Almay TLC Truly Lasting Color

3.8

343 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

NEW 6/2013 - Aqua (water, EAU), cyclopentasiloxane, dimethicone, trimethylsiloxysilicate, cyclohexasiloxane, butylene glycol,talc, boron nitride, HDI/trimethylol hexllactone crosspolymer, nylon-12, PEG/PPG -18/18, dimethicone, cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 dimethicone, phenyl trimethicone, sodium chloride, trisiloxane, hydrolyzed rice protein, prunus amygdalus dulcis (sweet almond seed extract), laminara japonica extract, nerreocystis leutkeana extract, macrocystis pyrifera extract, saccharomyces/magnesium ferment, saccharomyces/potassium ferment, trihydroxystearin, lactobacillus/lemon peel ferment extract, camellia sinesis leaf (green tea) extract, aspalathus linearis leaf extract, aloe barbadensis leaf extract, tocepherol acetate, sodium ascorbyl phophate, methicone, tribehenin, hydrogenated lecithin, triethoxycaprylysilane, alumina, silica, hydrolyzed glycolsaminogkycans, sodium hyaluronate, sorbitan sesquioleate, palmitoyl, hydroxypropyltrimonium amylopectin/glycerin crosspolymer, sorbitol, tetrasodium EDTA, phenoxyethanol, methylparaben, ethylparaben, propylparaben, May contain/ +/- titanion dioxide (ci 77891), iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499) zinc oxide (ci77947), 22757. ORIGINAL- (Active Ingredients : Titanium Dioxide 3.3%, Zinc Oxide 2.3%), Water, Cyclomethicone, Dimethicone, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Butylene Glycol, Boron Nitride, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, HDI/Trimethylol Hexyllactone Crosspolymer, Talc, Nylon-12, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Phenyl Trimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Trisiloxane, Hydrolyzed Rice Protein, Prunus Amygdalus Dulcis (Sweet Almond) Seed Extract, Laminaria Japonica Extract, Nereocystis Leutkeana Extract, Macrocystis Pyrifera Extract, Magnesium, Potassium, Trihydroxystearin, Lactobacillus/Lemon Peel Ferment Extract, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract, Aspalathus Linearis Leaf Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Methicone, Tribehenin, Hydrogenated Lecithin, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Alumina, Silica, Hydrolyzed Glycosaminoglycans, Sodium Hyaluronate, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Palmitoyl Hydroxypropyltrimonium Amylopectin/Glycerin Crosspolymer, Sorbitol, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben --- MAY CONTAIN (CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides)


on 10/15/2013 12:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I have been using this foundation off and on (mostly on) for a few years, and I love it! I guess I would consider it to be my HG foundation, only because I always have it even if I'm currently trying something different. I will continuously come back to this product.

First off I love the packaging because it's in a pump bottle, which is so much easier to use. And the product itself is a pretty nice consistency, thick so you don't need too much at a time, but still liquidy. I will say that my skin is generally very clear so I don't need a full coverage foundation, this gives a light to medium which I love. If you need a heavy coverage though, this probably wouldn't work.

I live in Texas so it gets quite humid (all the time) but this foundation doesn't make my skin LOOK oily (my skin isn't overly oily though). Another thing is, this is one of the few drugstore foundations that has a nice, solid yellow undertone which I need.

So basically this never causes me to breakout, works well with my skin type, and I love it! I would absolutely repurchase seeing as how I have for about three years.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 10/8/2013 3:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this on and off for a month now and I have to say this stuff is amazing. I say "on and off" because I get blemishes once a month and I like to use almay's blemish clear foundation when I do. But this foundation is amazing when you have a long day ahead and you don't want to touch up too much apart from blot oil from your face.

I have quite an oily T zone and this foundation doesn't really stop the oil from coming through but it does minimize the oil slick compared to when I'm only wearing moisturizer (and my face is REALLY oily so that's saying something). I need to blot halfway throughout my day and that's about it.

I like to apply this with a makeup sponge. I've tried it with a stippling brush but I think this foundation's too thick to spread it that way. It is a bit sticky when first applied but it goes away after a while. I don't think it oxidizes even with my oily skin, which is a great big plus in my books.

It is quite expensive in NZ though, for $40! It usually never goes on sale here in NZ as well so that's a big downer. Packaging is nice as it has a pump but it is a glass bottle, so I would probably need a spatula to get some of the remaining foundation out when I run low on product.

