Alima • Satin Matte Mineral Foundation • Powder

rated 4.0(429 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 princesssage on 9/13/2012 4:23:00 AM more reviews by princesssage

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I begrudgingly gave this foundation 2 starts instead of one because the ingredients really are stellar. But the problem is it turns patchy after two hours, and then turns into a COMPLETE OIL SLICK in about 4 hours. For that reason I can't wear it. I have combo skin that is occasionally oily and occasionally dry depending on the weather and my diet. This foundation goes oily whether my skin is dry or not, though less oily than say in the summer with high humidity. I so wanted to love this product, but for me it's unusable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misslu990 on 9/4/2012 8:43:00 PM more reviews by misslu990

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE this mineral foundation! Has little to none ingredients and hasn't broke my skin out which is rare since my skin is very reactive to things! When I first got this I was hesitant to purchase a full size because it's hard to color match online. Thankfully alimas website has a foundation finder where they give you a couple different samples after you answer a few questions about your skin. I am either a neutral 3.5 or beige 3. I haven't decided which one I'll be going for because they both match very well. The coverage is buildable and doesn't make me oily and leave certain patches where the make up has completely disappeared. I also like that it doesn't emphasize break outs like some of the ore mineral foundations I've tried have because they have a crapload of glitter in them or too much mica. My skin looks very natural wearing this. The only con is having to apply SPF separately. If you're looking for a good mineral foundation I would try this and try their sample kit first to determine your color. The sample also came with two eyeshadows a little zip up case that held it all and a mini kabuki brush to apply but I used my sephora mineral brush and it works wonders together. This might be hg worthy.
***Update*** 11/19/12 I have to add that alimas customer service is great. I placed an order late last week and my package is already here. I received two small plastic jars of beige 3 (which I bought samples of perfect for travel) and I got 2 small eyeshadows complimentary also along with the two small samples I bought of apple blossom blush and mimosa. Very impressed with them.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CookieMonster222 on 7/23/2012 5:42:00 PM more reviews by CookieMonster222

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

It's a shame I don't live in the US where postage would be cheaper because I absolutely love this brand.
I really like how they have a guide to help you find your perfect shade, plus the option of buying as many sample sizes as you want so you don't waste all your money on the full sizes to find out the shade is too light/dark. They also have the biggest range of foundation shades I have ever seen! Which is great because there really is a shade to match everyone. I also like how when searching for a concealer or finishing powder, the description tells you exactly which shade to get depending on your foundation shade. For example, I'm beige 2 in the satin matte foundation, so I was recommended based on this choice to buy the mineral concealer in Sand, and finishing powder in shade Keiko.
I also like how they send you a couple of free samples or their other products as part of your order. One of the free sample I received was a pot of their Pearluster eyeshadow in the colour Champagne, and I loved it so I am now buying a full sized jar of it :)
Anyway back to the foundation... I really like the way mineral foundations feel and look on the skin. Especially in not looking too powdery or cakey, instead giving your make-up a nice and natural looking, even finish. Alima's mineral foundations do exactly that, Not to mention the fact that they're MATTE minerals meaning they're great for those with slightly oily skin. I'm definitely glad I was introduced to this brand because now I have a foundation that matches my skin tone perfectly and has the benefit of being a rather good mineral powder.
I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AKmedic on 7/16/2012 7:25:00 PM more reviews by AKmedic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am thrilled to find a mineral foundation that matches my skin tone perfectly. For years I kept buying different shades of Bare Minerals, and kept being disappointed with the terrible color mismatch and maskiness of the BE makeup. I looked like a floured biscuit when I wore BE, and it didn't look natural or flattering. I have very fair olive skin, and BE doesn't make anything for me, and all their colors either looked too pink or too yellow on my skin. I stuck with BE since I can't wear liquid foundation, which makes me break out in a bumpy rash.

I looked at the color chart and Alima has a huge range of colors. They have a very helpful tutorial on skin undertones and since I am part Sicilian, I figured a light Olive shade would be my best match. I paid $20 for the Alima foundation sampler kit (note: this was in 2012) and it was the best money I've spent. You get a cute mini kabuki brush and a makeup pouch, plus 4 foundation samples and a sample of coordinating blush and finishing powder. PLUS you get $10 off the purchase of the Basic Face Kit. My foundation samples included Olive 0, Olive 1, Olive 1.5, and Beige 3. The accompanying instructions tell you that if a foundation looks too chalky, you may need a darker shade; if a foundation looks too orange, you may need either a more neutral shade or a lighter shade. If your pores or fine lines look obvious, you may have applied too much at once. For me, Olive 1 was perfect for winter. In summer, I wear Olive 1.5.

