MAC • Cyber • Lipstick

rated 3.9(61 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 Nick_Tesla on 12/31/2007 10:29:00 PM more reviews by Nick_Tesla

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

MAC has no business making such deep colors in the satin formula. What the hell were they thinking? It CREASES! Do you hear me? CREASES! QUICKLY! For a less dramatic color, no big deal, but for almost black? It looks like absolute crap. Same thing happens with Underworld, which is a very dark burgundy brown in the same texture. That said, nice soft vanilla smell, unique color. Think eggplant. Not that dark plum people sometimes pretend is eggplant, the color of the vegetable. I've recently started filling my lips in with Prestige Eggplant lip liner first , which sort of salvages it. Makes the color slightly darker, but if you want Cyber in the first place, that shouldn't bother you. And a pencil is a good idea anyway for perfectly clean lines with something this dramatic. But if you know of an alternative, try that.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nell01 on 12/24/2007 7:58:00 PM more reviews by nell01

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great color! I love dark lipsticks so this one is for me. If you are not into the darkness of Cyber, I would suggest mixing it with a lighter lip color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TrashyDoll on 12/22/2007 1:56:00 PM more reviews by TrashyDoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

This is the ultimate vampire color!!! It's a really really REALLY dark blackish purple with subtle burgundy undertones, or a really dark purplish black with subtle burgundy undertones... I think both descriptions are equally as accurate!!! This isn't black, like totally black though!! It's like a mix of black and purple. If no light is shining on my lips when I'm wearing it it looks totally black, but when the light is directly on my lips you can really see the purple and how this isn't black black but black-purple. I think Cyber is MAC's darkest lipstick shade. The texture and quality of this lipstick is amazing!!! It's a satin and it goes on really creamy and smooth with a perfect, total color payoff and coverage!!! It has no shimmer at all and like all MAC satins its finish is slightly shiny. The lasting power of this lipstick is AMAZING!!! I think this is the longest lasting lipstick I've ever used.
I think a lot of people would be scared of wearing this color unless you're REALLY daring with your makeup or goth because it's so super dark and almost black LOL!!! I usually don't wear lipstick like this but I think it's a very fun color and every now and then I feel like wearing it and I make it look hot on me!!! It's very goth, even though I'm not going for that look, but this color is perfect for goths and for anyone who wants to look goth!!! Marilyn Manson wears this. I give it a 4 because it's an amazing quality lipstick and for being such a fun, unique color and even though I love to wear it once in awhile it's not a fav lipstick of mine, but it totally deserves a 5!!! Super vampiric and sooo much fun!!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mcr29 on 10/16/2007 3:19:00 AM more reviews by mcr29

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm normally a red lipstick girl, but this shade is so edgy. It's perfect for those days when you want to stand out, because everyone does tend to stare. It's a lovely, creamy, deep deep purple, almost black shade. It is classy enough to not look goth either. It works great with Nightmoth liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Darling12 on 4/18/2007 6:41:00 PM more reviews by Darling12

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

For fans of nice bold lips Cyber is a welcome reprieve from the violets tamed with brown or red at the makeup counter. It is an EXTREMELY intense purple that veers towards black, eggplant is probably the most accurate description. It is relatively shiny, without being shimmery or glossy, the term Satin is appropriate for the lipstick, as MAC deems its finish. The only thing wrong with this lipstick is that it has this weird tendency to feather, but almost ONLY on the bottom lip, which I guess has to do with gravity, or maybe just the way my lips are. I tried it with a gloss, but it just makes it feather more. As far as lipliner goes I'm an addict, but aside from a few ultra-bright lipsticks this is the only lipstick I forgoe liner with. I have nicely shaped lips, think Marilyn Monroe style like 1950s kind of, and so I can pull off a linerless lip. Cyber is a great pick for people into the dark DARK lip look, and hwile I usually favor a nice NEON color, or a golden red, Cyber's great for when I want that black and white photograph look.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MAChostage on 7/11/2006 5:59:00 PM more reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

(NC43 Studio Fix, CCC here!) Once again, a "what was I thinking??" purchase. I think maybe I was feeling ultra sexy and (overly) confident the day I purchased this. In any event I suppose I'll just scoop it out of the tube and dispose of it when I'm ready to take my empties back to MAC.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alalia86 on 7/7/2006 6:53:00 PM more reviews by alalia86

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Years ago, I found a lipstick at the dollar store that's the most perfect, purpleish-redish-brown color. As you can imagine, the quality sucks so I'm trying to replace the color. I thought cyber was it...but I was wrong. The color goes on just as dark as it appears on the tube, which usually isn't the case. So Cyber is a dark, dark purple that almost looks black. Where am going to wear this? The only way I can get it to look "appropriate" is to apply it so so very lightly, which is difficult to produce an even color. So, if you're looking for an almost black color, Cyber is for you. But don't be silly like me and expect it to look lighter once you put it on.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Catgirl82 on 4/18/2006 9:17:00 AM more reviews by Catgirl82

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a surprisingly wearable dark purple/black. I bought it for a photo shoot and it worked perfectly. It gave me the dark intensity I wanted
with out looking cold and "dead". I am very fair skinned and paired with some apricot blush (nars "torrid")it managed to keep the whole look warm. It really looked wonderful. There is a picture in my profile if you want to see :-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CynicElle on 4/9/2006 6:48:00 PM more reviews by CynicElle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this over a year ago, hated it, and left it to languish in my makeup case until recently, when my taste in cosmetics started edging towards Goth again. If I apply it with too heavy a hand it's way too dark and harsh and makes my lips look tiny, but if I apply it lightly and blot, it's a very cool look and I don't freak myself out. So I guess being a packrat paid off.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* victoriamegatron on 10/4/2005 1:07:00 PM more reviews by victoriamegatron

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is such a great super dark plum. I guess I'm a closet goth and this really does it for me. However, I still can make it look really dressy and classy (hair in bun and grey wool blazer) This color really funks up everything. It's a super color and is versatile, stain, glossy or straight up gothic from the tube. I'm so happy MAC offers us colors like these.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products