Will definitely buy again! I don't really recommend this if you have dry skin that flakes because it highlights flaky skin, which I get whenever I have a blemish.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/6/2013 5:31:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Just started using this yesterday after reading through a lot of favorable reviews here. Not a lot of time with this, but I wanted to share my experience and results so far and will be sure to update with any changes.

My skin is very fair, sensitive, and usually has a range of mild to moderate breakouts and the pink marks they leave behind. I was previously using Neutrogena SkinClearing makeup as concealer over spots because it didn't break me out, but I wanted to find something better and that I could maybe use all over my skin to make all one even shade.
Reviews for TLC were mostly great so I was very excited and bought some at cvs in the lightest shade Ivory the next morning.

First impression: When I got home, I opened it and pumped out my first squirt. SO much came out onto my hand. Now, I've never used full liquid foundation, just cover up here and there, so I'm not used to having a lot of product. I tried rubbing it into my hand and it was a terrible pink mess. I figured there was no way I could use this on my skin with better results so I planned on returning it.

First use: The next morning I saw the bottle next to my neutrogena concealer and realized that the TLC color looked like a much better match for my skin, so I wondered why it came out so pink. I decided to instead squirt out a very little bit and apply in small spots with my fingers as a concealer, as I'd done with the neutrogena. Bingo! It was a perfect match and looked totally natural with my skin in terms of color and texture. I didn't apply it everywhere, but just over those scars and any redness and then applied a light physicians formula powder to set it. I had to put a little more over the darker spots, but it did end up covering- so I'd say this is sheer to medium coverage.

I had a long day of walking around outside in 90 degree heat and was consistently surprised when I saw myself in a bathroom mirror with good looking skin. I didn't feel the need to touch up the TLC, just another thin dusting of my powder. I asked someone how my skin/makeup looked at one point and she said it looked great but like I wasn't wearing any makeup.So this stuff does have pretty impressive staying power.

I feel pretty confident when I put this on that I can count on it and fake having nearly perfect/healthy skin. I will update in the future if there are any changes, for better or worse- just wanted to share how I was able to use this with good results.

Edit: So unfortunately there was a change for the worse. I love this stuff, but it does in fact irritate my skin, causing breakouts. I'd recently suspected this so I went back to my neutrogena skin clearing makeup (which is just ok but doesn't break me out) and while in a fitting room looking in the mirror noticed I could use some more coverage on some spots. So I put some of this tlc on and it looked much better- though in the car driving home I could feel that area kind of tingling, not a good sign. tried it again yesterday and by the time I washed it off the one area, there were a bunch of red irritated new spots. Sad to say I can't use this anymore.Giving it a 2 instead of a 4 because it does have great coverage, but not worth the breakouts. I cross-referenced it with the neutrogena on cosdna to see which ingredient it was, and I narrowed it down to the butylene glycol causing problems. hope this helps.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2013 4:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is my favorite foundation. Almay is one of the only drugstore brands that has a shade light enough to match my ultra fair skin. I have a relatively good complexion so I don't need much coverage, just enough to make my face look smooth and perfect all day and this does it. It survives the Florida summer heat which I am yet to find another product that does that, department store or not. By the end of the day my face still looks good enough to trick me into thinking my skin has turned *that* flawless until I wash it off and am slapped back into reality of not having a permanent photoshop artist with me everywhere I go. Alas, these are the trials of life.
The pump bottle it comes in keeps it hygienic, but beware if you are a fellow klutz as I have broken many bottles of foundation as they are made of glass. The price does seem to be a dollar or so higher than the other drugstore brands, but it is easy to find it on sale or pick up a coupon somewhere. And from what I've seen, it lasts longer than your average, say, Loreal or Cover Girl foundation.
I also agree with many reviewers, however, that have noted that the lack of SPF is a disappointment, which is why I only rate it with 4 lippies. Normally I wear the Almay CC cream they have that includes SPF 35 as a primer, but it would be nice to be able to just use the foundation and feel confident that I wasn't doing further damage to my skin.
All of that said, overall the coverage is fairly light but stays through sweat, sun, heat and stress - which is important to me in my daily life. The lack of a SPF is disappointing, but can easily be remedied with a daily moisturizer or primer/BB/CC cream that has at least a SPF of 30. My favorite thing about it, hands down, is how the lightest shade really does match me - no orange line bordering my face, no weird yellow tint; just a perfect match.
But always do your research when it comes to finding the right foundation shade for you because as frustrating as it can seem, there is a shade somewhere that can match you. The most important thing is to be comfortable, happy and healthy with your skin tone. You don't need to worry about if you're too pale or too dark; just be you and let the makeup companies work around it.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 9/11/2013 2:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I purchased this is the shade naked, and it is one of the only foundations i have used that matched me perfectly. I would say the coverage is light-medium, and it has a natural finish. I really think it makes me look like i'm not wearing any make up. I have some problem areas, so it doesn't cover everything up, and its not buildable. If you try to build up the coverage it will mess up the foundation, making it kinda smudge. I'm not sure how else to describe it. I have oily skin and i don't get shiny at all when using this. If i had better skin I think I would use this daily, because it looks natural and keeps me shine free. Currently I only use it on good skin days because the coverage isn't as high as i'd like.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/10/2013 7:07:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

