Alpha Hydrox • 10% AHA Gel • Treatments

rated 4.0(213 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 marriedarockstar on 8/31/2009 10:40:00 PM more reviews by marriedarockstar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This has replaced my beloved souffle. I loved the smooth texture my skin had after using the souffle, but I kept getting breakouts after a year of usage. I decided to try the gel and see if it would help keep my skin acne-free. After several months of usage, I can finally say that my skin has never been better! The breakouts are gone, and I'm left with clean, glowing skin! I use this in the a.m. and have found that it works fine under my make-up. I am so glad I decided to give this a try! It has improved my skin dramatically!
EDIT: I have switched over to acne.org's AHA product. For me, that works better than the others I've tried. But this is still a good alternative.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 budapest on 8/11/2009 3:43:00 PM more reviews by budapest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This product can be pretty effective at exfoliating dry skin when used with a moisturizing lotion on top. I had used it alone to try and get rid of dry patches left by a benzoyl peroxide treatment and it made my dryness worse. I tried it again and layered an oil-free moisturizer for sensitive skin on top after the AHA gel dried. This morning my dry patches were gone after my washed my face with cleanser + a washcloth. I probably won't repurchase though as I will look for a moisturizing lotion with AHA to save me the extra step.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* asian_vixen on 7/23/2009 12:38:00 AM more reviews by asian_vixen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use the AHA soufflé but stopped to try this for my combo skin and for my arms/back. I actually have the men's version which has the SAME ingredients as the women's version which comes in a 6 oz bottle, not a tube, for 11.99. I ordered it from the company itself www.neotericcosmetics.com/alpha and they ship for free if you ordered 35$ or more. They also had a special so I got two for less than 11$, a pretty awesome deal! The product itself is great and for a glycolic acid product that is inexspensive, it's even better! Glycolic acid has done wonders to my complexion and I don't even have to wear makeup at times. Just some good cleanser and this to soak up at night and SPF 30 in am.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nnovak78 on 7/21/2009 8:19:00 PM more reviews by nnovak78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    


I really like this product and the price can’t be beat. I tried it a few years back and really did not use it long enough to see the effects. I recently decided to add this back into my skin care routine and I must say my skin is really glowing. I haven’t been this happy with my skin in a very long time. I do not use this alone but under my regular moisturizer. I have been using in the AM only as I still have another gel based nighttime product I need to use up in the PM. But it is a high priced version of this gel.
Overall, I’m not sure if it is just this product but the combination of products is really helping even out my skin tone, min. break outs and provides a great glow.
I have normal to dry skin.
The products I use:
Ole Henriksen Sheer Transformation Cream
Alpha Hydrox Oil Free Gel
Clarins Toning Lotion Dry/Normal Skin (yellow one)
Shiseido Benefiance Concentrated Anti-wrinkle Eye Cream – is the best (!) and worth every penny.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chuugle on 7/17/2009 6:37:00 PM more reviews by chuugle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This gel is perfect for my combo skin. I wear it alone at night and have no problems with dryness. My husband also commented that my skin looked amazing one night after I put it on. That's all the feedback I need! :D

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 germ on 6/1/2009 12:03:00 PM more reviews by germ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

Packaging: it was fine. The consistency was less like a gel and more liquid, which was surprising. So, be careful not to pour out too much.

Product: Used this for two months (August 08-October 08) to make sure I could test it out properly. My skin was clear when I began but wanted to try a non retinol product for kicks. This gel caused me to develop a severe case of hyperpigmentation. Months later and I am still struggling to even out my skin tone and get rid of the dark patches. Guess my skin doesn't like the acids. Going to try out their ResQ product this week. Hopefully, I will get better results.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 echoluster on 5/18/2009 2:11:00 AM more reviews by echoluster

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE IT!!!

For about $10, you can't go wrong with this if you're looking for a topical glycolic product. I find that my results are much better than with the Peter Thomas Roth complexion pads I had been using, if only for the fact that this stays on longer (unfortunately this has no BHA). And I save so much money with this. I have not at all sensitive acne-prone combo skin, and it's smoother and clearer. Being that it's 10%, if you are more sensitive you will want to do a patch test or work yourself up to this concentration.

FYI: I found it at Ulta, but had to look at 2 stores before I found it. To the previous reviewer, mine is also in a clear tube. Sounds exactly like what you have, maybe they updated the packaging.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 peacefuldusk on 5/15/2009 12:21:00 AM more reviews by peacefuldusk

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So far so good. I will have to try to product a bit longer. I have had no burning and it does not make my face sticky like a murad product I have been using. My only question is, I bought mine in the store at Ulta and my tube is clear and the product has a yellow consistency, all the pics I see of this product have a solid white tube. I wonder if the one I bought is old I hope it is not expired, there is no date on it. Anyone have a clear tube?

Update: I have been using this product for about a year now, it is the only thing that cleared up my severe acne. I recently switched to the 12% product and my acne came back, I think my skin cant handle the lotion part of it. I am def going back to this 10% gel now, I wish they made the gel in 12%.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* meriellyn on 5/14/2009 9:11:00 PM more reviews by meriellyn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This has been a godsend for my back. Has cleared it right up. I use it once every other day or so.
Tried it on my face a few times and I was too sensitive but I've been trying it again the past couple days with great success. I'll update on how that goes.
But overall, I'll repurchase, if only for my back, chest, and butt.


The tube is find of a pain. The gel is quite runny in consistency and the opening is large so it's easy to dispense a lot at once. Since I use this on multiple, and larger, areas it's not a huge problem for me, but if I only used it on my face, I would end up wasting a good bit or way over-applying (which is still easy to do). As it stands, if I have too much leftover, I just apply it to my legs, knees, elbows, etc to get it off my hands and not waste it.
The other issue is storage... I can't imagine storing this standing on it's cap (as intended). I keep it upside down in the box it came in so it won't leak and so it won't pour out when I open it. I open it upside doen like that (cap up) and kind of pour it out like a bottle, rather than squeezing like a regular tube. While applying, I prop the tube up in the sink so it won't spill out. Definitely can't lay it down. That would be a disaster.
I don't know how the clear container affects the active ingredients but I'm not concerned about that because I keep it in the box when not in use anyway.
I would definitely prefer a pump.

My other complaint is the size of the product. You only get 1.7oz for the same price as the 6oz 10% Enhanced Lotion! Seems unfair to me.
That being said, I've been using it for two months on my back, chest, and butt and two weeks on my face as well and I still have about half the tube left, so it lasts a while and you do get your money's worth and the price is reasonable... it just seems ridiculous it's less than 1/3 the size of the lotion for the same price. :P

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* besidetheocean on 4/13/2009 11:33:00 AM more reviews by besidetheocean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I had been using the Alpha Hydrox 12% Souffle, but it was making my skin much oilier than usual. I decided to try the gel instead, which seems to be working very well so far. It's been clearing up my acne wile leaving my skin at its usual level of oiliness (no reduction in the amount, but also not a complete oil slick like with the souffle). I've been using the gel nightly and plan to only use the souffle when and if my skin seems drier than usual. So far with the gel my existing acne has dried up with no flakes and my acne scars seem to be lightening. Highly recommended, especially for people with very oily skin.


The only con is that the gel doesn't seem to be as easy to find as some of the other Alpha Hydrox products. I had to order mine from drugstore.com. I wish I could find it at a local drugstore, but it's definitely worth the extra shipping costs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alpha Hydrox products

More Treatments products