Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.9(334 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ShawndyLee on 8/1/2013 8:01:00 PM more reviews by ShawndyLee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My skin is quite fair, combination, sensitive, and I have rosacea. I love the coverage and finish of this product. It has truly lasted all day and didn't cause any skin irritation. I wear the "naked" shade, which blended perfectly with my Samantha Chapman stippling brush. I didn't feel the need to powder my forehead once while wearing this. I typically wear much more expensive foundations due to my sensitive skin, but this is just as nice as my high end products.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JMiami on 7/25/2013 9:22:00 PM more reviews by JMiami

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I loooove this foundation. It works perfect for my oily skin in the Miami heat and humidity. Unfortunately the color I use (Honey) is rarely in stock. I can wear this all day and it doesn't cake or get super oily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chicagosun on 7/2/2013 10:36:00 PM more reviews by chicagosun

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this foundation! I have dry, fair-medium NC30 asian skin. The shade Sand has a good amount of yellow in it so it matches me pretty well. These days its getting harder and harder to find Sand in the stores I go - I really hope its not getting discontinued!! This foundation has great staying power! I put it on at 7am and it lasts until I wash my face at 11pm. It sets pretty fast so I have to apply it quickly. I was using Revlon Photoready in 04 for awhile but was looking for something better. Well I found my HG foundation right here!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 thankful1 on 6/28/2013 10:23:00 AM more reviews by thankful1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

5/3/2014 - I like this more then ever now since it *does not* settle into, or emphasize my marionette lines (I'll be 47 in 5 days) - this is huge for me. I recently tried L'Oreal Serum Absolute as well as Clinique Even Better and holy cow - those two (CG Aquasmooth as well) show every little line - not good lol! Yet another reason I love this stuff.

12/8/2013 - Just opened bottle #3. Still working well - my skin has never looked better.

8/22/2013 - I have gone through an entire bottle of this new formula and am on my second. I'm still loving it. No acne or irritation - it's my new HG foundation.

This was recently reformulated like everything that once had labeled SPF due to a change in the FDA regulations in the USA. The new formula no longer contains titanium dioxide or zinc oxide as "active ingredients" so there is no longer any "sun protection factor - SPF" or viable sunscreen in this. The original ingredients can be seen above in the "ingredients section". I will include the new ones not only here in my review, but also above for comparison.

I really like this foundation for a number of reasons that I'll list here.

1. Ivory matches my nw10/15 skin perfectly.
2. It lasts all day on my oily skin (with primer, set with oil-controlling powder, and I use blotting papers as needed).
3. It doesn't irritate my extremely sensitive skin despite the botanicals it contains.
4. With one pump the coverage is light/sheer IMO. It can be built up easily in areas that need it though. After applied, it barely evens my skintone & I can still see old acne discoloration as well as freckles so in no way would I say this is medium or full coverage. This new formula is not as heavy or thick as the old was either.
5. It does not sink into or emphasize my pores
6. This should probably be #1 - it does not cause my very acne-prone skin to break out.
7. It does NOT emphasize or settle into my fine lines like almost all other foundations do.

New ingredients - hand typed from my new bottle: Aqua (water, EAU), cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, trimethylsiloxysilicate, cyclohexasiloxane, butylene glycol,talc, boron nitride, HDI/trimethylol hexllactone crosspolymer, nylon-12, PEG/PPG -18/18, dimethicone, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, phenyl trimethicone, sodium chloride, trisiloxane, hydrolyzed rice protein, prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond seed extract), laminara japonica extract, nerreocystis leutkeana extract, macrocystis pyrifera extract, saccharomyces/magnesium ferment, saccharomyces/potassium ferment, trihydroxystearin, lactobacillus/lemon peel ferment extract, camellia sinesis leaf (green tea) extract, aspalathus linearis leaf extract, aloe barbadensis leaf extract, tocepherol acetate, sodium ascorbyl phophate, methicone, tribehenin, hydrogenated lecithin, triethoxycaprylysilane, alumina, silica, hydrolyzed glycolsaminogkycans, sodium hyaluronate, sorbitan sesquioleate, palmitoyl, hydroxypropyltrimonium amylopectin/glycerin crosspolymer, sorbitol, tetrasodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, May contain/ +/- titanion dioxide (ci 77891), iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499) zinc oxide (ci77947), 22757