i am in absolute love with this foundation.
i have some post acne pigmentation. my acne is now gone thanks to acne.org's treatment but i did pop them (:x) but i was careful to further irritate them also so my pigmentation marks aren't the worse.
i also wear sunscreen daily but the old formulation of this contains spf. (the newer one doesn't and much of the cyclomethicone has been traded off for cyclopentasiloxane, smaller molecule silicone but still volatile)
this covers everything for me like a concealer yet doesn't feel mask like.
i never look oily in it without a setting powder but it doesn't feel drying at all either.
the color ivory actually matches my nw10/15 skin tone and is a very neutral shade.
it LASTS and it doesn't look any different either. it was over 95 degrees today & i was outside for maybe only 2 hours but i applied my current foudation 10 hours ago and it still looks exactly the same.

the only other foundation i have found that i have really loved is MUFE Face & Body but it is much lighter coverage than this and it is not silicone based so it is sometimes fussy with spf or moisturizer underneath it.


pros
great pale shade
very long lasting
good coverage
doesn't break down or oxidize
controls MY oil (i am not very oily though)
doesn't feel drying
very natural looking
not expensive compared to HE foundations
pump

cons
new formula doesn't have spf

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/9/2013 12:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Finally! A drugstore foundation that has lighthetrue yellow undertones!!!! I used Revlon colorstay for the longest time, and while I loved the lasting power and coverage, the color match was poor. Sand beige in Revlon was always too pink and i needed to blend down my neck and use a more yellow powder on top to make the foundation look not like a mask. Almay TLC in buff is my new love! The color match is perfect for my light/medium nc20-25 skin with yellow undertones. The coverage of this foundation is not as heavy as that of color stay, but since I mainly need to cover the redness on my cheeks and around my nose, TLC does that pretty well. The lasting power is pretty great too, I can wear this from 7am to 7pm without it separating or creasing around my mouth. The only con I can think of is that the texture of this foundation is kind of sticky at first, but the stickyness does go away once it completely dries.

Overall, I love this foundation sooooo much more than Revlon colorstay. Although the shade selection is limited, if you can find a color match, definitely give this a try.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/2/2013 3:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Love this foundation so much, I always come back to it! Very well priced too! I used to use $80-$100 foundations and this is better! It stays in place and the colour selection seems pretty good, I have pale to medium skin with a pinkish undertone and it's nice it's not too yellowy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I keep trying other foundations but keep coming back to this one. It lasts wonderfully well and does not irritate my quite sensitive skin. I do find that it applies best with fingers, I smooth it on and then kind of "pat" it in (I learned that from Mary Greenwell video on YouTube). This means that my lovely brushes don't get used for it but I suppose I shouldn't complain about that! I do have to apply it soon after moisturising, and make sure that my skin is really well moisturised, otherwise it will "grab" to the drier spots and look terrible. And I go easy with the powder - a light dusting on the T-zone only. Once I have it on, it looks great and lasts all day. I really think it's excellent value for money.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/16/2013 2:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE this foundation, and I'll use it in the winter when the humidity goes down. It is so smooth in its application, no weird smell. I have cystic nodular acne breakouts once a month and this provides natural looking coverage with the added benefit that it's water resistant, sweat proof, and has a ton of natural ingredients like green tea extract, kelp extract, lemon peel extract, etc. Most importantly, if you compare the ingredients (the top 4) to the ingredients of high-end products like Make Up Forever Foundations, this is A MATCH. HOLY GRAIL!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top