L'Occitane • 25% shea butter ultra rich body cream • Lotions/ Creams

rated 3.8(77 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 52pigtails on 4/23/2008 3:22:00 AM more reviews by 52pigtails

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The amazing thing about this cream is that it has plenty of oils (25% of vegetable fats is a high rate for my taste), yet it doesn't leave any grease on my skin. It seems to be perfectly osmothic to it, instead. Of course, that may be too heavy for some of you, in any case to heavy for summer, but it needs to be tested, at least on rough spots, because IT WORKS!
Nice light smell, too

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ginnygordon on 1/26/2008 12:08:00 PM more reviews by ginnygordon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My skin hasn't been too dry (I have been obsessed with moisturizing lately and it seems to be paying off), so I haven't applied this all over, but I have been faithfully using it on my hands and feet. I must say that my feet are looking better than they have in years. I have used a few other creams that gave similar results, but they didn't motivate me to use them like this does - I love the scent and that makes me want to apply it 2x a day! I find the scent difficult to describe, but agree that it is light and kinda old-fashioned. At first sniff out of the tub, it almost reminds me of diapers or baby wipes (which sounds worse than it is), but once I apply it, it smells a lot better - it smells light, but sophisticated and feminine. I like it so much that I am going to try other products in this line (already have the shampoo, conditioner and 15% body lotion and love them all). I have found that I do prefer the lighter body lotion for my hands over the 25% body cream - but if my hands were drier, I would definitely be using this on my hands more. It isn't greasy, but seems slightly sticky when first applied - but this goes away in less than 5 minutes, and then it leaves a soft, almost powdery finish. I bought 3 small jars at TJ Maxx and I think they will last me quite a while, but I would buy more when I run out.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tamathy on 12/23/2007 1:22:00 AM more reviews by Tamathy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I never had a problem with dry skin until the last year or so. I only used body creams if they smelled good. Now I am noticing a bit of a dry look to my lower legs, and Origins Perfect World body cream just wasn't helping. I suppose it doesn't help that I have time to soak 60+ minutes in an epsom salt bath 3-4x a week. (No, I am not getting older-- the rest of you are just getting younger!) My legs get this thin veneer of dry, crackly skin on top, and feel a bit tight. So I guess it's time to get serious about a body cream that works, not just for the smell. You don't have to use a lot; just put a thin layer on your skin. I like to use it right after getting out of the bath while I'm still in the steamy bathroom. 14+ hours after putting this on my legs after shaving, my skin is soft, and I don't have the dry skin top layer. I'm not sure how to describe it, but my skin just plain feels better-- almost like I've been putting cream on all day, and the water didn't have a chance to escape from my skin. Overall it's a very nice effect, even if it's partially (or all) in my head.


I do wish this came in an unscented version. Those with hay fever/allergies should beware of the scent and test it in person if you can. I don't mind it most days & even like it-- but when I'm having an allergy attack, or in the first stages of a cold, the smell of this cream can induce heinous sneezing fits. It isn't strong, and it seems to fade after applying, but just opening the jar can do me in on a bad day. They do make unscented 100% shea butter, but it's not easy to use since it's solid. I have to subtract a lippie for the way the smell can get to me some days. It isn't cheap either, but when a product works for me, I make room for it in my budget-- and I don't use it all over. I do like the results enough that I intend to keep using it, and I want to try other L'Occitane products, particularly the shea butter items.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beechezz on 12/20/2007 6:14:00 PM more reviews by beechezz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I picked up the smaller tub at TJ Maxx last weekend as I was dying to try this! So far, so good. I like the way my skin feels after using this, really smooth and soft. I like the fragrance, although I can't really describe it. Soft enough not to be bothersome. I like putting it on my hands before I go to bed because they feel great in the morning when I wake up. I agree this is a little costly, but if I can keep finding a tub at the price I paid for this one I will continue to buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TRKK on 8/23/2007 9:45:00 PM more reviews by TRKK

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this purely based on the fragrance of the cream, which is an "old lady" kinda floral scent (which I tend to have a weakness for) The cream is a very rich, thick and heavy one, however it doesn't moisturize as much as it seems it might. Gold Bond seems to moisturize my skin better. Also I hate the tub packaging. Only thing I like about this is that the scent lingers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mecepeda on 8/21/2007 5:11:00 AM more reviews by mecepeda

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

The HG of extra-strength body creams! I have been using this stuff for years...every once in a while I manage to talk myself out of buying it again b/c of the price, but then I go skulking back to it once my skin gets lizard-like again. A little bit lasts a long time, and it smells wonderful (besides, of course, the important fact that it keeps my skin in great shape during the New England winters). I used to be a big fan of Kiehl's (*very expensive*) Creme de Corps, but this product is far better, in my opinion...and costs less.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* luvactuallyisallarnd on 8/5/2007 1:53:00 AM more reviews by luvactuallyisallarnd

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I just received this as a gift today, but I tried it right away from I got home (hehe). So far, I am pretty happy with the body cream. I applied some to my hands, and it feels like instant moisture sinking into my dry hands and cuticles. The fragrance is also very nice. I'm not sure I would by this after I run out though...being that the price is pretty high. But receiving this as a gift again would be quite nice :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princess_eab on 7/23/2007 11:03:00 PM more reviews by princess_eab

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, I paid what I think is WAY too much for a tiny sample size tub of this-- $9!! I mean, this tub is tiny and that's highway robbery. Anyway, this seemed to be pretty moisturizing but unfortunately I broke out in itchy spots after using it. I'm trying to use up the tub, but if I continue to have this reaction I don't think I will buy this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hallkali on 7/3/2007 3:06:00 PM more reviews by hallkali

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow. That's seriously my reaction after using this cream. Unlike a lot of people, I use this on my whole body. I read an article explaining the body bumps and irritation can be caused by cheap lotions, (I had a problem with both.) After the FIRST DAY, the bumps on the backs of my legs and around my knees were hugely diminished (I've been using it for a week, and now the bumps are totally gone). I've never had skin this smooth. Truly worth every penny, in my book. It IS thick which is usually a turnoff for me, but the thickness goes away after maybe 1/2 an hour, so I put it on as soon as I get out of the shower, then get ready, THEN put on my clothes, and by that time, any thick feeling or greasiness/stickiness has gone away. It's the perfect cream. Will definitely repurchase. It's amazing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lyao on 5/30/2007 11:32:00 AM more reviews by lyao

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Best body cream. And I love the packaging -- such understated elegance. Can't be without it. I also like the hand cream and foot cream made by L'Occitane, but find this body cream adequate to take their place. This is a cream that virtually makes my whole body happy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Occitane products

More Lotions/ Creams products