint-like scent right out of the bottle but once applied, the smell disappears. I am a very warm and yellow NC35, and I purchased this in Sand. Sand is a decent match for my skin. It is not as yellow as I'd like it to be, but it's wearable. I prefer applying this with a brush, and I have used my ELF flat top powder brush as well as 2 of my Real Techniques brushes (Buffing & Expert Face) with good results. I find it easier to blend TLC in sections, just because it tends to dry quicker than some of my other foundations. It feels creamy on the skin and blends easily, but doesn't drag despite the thick formula. It is slightly tacky for the first hour or so if you don't set it with a powder, but then it has a smooth, dry feel afterwards.


* COVERAGE & STAYING POWER *
For being such a thick foundation, the coverage is not as high as I thought it would be. I have to use two full pumps of this foundation just to get medium coverage. One pump would probably give you light coverage. I do need to use concealer for my darker acne scars, but I do that with every foundation. I find it is buildable if my brush is damp AND I add an extra layer before the other one completely sets. This sets to a soft matte finish. By soft, I mean that it is not super flat and it has a very skin-like finish, which I adore. What I LOVE about this foundation is the staying power. I have a VERY oily t-zone. I have an air-conditioned desk job and a few hours into the day, I usually look like I rubbed cooking oil on my face. I am THAT oily. This is one of the only foundations I have tried that has not required me to blot my face within two hours, which is very impressive. I have tested this with no primer underneath and no powder on top and it holds up well. I apply my makeup at around 7 AM most days and this lasts until I take my makeup off at night at around 10 or 11 PM. By that time, I am only slightly dewy. I am usually a greasy mess, but yes, I was only slightly dewy and that was without powdering or blotting all day! It's probably the best foundation I have tried so far in terms of staying power. Simply incredible. I also have to mention that when I was buying this, I used a tester bottle and pumped some on the back of my hand to test the consistency. I forgot about it and went about my day, and even with lots of hand washing and having a shower later, this stuff was STILL on my hand! Not 100%, but I did need an oil to get it off. I've been using jojoba oil lately to take my makeup off at night, and follow up with my Spectro Jel cleanser on my Olay Pro X brush. This hasn't caused any breakouts for me. It doesn't seem to fade off or transfer too much either. I had a nap with it on by accident and I didn't even need to touch up when I woke up!


