Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3361 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 catced on 1/14/2014 12:52:00 PM more reviews by catced

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

So guys, I do not understand how I have not sued proactive yet. I used this for about 6 months when I was about 15 years old, and my moderate teen acne totally healed- I had a flawless complexion. I figured I would stop using it after that because I wanted some color on my skin (it cleared up my skin but made it super sensitive to light). So I washed my face with just the cleanser every night after that.
About two months later, my skin was DESTROYED and I mean D E S T R O Y E D. I had cystic acne EVERYWHERE. IN HIGH SCHOOL. The most embarrassing experience ever. I had to go on the highest dosage of accutane for 12 months. TWELVE MONTHS. And anti-depressants. All thanks to proactive.
What happened after I finished the year of accurate you ask? Well, the cystic acne scarring was so terrible, I had to go to a cosmetic surgeon and- thank god for my parents generosity- had 12 treatments of fraxel REPAIR, which came out to over $15,000. So thank you proactive, for this extraordinarily wonderful experience. Even though the 12 treatments of the harshest facial laser known in the technological world today was over, I am turning 21 in one weeks to date, and my hyper pigmentation, ice pick, and any other type of scarring you can possible think of, still exists on my face. I will never be happy with the way I look. No amount of makeup will ever help me. Thank you. If anyone has had this experience, please message me, I would love to hear about what devastation proactive has endured on your life.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 auntita on 1/13/2014 8:46:00 PM more reviews by auntita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I decided to give this a try when I was in high school and it burned my skin so badly after trying it the first time that I could not continue to use it. It had a strong smell and left my skin red and irritated. If you have sensitive skin this may not be for you. This was way too harsh for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Shorthairdontcareee on 1/8/2014 2:58:00 AM more reviews by Shorthairdontcareee

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A lot of hype and a waste of money ... did nothing to improve my skin and I had difficulty getting them to stop sending me additional unwanted kits. The toner wasn't bad but I definitely wouldn't buy again :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 clp53 on 1/6/2014 3:58:00 AM more reviews by clp53

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the most confusing product.. At first my skin was beautiful.. It completely cleared up my average acne. I had my engagement photos done and my skin was flawless. After a few months my skin went insane.. So disgusting. Acne everywhere.. Huge under-my-skin acne that hurt. It lasted for months untl I switched away from pro activ. Now my skin is flawless again. I know for fact that proactiv caused this because the exact same scenario happened a few years back. So over priced. The sales phone people are TERRIBLE. Do not order over website or phone.. They send you stuff every few months and your stuck with it, I made this mistake by not reading fine print . If you buy at their kiosk you don't get set up on their stupid program where they send you crap all the time to your house

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Anjeli19 on 1/4/2014 4:43:00 AM more reviews by Anjeli19

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

hatehatehatehate
words cannot begin to describe what this hell sent product did to my face
my skin is naturally oily yet i managed to keep it under control with my simple clean and clear cleanser. my skin was still oily but my breakout were minimal to none. seeking to improve my skin further i bought proactiv. i followed all the steps religiously and went through the beginning process of my skin breaking out by removing the impurities. they told me to give it a month and all my breakouts would stop. LIESLIESLIESLIES. my skin continuously got worse and i started breaking out all over my face. my cheeks which were never pimple or acne prone started reacting horribly, leaving me with acne scars, blemishes, black heads, white heads, the whole nine yards. so basically instead of fixing my skin in any way, it made my skin worse, by a long shot. ive now switched my cleansers again and am still trying to recover from the previous trauma to my face and am forced to cover my face in foundation just to feel slightly more comfortable with it to be able to go out in public. IT'S NOT WORTH THE HYPE AND I REGRET IT. I FEEL LIKE BURNING THE PRODUCT.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SeekingFor on 12/30/2013 11:25:00 PM more reviews by SeekingFor

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i ordered this years ago because i wanted to try it on my back because i had long hair and from the hair products i had some bacne. it gave me an allergic rash so when i called to cancel, i was informed there was a sensitive skin line and the person was so pushy that she insisted i try it and they sent it to me free. it still didn't work that well and this time when i called to cancel the guy was so mean and rude. the treatment mask was pretty good though. anyways, i cut my hair and it solved the problem...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 khushiraj546 on 12/29/2013 12:54:00 AM more reviews by khushiraj546

