L'Occitane • 25% shea butter ultra rich body cream • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.8(75 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tamathy on 12/23/2007 1:22:00 AM more reviews by Tamathy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I never had a problem with dry skin until the last year or so. I only used body creams if they smelled good. Now I am noticing a bit of a dry look to my lower legs, and Origins Perfect World body cream just wasn't helping. I suppose it doesn't help that I have time to soak 60+ minutes in an epsom salt bath 3-4x a week. (No, I am not getting older-- the rest of you are just getting younger!) My legs get this thin veneer of dry, crackly skin on top, and feel a bit tight. So I guess it's time to get serious about a body cream that works, not just for the smell. You don't have to use a lot; just put a thin layer on your skin. I like to use it right after getting out of the bath while I'm still in the steamy bathroom. 14+ hours after putting this on my legs after shaving, my skin is soft, and I don't have the dry skin top layer. I'm not sure how to describe it, but my skin just plain feels better-- almost like I've been putting cream on all day, and the water didn't have a chance to escape from my skin. Overall it's a very nice effect, even if it's partially (or all) in my head.


I do wish this came in an unscented version. Those with hay fever/allergies should beware of the scent and test it in person if you can. I don't mind it most days & even like it-- but when I'm having an allergy attack, or in the first stages of a cold, the smell of this cream can induce heinous sneezing fits. It isn't strong, and it seems to fade after applying, but just opening the jar can do me in on a bad day. They do make unscented 100% shea butter, but it's not easy to use since it's solid. I have to subtract a lippie for the way the smell can get to me some days. It isn't cheap either, but when a product works for me, I make room for it in my budget-- and I don't use it all over. I do like the results enough that I intend to keep using it, and I want to try other L'Occitane products, particularly the shea butter items.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beechezz on 12/20/2007 6:14:00 PM more reviews by beechezz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I picked up the smaller tub at TJ Maxx last weekend as I was dying to try this! So far, so good. I like the way my skin feels after using this, really smooth and soft. I like the fragrance, although I can't really describe it. Soft enough not to be bothersome. I like putting it on my hands before I go to bed because they feel great in the morning when I wake up. I agree this is a little costly, but if I can keep finding a tub at the price I paid for this one I will continue to buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TRKK on 8/23/2007 9:45:00 PM more reviews by TRKK

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this purely based on the fragrance of the cream, which is an "old lady" kinda floral scent (which I tend to have a weakness for) The cream is a very rich, thick and heavy one, however it doesn't moisturize as much as it seems it might. Gold Bond seems to moisturize my skin better. Also I hate the tub packaging. Only thing I like about this is that the scent lingers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mecepeda on 8/21/2007 5:11:00 AM more reviews by mecepeda

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

The HG of extra-strength body creams! I have been using this stuff for years...every once in a while I manage to talk myself out of buying it again b/c of the price, but then I go skulking back to it once my skin gets lizard-like again. A little bit lasts a long time, and it smells wonderful (besides, of course, the important fact that it keeps my skin in great shape during the New England winters). I used to be a big fan of Kiehl's (*very expensive*) Creme de Corps, but this product is far better, in my opinion...and costs less.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luvactuallyisallarnd on 8/5/2007 1:53:00 AM more reviews by luvactuallyisallarnd

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just received this as a gift today, but I tried it right away from I got home (hehe). So far, I am pretty happy with the body cream. I applied some to my hands, and it feels like instant moisture sinking into my dry hands and cuticles. The fragrance is also very nice. I'm not sure I would by this after I run out though...being that the price is pretty high. But receiving this as a gift again would be quite nice :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princess_eab on 7/23/2007 11:03:00 PM more reviews by princess_eab

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, I paid what I think is WAY too much for a tiny sample size tub of this-- $9!! I mean, this tub is tiny and that's highway robbery. Anyway, this seemed to be pretty moisturizing but unfortunately I broke out in itchy spots after using it. I'm trying to use up the tub, but if I continue to have this reaction I don't think I will buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hallkali on 7/3/2007 3:06:00 PM more reviews by hallkali

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow. That's seriously my reaction after using this cream. Unlike a lot of people, I use this on my whole body. I read an article explaining the body bumps and irritation can be caused by cheap lotions, (I had a problem with both.) After the FIRST DAY, the bumps on the backs of my legs and around my knees were hugely diminished (I've been using it for a week, and now the bumps are totally gone). I've never had skin this smooth. Truly worth every penny, in my book. It IS thick which is usually a turnoff for me, but the thickness goes away after maybe 1/2 an hour, so I put it on as soon as I get out of the shower, then get ready, THEN put on my clothes, and by that time, any thick feeling or greasiness/stickiness has gone away. It's the perfect cream. Will definitely repurchase. It's amazing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lyao on 5/30/2007 11:32:00 AM more reviews by lyao

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Best body cream. And I love the packaging -- such understated elegance. Can't be without it. I also like the hand cream and foot cream made by L'Occitane, but find this body cream adequate to take their place. This is a cream that virtually makes my whole body happy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ijmfx on 5/13/2007 9:22:00 PM more reviews by ijmfx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Yes, I work at L'Occitane and yes, you might think I'm biased, but this is my absolute favourite body cream. I wish I had this when a child when I was battling eczema. You feel the hydration and how aboslutely SILKY SMOOTH your skin is until your next shower. Plus, it comes in the yummy shea scent, or verbena or lavender. I will always have a lavender one stocked in my bathroom because I love lavender but not REALLY concentrated lavender (which we sell plenty of that stuff)--its more toned down. MMM, but this stuff now!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goodmornin on 4/4/2007 12:44:00 AM more reviews by goodmornin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is another wonderful item by L'Occitane. I have both this and the 100% pure shea butter and both are items that I cannot live without especially during the winter. Although it really is a body cream, I find that no exfoliating, no facial moisturiser, nothing will treat or prevent dry patches on my face. This ultra rich body cream does the job. It smells amazing, and goes on like silk. Wonderful.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Occitane products

More Lotions/ Creams products