Dermalogica • Gentle Cream Exfoliant • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.1(183 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Pcrate on 2/27/2012 2:06:00 PM more reviews by Pcrate

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

great product when I'm not experiencing any hormonal issues...
When my hormones are in tack this gives a closed pore, non-oily clean look - something that I can appreciate considering I experience the chicken grease look from time- to - time...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 helethea on 2/9/2012 11:08:00 AM more reviews by helethea

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

ive used about 4 tubes of this. There was a few times where i stopped due to the price but found myself coming back again. The consistency is fairly thick and feels like clay. I usually use liberally and leave for more than an hour. This i found works most effective as my pores shrink and face is brightened. After that, i follow with the deep cleanse pink mask from borghese. I have sensitive thin skin and beads etc would flare my face red. Using only fruit enzymes, this product shreds off all my dead skin with a gentler approach. Other than the price, its an all winner for me.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lilymoon on 1/18/2012 3:59:00 PM more reviews by lilymoon

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

Wonderful exfoliant. This product uses both manual and chemical exfoliants to sweep away dead skin cells and leaves skin smooth and fresh. Feels very gentle. I use this only once a week.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 caroline_a on 1/3/2012 9:19:00 PM more reviews by caroline_a

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. It is a great exfoliant - it's not harsh, but it is effective. I have seen a definite improvement in the quality of my skin. It was pricy, but it lasts a long time, and it works, which is the clincher for me. Since it isn't a scrub, it doesn't irritate my skin. I really love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GenePaulAcePeter on 12/29/2011 11:07:00 AM more reviews by GenePaulAcePeter

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this gentle non scrubby exfoliater! You leave it on like a face mask and the amazing Lactic Acid goes to work eating away dead skin and smoothing the surface. I used to use Remede Sweep until finding out scrubs aren't the best for the skin. Love this stuff!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessiev on 11/24/2011 5:54:00 AM more reviews by jessiev

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this gentle exfoliant. It is such a change from the harsh scrubs I used to use as a teenager and never really liked the feeling of!
This product is more like a mask, and I use it as such twice a week. It can feel a little tight as it dries but not uncomfortable and once I have washed it off my skin feels soft, smooth and glowing.
Would recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cokioki on 10/21/2011 12:33:00 PM more reviews by Cokioki

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My twinsister and I decided to split the cost in half and share the gentle cream exfoliant from Dermalogica. It was a good thing we did share it because it's sooo expensive here in Sweden. Also, the tube is hygienic so we didn't feel bad for sharing the same product :)


The masque worked very well: I applied it to my clean face and let it be for 15 minutes, my twin did the same. Then, I washed it off with clean water and it washes off very easily compared to other masks. The directions are very easy to follow and the product is so thin that it doesn't make your face feel stiff even though it dries hard during those 15 minutes. After having washed it off and patted my face dry with a towel my skin looked peachy and smooth. This says a lot about how effective this masque is, I mean, I'm 17 so my skin needn't much to look nice and fresh but this really makes my skin look even better!


It stings only a little and I really recommend you to keep this masque away from your nasal folds as this area gets a bit red whenever I apply this to my face. I must say that I only use this every fortnight but have now decided to increase this to once a week. Even my youthful skin needs a weekly exfoliation.


All in all I think this is very effective yet harmless masque compared to that horrible St Ives apricot scrub. The only downside is that it's so thin it's a bit tricky when you apply it. Always shake the tube before you apply and make sure you use sunscreen to protect your skin during the days!


P.S. My twin liked this a lot. But she's not as interested in skin care as I am so she doesn't know if she wishes to repurchase it with me when we've finished the tube D.S.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Anna12345 on 10/17/2011 8:22:00 PM more reviews by Anna12345

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this creamy and gentle product containing lactic acid. It hasn't irritated my acne-prone, sensitive skin at all. In fact, it has helped my skin look 10 times better by removing dead skin cells and clearing pores, which in turn has kept my breakouts under control.


