Badger • SPF 30 • Sunscreen

rated 2.8(48 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.37%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 perl on 6/17/2008 4:17:00 PM more reviews by perl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The price is fine, but considering the size 2.9 oz, it could be better. i dont like the smell, but i like the high zinc content and that it has seabuchhorn oil. it goes on white, but it's okay if you have light skin. .i've only used it twice, so im going to have to update this.
**********UPDATE************************
it is a good product because of it's "no chemical" status, but i can't stand the chalkiness. i do use it if im planning to be outside, but im looking for the same qualities w/ out being chalky. i literally look like a geisha when i wear it! for now im using grahams.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sanrosee on 5/8/2008 7:19:00 PM more reviews by sanrosee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The consistency is too thick (paste-like), the scent is a little too strong (some type of herb along with maybe honey), it does not spread easily, and the white cast takes about five minutes to fade -- but my skin does not burn when wearing this sunblock. And my skin burns very easily, even when wearing almost any other brand of sunblock.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* summertan on 4/16/2008 11:21:00 AM more reviews by summertan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

The SPF 30 may be a good product for the beach where nobody will pay attention to your white face - high protection, 20.5% ZnO, water proof, no chemical sunscreen. Wearing it everyday is impossible for me - too whitish, doesn't blend at all, toothpaste consistency, hard to spread, in short cosmetically non-elegant.

The SPF 15 version blends easier but is shinier so again not my choice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jayesx on 1/23/2008 2:40:00 PM more reviews by jayesx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is soo much better than Lancome's UV expert ( you know, the one with mexoryl). It has a grainy texture and its very oily but once it absorbs, it leaves your skin feeling moisturized. Also, the ylang ylang scent is overpowering but NOT horrendous. this is the best sunblock i have ever used and i dont care that it makes my face break out, a little, if it'll mean ill look 21ish forever!!!

EDIT: California Baby SPF 30 Sunscreen ( but it's non - chem so tech it's a sunblock) is sooo much better- far less greasy and much lighter. It feels like a regular primer or moisturizer and you forget you're even wearing sunblock; I love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Syrie on 8/10/2007 4:15:00 PM more reviews by Syrie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is the best sunscreen I've seen other than the super expensive Shiseido. I didn't actually use it but saw its use on my nephew while we were in Boston last week. I used my stupid Neutrogena on me and my son and my sister-in-law, who is Japanese, used this on herself and my nephew. We were out on the beach all afternoon--I got sunburned shoulders, my son got a little pink, but my SIL and nephew looked untouched! (Of course, they do have a bit more melanin than we do, but they have NO base tan). It looks like it leaves somewhat of a white cast, but I think if she rubbed it in it wouldve gone away. Very, very waterproof, too. I will buy some as soon as I can find it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Leftwing34 on 8/9/2007 9:11:00 AM more reviews by Leftwing34

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The consistency of this sunblock is almost like a paste. A little goes a long way and it does take a while for it to full absorb, but when it does there is no white cast and it is a matte finish. The texture isn't ideal for my face, although if I let it absorb for about fifteen minutes before applying my makeup it seems OK. I love that it has no chemicals and most of the ingredients are organic.

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 20.5% (micronized)
Other Ingredients: Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Natural Beeswax, Organic Jojoba Oil, Organic Cocoa Butter, Wild African Shea Butter, Organic CO2 Extracts of Seabuckthorn Berry and Essential Oils of Lavender, Moroccan Blue Tansy, Ylang Ylang, Lime and Orange

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dalenna on 7/31/2007 9:49:00 PM more reviews by dalenna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

the best sunblock i've used so far. the consistency is very thick and pasty, but after blending, it leaves a semi-matte finish without a noticeable white cast or greasy feel. my skin is extremely dry, so i had to put on a bit of lotion before application even. in the afternoon, i dab a tissue all over my face and apply a thinner new layer (using the convenient California Baby SPF 30 Sunblock Stick) and I would look fresh for the rest of the night. my skin has since looking very glowy, clean, and clear. hooray!

4 WEEKS UPDATE: i actually prefer this over my Shiseido Sun Protection Lotion SPF 55 PA+++ for weekdays at the office now since i only wear blush and highlighter to work. the Badger formula is much more moisturizing for my super dry skin. i had to load moisturizer on for the Shiseido suncreen and even then, it zaps my skin dry by mid-day, especially around the eye area, making me look 100 years old!! now if i could find an eye-shadow primer that will add staying power for eye makeup, i will probably toss the Shiseido for good and stick with just Badger. yes, unfortunately Badger's moisturizing formula also creases eye makeup...everything has its price, no? :D

5 MONTHS UPDATE: i've stopped using this altogether after noticing my face was tanning! *gasp* and my face NEVER tans!!! and i gooped it on too, braving the geisha face everyday, never minding how it creases my eye makeup. worst of all, it badly clogged my pores even though i use DHC deep cleansing oil + a separate cleanser as recommended :( so sad...will keep looking though in the mean time...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Lillia on 7/29/2007 5:01:00 PM more reviews by Lillia

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

EDIT: I've since found a natural, physical sunscreen (TruKid) that's non-greasy and much easier to use. It also doesn't contain nanoparticles, the safety of which is in some dispute. So I would recommend that over Badger. However, for those who don't mind the thick texture of Badger, it's still a good (and non-toxic) option. Original Review: This isn't the most cosmetically elegant sunblock, but it's great for kids and for adults trying to avoid unnecessary chemicals. (It's rated the safest sunblock by the Environmental Working Group and has no chemical ingredients.) It's thick and white and quite emollient -- you do have to rub it in thoroughly to minimize the whitish cast and oily feel. (The oily feel is temporary.) It's too emollient for me to use on my face. But it works great everywhere else, and because it's so natural and mild, I don't worry so much about it rubbing off on my baby.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Badger products

More Sunscreen products