NARS • Jungle Red • Lipstick

rated 4.6(60 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 kiune on 6/1/2009 11:31:00 AM more reviews by kiune

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Dry but such a pretty color. Very matte. Looks so pretty and kinda natural when dabbed on, or dramatic when slicked on like true lipstick. A very unique red.

Everyone: it's orange based!! but it doesn't look orange when on. Just like a true warm toned, hot hot red. And that's why I bought it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* firefly7 on 5/29/2009 2:51:00 AM more reviews by firefly7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

i have rouge d'enfer (which is a really nice subtle brick red) and i wanted a bright "RED" red...stoplight kinda red! this color is very pretty on my warm fair complexion. i have no idea why older posts called it blue based or pink! its very much orange based. there is no color like this at mac, i believe its very unique! the formula is very nice! it's a semi-matte, so it looks creamy, opaque, and matte but it is still comfortable. staying power is great and it doesnt bleed! i didnt give it 5 yet b/c i need to wear it a few more times before i give it HG bold red l/s status.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ichorous on 1/26/2009 6:28:00 AM more reviews by ichorous

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I recieved this as a gift from someone who apparently knew me a lot better than I realized :D

It's a true matte red, slight orange undertones, pretty dry, very pigmented. Lasts for ages and fades in a pretty way :)
Lends a very retro look.

I recommend taking care of your lips before wearing this - any flake will show. Also apply a light lip moisturizer if you're paranoid about dry lips.
I prefer applying this with a lip brush since it's so pigmented, any mistake will show :P

all in all, a great lipstick and a staple in my collection.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PopHarlot on 12/23/2008 9:00:00 AM more reviews by PopHarlot

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I only recently 'discovered' this colour and I've fallen in love with it! I could see how on some people it could go orange or terracotta, but on me it is an intense, tropical flower or lacquer red - a more high voltage version of MAC's Ruby Woo.

My local NARS stockist recently got in more of this, and it's still for sale online, so hopefully the earlier post about it being discontinued was a false alarm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Deepsurface on 12/8/2008 3:07:00 PM more reviews by Deepsurface

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First things first. This lipstick is actually meant to be matte. And matte lipsticks is, as arule, drier than shiny ones. The trick is to take care of your lips between lipsticks, for example overnight.
As a lover of lipsticks in general and matte in particular, this is one of the best I have ever tried. I first bought this lipstick in Red Lizard, and was amazed at how long it lasted. I am crazy about red lipsticks and have almost every colour...Almost. Finding a really red-red lipstick seems to be impossible. With red-red I mean not blue-red, brown-red,or orange-red, but red-red. This is probably the closest I have found, even if you can find some orange tones in it if you try. I have found a maybelline one that is red-red, but it doesn't last even through one glass of wine. Overall Nars matte lipsticks is the most longlasting and colour intense I have tried. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yippee1999 on 10/23/2008 11:51:00 AM more reviews by yippee1999

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    


This is a great bright red color (with orange, not blue undertones), so the shade is great for my pale white skin. The only problem I have with this lipstick is the formulation. It is quite a dry lipstick. I always put lip balm on first, before I ever apply lipstick. But that doesn't seem to help in this instance. When I apply this lipstick, I have to really blend it in with the pad of a finger and almost try to make it into a "stain" on my lips. This is not therefore going to look like a nice moist, creamy red lipstick. Because of the dry formulation, it will look extremely matte on your lips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kisa on 1/1/2008 4:18:00 AM more reviews by kisa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I was told today by Nordstrom associate that this gorgeous lipstick is being discontinued and that I was lucky she still had a tube. It is an absolutely stunning perfect red. It is perfectly matte, which makes it so sophisticated looking. Amazing coverage and lasts forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tijanarm on 11/29/2007 1:13:00 PM more reviews by tijanarm

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am a huge red lipstick fan, so I like this red. It's not a "classic Hollywood red" like red lizzard (which is probably my favourite of the two), but it is a true red and I really like it. Great staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beauticonnexion on 10/29/2007 11:31:00 AM more reviews by beauticonnexion

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

The current lemming for "old Hollywood" continues to Jungle Red. This is matte, very pigmented and last and last so well thru drinking and food. It fades gradually so no need to touch up but its a tab bit dry for my preference. I have to swipe balm on a couple times thru out the day. This is blue based and makes the teeth looks white and pearly... a tad bright for my office so going to use this at night only.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wend1 on 7/12/2007 2:43:00 AM more reviews by Wend1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

An absolutely stunning red. This is perfect: matte, red (as opposed to pink, orange or brown), long-wearing, and easy to apply and wear. This lipstick does not bleed on me, and fades very nicely. I hardly have to retouch all day, which, considering how lazy I am about re-applying, is fantastic. The NARS quality is phenomenal. My search for the perfect red is over, although I will probably buy the other NARS reds for the fun of them. I also have the lipliner, but I find that the lipliner has a brown undertone of which I am not very fond. I prefer not to use that.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products