The trick is to moisturize your face and let it absorb totally (hopefully with sunscreen unless you want to look like an old boot in 20 years). At this point I apply my Paula's Choice Shine Stopper to my T-zone and let it dry for a few seconds. Then I apply the Alima foundation in an extremely sheer layer, gradually adding more sheer layers until satisfied with the coverage. This may sound daunting, but it only takes about 90 seconds to apply this foundation in the morning. Then I go over it with a makeup sponge to lightly blend and touch up any areas that need it, and you can hardly tell I am wearing foundation, it just looks like I have a perfect complexion.

My shade is Olive 1 in winter, Olive 1.5 in summer. Thanks for catering to the olive-toned people, Alima.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fabulyss on 6/21/2012 12:01:00 PM more reviews by fabulyss

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I've been procrastinating writing a review for Alima because I honestly fear my endorsement simply won't do it justice. Instead, I'll tell you a short, Alima related story...

The other day I was walking through the beauty section of Neiman Marcus (out of boredom really, not b/c I was intending to purchase anything). A sales associate from the Sisley brand offered to give me a free facial at the counter, so I went ahead and sat down at the counter.

As the SA was applying a cleanser, she suddenly gasped, took a step back, and in sheer awe said...."You were wearing makeup?!" I was slightly embarrassed because clearly she was referring to the sprinkle of acne on my forehead revealed by the removal of my foundation. I told her that yes I was wearing makeup. She replied, "Your skin looked absolutely flawless, but I had no idea you were wearing foundation! That's the best color match I've ever seen. I've never seen foundation look that undetectable before". This is all coming from a sales associate at the beauty counter at NEIMAN MARCUS!!

That's Alima in a nutshell: lightweight, traceless, natural, perfect coverage, long-lasting, the absolutely perfect color match, build-able coverage...I could go on and on! Plus their customer service is unparalleled. Never in a million years would I ever expect to wear powder foundation, but it's my HG product and I cannot recommend it enough.

27 out of 28 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sagu on 6/16/2012 2:27:00 PM more reviews by Sagu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I'm 21, Finnish, have a combination skin, fair-light with strong yellow/golden undertones.

This mineral foundation has been my go-to for two, three years now :) I wear Warm 1 (Warm 2 in summer). I don't use traditional foundations that much as I often have trouble finding a shade that is both light and yellow enough, and I remember how surprised I was when Alima's Golden turned to be TOO yellow for me! Warm is softer, it's perfect for me.

I'm giving Alima foundation four lippies out of five. It's great, gives my skin this healthy glow and the coverage is decent. Oil control could be better, though, and I'm really sorry that I can't wear this in winter, that's when I get very dry and this foundation starts caking up on me. Other than that, it's the best mineral foundation I've every used. And the jar is so so beautiful!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tamespy on 6/10/2012 2:39:00 PM more reviews by tamespy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best acne treatment and makeup I have ever used. My case of cystic acne only responds to minerals - mineral makeup and sulfur. I also have sensitive skin and this does not irritate. I LOVE Alima Pure's mineral makeup best. It washes clear with my normal cleanser and does not clog pores -- no special removal technique needed. And it absolutely kills cystic acne before it even starts. Sigh. That is the absolute best; anybody who's battled cystic acne knows what I'm talking about.

Now about its performance as makeup. For me -- Coverage is light to medium, but as the day wears on ... the makeup wears out. LOL BUT somehow the evenness of my skin is maintained. Let me say it like this ... My acne scars are visible through the makeup and as the say wears you can still see them (maybe even see them a little more clearly). BUT the unevenness of my skin is not apparent -- I mean the changes in lightness/darkness of the unblemished skin. I kind of like that because as the day wears on my makeup looks more like my skin -- only better. For me this is perfect because I don't like the makeup look.

