Hermes • Un Jardin en Méditerranée • Fragrances

rated 4.2(83 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 debrsl on 4/24/2008 4:46:00 PM more reviews by debrsl

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am just amazed at how beautiful this is....this isn't too fruity or sweet at all. I agree with others that it has a gorgeous transparent quality. Wow!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 txschick00 on 4/23/2008 10:59:00 PM more reviews by txschick00

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a scent unlike any I have worn before. Its clean and sharp, yet pretty and sweet at the same time. I was unsure after the first sniff what I thought, but as it growns and mellows and blends into your skin, it's delightful!! Everytime I wear it I sniff myself all day to get a concentrated whiff....4.5 lippies!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* syltetyta on 4/18/2008 12:08:00 PM more reviews by syltetyta

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I first purchased Un Jardin Sur Le Nil without sampling first, because it smelled so lovely green and citrusy from the bottle. I soon realized that it didn't smell as wonderfull on my skin as it deserved, so I gave it to my mum who has a drier skintype than I, and carries off citrusy dry scents better than me while I wear woody scents better. On her Le Nil smells absolutely fabulous.

But then, my eyes once spotted the woodyer Mediterranée so I tried it on. And I fell in love instantly. And, it smelled wonderful on me.
I was so happy that I bought it then and there. An expencive 3.3 oz bottle it was....but such a beautiful bottle!
Simple, clear, turqoise and green glass. Elegant! Sophisticated!

So, the fragrance:
The box lists fig tree, mastic tree, red cedar, bergamot, orange blossom and white oleander.
Un Jardin En Mediterranée contains all the scents that I adore in fragrances in general, and I usually don't fall for unisex scents.
But this one I just had to have and I don't really find it unisex on me.
It is the cedar and orange blossoms that made me fall, and the oleander that made me purchase it.
It smells wonderful of trees and summer and sea, a little spicy, a tad green, but most of all it smells cedar woody on me.
I think the description of how it is supposed to smell on someone, is carried out well on me.

This is one of the few fragrances I would repurchase, even though I have so many that I won't ever run out of fragrance in my entire life.

Update: I'm an oriental-floral/woody girl. If you're a fruity-floral gal, you probably won't like this.


10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wyrmiax on 3/21/2008 9:13:00 PM more reviews by Wyrmiax

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A gorgeous fig scent--you can almost smell the sun on the fruit. Unfortunately, like all fig fragrances except Ava Luxe Fig, it seems too fleshy--almost meaty--to me after I've had it on awhile.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 janedaly on 2/8/2008 9:23:00 AM more reviews by janedaly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

thank you MUA-ers for your reviews of this gorgeous scent! i wanted a fig scent that would not compete with my daughter's LP Premier Figuier and based on the MUA reviews ALONE (!!) i purchased last night. It is fresh, then green/fruity (not too sweet) then warm, figgy and woody. Delicious, elegant and sensual- indeed like a warm European evening on the sea.....je l'adore!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rebelrebel on 11/27/2007 10:37:00 PM more reviews by rebelrebel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I hope they never stop making this fragerance. It's amazing. It reminds me a lot of Europe, especially Paris. It's like no other colonge in the states, that's for sure. Although it's a bit pricey ($85 without tax) treat yourself. I did, and everybody keeps telling me how good I smell. I can't stress enough, I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meme527 on 10/12/2007 1:58:00 PM more reviews by meme527

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

this is the best experience of a fragrance that i have ever had. i had several people who were inexperienced with fragrances try it, and not only did they all fall in love with it, but it smelled differently on each person after 30 minutes, and again after an hour and a half. it has a real, living, breathing quality that makes it an absolute essential for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ontheborder on 9/17/2007 8:38:00 PM more reviews by ontheborder

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Lovely perfume. My first impression was that it was somewhat masculine, but now I think it's a good unisex scent. Initially I smell citrus and woods (mostly cedar). On drydown it's a bit more floral and figgy. It's herby, and clean, and refreshing. I normally gravitate towards sweet scents which this isn't at all but I love it anyways. the bottle is gorgeous too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MelissaM on 9/15/2007 5:35:00 PM more reviews by MelissaM

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I became interested in Un Jardin en Méditerranée after purchasing its sister fragrance, Un Jardin sur le Nil, hoping that the two would be simiilar. I was definitely pleased. Un Jardin en Méditerranée has the same lightness and transparancy as the Nil; it'slike Diptyque's Philosykos, only less "cluttered." Sort of like the creator of Nil used green mangos as a dominant note, Mediterranee uses a dry, green fig; one can practically smell the milky sap and raw woodiness of the young branches. My full bottle is en route right now, and I plan to pull this from my shelves in the heart of winter when I want to remember summer's fresh light.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mirtilla on 9/6/2007 1:33:00 PM more reviews by Mirtilla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

"Un Jardin en Méditerranée is an emotional journey, an olfactory progress, an impressionistic evocation of a garden beside the sea. It is a perfume of light and of shade where fig tree, mastic tree and red cedar blend with bergamot, orange blossom and white oleander." After reading such appealing description, I was very curious to try the fragrance. I got the chance few days ago, it was love at first sniff and I bought the bottle instantly. Very distinct and long lasting, I can honestly say that Un Jardin en Méditerranée is one of my best buys of the year. Everyone's body chemistry is different so it may or may not be same for everyone, but I highly recommend it. So Unique!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hermes products

More Fragrances products