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

After a tiring day, the most important thing I need is cleaning my face off dirt and dust. I like doing this but I wanted to use a soft cleansing brush which would remove all the dirt gently. Although I saw that there were many different cleansing brushes available I opted for Proactiv. I had heard a lot about Proactiv online store and the amazing products it offers. So, I checked their website and found this cleansing brush. The cleansing brush they provide has very soft bristles due to which I could even use it on my face. I wanted to be sure that the cleansing brush really is the way it had been shown on the site. I called up the customer service of Proactiv and got all my queries sorted. Their customer service executives were very helpful and cordial. I ordered this cleansing brush which I have been using with my deep cleansing wash to remove the excessive dirt that gets accumulated on my skin. I have really liked the product and service of Proactiv and I will be visiting their site again to buy more of their products. I have even recommended many of my friends and relatives to opt for Proactiv products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shasta333 on 12/27/2013 2:36:00 PM more reviews by Shasta333

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for about a year and a half and i can't live without it now. I had many breakouts constantly before I started using it, and I used it years ago when I was in jr high off and on with no luck. I think they changed the formula or I just followed the instructions better this time around. For the first couple months it really burned and dried out my skin and didn't really help with my breakouts, but probably from the 3rd month on I've had significantly less breakouts. My face no longer gets super dry or burning, I use it exactly as it says. I also use the refining mask about once a week, it helps a lot. I still get small breakouts about once a month, but that's a million times better than constantly and all over. My face also looks much smoother and healthier since I've been using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 LillyMash on 12/27/2013 1:57:00 PM more reviews by LillyMash

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It's absolutely horrible. Don't waste your money trying this stuff. I usually have oily skin and this managed to make it super dry and flaky. It made my acne a million times worse, I went from like 8 pimples to my face being practically 100% covered. Its an awful product, again don't waste your money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hayleyelwick on 12/19/2013 3:17:00 PM more reviews by hayleyelwick

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

HELL HATH NO FURY LIKE MY FACE AFTER USING THIS HEINOUS ACNE TREATMENT.
I CANNOT EXPRESS MY HATRED OF THIS PRODUCT ENOUGH.
THIS IS HOW THEY SHOULD ADVERTISE THIS TREATMENT:

*lovely woman speaking in a sweet, persuasive voice*
Do you want to have dry flaky skin?
Do you want your beautiful skin to be stripped of all natural oils?
Do you want your skin to break out EVEN MORE?
Well if you do, call this number right now, where will send you Proactive, A PRODUCT THAT WILL COMPLETELY RUIN YOUR FACE. AND THEN WE WILL SEND YOU MORE EVERY SINGLE MONTH UNTIL YOU FIGURE OUT HOW TO STOP ORDERING IT AND WE WILL CHARGE YOU MORE MONEY EVERY FREAKING MONTH. GOOD DEAL, RIGHT?!
NOW WE'LL SHOW YOU ALL THESE CELEBRITIES WE PAID TO MAKE YOU WANT TO BUY OUR PRODUCT!
*Justin everloving meatball Bieber appears*
*Naya Rivera with her angel butt soft skin appears*
*Pictures of photoshopped acne*
*Celebrities say lies like "Now you can look like us!" "I used to have horrible acne!" "Proactive saved my life!"

DO NOT FALL FOR PROACTIVE'S LIES. THIS PRODUCT RUINED MY LIFE. IT TOOK MY SKIN 2 MONTHS TO RECOVER.

I only had moderate acne before beginning this treatment. when I began, my normal to oily skin became extremely dry and flaky. No amount of exfoliation and moisturizer would help. My skin broke out more, and was extremely irritated. I finally realized this wasn't one of those "It gets worse before it gets better" and stopped using it after two months. Then I switched to all natural face remedies, but it still took my skin forever to recover. Now I am left with acne scarring, and worse breakouts. I've finally restored my skins pH balance I think, but I will never make this mistake again. Please do not buy this. Stick to nourishing facial washes that won't strip your skin, it is truly an awful experience, and horrible for your skin.

15 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products