DERMAdoctor • Ain't Misbehavin' cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(50 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 sillytigerlilly on 3/27/2008 8:08:00 AM more reviews by sillytigerlilly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

This cleanser makes my skin feel dirty. It doesn't foam or lather, and doesn't rinse off easily. I feel like there's still a film on my face afterwards. Its going right back to Sephora...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 t8wong on 3/17/2008 4:27:00 AM more reviews by t8wong

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

When I first started using this product, it did wonders for my skin. Even though it smells kind of gross, I felt like my skin was really getting a good cleansing because the texture of the cleanser felt almost like a mask when I was using it on my face. It did sting a lot, and I thought it was just the cleanser doing its job. However, as time went on, I started breaking out more. I think the stinging was a sign that it was too strong for my skin, because the Sephora SA told me that this cleanser was pretty strong. I have oily skin and I thought my skin could handle it, but I guess I was wrong. It made me break out after a few weeks of using it, and after 3 months I returned it. I wouldn't buy this product again because maybe it was too strong or my skin got used to and found a way to beat the cleanser. It is kind of pricey but a bit cheaper than DDF, Cosmedicine, and Peter Thomas Roth - all of which I think are equally good or better products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 rubyred719 on 3/13/2008 5:07:00 PM more reviews by rubyred719

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an ok product. I'm not too crazy about this cleanser. Actually, I haven't used this or any other of my DERMAdoctor products in a very long time because I wasn't very impressed with them. I will tell you however, that this cleanser is very tricky. So if you do decide to buy this product, be aware that you might start to break out from this and you must stick it out until your skin gets used to this cleanser. I don't have any pimples, maybe the occasional breakout before getting my period but other than that I don't have problem skin. I bought this product because I wanted something that helped me prevent and fight the breakouts that I would get once a month. My first impression of this cleanser was, strong. My face felt dry and the offending medicated odor from this was not pleasant. It also left me with an oily but not greasy feeling on my face. I did not like that. After a few days of using this cleanser I started to breakout. At first, I thought maybe this is my skins' way of getting used to this product and for the product to start clearing up the bacteria underneath my skin..but my skin kept getting worse. I started to panic. Once a month I would only get one or two blemishes and now after two weeks of using this product I looked like I had always been suffering from acne..I stopped using this product prematurely. I could not risk my face getting worse, and even if my face got better, there would have been too many acne scars to live with. I know now that some products work for some people and some just don't. Plain and simple. So take the risk and or not. Oh and by the way, after having stopped using the cleanser, after three weeks my face has gone back to normal.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JettNY on 2/27/2008 12:58:00 AM more reviews by JettNY

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This cleanser has completely cleared my skin. I too was using MD Forte but thought I'd try this because it has salicylic acid as well. My skin took a while to get used to it and was very dry at first, but breakouts stopped immediately.

Unfortunately, it has the tendency to make my lips irritated bu t I've eased this with time/lip balm. I have to say this is the most effective cleanser I've ever used!
UPDATE: While I still consider this to be an extremely effective cleanser, the lip irritation was really getting to me and I had to stop using it. However, only through some serious adjustments and the addition of Differin .1% have been able to fully clear my skin since.
UPDATE 2: I had to go back to using this because I was breaking out too much (thanks, daily 5mg of Biotin!) and figured out a way to keep it from my lips. I cleanse first with Clean N' Clear Sensitive Skin or Aveeno Creamy Baby Wash, then dry my face completely and rub Ain't Misbehavin' into the problem areas of my face for a minute or two. I also slather Aquaphor all over my lips before doing this to protect them. The combination of a dry face, limited application area and Aquaphor has eliminated the lip irritation and my skin's clearing up nicely.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* maia0x0x on 2/6/2008 4:02:00 PM more reviews by maia0x0x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Made me super dry.....im mean, super dry! I possibly had no business using this, I dont have oily skin or bad break outs. I though it might help my white and blackheads. Not so. However I only used for 2 weeks, but I just couldnt take the dryness anymore. Plus the scent of this is unpleasant.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rainsim on 1/31/2008 2:07:00 PM more reviews by rainsim

