Murad • Acne Spot Treatment • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.1(242 reviews)

Average Rating.3.1
Would buy this product again.51%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Lynard on 2/12/2011 11:19:00 PM more reviews by Lynard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I am generally a fan of Murad products, but this just does not do anything for me. I do not notice any improvements.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jenniviva on 2/5/2011 2:40:00 PM more reviews by jenniviva

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this is good for really small blemishes... but it wasn't quite powerful enough for my worse breakouts around that time of the month.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 babygirl95 on 1/31/2011 12:02:00 AM more reviews by babygirl95

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this product is great for drying up small pimples without overdrying the skin. When I have a large breakout, using this product alone is not effective. However, when I use this product on nights that I do not use my salicylic or benzoyl peroxide creams, I find that it reduces redness and overtime reduces the size of pimples. It is not a miracle product and it won't reduce things overnight. I think sulfur (the main ingredient in this product) is great for individuals with mild acne breakouts who don't want to dry their skin out. My tube has lasted me for more than a year. If I ever run out, I think I would repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* illeyad on 1/29/2011 11:27:00 PM more reviews by illeyad

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a reasonable product for people who suffer from mild acne, and only plan on treating a few small-medium sized pimples.


PROS: (1) non offensive odor. The sulfur ingredient is not overwhelming and fades within minutes after application. (2) treats small-midsize pimples reasonable well. I noticed a difference for some almost instantly, but it typically took about 3 nights for results to be prominent. (3) Great packing, itís small, simple, and not wasteful. For effective for releasing and applying product, and itís small enough to discreetly carry around.


CONS: (1) Not very effective on larger pimples. (2) The sulfur ingredient is not strong enough in this particular formulation for my needs. It would be ideal if they had a gentle and strong formulation of this, since sulfur is so effective at treating acne. (3) Does not sit well under makeup. (4) Has a tendency to flake off after drying, this not consistently treating acne while applied. (5) No soothing ingredients such as Kaolin, to reduce redness while treating inflammation.


Overall, this is a descent product, but I have used better products for treating acne. In my experience, I found that Dermalogica made a superior version (also using sulfur)- although more expensive. Regardless, I would still recommend it to those planning on treating a few odd spots.


I paid $18 CAD at Shoppers Drug Mart.
Happy Shopping!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chrissygalpal on 1/20/2011 5:32:00 PM more reviews by chrissygalpal

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I found this product to be very effective. Worked really well on my hard to treat pimples. I do have to say that the smell is really bad. Smells like glue and don't try putting makeup over it. That meaned to not work to well for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jfing01 on 1/18/2011 7:10:00 PM more reviews by jfing01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried so many spot treatments all with differing results, some do nothing, some leave you with horrific dry patches, some work for a while and then stop.
I have found with this one that it works fantastically if you apply it when you first have a spot forming but not so great on existing spots. If you get it early it totally shrinks it and it goes away in about 3 days, for those I miss and get to turn into full blown spots I have found it doesn't do a lot.
It doesn't make my skin dry which is a big bonus and I know other reviewers have commented on the smell, I smell the sulfur myself but I don't think it's that strong and others haven't smelt it on me.

Overall a pretty good treatment that stops spots in their tracks if you get them as they are just forming.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annersz on 12/26/2010 6:15:00 PM more reviews by annersz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love this product! My face is so clear. iuse to have so many scars. i used the kit and waaa laaaa face is clear. now when i have acne i just use this before a pimple is forming and it stops its track from growing bigger! THIS IS THE MAIN THING I USE FOR MY ACNE NOW, i became a murad fan, i have the whole kit + .... pore refining treatment gel, essencial C toner, and im about to pick up the mattifying lotion! <3 thanks murad! I will never stop using murad products everrr

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KerryAnne on 12/23/2010 2:30:00 PM more reviews by KerryAnne

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this as a sample package with their clarity face wash. The face wash is nice, but nothing special. I had heard very good things about the acne treatment, which is why I bought the package. I'm thankful I just bought the sample. At first, I thought "YAY, this is so going to work for me!", but it didn't it. It did help with tiny pimples that were trying to become monster zits, but my deep, painful, embarrassing cystic acne is not any better. It's not even helping to bring them to the surface and making them easier to clear up. Also, the sulfur smell becomes overbearing. I didn't mind it at first because I use Queen Helene's Mint Julep Masque and one of the key ingredients is sulfur. However, after repeated use with this I can actually taste it because I use it near my mouth! YUCK! At any rate, I'm off to search for my HG because I need to get head shots done so I have got to get rid of this hot mess!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kaltblutig on 12/11/2010 1:05:00 PM more reviews by kaltblutig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product totally saved my skin!!!!

I use to have many pimples, on my forehead and on my chin every.single.day. I was so embarrassed and nothing seemed to work, neither peroxide benzoyle nor salicylic acid, neither creams nor treatments nor cleansers....
I have been struggling with bad skin for years people, years. My acne wasn't severe enough for dermatologist-strong treatments, yet it was bad, pus-fillid super red creepers. HUH.

Then, out of total boredom, without any hope, I picked up Murad treatment cuz it has sulfur, which I hadn't tried yet to treat my face.
*Within 2 days, my skin cleared up.*

I've had barely any new pimple, only a very few tiny ones on my forehead---which is a HUGE improvement.I know it's a little shallow but my mood has improved *alot* and i sometimes go to work without any makeup on...

The product stinks, but if I layer it with a nice moisturizer ( i use neutrogena acne-stress relief gel), I barely notice it. also, no more discolored towels and pillow cases since I don't use peroxyde benzoyle anymore, yay!

Yes, it is kinda expensive, 18$ for the teeniest bottle, but the product is so liquid, you need very little to cover your T zone. Bought mine 2 months ago and it's still a third-full.

my skin regimen: Purity made simple, followed by a homemade toner of water+apple-cider vinegar, then Murad treatment, then Neutrogena acne-stress-relief moisturizer gel. If my skin feels dryer, I'll use Olay moisturizer.

AM NOW PIMPLE-FREE YAY!!!!!!!!




    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Pamda on 11/22/2010 1:23:00 AM more reviews by Pamda

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe it this stuff made my pimples worse. I feel like this stuff feeds the bacteria and makes my skin oily. I used this for over a week then I stopped as my pimple did nothing but grow. I changed to a benzol peroxide cream and pimples vanished. What a waste of $18.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Murad products

More Treatments (Face) products