* FINAL THOUGHTS *
I really, really like this foundation. I am so impressed by the staying power of this foundation, as I HATE having to touch up or be worried that my face is melting off throughout the day. This even photographs well because it has no SPF, which I like (I wear a separate sunscreen). Another positive is that this does not oxidize on me. I loved MAC ProLongwear for the oil-controlling properties but it literally turned orange on me. This DOES NOT do that. The colour range available is severely lacking though. I think Sand is the second darkest shade, so if you have a deeper skintone (probably anything higher than NC40ish?) you won't find a match. Also, I'm not sure if this would be a good choice for drier skins as it is a very dry formula. My only gripe about this foundation, which I have with most foundations, is that it tends to be too pink for my yellow skintone, but I can live with it. I will certainly be using this a lot in the upcoming summer months. If you have oily or even combination skin, this is DEFINITELY worth a try. I highly recommend this foundation!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jackchi24 on 5/7/2013 12:00:00 PM more reviews by jackchi24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this foundation and I've bought it multiple times, but I'm still on the hunt for something better. I have fair skin and the lightest color, Ivory, works well for me. This makeup has pretty good coverage and doesn't cause me to breakout which is the reason I keep going back to it. It doesn't look great when first applied, but after a few mins it starts looking better. Sometimes this can feel sticky on my face which I dont like. Also, it seems to show any little peach fuzz on my face more than most foundations I've used. I don't love how it looks after I've applied loose powder to set it, but I don't like how it looks on it's own without powder either. I definitely think as the day goes on it looks better and better, which is a little strange. I refuse to use makeup that doesn't state that it's non-comedogenic, so this leaves me with pretty limited selections both in drugstores and Sephora. For a liquid foundation, I would say this is a good product. I've started looking into going back to mineral makeup though since I don't like the sticky feel I get with product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeupAlleyJunkie on 5/3/2013 12:27:00 AM more reviews by MakeupAlleyJunkie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Finally! An amazing foundation that comes with a pump! Well let me start off by saying this is now my HG foundation. I'm so in love with it. It costs about $13 depending on where you purchase it from and where you live. The bottle is pretty simple and sleek. It's not something that I am ashamed of having in my makeup bag. I have to use a lot of this product so it sucks that it's a tad pricey for a drugstore foundation but it's honestly worth every penny. The way it smells and feels reminds me of MAC's Prolong wear concealer. The coverage is medium but pretty build able. I think it's perfect to wear during the day. It gives you a mixture of a satin and matte finish which is ideal for someone like me who doesn't have oily skin but still needs a little bit of that oil control. I like how it looks like real skin instead of powdery like matte foundation yet it doesn't look super wet and Dewey. It gives you this natural glow. I find that applying this with your fingers works best. I tried to use a flat top kabuki brush, buffing brush and foundation brush but it doesn't compare to the finish I get using my fingers. I haven't tried applying it with a beauty blender but I'm thinkin of giving that a shot soon. I'll update this review and let you all know how that goes. I just can't stop raving about how perfect this foundation is! The best part is that it doesn't oxidize which is quite un common for creamy foundations like this one. This is also perfect for sensitive, acne prone skin because it's very gentle and it hasn't broke me out one bit. I like to set this foundation with a little bit of MAC's mineralize skinfinish natural pressed powder. I apply it using ELF's studio kabuki face brush. The lasting power on this foundation is great. I usually dont have to touch up but if I do It's only once. Anyways, this is the perfect foundation for people with any skin type, preferably not someone with super oily skin though. It very moisturizing, lightweight and high quality. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 caitx03 on 4/19/2013 8:35:00 PM more reviews by caitx03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Hasn't caused any breakouts so far. Good coverage blendability isn't so great but I blend it with some primer and apply it with a sponge. Looks great not too much oil breakthrough feels nice on my skin. Noncomedogenic & hypoallergenic. All and all I really like this foundation. Rated a 4 because of blendability.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 squirrelyhell on 4/9/2013 6:14:00 PM more reviews by squirrelyhell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

:( I had originally given this a glowing review, but after a few weeks the breakouts began and I had to switch to a different foundation. I did like this foundation, and would recommend it to people, but it wasn't quite right for me.

I felt that this foundation gave a great amount of coverage. It is around a light to medium coverage, and while I'm accustomed to full coverage, it was perfect for evening out my ruddy cheeks and red acne scars while leaving my skin looking like skin. It was never cakey and was always easy to apply. Ivory worked well enough for my NC15 skin, but was a little too pink. (Buff was too yellow. Perhaps mixing the two would create an ideal shade, but I never tried it.) It lasted pretty well throughout the day, meaning that it didn't fade or transfer.

As for the things I disliked, I always got oily after a few hours. I personally feel this foundation would be best for someone with dry skin, because I felt it was more hydrating than my somewhat oily skin needed. Blot as I may, I always looked a little too shiny and my skin often felt greasy. I loved this foundation for about a week and a half because it wasn't breaking me out (which was the main reason I kept using it despite the greasiness), but after the two week mark it made me breakout frequently. It was neither that time of the month, nor had anything else in my routine changed, so I can safely deduce it was the foundation. I've heard oily skinned gals say that this worked great to control their shine, but that was definitely not the case for me. Perhaps you'll have better luck. I eventually switched to Almay Clear Complexion, which in my experience has all of the pros of TLC and none of the cons.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Simpliciti3 on 4/8/2013 7:56:00 PM more reviews by Simpliciti3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a foundation that would work on my oily skin and give good coverage.

I have the shade 160 naked, and its too dark for me. My fault, but its okay, its not that noticeable since I'm a bit more tan now. I think one shade lower would be a good match for me. I find that Almay has decent shade matches for people with yellow tones (like me!)