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

MD forte is my daily cleanser, so I thought I'll try the improved products under the original creators. I actually wanted to try the wrinkle revenge cleanser, but since my face has been sprouting some breakouts (bad experience with foundation, lack of sleep, stress!!) plus I technically do have half of the MD forte cleanser left, I thought I might as well try this. Like it!! Comes in much better packaging. Gentle yet effective. And it doesn't have that residue that you get with MD forte. What more do you want? My skin did get a bit dry after few days of consecutive use, but since my face is usually normal-combination, perhaps not too suprising. I think this would work better it the summer months when my face tends to be oilier, but a nice discovery for now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luloo on 1/19/2008 11:53:00 PM more reviews by luloo

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This is an excellent AHA/BHA product. I use it more as a treatment than as a skin cleanser. It does a really good job of exfoliating. It's definitely better than anything I've found in the drugstore, and I would say that I like it better than the Olay Microderm and Peel product because it's only one step, it's not as messy, and you can use it everyday if you want. It says to use it both AM and PM, however, I would only use it in the PM, because I find that using just about any cleanser twice a day will dry me out. I've only been using it every couple of days, and as I said, I'm loving the results. If you look at the ingredients list, glycolic acid (AHA) is listed as the first ingredient after Water, which tells me there's a lot of the good stuff in here. Many similar products are loaded with detergent cleansing agents and contain lesser amounts of AHA, but this has 15% glycolic acid, which is a substantial amount.


Active Ingredients: 2% Salicylic Acid. Other Ingredients: Aqua (Water), Glycolic Acid, Sodium Glycolate, Sorbitol, Ammonium Lauryl Sulfate, Cetyl Alcohol, Stearyl Alcohol, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Arachidyl Alcohol, Behenyl Alcohol, Arachidyl Glucoside, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Hamamelis Virginiana (Witch Hazel) Extract, Methyl Methacrylate/Glycol Dimethacrylate Crosspolymer, Allantoin, Disodium EDTA, Methylparaben, Propylparaben.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 calikitty15332 on 1/5/2008 12:08:00 AM more reviews by calikitty15332

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product clears my skin, doesn't dry it out and is the best acne cleanser I've tried. I would definately recommend it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cerah13 on 8/24/2007 7:55:00 PM more reviews by cerah13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE this cleanser--I didn't think I would. I have sensitive, oily, blackhead-prone skin. I got this as gratis from a rep, so I figured I'd give it a shot. I was hesitant because in the past I've had issues with glycolic acid, but she assured me it contains a "buffered" form.. Although this cleanser felt "active" (tingly) on the skin at first, it is not uncomfortable. I only use it in the morning to minimize irritation (and also because I would not use it remove makeup around the eye area). I love the fact that it is a non-greasy lotion consistency, as many "acne" products tend to be overly stripping and drying. I use it on dry skin, then add water once I've worked it in. Sometimes I leave it on longer as a mask. Highly recommended!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chakalakakhan on 7/5/2007 5:16:00 AM more reviews by chakalakakhan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, at first this stuff seemed like it was from hell. I have been using this in conjunction with the Ain't Misbehavin serum. The stuff made my skin breakout with red bumps ALL over my face like never before, and made it crazy dry. Imagine: zitty skin with excessive dryness. My family was asking me where I got all my pimples and new wrinkles from. I was SO ready to return this, but I thought to myself, "just try it for 4 weeks and then decide". I'm very glad I was patient because I exfoliated the top dry layer of dead skin cells, and it revealed smoother skin underneath and my skin is becoming more and more clear. Much of my skin is clearer now and I'm sticking with it for now. It has been 3 weeks so far, and I'm gonna update in about 2 more weeks as I still have several pimples left to kill. =P
UPDATE: 4 Weeks and my skin is 90% clear !

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DERMAdoctor products

More Cleansers products