Maybelline • Dream Matte Pressed Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 4.1(1379 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 nermeenkishk on 10/28/2013 1:25:00 PM more reviews by nermeenkishk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This is my all time favourite powder,i use it for 5 yrs now,iam madly in love with this powder,it is very soft and gives a natural look without looking cakey or anything.
It makes my face matte and natural ,i simply love it
Negs:the sponge is very bad .
It gives a light to meduim coverage.
But still the best powder ever.
I revommend every one to give it a try. U will love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Bubbles98 on 10/28/2013 12:20:00 AM more reviews by Bubbles98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Really love this powder, lasts on me for about 5 ish hours but i dont have a problem doing a little touch up at my locker, reallllyyyy smooth , kinda buttery if that makes sense

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ixSNOWBUNNYx3 on 10/27/2013 6:03:00 PM more reviews by ixSNOWBUNNYx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I switched to this powder after the Rimmel Stay Matte powder (this broke me out like craaazy). And to say the least, I am very impressed with the results! I have extremely oily skin, and this helped to keep me from being shiny for 5 hours at a time (which BTW, is awesome). It's oil free, unlike the Rimmel Stay Matte (I recently discovered that it contained coconut oil... hm.), but it doesn't keep me poreless whatsoever.

The formula is great, it does go on a bit cakey, so I found it better if I used a little at a time.

LOVE! The packaging! The case is a bit thick, but understandable since it comes with a puff and a mirror, which makes it great if you were going to do touchups.

I'm not too crazy about the price, it goes for $10 here in Canada, although sometimes, if I'm lucky, I can get it 50% off.

I think this powder is going to be my new best friend for a while, I finally tackled my oily skin problems!!!


EDIT:

WOW. I burned through this stuff soooo quickly.... I took a lippie off, because this started to become realllyyyy cakey!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Beautyguru101 on 10/25/2013 1:37:00 AM more reviews by Beautyguru101

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love love love this powder. It's part of my daily makeup routine and has been for about 2 years now. I discovered this on a YouTube review when I was using a very high end powder (Chanel pressed powder). And although I loved that power, I felt like I was throwing away unnecessary money every time I bought it. So, I decided to go the drug store route.
This powder is an awesome translucent powder! I use a very full coverage foundation, so all I use this for is to set my face makeup. It's awesome for touch ups during the day, very quick and simple. I normally use a large powder brush to apply it, but the puff it comes with isn't bad. The mirror underneath also comes in handy! It's very blend-able and silky feeling. I couldn't finish my makeup without it, and I normally get it for $7-$8. Such a steal!
BUT if you are looking for a powder to give extra coverage, this is not for you. If you have an awesome foundation that covers everything, don't pass this baby up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rainnkenyon on 10/11/2013 3:21:00 AM more reviews by rainnkenyon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this. Sets my makeup, never looks cakey, is inexpensive, lasts foreverl I bought my first one over a year ago, and it barely looks used. I use a fluffy brush, not the puff, so maybe that is why. I already have backups if I ever need them. I would hate to be without this, it is my go to powder with breaks for Rimmel's matte.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* satin828 on 10/11/2013 3:13:00 AM more reviews by satin828

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I discovered this pressed powder 2 years ago when I was looking for a cheap drug-store powder and am now on my third package. This is a quite cheap ($10 CAD), and you get a lot of product (9g). I have it in shade 10 sand.

As the other reviewers have noted, it's a great powder. The texture is silky, and it blends really well. The finish is soft and not too cakey. It's good for setting foundation and controlling shine. I often need to re-apply every 3-4 hours, but that's pretty normal for a powder. The packaging isn't my favourite as it's bulky,and the applicator is too thin and makes the application cakey. I like applying it with a large brush instead. This product also lasts quite a while; I only have to re-stock every 6 months. Overall, it's a good, inexpensive, basic powder.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 confessionsonadancefloor on 10/7/2013 12:40:00 AM more reviews by confessionsonadancefloor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was looking for a powder that would do a good job A) setting my makeup, and B) controlling the oils in my t-zone. After reading various reviews, I decided to give Maybelline's dream matte (pressed) powder a whirl. I was really impressed with how sheer it was - unlike other powders that made my face look like a powdered doughnut, this blended into my skin very well.

I had decided to leave the powder at home that day, hoping the coverage I put on would carry me through the day. Unfortunately when I checked my face in the mirror about 4 or so hours later, my t-zone was showing some oil. It looked more like a 'glow' than it did 'oily,' but I wanted my coverage to provide matte skin and this doesn't have the staying power I was looking for.

I now take this to work with me, and I find applying it every four or so hours does the trick nicely - but I'd prefer longer coverage so I don't think I'll be purchasing it again.

PROS:
- If you're looking for sheer, lightweight coverage (as I was,) this is the powder for you.
- Blends into skin very well.
- Has a soft feel, unlike some powders which are rather tough and grainy.

CONS:
- Staying power is not very long.
- Not for oily skin or oil control.
- The application pad included isn't very effective.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 katealbright on 10/5/2013 6:31:00 PM more reviews by katealbright

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is BY FAR the best drug store powder (or compact makeup in general) that I have ever tried -- and I am a very experimental person! I do also enjoy the Almay Smart Shade Powder because it is great for sensitive skin, but it's a little too sheer and when you start to layer it begins to look cakey. With this, you only need a light velvety coating for some great coverage, which I think less is better for sensitive skin. However it layers well too. I use it to seal my BB and concealer and as a base primer for eyeshadow. It gives me a little extra coverage and stays smooth and matte all day even with my particularly oily eyelids and nose crease. For the drug store price and convenience, this kind of performance from a powder is pretty hard to beat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 joselineochoa on 9/26/2013 4:42:00 PM more reviews by joselineochoa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

ewwwwww

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alexacelineazka84 on 9/17/2013 1:01:00 PM more reviews by Alexacelineazka84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i always repurchased this stuff.i am so madly in love.i used everyday its so subtle invisible almost like my face look better without feel to much.
i am in shade medium sand ,mac nc 20-25.
the sponge so badly..please maybelline,u sponge in dream matte must be replaced soon :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Pressed Powders products