Link to it's ingredient breakdown on cos/DNA - http://www.cosdna.com/eng/cosmetic_33cd113407.html



24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Julcifer on 6/25/2013 5:32:00 AM more reviews by Julcifer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this on recommendation from mua and love it. I was using revlon photoready but found it breaking me out and accentuating my non existent dry skin and going patchy. I love this tlc make up, it's much better and i am seriously impressed. Good medium coverage with great colour match and amazing staying power. Feels light on my skin not oily or tight and doesn't feel like its sitting on top of it. I work in a hospital so very dry air. This lasted all day and looked the same as the start of the day. Pump bottle is good. I thought looked better with cream blush than powder as the powder seemed to get absorbed in. I wood definitely repurchase

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mollysmucker on 6/2/2013 4:28:00 PM more reviews by mollysmucker

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this!!! I have oily acne prone skin and this is the only foundation I've found that doesn't break me out and it doesn't look cakey or dry. It is a bit hard to remove with just washing your face alone so I'd recommend removing your makeup and then washing your face. Will be buying again!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sdaw on 5/30/2013 8:22:00 PM more reviews by sdaw

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Waste of money. It was thick and hard to work with. It looks cakey on the skin in certain spots.. Not 100% sure, but I think it broke me out too. No thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* krsn89 on 5/19/2013 11:59:00 PM more reviews by krsn89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

* ABOUT MY SKIN *
- My skin is oily but dehydrated. My t-zone is an oil slick, but I also tend to get flaky around the nose and forehead. I have dark acne scars and hyperpigmentation on my chin. Any active acne tends to be extremely red and my cheeks get very red/flushed as well.
- I am Asian with yellow undertones. My colour in MAC (SFF) is NC35.


* PACKAGING & PRICE *
Almay Truly Lasting Colour comes in a sleek glass bottle with a pump. There is also a plastic cap to go over the pump. No complaints about packaging here! I purchased this on sale for about $13 (CDN) at Shoppers Drug Mart, but the regular price for this foundation is around $18, which is pretty steep for a drugstore foundation. I used to see this at Wal-Mart for much cheaper, but I haven't seen it there for a while. This is available in 8 shades.


* FORMULA, COLOUR & APPLICATION *
Almay TLC has a fairly thick consistency, which I prefer. It comes out of the pump easily, but does not drip or run on the back of your hand. It has a paint-like scent right out of the bottle but once applied, the smell disappears. I am a very warm and yellow NC35, and I purchased this in Sand. Sand is a decent match for my skin. It is not as yellow as I'd like it to be, but it's wearable. I prefer applying this with a brush, and I have used my ELF flat top powder brush as well as 2 of my Real Techniques brushes (Buffing & Expert Face) with good results. I find it easier to blend TLC in sections, just because it tends to dry quicker than some of my other foundations. It feels creamy on the skin and blends easily, but doesn't drag despite the thick formula. It is slightly tacky for the first hour or so if you don't set it with a powder, but then it has a smooth, dry feel afterwards.


* COVERAGE & STAYING POWER *
For being such a thick foundation, the coverage is not as high as I thought it would be. I have to use two full pumps of this foundation just to get medium coverage. One pump would probably give you light coverage. I do need to use concealer for my darker acne scars, but I do that with every foundation. I find it is buildable if my brush is damp AND I add an extra layer before the other one completely sets. This sets to a soft matte finish. By soft, I mean that it is not super flat and it has a very skin-like finish, which I adore. What I LOVE about this foundation is the staying power. I have a VERY oily t-zone. I have an air-conditioned desk job and a few hours into the day, I usually look like I rubbed cooking oil on my face. I am THAT oily. This is one of the only foundations I have tried that has not required me to blot my face within two hours, which is very impressive. I have tested this with no primer underneath and no powder on top and it holds up well. I apply my makeup at around 7 AM most days and this lasts until I take my makeup off at night at around 10 or 11 PM. By that time, I am only slightly dewy. I am usually a greasy mess, but yes, I was only slightly dewy and that was without powdering or blotting all day! It's probably the best foundation I have tried so far in terms of staying power. Simply incredible. I also have to mention that when I was buying this, I used a tester bottle and pumped some on the back of my hand to test the consistency. I forgot about it and went about my day, and even with lots of hand washing and having a shower later, this stuff was STILL on my hand! Not 100%, but I did need an oil to get it off. I've been using jojoba oil lately to take my makeup off at night, and follow up with my Spectro Jel cleanser on my Olay Pro X brush. This hasn't caused any breakouts for me. It doesn't seem to fade off or transfer too much either. I had a nap with it on by accident and I didn't even need to touch up when I woke up!


