MAC Cyber

3.9

73 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/23/2010 8:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I brought Cyber on my most recent trip to NYC when I was feeling a little bit feisty. I love it!! Definitely will repurchase when needed! Like others said, it is a shade that is going to draw lots of attention so be prepared to wear it with confidence. I would have to comment that worn alone it looks like a DARK plum color, but in photos with flash and in bright light it appears to be more of a grape shade (See uploaded pic). I'm an NW50 and I love it with my skin tone so I think that this is a product other WOC might actually like, but only if you dare :-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I look like a sexy vampire wearing this lipstick. haha. The texture of this lipstick is satin and it does not bleed! It is a dark eggplant black color. Be aware! you will get people staring at you haha. I apply this lipstick straight out of the tube with no lip balm. The best part about this lipstick, is you can layer this lipstick, if you want it to look lighter or darker. For reference I have black hair, and my skin color is a nw 35. I apply 2 coats of this lipstick and use reversible lip liner ( can be a concealer). This lipstick looks best with confidence =)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/13/2009 3:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love this lipstick! As another reviewer commented, people *will* look when you wear it, so don't be surprised. I am known for my willingness to try out new looks, and I still got a few double takes. I uploaded a picture of myself wearing the lipstick alone, but you almost need multiple pictures to get a true idea of the color.

Depending on the light, and how thick you put it on, you will get different effects. the color seems to be deepest on the outside of my lips, and lighter towards the center so sometimes it seems more plum than purple. I think it looks excellent on pale skin with minimal makeup so there is no competition. I think it would look very good on a wide range of skin tones as well.

I took one lippie off because a. even for a satin finish it is a little dry b. it picks up any dry areas on your lips and intensifies them. However, I have been able to fix it quite well by using a coat either over or under of MAC Tendertone Lip Balm in Deep Sigh. It adds moisutre perfectly without altering the color over much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/4/2009 11:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The colour of this lipstick is very unique. On those girls who can pull it off, it looks like a nice and deep wine-stained colour that is dark, mysterious and sexy. However, I find that it clashes with a lot of people's skintones because there's such a prominent blue undertone. I can wear this by just dabbing lightly and then spread it on my lips with my fingers for a wine-coloured stain. But if I put it on any thicker than a few dabs, it'll invariably draw out the blue in my skin and make me look pale and lifeless. I also find that the lipstick by itself is pretty hard to wear because the colour sticks to dry parts of my lips VERY easily. So you have to prep your lips to make sure that they're ultra-smooth before applying, otherwise there'll invariably be darker spots on your lips that have more colour to them.


I loved the idea of a dark, vampy and sexy lipstick, but this isn't it. For a easier-to-wear, more plum variation of this lippie, I'd recommend Revlon Superlustrous lipstick in Black Cherries. Revlon also recently came out with a new collection of plum-toned makeup, which features a deep purple lipstick that is a VERY close dupe to this colour for half the price.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/14/2009 4:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Cyber is precious. Absolutely precious. The pictures provided don't really depict how dark the color actually is. I find that when you put on one layer it is a much lighter plum, but it's also splotchy. Thus, two layers are required...which makes it so dark and sexy.
People will look at you when you wear this. So if you're just putzing around the mall or McDonalds wearing Cyber, be ready to turn some heads. It goes on soo smoothly and the packaging is exquisite. I recommend this to only my coolest of friends and would most definitely purchase this when (not if) my tube runs out. Have fun ladies!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/16/2009 1:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Warm

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Looooooooving this color! a dark purpley black with subtle red tones. because of these reds, it's more wearable than you'd think.
All you need is some courage to wear this; if you're not fierce enough to wear it straight out of the tube (we'll get there, dont worry!) wear it as a stain... HOT!
lipliners to go with it- black eyeliner! purple eyeliner! plummy red lipliners! (my exclamation points should encourage you, hah)

enjoy it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/25/2009 1:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This lipstick is the sex!!! It was my first ever MAC product. It's a very dark lipstick that isn't quite black. If you want to make it darker, you can line your lips with a black kohl, fill in lightly for a few mm and then apply the color with a brush. This color isn't for everyone. Definitely go try this one out before buying it. It can look very dramatic or very garish (on the wrong person). But if it does look really good on you, it's definitely worth getting. The satin formula also tends to "sweat" in the tube, so be sure to store it in a cool, dry place.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2009 11:16:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this color. You can layer it up for a deep purple, kind of like the lip companion to MAC's Dark Angel nail polish, or blot it on for a plummy lip. I like that it isn't burgundy--its much easier to find dark lipstick that leans to the brown but this is really a deep, cool purple. As always-I love the smell and texture of MAC lipsticks. Can't wait to see what it will look like with MAC's creamteam Lavender Whip lipstick in the center. PURPLE!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/28/2008 5:03:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really do love the color, and the formula is great. It's just I don't know how much wear I'll get out of this. It's pretty much just sitting on my shelf right now beside my bing and I'm sitting here wondering when in the hell would I wear these colors?! (though sometime this fall would be a good time)


on 9/22/2008 4:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I like the deep dark color of this lipstick. It's very unique. Although, it seems to feather in every crevice of my lip!

I have tried priming my lips. I always use a liner, and exfoliate prior to wearing lipstick. I know I do not have dry lips because I exfoliate and treat my lips everyday, in addition, I put on Lip Fusion XL in the morning before I get in the shower.

No other lipstick makes my lips look as dry and cracked as this one does. I have a few MAC lipsticks and this is the only one that does this to me.

I am sure to wear a iridescent lip gloss (Chanel Glossimers) with this to diffuse the dry look this lipstick creates on me. If I could find a different formula or brand in the same color I would go for that.

I'm disappointed in this formulation and texture of this lipstick because the color is so unique.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
172 Reviews
provocalips
30 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin

Back to Top