Almay • TLC Truly Lasting Color • Foundations

rated 3.8(325 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 squirrelyhell on 4/9/2013 6:14:00 PM more reviews by squirrelyhell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

:( I had originally given this a glowing review, but after a few weeks the breakouts began and I had to switch to a different foundation. I did like this foundation, and would recommend it to people, but it wasn't quite right for me.

I felt that this foundation gave a great amount of coverage. It is around a light to medium coverage, and while I'm accustomed to full coverage, it was perfect for evening out my ruddy cheeks and red acne scars while leaving my skin looking like skin. It was never cakey and was always easy to apply. Ivory worked well enough for my NC15 skin, but was a little too pink. (Buff was too yellow. Perhaps mixing the two would create an ideal shade, but I never tried it.) It lasted pretty well throughout the day, meaning that it didn't fade or transfer.

As for the things I disliked, I always got oily after a few hours. I personally feel this foundation would be best for someone with dry skin, because I felt it was more hydrating than my somewhat oily skin needed. Blot as I may, I always looked a little too shiny and my skin often felt greasy. I loved this foundation for about a week and a half because it wasn't breaking me out (which was the main reason I kept using it despite the greasiness), but after the two week mark it made me breakout frequently. It was neither that time of the month, nor had anything else in my routine changed, so I can safely deduce it was the foundation. I've heard oily skinned gals say that this worked great to control their shine, but that was definitely not the case for me. Perhaps you'll have better luck. I eventually switched to Almay Clear Complexion, which in my experience has all of the pros of TLC and none of the cons.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Simpliciti3 on 4/8/2013 7:56:00 PM more reviews by Simpliciti3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a foundation that would work on my oily skin and give good coverage.

I have the shade 160 naked, and its too dark for me. My fault, but its okay, its not that noticeable since I'm a bit more tan now. I think one shade lower would be a good match for me. I find that Almay has decent shade matches for people with yellow tones (like me!)

I would say this gives a light medium to medium coverage. I noticed a lot of people saying this can give full coverage, I guess I don't apply as much on as other people? If I have darker spots or larger acne on my face I do need to put a concealer over those but overall it evens out my skin tone.

It has a nice consistency, not too liquidy or too thick. I like to apply it on with a stippling brush, I find that with a foundation brush it looks streaky so I have to blend it out quite a bit. It is buildable and it doesn't really get cakey if you layer it.

I find this foundation doesn't wear that nicely thoughout the day but it definitely doesn't look terrible. I does stay on my oily skin which is nice, and it also doesn't irritate or break me out. I would say I get oily after 4 hours more or less, and I always set this with a setting powder.

As far as repurchasing, I might. I don't love this foundation but I do like it. I just think there is a better foundation for me.

Overall, I do like this foundation. It stays on my skin throughout the day and it doesn't irritate or break me out. I would recommend this for someone with oily/acne prone skin who is looking for a buildable foundation that will stay on the skin for most of the day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 dancedance_003 on 4/5/2013 10:00:00 AM more reviews by dancedance_003

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

There are several reasons as to why I don't like this foundation:
1. Although people have mentioned that it was a medium coverage foundation, I didn't find this to be true. While it did offer some coverage, it wasn't consistent. It only managed to cover up redness on the top of my nose, but not the sides. In the end, my nose just looked pink. However, with regular discoloration, it covered pretty well.
2. This foundation is super thick and really hard to blend because it sets too quickly before it gets absorbed into the skin. This results in a really cakey, powdery finish because I could still see the foundation sitting on top of my skin. I tried using a damp sponge, kabuki brush, and a foundation brush. None of those methods worked well, so I ended up applying it with my fingers.
3. I have relatively normal skin, but my nose may get slightly shiny throughout the day and my cheeks tend to be a little drier, therefore, I prefer foundations that give me a dewy finish or even semi-matte. This foundation made my face look so flat. If you have combination/oily skin, I think this would be better suited for you, but dry skin people: stay away.
4. I applied this foundation (with primer) at 8 am and by 2 pm, what little coverage I had on my nose completely separated. My nose never gets shiny enough for me to touch up, but with this foundation, my nose was shiny and red after only 6 hours.
5. The scent of this foundation reminded me of rubber and glue. I would have easily overlooked this con if the foundation itself performed to my expectations.
6. For a drugstore foundation, this was pretty expensive. I would have paid $12.49 at CVS if it wasn't on sale. It was 40% off, so I only paid around $8, but definitely check out other drugstores and maybe even Target or Walmart for better prices.

