No Brand (DIY or homemade) • Argan Oil • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(117 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lotusfairy on 1/12/2013 7:53:00 PM more reviews by lotusfairy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought pure, cold-pressed, organic argan oil from Simpler Botanicals. It was $15.99 at Wholefoods. I wanted to see how well it would do on my hair since I have tried a couple of hair lines that tout argan oil as an ingredient. Unfortunately argan oil is listed either in the middle or end of the ingredient list. With this, I only pump a nickel sized amount onto my hand, emulsify between my palms and then work the oil into my hair. I let it sit for practically eight hours before I shampooed it out. My hair was very shiny and soft. It looked and felt well-nourished. I will try to add this to my favorite conditioning treatments to see how well it does and I have yet to try this on my skin. From what I can tell it does an excellent job of conditioning my hair and would even work as a sealer after a leave-in conditioner. update 1/2014: I recently incorporated this into my skin care regimen. I use a very small drop at night after cleansing to add some moisture into my skin. It sinks in quickly and leaves my skin calm and glowing in the morning. I have not seen much clogging yet so I am crossing my fingers that this works out for me in the long run. I also still love it for my hair. I add a tablespoon to my conditioner or cream leave-ins once in a while to boost shine and moisturizing benefits.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NotoriousCharity on 1/10/2013 3:49:00 PM more reviews by NotoriousCharity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The Argan oil on its own didn't do much other than moisturize so don't fall for any drastic before and after photos like I did. But since itís chock full of vitamin E it was perfect to mix with a pinch of vitamin C powder and a few drops of distilled water to make the homemade vitamin C serum (also on makeupalley). I also use either a 1.5 or 0.5 dermaroller beforehand before applying so the serum penetrates deeper. The argan oil itself is a very nice oil and weightless on the skin. I brought a 4 oz bottle on ebay from archer159.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lisa_thejack on 12/19/2012 6:24:00 AM more reviews by lisa_thejack

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Woohoo, this stuff is amazing! I mix it with aloe vera gel and apply all over my face, eye area and body and the results are outstanding. I like to combine it with aloe vera gel because it absorbs almost instantly so you're left with no oily film, just incredibly smooth skin for at least 24hrs. It doesn't clog pores, it doesn't smell bad and it doesn't cost a fortune (compared to most beauty products which do absolutely nothing). What it does do is smooth wrinkle out, even skin tone and soften skin like no other stuff has EVER done. I don't use scrubs, useless masks or any sort of acid on my face. This argan/aloe combo preceded by that wonderful cleansing tool called Clarisonic is all I use and both my skin and I have never been happier.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 missmiracles on 12/15/2012 8:51:00 AM more reviews by missmiracles

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Summary :Bad for skin; wicked for hair and my cat's fur!

Was quite excited about all the talk around argan oil and bought a 60ml bottle from a reputed supplier here in the UK as part of a batch of lovely plant oils I am trialling on my face. The oil was described as organic, cold pressed and unrefined.

I applied a few drops, plain straight from the bottle to freshly cleansed skin , it was evening time. It felt greasy and almost gritty in texture.

ALMOST IMMEDIATELY my face started to react, feeling uncomfortable and prickly. Within the hour I had to look in the mirror to see what was happening and I was BREAKING OUT BIG TIME - red pimples forming on my forehead and chin and general blotchiness.

I washed it all off with pure castile soap and when it had calmed down applied pre evening primrose oil - which I know to be safe.

Fortunately overnight the reaction subsided and am now waiting for the pimples to fade.

In a way I am ok about the reaction, it was so instant and obvious. Now am wondering what to do with the oil, suppose I could use it on my hair as a pre-wash treatment, or even add it to a salad as it is designated 'food grade'.

UPDATE
Use it as pre-shampoo hair treatment: rub a small amount on palms and massage into scalp and through hair, shampoo off after 10-15mins Wow, my hair was so bouncy and glossy, I felt like a hair model! What a wonderful surprise.
THEN noticed my cat (7yrs old mixed breed) licking my hands which had oil on and thought I'd add a couple of drops - cautiously to her cat meat. Within a day or two it was miraculous - her fur seems thicker, lustrous and shiny and seems to be lighter in colour; or possibly reflecting more light.
Which leads me to think I'll take a spoon a day asa nutritional supplement and see if any benefits come my way.
(It is food grade)

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BeccahH on 12/13/2012 2:56:00 AM more reviews by BeccahH

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love argan oil & it seems to love me back. I use it straight up on me cuticles & my nails grow healthy & strong. I mix a few drops into my creams & lotions, it gives high end results with inexpensive products.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 DaisyJxo on 11/27/2012 3:14:00 AM more reviews by DaisyJxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

After reading so many positive reviews, I had high hopes for argan oil. My skin is fairly normal and I rarely break out but after using this for about 3-4 days I had one of the worst break-outs ever. I got 4 pimples on my forehead and 2 on my chin and today got another on my nose. It's unfortunate because I really was hoping for that "glowing skin" haha I wasn't too lucky this time... But I will say my sister has been using this and it really is clearing up her skin. It's just not for everyone!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blueclaire on 10/2/2012 1:07:00 AM more reviews by blueclaire

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I like Argan oil for my hair but on my body it creates weird bumps -not just on my face

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wws1980 on 9/26/2012 12:48:00 PM more reviews by wws1980

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I use President's Choice Black Label Argan oil. It's about $15 and is a high quality culinary oil. The scent of this argan oil is quite pungent but I rather like it - it smells nutty to me. My boyfriend hates it though so be warned,it's not everyone's cup of tea.

I use it on both my (non-facial) skin and hair and it sinks in quickly without much residual scent. It leaves me with soft, non sticky hair and skin. It makes my hair feel thicker somehow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 stella0r on 9/4/2012 2:26:00 AM more reviews by stella0r

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The brand I got was for The Souk (I'm from the Philippines). It comes with a dropper attached to the cap which is pretty amazing. On my fourth day however of using it as a night moisturizer for my face, I got 3 tiny pimple-like blisters, and 2 pimples!

Too bad I had such high hopes for this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kateyk on 8/31/2012 5:15:00 PM more reviews by kateyk

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

i used a shea butter and argan oil body buter from anaqah i got it on ebay and was a bit hesitant but i ended up loving it and whent back for some more
i have very sensitive skin and either break out or dry up and can get irritated from many products but this body butter being mixed with shea butter and argan oil was perfect for my skin and i had no issues with it at all and got extra benefits of the shea butter ;)
not to mention it was a very good price all in all im a big fan of argan oil and this new brand anaqah

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Moisturizers products