Badger • SPF 30 • Sunscreen

rated 2.8(52 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 snickety on 11/3/2008 4:38:00 PM more reviews by snickety

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My allergy prone skin so wanted to love this line of product, but my hyper-sensitive nose stepped in and won the battle... the smell of these products is just horrible. And, to be fair, the product itself felt very greasy and ucky on my skin. The packaging is adorable, love the tins. Unfortunately these items go into the unusable items drawer, and it's back to the drawing board for hyper-sensitive smeller/allergic skin friendly products:)

P.S. I purchased and tried the chai rose lip balm, the evolving body balm, and the spf 30 sunscreen.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 worldwide on 10/15/2008 2:36:00 AM more reviews by worldwide

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used this on myself and my toddler and preschooler all summer, and it is great. This is the ONLY sunscreen my kids will use now. I was using Jason Naturals children's sunscreen (in the yellow bottle) but it is SO thick and hard to spread, and so opaque-white my kids hated it. And when you are putting sunscreen on a squirming 2 year old, you don't have time to rub-rub-rub it in. The Badger sunscreen is thick, yes, but it does rub in fairly quickly (helps if you warm it in your hand first to melt it). Now if I try to put non-natural sunscreens on the kids, they complain about the "yucky" sunscreen. Amazing that even such young children can tell what's good and natural and what are chemicals. Anyway, they (and I) love the fragrance and the creamy feel of it. We have very fair skin, so the whitening is no big deal for us. We live in a very sunny climate, so we have to be coated with sunscreen every day. I feel good using this on myself and my kids, all over, every day, knowing that there are no potentially harmful chemicals in it. If you are looking for a thin-consistency, matte, undetectable sunscreen you will be disappointed with this. I was looking for a completely-natural, safe, pleasant to use sunscreen, and I have been very happy with this. This sunscreen has a very good safety rating on Environmental Working Group's Skin Deep Report: http://www.cosmeticsdatabase.com/special/sunscreens2008/findyoursunscreen.php

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 joyacchen on 9/23/2008 12:01:00 PM more reviews by joyacchen

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really really really wanted to like this. It's got natural ingredients and offers really good sun protection. On the flipside, in order to offer good sun protection as a natural product, it's ultra thick and VERY VERY white. I'm already fairly tan and it turns my bronzed skin into a strange pink hue, which is quite unattractive when I'm trying to blend in with the locals on vacation...

I love what this product is about but really just can't bring myself to walk around with a strange pepto bismol-y cast.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blondiegoodlooks on 8/1/2008 1:56:00 AM more reviews by blondiegoodlooks

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really wanted to like this stuff. It's difficult to find a chemical-free sunblock today, especially one that doesn't have nano zinc.

My review is for the SPF 15, which I got because other reviewers said the SPF 30 was too whitening. Although whitening is not really an issue on the 15, it is terribly greasy, even after being on ur skin for a few hours.

If you can live with that, I'd say buy it, but if you need a product that feels like it sinks in, this is not for you. I wish Badger could reformulate into something not as greasy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 perl on 6/17/2008 4:17:00 PM more reviews by perl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

The price is fine, but considering the size 2.9 oz, it could be better. i dont like the smell, but i like the high zinc content and that it has seabuchhorn oil. it goes on white, but it's okay if you have light skin. .i've only used it twice, so im going to have to update this.
**********UPDATE************************
it is a good product because of it's "no chemical" status, but i can't stand the chalkiness. i do use it if im planning to be outside, but im looking for the same qualities w/ out being chalky. i literally look like a geisha when i wear it! for now im using grahams.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sanrosee on 5/8/2008 7:19:00 PM more reviews by sanrosee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The consistency is too thick (paste-like), the scent is a little too strong (some type of herb along with maybe honey), it does not spread easily, and the white cast takes about five minutes to fade -- but my skin does not burn when wearing this sunblock. And my skin burns very easily, even when wearing almost any other brand of sunblock.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* summertan on 4/16/2008 11:21:00 AM more reviews by summertan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

The SPF 30 may be a good product for the beach where nobody will pay attention to your white face - high protection, 20.5% ZnO, water proof, no chemical sunscreen. Wearing it everyday is impossible for me - too whitish, doesn't blend at all, toothpaste consistency, hard to spread, in short cosmetically non-elegant.

The SPF 15 version blends easier but is shinier so again not my choice.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jayesx on 1/23/2008 2:40:00 PM more reviews by jayesx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is soo much better than Lancome's UV expert ( you know, the one with mexoryl). It has a grainy texture and its very oily but once it absorbs, it leaves your skin feeling moisturized. Also, the ylang ylang scent is overpowering but NOT horrendous. this is the best sunblock i have ever used and i dont care that it makes my face break out, a little, if it'll mean ill look 21ish forever!!!

EDIT: California Baby SPF 30 Sunscreen ( but it's non - chem so tech it's a sunblock) is sooo much better- far less greasy and much lighter. It feels like a regular primer or moisturizer and you forget you're even wearing sunblock; I love it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Syrie on 8/10/2007 4:15:00 PM more reviews by Syrie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff is the best sunscreen I've seen other than the super expensive Shiseido. I didn't actually use it but saw its use on my nephew while we were in Boston last week. I used my stupid Neutrogena on me and my son and my sister-in-law, who is Japanese, used this on herself and my nephew. We were out on the beach all afternoon--I got sunburned shoulders, my son got a little pink, but my SIL and nephew looked untouched! (Of course, they do have a bit more melanin than we do, but they have NO base tan). It looks like it leaves somewhat of a white cast, but I think if she rubbed it in it wouldve gone away. Very, very waterproof, too. I will buy some as soon as I can find it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Leftwing34 on 8/9/2007 9:11:00 AM more reviews by Leftwing34

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

The consistency of this sunblock is almost like a paste. A little goes a long way and it does take a while for it to full absorb, but when it does there is no white cast and it is a matte finish. The texture isn't ideal for my face, although if I let it absorb for about fifteen minutes before applying my makeup it seems OK. I love that it has no chemicals and most of the ingredients are organic.

Active Ingredients: Zinc Oxide 20.5% (micronized)
Other Ingredients: Organic Extra Virgin Olive Oil, Natural Beeswax, Organic Jojoba Oil, Organic Cocoa Butter, Wild African Shea Butter, Organic CO2 Extracts of Seabuckthorn Berry and Essential Oils of Lavender, Moroccan Blue Tansy, Ylang Ylang, Lime and Orange

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Badger products

More Sunscreen products