Rimmel Cool Matte 16hr Foundation

2.6

57 reviews

36% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 10/29/2007 11:26:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Pros: Cheap, Skin doesn't get oily

Cons: It shows that you're wearing makeup, The consistenency is like makeup and water (instead of just foundation), It breaks you out a bit.

If you want a light covering foundation, that evens out the skin tone and mattes the skin, I recommend instead Bare Escentuals "Mineral Veil". It's a powder, but you can use it alone. And it's good for the skin aswell. Buy that instead.



on 10/6/2007 7:36:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i was really interested in buying a mousse foundation and i dont even know why. I think i wanted heavier coverage.. but anyhow..i went to walmart and looked at all the mousse foundations they had..there was trublend whipped mousse..dream matte mousse...and this...the other ones were most likely better. I got it for 5 bucks so it wasnt that expensive..the other ones were a bit more pricey. When i got it home i opened it up and there was a piece of paper just sitting over it..that was really dumb...i mean what's the point? so there was tons of the product just sitting there and i threw it away because i didn't want to fiddle around with the paper every morning. The next day was my picture day and i was going to use it for that but im glad i decided not to..i would have been a disaster..when i did try this it went on my face very thickly and didn't blend well..it doesn't really look the most natural..it kinda looks orange..i got the lightest color..ivory 100. It also accentuates dryness. So, i will not be buying this again.


on 9/15/2007 4:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Abit worse than the maybelline dream matte mousse and that was baad! On application it gives a nice cool feel to the skin but that's the only positive thing i can think of. This foundation is not good at covering anything and gets cakey if you try and layer it more than once. Weird texture. It seperates during the day and makes skin look dull and weird looking! Not dry (although it accentuates any dry areas!) or very oily...i can't really explain it actually... it just makes you look ill!:P Even if i have blemishes i actually look much better without this! It's named a foundation yet does nothing a foundation should do! Doesn't cover, doesn't give any nice effects to your skin, doesn't brighten or make it look smoother! Also is not blendable at all!! Cheap but as with the maybelline dream matte mousse, you get what you pay for with this! Poor quality! There are much better low cost foundations out there! This was a complete waste of money and i won't re-purchase!
FYI: I'm 16, have very dark brown hair, dark brown eyes, combination medium toned skin with an olivey? undertone (i'm a mix of vietnamese and arabian if you can imagine what my skin colour looks like from that??lol) and i can tan easily in summer but my skin looks naturally alot lighter in winter but not exactly fair/pale! If it's hot i can get oily in summer but my skin is combi/normal in cold seasons and it's usually cooler as I live in the Uk lol.


on 9/4/2007 9:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ugh, Im sorry I spent money on this foundation. I usually use Maybelline dream matte mousse, and thought this would be of a similar quality. I was very wrong.

I have normal skin, gets a little dry in winter so i use a heavier moisturiser. Even that doesnt help this product, it is so hard to blend, has ineffective coverage and makes skin look ashy and sickly. It is also hard to blend over the yellow based concealer I use under my eyes, and i find my eyeshadow and bronzer are next to impossible to blend over it, it seems to make even the best quality powder products impossible to blend.

The colour (I have used the same colour, 200 soft beige in their other foundations) changes once applied to the skin, and is alot paler than their other ranges.

It also does not last the promised 16 hours. Will never buy this product again, was not impress at all.


on 7/23/2007 11:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

-read at EDIT at the bottom, this is the original msg-
This is a great product! I've tried on foundations from many brands like MAC, korean make-up brands but I like this the best. As some already commented, this is more like pudding than mousse. The amount you need to use to apply for the whole face is not too much at all. Its coverage ability is decent. This does not go on cakey and it's natural in the way that you will have better looking skin without looking like you have foundation on. Even though this doesn't come in many shades, I found my shade very easily (I used Classical Beige) [and I always have a hard time finding the right shade!!]. By the way I didn't notice any cooling effect..that was not my major concern anyway. The only thing I would change about this product would be the packaging. The whole jar seems a little heavy and I won't be able to use it "on the go". The price I paid for it was 10.99 CDN. [I don't know why others can get it for so cheap ><] But it is cheaper compared to the other products! I love this and will definitely re-purchase.

**EDIT----somehow this doesn't work all the time! One day I was applying and I noticed that it turned cakey and unnatural on my face! As well it did not seem like the color I put it on..this time it was more reddish and I looked terrible! I will not repurchase this and will perhaps move on to more high-end brands....and BTW I forgot to mention it definitely does NOT stay on for 16 hours!


on 6/24/2007 1:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I usually wouldn't think about buying this but it was free with rebate. Normally it was priced at $8 for 0.6 oz. It seems to be expensive for such a tiny amount of product...but then again, a good foundation usually does not come cheap. I do not like that this does not have spf. However, the color blended very nicely, and I usually have difficulty in getting a good color match. People would believe that I am not wearing foundation with this. I have combination skin that is extremely dry in some areas, so I always thought a matte foundation would dry me out more and make lines more noticeable. But this formula makes my skin so soft! I love that there is no shine on my t-zone and chin and I do not have to wear powder. I was surprised with how nice this product turned out to be. ::::Edit::::: I do not like this foundation much anymore. At the end of the day, it clumps up in patches and does not blend easily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2007 2:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

excellent product. Got it at walmart,paid less then 4 bucks for it
is not a true mousse, more like a cream. but it covers nicely,doesnt smell badly and lasted for quite a while. Havent tested it to sixteen hours however.
great color matching too!


on 6/20/2007 2:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is pretty good foundation for summer. If my skin was just normal/oily category, this would work really well. But I'm oily/Exxon Valdez class, so it keeps my skin matte for only a few hours, even with powder. I like the coverage, it's not too light or heavy for hiding small imperfections like redness, large pores. Smell is pleasant. Glass container I don't personally like very much. Plastic would work better. Much better than Maybelline's Dream Matte Mousse. A lippie off for no SPF.


on 6/6/2007 10:47:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

First of all, it's NOT mousse. It's more like pudding. If you're expecting that airy, whipped, feather-light texture of Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse...forget it. This is your basic, unremarkable creme foundation. The "Cooling" part is negligible...and lasts for all of 2 seconds. I could just as easily keep my foundations in the fridge and get the same effect. It blended easily - a little goes a long way - and the coverage was fine. Nothing special. And - surprise! - it barely lasted 6 hours, let alone 16. I give them credit for a wide shade range, but this is a perfect example of a product not living up to its name. Cool? Not really. Matte? For a while. Mousse? No way. 16 hours? LOL. The only thing they really got right is the Foundation part.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2007 12:21:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This was a joke on me. It immediately smudged and smeared everywhere- not only did it not last 16 hours, it didn't last 16 SECONDS. This was the worst foundation I've tried on my complexion in a LONG time.


Back to Top