Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3347 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 katiemac0324 on 12/2/2013 6:11:00 PM more reviews by katiemac0324

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

My dermatologist straight up told me that pro-active is REALLY drying! It's so harsh on skin and if you're going to use this you're definitely going to have to use it gently and moisturize really well because your skin will be like a dessert. I know most people with really oily skin like me think that that would be a blessing but it will just lead to more acne when your skin tries to compensate for the dryness. A good cleanser for me (acne prone, really oily skin with some dry patches) is Spectro gel Blemish-prone cleanser. The moisturizer i use is the Spectro blemish-prone skin moisturizer and for the really dry patches on my face I put the cetaphil moisturizing LOTION.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 supnikkki on 11/30/2013 12:49:00 AM more reviews by supnikkki

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

No. Just a complete no. I could rant for ages, but I HIGHLY suggest for you to do your research before you purchase. There are so many wiser and safer alternatives.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kaelyn22 on 11/29/2013 7:46:00 PM more reviews by Kaelyn22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Pro Active 3-step system worked great for me. My mom has used it and she liked it, but recently my face just broke out and I couldn't get it to go away!!! So I went out and bought myself the pro active 3 step system and it cleared up in like 2-3 days! You kind of have to get use to the little tingle in your face after you use it but it got my acne away! Personally I think that the toner has a horrible smell, but once it dries the smell goes away (Thank God)!
I would repurchase this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 arlenerubio27 on 11/27/2013 1:15:00 AM more reviews by arlenerubio27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

When I first started using it, it was effective with my acne. Once the acne was gone it was a bit too much for my skin.... It almost feels like it was a peel to my skin. Once the acne was gone it was too much. I stopped using it as "recommended" but I continue to use it year after year only more on a case-by-case basis. I love the daily face wash/exfoliator. I use this maybe every other day. The toner I use daily, and the lotion is only when I have a breakout or on a zit/pimple. The clearing mask is awesome. I use it 1 or 2 times a week.... just depending on my face....

All in all, this is a great product and would hate it if it did not exist since it always comes to rescue since I'm allergic to all salicylic acid, aka aspirin...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nicadele on 11/25/2013 8:02:00 PM more reviews by nicadele

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I knew about this product for years but always passed it by, I don't know, for some reason to me it always looked... cheap. I was determined to find a high-end solution to my constant moderate acne. I tried DDF, Peter Roth, Murad, to name just a few and NONE of them worked. Ran across a Proactiv kiosk and thought why not? After two weeks, my acne had cleared and I used successfully for two years.

But after 2 years, my skin was seriously dull and dehydrated. I decided to start using prescription-strength Tretinoin (Retin A) to do some serious exfoliation. but you're not supposed to use benzyl peroxide with a Retin A so I had to stop using the Proactiv. The Retin A was great at exfoliation. It is also supposed to clear up acne but after two months of daily use, my skin was broken out worse than it ever had been. It was horrible. As great as the deep exfoliation the Retin A gave, I had to give up the Retin A to go back to my Proactiv. Now just three weeks later, my skin is almost completely cleared up from the Proactiv and glowing from the past Retin A usage. I may have to alternate programs for the best results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kookielovins on 11/23/2013 6:24:00 PM more reviews by kookielovins

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Black    

Peeling and burning! Made my sensitive skin very itchy and tight also. My brother has normal skin and it didn't do much for him either. I don't know anyone who this has worked for. With my experience with this and other acne products...just visit a dermatologist, you'll get more answers and better product recommendations there...instead of taking a chance on infomercials.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Jenjenguuurl on 11/23/2013 6:13:00 PM more reviews by Jenjenguuurl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Since my acne was getting way out of control I decided to try proactiv hoping that my skin would clear up in a month (since that was what the lady said ) . I hoped and prayed that my skin would get better but sadly it didn't I broke out worse than what I already had and I thought that maybe that was part of the process , now this is my fourth month using it and my acne is worse than before and my face looks bumpy with dark spots .
So if your out there and your desperately wanting to try something and you feel like this may work for you give it a try it may ,but honestly I WOULDN'T recommend this to any one I know .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 glamycakes2014 on 11/21/2013 2:47:00 AM more reviews by glamycakes2014

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

didnt work for me

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eq2008 on 11/19/2013 9:14:00 AM more reviews by eq2008

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Before I put my two cents out there I want to start by saying If you are allergic to bp, you can't use this. That being said here goes...

A lot of people are using this system all too quickly/fast and thus further irritating their skin. I have used proactiv in my late 20's and it worked great. Now that I am much older , I am back and it works wonder. Keep in mind , it took me three weeks to achieve clear skin each time I start and I don't start all three steps at once.

This is how I used it : first two weeks , I only use step 3 and I moisturize after it dries. I got flaky and dry a little but not too bad. At the end of the second week, my skin was less oily and I was not breaking out as I used to. I incorporate the cleanser in the beginning of the third week. It works great because my skin has build up its tolerance to bp by now. My skin was supple and nice to the touch. After a month, I then start using the toner.

My point is you need to build up tolerance first by easing your skin into this system otherwise you will have irritated skin and therefore further breakouts will happen before it gets better. Slowly incorporate each steps. It works even for my cystic acne. And I only use the system at night. I order my products from Amazon or I go to the mall Kiosk. I would never buy from proactiv website because they have got the worst Customer service on this planet and I am not joking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kate1997 on 11/17/2013 3:16:00 PM more reviews by Kate1997

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Just a few words HATE it. i found that this product worked the first two years i bought it then after my face was dried out and tight so i stopped and now my face is addicted to the benzyl peroxide it had so now i break out like crazy i wouldn't recommend it to any one :( .

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products