I could kiss them for all the color choices and accessory items they've created to go with the foundation. And a genius decided to sell samples to figure out the right colors and combinations. My color is so odd and coupled with living in a humid area ... it was an adventure to find the right colors for primer, foundation and finishing powders. I'm so happy with my choices. They have a customer for life in me.

Note: I was not happy with the effect when I first used their products because as the day wore on the colors turned muddy gray. I realized it was the primer powder. I read someone's review on here that said just stick with it and things will improve. I changed the color I was using, which helped a bit. I figured it wasn't breaking me out so I'd wait and see. And eventually my skin meshed with the primer and by end of day the color change looked like my skin but better. I'd the height of Summer, so I blot once or twice a day. But it's not that incredible oil slick that it was and the color is still true.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AuNatural716 on 6/9/2012 2:18:00 PM more reviews by AuNatural716

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Finally resorted to trying non-bareminerals mineral makeup again and had high hopes for this because my skin is ridulously sensitive/allergic. However, not only are the colors off for this makeup, but the finish is slightly sparkly, the foundation makes my face ridiculously oily by the end of the day, and worst of all it itched/broke it out a bit! I almost gave up on mineral makeup after this but went on to try lucy and MAD minerals as well and lucy broke me out as well, but MAD minerals has been amazing so far! It's soothing on my face, has amazing coverage, amazing colors, blends like my skin, gets a dewy finish throughout the day, and best of all doesn't seem to be causing any itch/reaction issues!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mo98103 on 6/6/2012 8:16:00 PM more reviews by mo98103

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Firstly, I don't hate this product. As an oily acne prone gal I've had a long and disappointing affair with mmu , starting with Bare Minerals (I can't believe they are still making it...) and Philosophy soon after. After those two flops, I moved on to "regular" powder foundations, again never finding anything that I loved (except Paul & Joe, which was quickly discontinued...). Back to mmu I went, trying at lease 10 e-tailer variations and then once some of the major makeup lines starting coming out with mineral based formulas, I snatched up every one. MAC, Laura Mercier, Dior, Amazing Cosmetics, Urban Decay, Hourglass, etc. Each time, I thought I had found the one, and each time I found some fault with each (for the record, the three best overall for me were Diorskin Nude, LM, and MAC in that order).

So, I had been using the Diorskin Nude and got the "go natural" urge that I seem to experience every couple of years, started reading No More Dirty Looks and practically bathing in argan oil. They highly recommend Alima, so of course I bought some samples, found my color, and started using it immediately.

Although prepared to love it, unfortunately it's a bit heavy/thick and very hard to "buff", but it did not break me out like MAC so I continued to try to make it work. I even bought new expensive brushes and tried mixing it with the Dior and a few other loose powders, but it's just not good. It oxidizes and settles into pores terribly on my skin.
The company is great - wonderful customer service and the sample program is just the best. The packaging is adorable, price is great, the coverage is good (too good) and it did not cause breakouts. I wish this worked for me, and I'm jealous of those that have an easier time with it. I've moved on again to Chanel powder foundation...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wingedfrog on 5/15/2012 4:46:00 PM more reviews by wingedfrog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

Colour: Alima has a fantastic range of colours. This is probably the first time I've used a foundation, of any kind, that really matches me. I use Neutral 1. I'm always the palest shade in the range, and they're always either too yellow or too pink, but this is just perfect. Huge thanks to Alima for their selection.

Texture: Very silky, it creates almost as fine a finish as MUFE HD Finishing powder. Very nice. Despite being powder, it definitely doesn't make any flaky or dry areas more noticeable.

Coverage: I was pleased with the coverage. My skin tends to be quite uneven/ruddy, and this smoothed out the tone very well, hiding minor blemishes. Major blemishes do require some concealer ( I use a liquid for this ).

Overall, I really like this MMU, and have purchased the fullsize after using up some samples. Bonus: All orders, even just samples come with TWO additional free samples, usually eye shadow or blush.

Recommendations: DO get multiple shades to sample first. I tend to look kind of pinkish and assumed I would be Cool1 so got that as a sample, but got a Neutral1 sample as well just to be sure, and found the Neutral turned out to be perfect. Once you decide which is your best shade and want to buy a fullsize, you might also want to get a couple of samples in the next deeper colour i.e. for me, Neutral2 to use as a mixer for summer when your colour deepens a little (or in the lighter colour for the reverse, if you buy it in summer).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alima products

More Powder products