I do like the packaging and the color surprisingly matched my skin (I am Asian NC20 and bought the color Buff), but overall, this foundation didn't work out for me. I have since returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupfun21 on 3/27/2013 5:51:00 PM more reviews by makeupfun21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

HG foundation by far! (I use this foundation in the shade "Buff".) Pros: oil-free, has SPF, has antioxidants in the formula, not greasy, but also not drying, never breaks me out over the six years that I have been using this product (I could sleep in this foundation and I wouldn't break out). I love the packaging and this product lasts me SUCH a long time. I probably repurchase like once a year. (I could probably go even longer than that! I don't think I've ever used a full bottle of this stuff up.)


The ONLY con about this product is that it has some SPF in it, which can sometimes show up as ghastly white in flash-photography-- but you can easily fix that problem by wearing a little powder or bronzer that doesn't have any SPF in it over the foundation. I suppose another minor con is that the majority of these foundations are more pink-toned than olive-toned or yellow-toned. However, Buff has a lot of yellow pigment in it and works beautifully for me, so I really have nothing to complain about. Bottom line, this product is amazing and I will continue to repurchase.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AMSClassic on 3/12/2013 5:46:00 PM more reviews by AMSClassic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Finally I have found my HG drugstore foundation!!!! I used to use Clinique Moisture Sheer Tint, but they reformulated it and turned it into something that is so greasy and just sits on top of my face, so then began my search for a new TM or foundation that looked natural, felt comfortable (very important!), and lasted on my oily skin. This foundation does all of that. Now I just hope that now that I have found it they don't discontinue or change it!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 graceeunhyeso on 3/11/2013 3:12:00 PM more reviews by graceeunhyeso

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my HG drugstore foundation. Ive had and repurchased this about three times in two years. Most drug store foundations break me out horribly, but this doesnt.
I have very oily skin and I get dry patches here and there. This foundation helps control my oil and is very truly ling lasting. It has a pump which is amazing, and the cinsistency is not too thick and not too runny.
It is buildable to a medium to full coverage but I like to sheer it out just to even out my skin tone and wear concealer over it.
Very natural finish.
I apply with my real techniques expert face brush for a seemless application. I find that any other dense brushes do its job. I have also tried with my fingers, and i liked it too.But I do find that it sometimes clings onto my dry patches. So it is very importannt to exfoliate and moisturize well before applicayion (well you should, for all foundations).
Just love love love this for the price. Evn though I dont use It everyday, its good to have a cheap and good back up foundation for the days where i dont want to look like i put too much makeup on.
Will repurchase foreverrrrrr

Oh, and I use the color 140buff, which is a perfect color for my yellow toned NC15-20

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CET13 on 3/7/2013 3:28:00 PM more reviews by CET13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Although I wasn't expecting much from this foundation, I have to say I am quite impressed. First, I don't typically go for liquid foundations (they usually oxidize and then dissolve into an oily mess on my skin) and I typically haven't been impressed by drugstore foundations. But, this is a solid product. I have fussy skin--sensitive, reactive, etc.--and this has yet to irritate it or cause dermatitis or a break-out. I used the shade "Naked" which is a perfect match to my light/cool skin tone. Coupled with Too Faced's Primed and Poreless powder, this is a not too matte, not too dewy, natural looking finish. Great price point, and the glass bottle plus pump is both neat and convenient. I use a sponge to apply, and I'd definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 trish7210 on 2/22/2013 2:00:00 PM more reviews by trish7210

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a really good foundation, and I've gone through quite a few bottles of it. Let me just break down the pros and cons, because I think that will be easier.

Pros:
-Good, staying power
-Never feel heavy or too dry. It has like a semi-matte finish.
-Great for sensitive and acne-prone skin
-Color matches pretty good, doesn't turn orange
-Bottle has a pump!
-Oil-free

Cons:
-Coverage could be a little better, as I have red skin in places and it takes 2 coats to cover it efficiently.
-Sort of pricey for a drugstore foundation
-Doesn't cover dark circles, must use a concealer if yours are pretty dark like mine.

All in all, it's a nice foundation and I keep coming back to it. I love the pump bottle and the fact that it's always been nice to my sensitive skin, so it's a winner in my book. I've used foundations with better coverage, but this one fits my needs perfectly.


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mollieismehehe on 1/26/2013 9:34:00 PM more reviews by Mollieismehehe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I first tried this product when i started having severe acne break outs and the dermatologist told me I had to use makeup that was noncomedegenic meaning it won't clog your pores. Almay was the only brand I could find that was completely oil free and promised not to clog pores. I bought this foundation and started using it right away. It matched my fair skin tone pretty well and seemed to stay on all day. I recommend if you have acne prone skin or sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MamaChoobie on 1/14/2013 3:00:00 PM more reviews by MamaChoobie

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have tried many, many foundations and find that this works perfectly for my mature skin. It is rich enough to provide nice coverage, but it never feels heavy or settles in. The color (ivory) is perfect for my pale complexion. Can't beat the price, either! Very happy with this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Almay products

More Foundations products