Murad Acne Spot Treatment

3.1

254 reviews

50% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Sulfur 3.0% Other Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Glycolic Acid, Sclerotium Gum, Dicaprylyl Maleate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Glyceryl Stearate, PEG-100 Stearate, Ceteareth-20, Glycerin, Avena Sativa (Oat) Kernel Extract, Zinc Acetate, Citrus Aurantium Dulcis (Orange) Oil, Salicylic Acid, Lecithin, Tocopherol, Magnesium Ascorbyl Phosphate, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Palmitoyl Hydroxypropyltrimonium Amylopectin/Glycerin Crosspolymer, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Seed Extract, Allantoin, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

HG spot treatment, forever. I have only used another sulfur-based spot treatment product (from Proactiv) but this one is tons better. Helps to relieve irritation much more quickly than anything else. HG!



on 5/25/2012 1:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is one of the only things that helps my acne. It has 3% sulfur and it never irritates my skin. Will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2012 8:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have very oily and unfortunately very sensitive skin. It is really difficult for me to find products that are strong and effective enough to combat occasional blemishes but also don't burn my skin or cause irritation or itching. When I was younger, I was able to use benzoyl peroxide products, but then I took two rounds of Accutane in my mid 20's that made me forever ultra-sensitive! So after an exhaustive search, I have found that products that have sulfur and zinc seem to work the best for me with minimal to no irritation -- and they work fairly quickly! I have always been very happy with this particular brand and this particular product. No matter how many others I might try, I always come back to this. I am also a fan of beta hydroxy acid (BHA) and even salicylic acid, but again, with sensitive skin, I have to be a little cautious of irritation. It really helps to KNOW your ingredients and READ the labels -- and STICK to what works!


on 3/18/2012 6:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is a decent product to use on acne that need to be dried out but aren't too red. Of the sulphur based product I have used this is great- perfect for night time use. I believe the package says you can use it during the day but it leaves a white powdery residue behind once it dries so might not be the best idea. I don't have that many acne break out at the moment, but this is perfect for the rare occasion that they do show up. I have been using it when necessary for 2 years and plan to repurchase when I need to.


on 1/22/2012 12:28:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great acne spot treatment. I works especially well on deep cystic acne.


on 1/1/2012 4:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a great product, the best spot treatment I've ever used. It doesn't make your pimples to go away in one night but it reduces the redness and relieves the pain. My pimples heal much faster! It doesn't help to get rid of black/whiteheads BUT it makes them very easy to squeese out :) Got clear skin with this product, couldn't be happier. It doesn't dry out or irritate my sensitive skin. I use it once a day before going to sleep and wash it off in the morning before putting make-up on.

One lippie off because of the smell though, it smells disgusting, like dill weed or something.


on 11/30/2011 11:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This spot treatment is one of the most effective I have ever used. If I put it on a pimple at night, the pimple is smaller in the morning. That being said, it only works for cystic pimples, not for whiteheads or blackheads. Additionally the pimple is generally still there in the morning, but you can't expect an over the counter product to complexity eliminate a huge cystic pimple. I have had the best results using this on a cystic pimple while it is forming, to prevent it from getting larger while eliminating it. The yellow color means you can only treat pimples when you are staying inside, but it doesn't bother me because I use the Murad cover up to treat during the day. Just remember to look in the mirror before you go out, so that you don't have random hello spots on your face.


on 9/22/2011 9:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Murad does not work at all on my acne. It made my skin oily and gross. It smells like dill weed. Hated it. Will not buy again.


on 9/22/2011 9:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I use a lot of the products in the acne line but this is one of my faves. I have battled acne on and off since I was a teen and as an adult I developed acne on my chin and jawline. I have used tea tree, Oxy creams, BP, Clearasil,Salycylic Acids etc but nothing has worked to really treat and prevent.
This has become a staple in my acne fighting regime. I don't know what in the world I would do without it. I only use it at night (mostly all over my chin and jawline) to prevent any new zits from appearing. In the instruction pamphlet I received with the 30 day acne kit I purchased it mentions to only use a small amount and to dab it on the zits. I find if I use too much of this then it tends to make the skin flake. Very important to dab it on and not rub it in..it seems to soak in better by dabbing.
t smells awful which is a big con in my opinion, but for the effectiveness of it I can put up with having my pillow smell like matches.
I can say that it does work as I went about 2 months wihout using it because I ran out of the product. I noticed I started getting zits again on my chin and nothing was preventing them. I ordered some more of this and noticed zits starting to clear up again.I put it on overnight and by the morning the size and redness has diminished significantly.
Definetly a product I will keep ordering!


on 9/14/2011 2:28:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm still if-fy about this... For me, I find that sulfur (which is Murad Acne Spot Treatment's active ingredient) tends to work better than BP, but this has been a hit/miss for me so far. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't. I usually apply this at night on the smaller pimples- right when they are starting to form. when i wake up, sometimes the pimple is still there, sometimes it's not. I never know.
But once the pimple has formed (or has turned into a cyst), I KNOW this will NOT WORK.
I have also applied this in the morning- under makeup. but you have to be careful not to "rub" it, cause it'll turn into that eraser-rubber. and you can't apply too much cause (although it's green when wet), it dries white and matte - which looks really weird when people see you from an angle.
People complain about the smell, but i don't really smell anything. However, I do agree that it's a little expensive (given that it doesn't work 100%). If you can, try to get the "trial" size. I have seen them sell it inside the fishbowl jars next to the counter. it's more than enough and it's convenient to keep inside your makeup bag - to use immediately once you find a zit when you're out.

so, my verdict, I would recommend buying the trial size - cause this works for new zits. (and if you don't know whether you're a sulfur or a BP person, you can try both. for example, i'll use this in the morning and BP in the evening.) but i wouldn't get the regular size one cause a) you don't need so much and b) it doesn't work on formed zits .


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
142 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
398 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

REVIEW 2SDAYS: Murad Acne Spot Treatment by skyandshoe



Top Rated Murad Products

Back to Top