L'Occitane 25% shea butter ultra rich body cream

3.8

81 reviews

65% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 11/2/2008 2:47:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It didn't help at all after using it for several days my skin still stayed dry. Plus, after applying it, it seems very sticky. I expected better for that price.



on 10/7/2008 1:28:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Could be upped to four... it's not yet cold in Northern California; also, some uncharacteristic late-summer humidity. I think I over-applied the first time as I was Ieaving elbow and forearm prints all over my glass dining table. Ack! The residue seemed to follow me around all day. So I took this into the shower and used about a quarter of the amount while not yet quite toweled dry. Much better. felt moist all day without leaving an oily trail. UPDATE: okay, so now it's January and 71F in NorCal so no great insight into cold weather performance. Upside of the product's thick consistency is that it forces me to moisturize at maximum moisture level, with downside being that I'm FORCED to do it then because otherwise the stuff is just too darned difficult to rub in without using so much that I look like a buttered cookie sheet.


on 7/29/2008 10:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this cream. I live in Wisconsin and the dry air in the winter is the WORST. I have tried everything...baby oil, cocoa butter and just about EVERY lotion and cream I could find. I even tried most of the organic brands. But I could never find anything that was moisturizing without greasiness. This cream is perfect. My skin was actually so soft that after my coworker passed me by, placing her hand on my leg as to not bump into me, she went straight to my boyfriend and told him how amazing my skin felt! In the dead of Wisconsin winter!

The only drawback to this product is the price. Though I can understand why, it makes me think twice about buying it...especially since I use it morning and night. I have replaced my nightly application with coconut oil instead. It is wonderfully moisturizing and I wake up feeling amazingly silky and soft. I still prefer L'Occitane after the shower, though. It smells wonderful and has no oily slip like coconut oil.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 6/4/2008 11:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Black

I abosolute love this body cream. My body is very dry, legs are flacky, but acne back. This is very mosizturing for my body and yet not greasy. The cream get obsorb vy your skin very quickly unlike other cream or even lotion. My skin feel smoother, healther, and protected. I have the Verbena scent, but I will swith to the regular shea butter scent next time since I feel in love with the scent after using their shea butter hand cream and lotion. I don't think I can find better cream than this. The consistency and how it get obsorb and the feel on my skin is perfect. Though I do like to try other thing once in a while since I am a big beauty product juncky. But this is the cream I will keep repurchasing. Highly recommended for people have dry, flacky skin!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2008 3:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The amazing thing about this cream is that it has plenty of oils (25% of vegetable fats is a high rate for my taste), yet it doesn't leave any grease on my skin. It seems to be perfectly osmothic to it, instead. Of course, that may be too heavy for some of you, in any case to heavy for summer, but it needs to be tested, at least on rough spots, because IT WORKS!
Nice light smell, too

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/26/2008 12:08:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

My skin hasn't been too dry (I have been obsessed with moisturizing lately and it seems to be paying off), so I haven't applied this all over, but I have been faithfully using it on my hands and feet. I must say that my feet are looking better than they have in years. I have used a few other creams that gave similar results, but they didn't motivate me to use them like this does - I love the scent and that makes me want to apply it 2x a day! I find the scent difficult to describe, but agree that it is light and kinda old-fashioned. At first sniff out of the tub, it almost reminds me of diapers or baby wipes (which sounds worse than it is), but once I apply it, it smells a lot better - it smells light, but sophisticated and feminine. I like it so much that I am going to try other products in this line (already have the shampoo, conditioner and 15% body lotion and love them all). I have found that I do prefer the lighter body lotion for my hands over the 25% body cream - but if my hands were drier, I would definitely be using this on my hands more. It isn't greasy, but seems slightly sticky when first applied - but this goes away in less than 5 minutes, and then it leaves a soft, almost powdery finish. I bought 3 small jars at TJ Maxx and I think they will last me quite a while, but I would buy more when I run out.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2007 1:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I never had a problem with dry skin until the last year or so. I only used body creams if they smelled good. Now I am noticing a bit of a dry look to my lower legs, and Origins Perfect World body cream just wasn't helping. I suppose it doesn't help that I have time to soak 60+ minutes in an epsom salt bath 3-4x a week. (No, I am not getting older-- the rest of you are just getting younger!) My legs get this thin veneer of dry, crackly skin on top, and feel a bit tight. So I guess it's time to get serious about a body cream that works, not just for the smell. You don't have to use a lot; just put a thin layer on your skin. I like to use it right after getting out of the bath while I'm still in the steamy bathroom. 14+ hours after putting this on my legs after shaving, my skin is soft, and I don't have the dry skin top layer. I'm not sure how to describe it, but my skin just plain feels better-- almost like I've been putting cream on all day, and the water didn't have a chance to escape from my skin. Overall it's a very nice effect, even if it's partially (or all) in my head.


I do wish this came in an unscented version. Those with hay fever/allergies should beware of the scent and test it in person if you can. I don't mind it most days & even like it-- but when I'm having an allergy attack, or in the first stages of a cold, the smell of this cream can induce heinous sneezing fits. It isn't strong, and it seems to fade after applying, but just opening the jar can do me in on a bad day. They do make unscented 100% shea butter, but it's not easy to use since it's solid. I have to subtract a lippie for the way the smell can get to me some days. It isn't cheap either, but when a product works for me, I make room for it in my budget-- and I don't use it all over. I do like the results enough that I intend to keep using it, and I want to try other L'Occitane products, particularly the shea butter items.


on 12/20/2007 6:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I picked up the smaller tub at TJ Maxx last weekend as I was dying to try this! So far, so good. I like the way my skin feels after using this, really smooth and soft. I like the fragrance, although I can't really describe it. Soft enough not to be bothersome. I like putting it on my hands before I go to bed because they feel great in the morning when I wake up. I agree this is a little costly, but if I can keep finding a tub at the price I paid for this one I will continue to buy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/23/2007 9:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this purely based on the fragrance of the cream, which is an "old lady" kinda floral scent (which I tend to have a weakness for) The cream is a very rich, thick and heavy one, however it doesn't moisturize as much as it seems it might. Gold Bond seems to moisturize my skin better. Also I hate the tub packaging. Only thing I like about this is that the scent lingers.


on 8/21/2007 5:11:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

The HG of extra-strength body creams! I have been using this stuff for years...every once in a while I manage to talk myself out of buying it again b/c of the price, but then I go skulking back to it once my skin gets lizard-like again. A little bit lasts a long time, and it smells wonderful (besides, of course, the important fact that it keeps my skin in great shape during the New England winters). I used to be a big fan of Kiehl's (*very expensive*) Creme de Corps, but this product is far better, in my opinion...and costs less.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top