I would say this gives a light medium to medium coverage. I noticed a lot of people saying this can give full coverage, I guess I don't apply as much on as other people? If I have darker spots or larger acne on my face I do need to put a concealer over those but overall it evens out my skin tone.

It has a nice consistency, not too liquidy or too thick. I like to apply it on with a stippling brush, I find that with a foundation brush it looks streaky so I have to blend it out quite a bit. It is buildable and it doesn't really get cakey if you layer it.

I find this foundation doesn't wear that nicely thoughout the day but it definitely doesn't look terrible. I does stay on my oily skin which is nice, and it also doesn't irritate or break me out. I would say I get oily after 4 hours more or less, and I always set this with a setting powder.

As far as repurchasing, I might. I don't love this foundation but I do like it. I just think there is a better foundation for me.

Overall, I do like this foundation. It stays on my skin throughout the day and it doesn't irritate or break me out. I would recommend this for someone with oily/acne prone skin who is looking for a buildable foundation that will stay on the skin for most of the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dancedance_003 on 4/5/2013 10:00:00 AM more reviews by dancedance_003

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There are several reasons as to why I don't like this foundation:
1. Although people have mentioned that it was a medium coverage foundation, I didn't find this to be true. While it did offer some coverage, it wasn't consistent. It only managed to cover up redness on the top of my nose, but not the sides. In the end, my nose just looked pink. However, with regular discoloration, it covered pretty well.
2. This foundation is super thick and really hard to blend because it sets too quickly before it gets absorbed into the skin. This results in a really cakey, powdery finish because I could still see the foundation sitting on top of my skin. I tried using a damp sponge, kabuki brush, and a foundation brush. None of those methods worked well, so I ended up applying it with my fingers.
3. I have relatively normal skin, but my nose may get slightly shiny throughout the day and my cheeks tend to be a little drier, therefore, I prefer foundations that give me a dewy finish or even semi-matte. This foundation made my face look so flat. If you have combination/oily skin, I think this would be better suited for you, but dry skin people: stay away.
4. I applied this foundation (with primer) at 8 am and by 2 pm, what little coverage I had on my nose completely separated. My nose never gets shiny enough for me to touch up, but with this foundation, my nose was shiny and red after only 6 hours.
5. The scent of this foundation reminded me of rubber and glue. I would have easily overlooked this con if the foundation itself performed to my expectations.
6. For a drugstore foundation, this was pretty expensive. I would have paid $12.49 at CVS if it wasn't on sale. It was 40% off, so I only paid around $8, but definitely check out other drugstores and maybe even Target or Walmart for better prices.

I do like the packaging and the color surprisingly matched my skin (I am Asian NC20 and bought the color Buff), but overall, this foundation didn't work out for me. I have since returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupfun21 on 3/27/2013 5:51:00 PM more reviews by makeupfun21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

HG foundation by far! (I use this foundation in the shade "Buff".) Pros: oil-free, has SPF, has antioxidants in the formula, not greasy, but also not drying, never breaks me out over the six years that I have been using this product (I could sleep in this foundation and I wouldn't break out). I love the packaging and this product lasts me SUCH a long time. I probably repurchase like once a year. (I could probably go even longer than that! I don't think I've ever used a full bottle of this stuff up.)


The ONLY con about this product is that it has some SPF in it, which can sometimes show up as ghastly white in flash-photography-- but you can easily fix that problem by wearing a little powder or bronzer that doesn't have any SPF in it over the foundation. I suppose another minor con is that the majority of these foundations are more pink-toned than olive-toned or yellow-toned. However, Buff has a lot of yellow pigment in it and works beautifully for me, so I really have nothing to complain about. Bottom line, this product is amazing and I will continue to repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AMSClassic on 3/12/2013 5:46:00 PM more reviews by AMSClassic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Finally I have found my HG drugstore foundation!!!! I used to use Clinique Moisture Sheer Tint, but they reformulated it and turned it into something that is so greasy and just sits on top of my face, so then began my search for a new TM or foundation that looked natural, felt comfortable (very important!), and lasted on my oily skin. This foundation does all of that. Now I just hope that now that I have found it they don't discontinue or change it!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products