My initial repsonse to this product (which is the same to almost all Dermalogica products) was that it wasn't doing anything because it is so gentle. However, when I stopped getting new pimples
everyday, I knew that it was partly due to this product.


I have suffered from chronic acne for all of my adult life. I've tried many products, altered my diet, and taken vitamins in an attempt to fix my skin. Unfortunately, from my own experience, most of these don't significantly improve skin.


However, I can honestly say that using the correct (and gentle) products for your skin type is the best solution to acne problems. It hasn't been until the last 2 or 3 months that my skin has improved to a point where I hardly get any pimples. It is amazing! This has happened because I started researching products more and use the correct products for my skin type.


My philosophy is "gentle" and "exfoliation" (when I say exfoliation, I don't mean scrubs which are BAD! but AHAs such as lactic acid, salicylic acid, etc., which are great for removing dead skin and clearing out pores). These two approaches have worked wonders for my skin, and I would recommend others who are in a similar position to try this approach.

This Dermalogica product fits right into my "gentle" and "exfoliation" method. My routine also includes the use of the following products:


--ASAP Gentle Cleanser (twice daily)
--ASAP Exfoliator (contains beads but I don't rub and use it like a mask. The glycolic acid works on my dead skin cells and pores)
--ASAP Moisturising Sunscreen (morning)
--Laura Mercier Oil-free Primer (under makeup)
--Dermalogica Overnight Clearing Gel (used at night after cleansing)


I hope this info helps acne-prone people the way it has helped me. If you need more info, please feel free to contact me and I'd be happy to share my views.

13 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 janethestrange on 9/7/2011 9:07:00 AM more reviews by janethestrange

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have extremely dry, and sensitive skin (I've had bouts of eczema since childhood - am now 21) ; I suffer from blackheads around my nose and chin, and often have awful dry patches around my eyebrows and cheeks. It's been very hard to find an exfoliant that is not abrasive - I had always used Clearasil mircobead scrub, and it was okay. However it never fully got rid of my blackheads and it would always dry my skin out due to its abrasive nature and harsh chemicals. I've only recently discovered Dermalogica products; and I purchased the 'dry skin kit' and I must say, I LOVE the gentle cream exfoliant. It did not dry out my skin, it cleared my blackheads by at least 99%, and it did not cause any reddening, or itchiness that I had otherwise experienced using Clearasil. Upon the first use my skin felt very smooth and soft. It does tingle a little bit when you first use the product, but you get used to it very quickly. Just a heads up though, only use a little bit - I had originally thought the more I used the better the effect, but this is not the case. Also if you have very dry skin only use this once every couple of days in order for new skin cells to regenerate, =)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 valerian on 8/29/2011 5:06:00 PM more reviews by valerian

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Wowza!!
I tried this after a famous British MUA talked about it on her blog and gave it a glowing review.
Because Dermalogica is an expensive brand, I popped into a salon who use it and asked for a sample sachet to try first.
After cleansing I applied a thin layer with fingers as there wasnt much product in the sachet avoiding the eye contour area and left it for 15 mins to do its work.

Result:

WOW!! After removing with a warm wet clean flannel and then rinsing with clean water, I applied my usual night cream and eye cream and took a look! My skin looked very smooth even and clean and felt AMAZING.
It felt like it had gone to bootcamp and had a real workout (in a good way) and felt for a couple of hours after removal that it was still working (If that makes sense).
The following day I awoke to very smooth skin, my make up applied well and even now 24 hours later still feels wonderful smooth and glowing.
I have never had a facial product that made my skin feel and look like I had recieved a full facial at a salon in 15 mins!
Although the Dermalogica people would probably say this is a product that works best with their regime, I would say that it is a stand alone product that would benefit ladies using any regime (Other than an intensive AHA or Retinol programme) and although its expensive I would definatley think that using this product twice weekly will show a definate improvement in my skin.
Highly reccomend!
N.B. although it says "Gentle" in its title, dont be fooled, this product packs a real punch. Very sensitive folks should def ask for a sample and maybe leave it on for 5 mins to see how their skin tolerates it

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Treatments (Face) products