* FINAL THOUGHTS *
I really, really like this foundation. I am so impressed by the staying power of this foundation, as I HATE having to touch up or be worried that my face is melting off throughout the day. This even photographs well because it has no SPF, which I like (I wear a separate sunscreen). Another positive is that this does not oxidize on me. I loved MAC ProLongwear for the oil-controlling properties but it literally turned orange on me. This DOES NOT do that. The colour range available is severely lacking though. I think Sand is the second darkest shade, so if you have a deeper skintone (probably anything higher than NC40ish?) you won't find a match. Also, I'm not sure if this would be a good choice for drier skins as it is a very dry formula. My only gripe about this foundation, which I have with most foundations, is that it tends to be too pink for my yellow skintone, but I can live with it. I will certainly be using this a lot in the upcoming summer months. If you have oily or even combination skin, this is DEFINITELY worth a try. I highly recommend this foundation!

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jackchi24 on 5/7/2013 12:00:00 PM more reviews by jackchi24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I like this foundation and I've bought it multiple times, but I'm still on the hunt for something better. I have fair skin and the lightest color, Ivory, works well for me. This makeup has pretty good coverage and doesn't cause me to breakout which is the reason I keep going back to it. It doesn't look great when first applied, but after a few mins it starts looking better. Sometimes this can feel sticky on my face which I dont like. Also, it seems to show any little peach fuzz on my face more than most foundations I've used. I don't love how it looks after I've applied loose powder to set it, but I don't like how it looks on it's own without powder either. I definitely think as the day goes on it looks better and better, which is a little strange. I refuse to use makeup that doesn't state that it's non-comedogenic, so this leaves me with pretty limited selections both in drugstores and Sephora. For a liquid foundation, I would say this is a good product. I've started looking into going back to mineral makeup though since I don't like the sticky feel I get with product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeupAlleyJunkie on 5/3/2013 12:27:00 AM more reviews by MakeupAlleyJunkie

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Finally! An amazing foundation that comes with a pump! Well let me start off by saying this is now my HG foundation. I'm so in love with it. It costs about $13 depending on where you purchase it from and where you live. The bottle is pretty simple and sleek. It's not something that I am ashamed of having in my makeup bag. I have to use a lot of this product so it sucks that it's a tad pricey for a drugstore foundation but it's honestly worth every penny. The way it smells and feels reminds me of MAC's Prolong wear concealer. The coverage is medium but pretty build able. I think it's perfect to wear during the day. It gives you a mixture of a satin and matte finish which is ideal for someone like me who doesn't have oily skin but still needs a little bit of that oil control. I like how it looks like real skin instead of powdery like matte foundation yet it doesn't look super wet and Dewey. It gives you this natural glow. I find that applying this with your fingers works best. I tried to use a flat top kabuki brush, buffing brush and foundation brush but it doesn't compare to the finish I get using my fingers. I haven't tried applying it with a beauty blender but I'm thinkin of giving that a shot soon. I'll update this review and let you all know how that goes. I just can't stop raving about how perfect this foundation is! The best part is that it doesn't oxidize which is quite un common for creamy foundations like this one. This is also perfect for sensitive, acne prone skin because it's very gentle and it hasn't broke me out one bit. I like to set this foundation with a little bit of MAC's mineralize skinfinish natural pressed powder. I apply it using ELF's studio kabuki face brush. The lasting power on this foundation is great. I usually dont have to touch up but if I do It's only once. Anyways, this is the perfect foundation for people with any skin type, preferably not someone with super oily skin though. It very moisturizing, lightweight and high quality. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products