Joico • Moisture Recovery • Shampoo

rated 4.1(72 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 chimmzy on 4/28/2010 4:47:00 AM more reviews by chimmzy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I've used this schampoo for two weeks and will probably edit the review when the bottle is finished as it seem better and better for each wash.
Compared to Matrix Sleek Look, which I've been using for a long time, it's got similar qualities, as for gentle cleansing and moisturizing.

I'm very satisfied so far, but it's not a clear 5 yet, as Moisture Recovery hardly lathers anything, due to very gentle detergents I suppose. Which might be nicer to my hair but it'll be more expensive in the long run as it takes more schampoo for each wash then I'm used to.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissJacqui85 on 4/20/2010 9:19:00 AM more reviews by MissJacqui85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is way too rich for my uncoloured hair- I was seeking out something to give me my shine back after using a horrible volumizing shampoo from Goldwell. This was recommended- made me flat as anything. Use it on a day at home every second week as a treatment type thing, but would not buy again. Probably great for coloured, thirsty hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zachariahskye on 2/6/2010 5:22:00 AM more reviews by zachariahskye

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Only used it for 2 days but already love it!

I plan to alternate between this and kpak.

It gives great moisture but also cleanses good.
I got this with the condish for $50 in 500ml with pump which was a good deal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 carolwallis on 1/31/2010 12:54:00 AM more reviews by carolwallis

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A great shampoo but seemed to lose its efficacy over time. I'm switching to Redken All Soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* georgiasweety on 1/25/2010 10:32:00 PM more reviews by georgiasweety

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Long, oily roots, dry ends, color treated & bleached hair type. This is a nice shampoo. It does not lather very much, but the light lather is what helps to keep moisture in your hair. Too much lathering strips color and dries it out. I had to get use to the light lather, but it did give me a gentle cleanse, and the shampoo rinsed out clean. It has a good ph balance to it, so its not harsh or too chemically. Because it has sea marine inspired ingredients, Joico went with a beach scent on this one.
Not a suntan lotion scent, but the other beachy scent you smell. Its hard to explain, kind of like davidoff's cool water perfume. Over all this is just very gentle. If you like foamy shampoos that feel like a conditioner when you rinse, this isnt the shampoo for you. This does clean the hair without drying, it has a nice scent, and with the matching conditioner I feel my hair is a lot more hydrated. I have used the following Joico shampoos: kpak, daily balancing, kpack color therapy, and body luxe. I would say hands down this is the lightest and most gentle of all of those shampoos. This one hardly lathers, so you would assume its weaker and not as good, but the light lather is to prevent overydrying. My hair felt more moisturized with kpak, and kpak color therapy, but I believe those deposit into your hair to give that feel. I will repurchase and keep this moisture recovery shampoo, and keep it in rotation. I am so pleased with joico products. They not only make your hair feel good, they correct and prevent damage like no other brand I have tried. Out of all the brands I have tried over the years, joico is my favorite line.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jelloo on 1/4/2010 1:24:00 PM more reviews by jelloo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been colouring my hair for a little while, and I've been looking for a good shampoo and conditioner that will help my dry hair. So far, this has been pretty good. To by honest, I was going for K Pak but I decided to try this instead, and I do really like it. My hair feels a lot better from before, but I feel like there are better shampoos and conditioners out there that I've tried. I'm going to stick with it for now though

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bitsits on 9/24/2009 11:30:00 PM more reviews by bitsits

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I am reviewing this with the matching conditioner. I have thick, wavy, coarse blonde hair and this works very well for me. I work out almost daily, and as a result shampoo almost daily. This works well for me for this reason; it is very gentle. I have had excellent results with the whole moisture recovery line. The shampoo smells nice and produces a satisfying lather. I think it's reasonably priced and will repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 shabutey on 9/28/2008 9:59:00 AM more reviews by shabutey

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Bought this after reading good reviews, I thought it would be good for my moisture starved hair... I was wrong.
My scalp is pretty itchy, and i've never had a reaction to any other shampoo before.
My hair actually seems dryer, after using the shampoo and conditioner. it also made my ends go really weird, fried looking and I know my hair is damaged but it has never showed it in the ends. Did nothing the keep my frizz at bay, only thing it did was make my hair a tiny bit soft, but any cheap drug store S&C could of done a better job.
I'm sure it works for lots of people, but just not for my hair.
My hair is of medium thickness, long, dry, small bit of frizz at top, wavy and i use hair straightener/curling tong 2 or 3 times a week.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mapn on 8/27/2008 2:55:00 AM more reviews by mapn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I have thick and coarse hair that tends to be very dry but not damaged. So all I'm looking for in a shampoo & conditioner is mere hydration, which is quite hard to find, IMO. I think Moisture Recovery is pretty nice for that purpose but I'm still left longing for more hydration… definitely above average though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joyce21 on 5/4/2008 9:39:00 PM more reviews by joyce21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So far, I've gone and bought the small bottle - loved it, finished it and then bought another bigger bottle. Both shampoo+conditioner.
I really like it. I was born with stick-straight dark asian hair and after several dyes, 2 perms ...my hair became damaged, dried with ends that break at random lengths. I was in search of a really good shampoo and this cured me. I stopped doing anything to my hair for a while, trimmed it a few times and stuck with this shampoo (with conditioner) and my hair is now back to normal. Its back to its rich dark colour, shiny and not flat at all like other moisturizing shampoos.
The shampoo alone really cleans the hair without stripping the moisture away. I find that the lather build up is just right and very easy to use. The scent starts off good but it goes away during the day and doesn't smell like anything afterwards. Its not suprising why it works better than average store brands because Joico doesn't use a lot of alcohol base ingedients to clean the hair. I find that store brands do this to give an easy clean and strip some moisture away from your hair to create volume that we all look for. But what ends up happening is that you have this dry crispy hair that just doesn't feel right to the touch. Thats why I like this shampoo.

The packaging that some people are commenting on, isn't over the top and outstanding. It just looks like a professional brand shampoo and conservative yet classy. It's what's inside that counts and my hair is back to normal!

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Joico products

More Shampoo products