Murad • Acne Spot Treatment • Treatments

rated 3.1(240 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* illeyad on 1/29/2011 11:27:00 PM more reviews by illeyad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a reasonable product for people who suffer from mild acne, and only plan on treating a few small-medium sized pimples.


PROS: (1) non offensive odor. The sulfur ingredient is not overwhelming and fades within minutes after application. (2) treats small-midsize pimples reasonable well. I noticed a difference for some almost instantly, but it typically took about 3 nights for results to be prominent. (3) Great packing, itís small, simple, and not wasteful. For effective for releasing and applying product, and itís small enough to discreetly carry around.


CONS: (1) Not very effective on larger pimples. (2) The sulfur ingredient is not strong enough in this particular formulation for my needs. It would be ideal if they had a gentle and strong formulation of this, since sulfur is so effective at treating acne. (3) Does not sit well under makeup. (4) Has a tendency to flake off after drying, this not consistently treating acne while applied. (5) No soothing ingredients such as Kaolin, to reduce redness while treating inflammation.


Overall, this is a descent product, but I have used better products for treating acne. In my experience, I found that Dermalogica made a superior version (also using sulfur)- although more expensive. Regardless, I would still recommend it to those planning on treating a few odd spots.


I paid $18 CAD at Shoppers Drug Mart.
Happy Shopping!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chrissygalpal on 1/20/2011 5:32:00 PM more reviews by chrissygalpal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I found this product to be very effective. Worked really well on my hard to treat pimples. I do have to say that the smell is really bad. Smells like glue and don't try putting makeup over it. That meaned to not work to well for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jfing01 on 1/18/2011 7:10:00 PM more reviews by jfing01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried so many spot treatments all with differing results, some do nothing, some leave you with horrific dry patches, some work for a while and then stop.
I have found with this one that it works fantastically if you apply it when you first have a spot forming but not so great on existing spots. If you get it early it totally shrinks it and it goes away in about 3 days, for those I miss and get to turn into full blown spots I have found it doesn't do a lot.
It doesn't make my skin dry which is a big bonus and I know other reviewers have commented on the smell, I smell the sulfur myself but I don't think it's that strong and others haven't smelt it on me.

Overall a pretty good treatment that stops spots in their tracks if you get them as they are just forming.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annersz on 12/26/2010 6:15:00 PM more reviews by annersz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this product! My face is so clear. iuse to have so many scars. i used the kit and waaa laaaa face is clear. now when i have acne i just use this before a pimple is forming and it stops its track from growing bigger! THIS IS THE MAIN THING I USE FOR MY ACNE NOW, i became a murad fan, i have the whole kit + .... pore refining treatment gel, essencial C toner, and im about to pick up the mattifying lotion! <3 thanks murad! I will never stop using murad products everrr

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KerryAnne on 12/23/2010 2:30:00 PM more reviews by KerryAnne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this as a sample package with their clarity face wash. The face wash is nice, but nothing special. I had heard very good things about the acne treatment, which is why I bought the package. I'm thankful I just bought the sample. At first, I thought "YAY, this is so going to work for me!", but it didn't it. It did help with tiny pimples that were trying to become monster zits, but my deep, painful, embarrassing cystic acne is not any better. It's not even helping to bring them to the surface and making them easier to clear up. Also, the sulfur smell becomes overbearing. I didn't mind it at first because I use Queen Helene's Mint Julep Masque and one of the key ingredients is sulfur. However, after repeated use with this I can actually taste it because I use it near my mouth! YUCK! At any rate, I'm off to search for my HG because I need to get head shots done so I have got to get rid of this hot mess!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaltblutig on 12/11/2010 1:05:00 PM more reviews by kaltblutig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product totally saved my skin!!!!

I use to have many pimples, on my forehead and on my chin every.single.day. I was so embarrassed and nothing seemed to work, neither peroxide benzoyle nor salicylic acid, neither creams nor treatments nor cleansers....
I have been struggling with bad skin for years people, years. My acne wasn't severe enough for dermatologist-strong treatments, yet it was bad, pus-fillid super red creepers. HUH.

Then, out of total boredom, without any hope, I picked up Murad treatment cuz it has sulfur, which I hadn't tried yet to treat my face.
*Within 2 days, my skin cleared up.*

I've had barely any new pimple, only a very few tiny ones on my forehead---which is a HUGE improvement.I know it's a little shallow but my mood has improved *alot* and i sometimes go to work without any makeup on...

The product stinks, but if I layer it with a nice moisturizer ( i use neutrogena acne-stress relief gel), I barely notice it. also, no more discolored towels and pillow cases since I don't use peroxyde benzoyle anymore, yay!

Yes, it is kinda expensive, 18$ for the teeniest bottle, but the product is so liquid, you need very little to cover your T zone. Bought mine 2 months ago and it's still a third-full.

my skin regimen: Purity made simple, followed by a homemade toner of water+apple-cider vinegar, then Murad treatment, then Neutrogena acne-stress-relief moisturizer gel. If my skin feels dryer, I'll use Olay moisturizer.

AM NOW PIMPLE-FREE YAY!!!!!!!!




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Pamda on 11/22/2010 1:23:00 AM more reviews by Pamda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe it this stuff made my pimples worse. I feel like this stuff feeds the bacteria and makes my skin oily. I used this for over a week then I stopped as my pimple did nothing but grow. I changed to a benzol peroxide cream and pimples vanished. What a waste of $18.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mehach on 11/9/2010 5:08:00 PM more reviews by Mehach

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this product for 2 months. I have had pimples here and there but not much since puberty. I haven't come across such an effective product on large infected pimples. It used to dry out my pimples in a day/night at my first tube. Unfortunately now the second tube seems not that effective but in the end it dries pimples in a day or 2. Since I don't expect magic from products I like it recommend it and repurchase it. I even have my extra tube..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kellybethga on 9/9/2010 10:07:00 PM more reviews by kellybethga

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Other    

Can I write h-e-double-hockey-sticks-no on buying this again? Thank goodness for return policies. This actually did seem to dry up acne and help reduce redness, BUT the sulfur smell lingered on all of my bedding. I have a blanket that I can't wash and I'm hoping the smell will air out. I thought, OK, I'll use it during the day. Not if you want to use any makeup (powder foundation or waterproof TATTOO concealer) over those ugly blemishes. In about 1/2 hr your makeup has come off. I'm also writing reviews on the 2 other Murad products I tried at the same time. Also not winners.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JoSummers on 9/9/2010 2:36:00 PM more reviews by JoSummers

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like this as a spot treatment. I use a thin layer during the daytime on any blemishes, then I dot it directly onto blemishes at night and don't rub it in. It shrunk a huge under-the-skin blemish I had in just 2 days. It's completely gone! Sulfur-based products work really well on my skin. The reason I gave it 4 out of 5 is simply because if it had more sulfur (like DDF's sulfur mask) I think it could work even better, and also because it's a bit pricey for its size. I will definitely repurchase this. The smell does not bother me at all. If it works, who cares what it smells like?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Treatments products