Alpha Hydrox • 10% AHA Gel • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(215 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 deluxedame on 9/9/2009 11:09:00 PM more reviews by deluxedame

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product line including the cleanser, the Retinol cream and the 12% AHA Souffle. I was using Proactiv for the past nine plus years and it wasn't doing much justice for my sensitive acne prone oily skin. I was also getting to the point where fine lines and wrinkles is something I want to avoid getting or at least being as noticeable. I cannot praise the whole product line plus it is so much more affordable. The only bad thing is you have to either order it directly from the company or on drugstore.com. The Retinol cream has made a definite improvement in the overall texture of my skin. I use this about five nights a week and the 12% AHA two nights a week. In addition, I use the 10% oil free AHA after cleansing in the am. I highly recommend all Alpha Hydrox products for those looking to prevent premature lines and wrinkles and avoid breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mehays on 9/4/2009 1:06:00 PM more reviews by mehays

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Been using this for a week for my oily, acne-prone skin. seems to really be reducing the appearance of pores and getting rid of acne. Having purging only around the sides of my mouth. Been using twice a day which seems to be too drying. tried the Souffle last night for the first time, which was last drying. went to the Alpha Hydrox website and ordered all the products recommended for my skin type.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marriedarockstar on 8/31/2009 10:40:00 PM more reviews by marriedarockstar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This has replaced my beloved souffle. I loved the smooth texture my skin had after using the souffle, but I kept getting breakouts after a year of usage. I decided to try the gel and see if it would help keep my skin acne-free. After several months of usage, I can finally say that my skin has never been better! The breakouts are gone, and I'm left with clean, glowing skin! I use this in the a.m. and have found that it works fine under my make-up. I am so glad I decided to give this a try! It has improved my skin dramatically!
EDIT: I have switched over to acne.org's AHA product. For me, that works better than the others I've tried. But this is still a good alternative.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 budapest on 8/11/2009 3:43:00 PM more reviews by budapest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product can be pretty effective at exfoliating dry skin when used with a moisturizing lotion on top. I had used it alone to try and get rid of dry patches left by a benzoyl peroxide treatment and it made my dryness worse. I tried it again and layered an oil-free moisturizer for sensitive skin on top after the AHA gel dried. This morning my dry patches were gone after my washed my face with cleanser + a washcloth. I probably won't repurchase though as I will look for a moisturizing lotion with AHA to save me the extra step.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* asian_vixen on 7/23/2009 12:38:00 AM more reviews by asian_vixen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use the AHA soufflé but stopped to try this for my combo skin and for my arms/back. I actually have the men's version which has the SAME ingredients as the women's version which comes in a 6 oz bottle, not a tube, for 11.99. I ordered it from the company itself www.neotericcosmetics.com/alpha and they ship for free if you ordered 35$ or more. They also had a special so I got two for less than 11$, a pretty awesome deal! The product itself is great and for a glycolic acid product that is inexspensive, it's even better! Glycolic acid has done wonders to my complexion and I don't even have to wear makeup at times. Just some good cleanser and this to soak up at night and SPF 30 in am.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nnovak78 on 7/21/2009 8:19:00 PM more reviews by nnovak78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    


I really like this product and the price can’t be beat. I tried it a few years back and really did not use it long enough to see the effects. I recently decided to add this back into my skin care routine and I must say my skin is really glowing. I haven’t been this happy with my skin in a very long time. I do not use this alone but under my regular moisturizer. I have been using in the AM only as I still have another gel based nighttime product I need to use up in the PM. But it is a high priced version of this gel.
Overall, I’m not sure if it is just this product but the combination of products is really helping even out my skin tone, min. break outs and provides a great glow.
I have normal to dry skin.
The products I use:
Ole Henriksen Sheer Transformation Cream
Alpha Hydrox Oil Free Gel
Clarins Toning Lotion Dry/Normal Skin (yellow one)
Shiseido Benefiance Concentrated Anti-wrinkle Eye Cream – is the best (!) and worth every penny.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chuugle on 7/17/2009 6:37:00 PM more reviews by chuugle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This gel is perfect for my combo skin. I wear it alone at night and have no problems with dryness. My husband also commented that my skin looked amazing one night after I put it on. That's all the feedback I need! :D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 germ on 6/1/2009 12:03:00 PM more reviews by germ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

Packaging: it was fine. The consistency was less like a gel and more liquid, which was surprising. So, be careful not to pour out too much.

Product: Used this for two months (August 08-October 08) to make sure I could test it out properly. My skin was clear when I began but wanted to try a non retinol product for kicks. This gel caused me to develop a severe case of hyperpigmentation. Months later and I am still struggling to even out my skin tone and get rid of the dark patches. Guess my skin doesn't like the acids. Going to try out their ResQ product this week. Hopefully, I will get better results.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 echoluster on 5/18/2009 2:11:00 AM more reviews by echoluster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE IT!!!

For about $10, you can't go wrong with this if you're looking for a topical glycolic product. I find that my results are much better than with the Peter Thomas Roth complexion pads I had been using, if only for the fact that this stays on longer (unfortunately this has no BHA). And I save so much money with this. I have not at all sensitive acne-prone combo skin, and it's smoother and clearer. Being that it's 10%, if you are more sensitive you will want to do a patch test or work yourself up to this concentration.

FYI: I found it at Ulta, but had to look at 2 stores before I found it. To the previous reviewer, mine is also in a clear tube. Sounds exactly like what you have, maybe they updated the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peacefuldusk on 5/15/2009 12:21:00 AM more reviews by peacefuldusk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So far so good. I will have to try to product a bit longer. I have had no burning and it does not make my face sticky like a murad product I have been using. My only question is, I bought mine in the store at Ulta and my tube is clear and the product has a yellow consistency, all the pics I see of this product have a solid white tube. I wonder if the one I bought is old I hope it is not expired, there is no date on it. Anyone have a clear tube?

Update: I have been using this product for about a year now, it is the only thing that cleared up my severe acne. I recently switched to the 12% product and my acne came back, I think my skin cant handle the lotion part of it. I am def going back to this 10% gel now, I wish they made the gel in 12%.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Treatments (Face) products