NARS Shanghai Express

4.4

54 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 10/10/2005 3:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This color freaks me out. I freak myself out when i wear this... i have no clue why i bought this, i'm scared enough as it is with "REDDISH" colors, but this is DARK, matte (but creamy) blooooooody red RED :) I must use a lip brush with this, as it is very difficult to apply from the tube and get it to stay within my lip lines. Makes my lips look TINY! Although i'd like to say it's flattering, i can't. Just too MUCH. For reference, i'm an asian nc30 yellow/olive gal!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/11/2005 9:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

*Perfect* semi-matte red lipstick for those of us with yellow toned skin. It's definitely a red, but it's got enough brown tones mixed into it that it works for warmer toned girls. I'd still definitely consider it a dramatic red, and the browns don't mute it too much, but make it perfect for warmer girls.

Very dramatic if applied straight from the tube, or a bit more subtle if applied with a brush. Definitely classy and sophisticated, and my favorite red. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/29/2005 11:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

wonderful. nars lipsticks look similar to how it is in the tube and dont change into weird orangy or brown colors. very wearable red, but beware that it is a little on the darker dramatic side unless you blot well. would definately repurchase, looks good for formals or cocktail parties.


on 12/17/2004 10:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Asian women all across MUA world: This is a five-star red lipstick! Finally, finally, I holler! It has just enough brick/brown in it to mix well with yellow-toned/tan skin. The only drawback: It is slightly drying, and requires application of balm before applying and after applying. But the color lasts forever and doesn't turn pink.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/19/2004 10:06:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Woo hoo! I love red lipsticks like this, ya know that are a little bit different than the "true" red. I agree with May, it's a beautiful vivid blood red.


on 5/4/2004 8:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Shanghai is a deep red, but is too strong for me. It's like trans siberian but redder. I can only pull this off if I'm going for a specific look. Other than that it's not something I can wear everyday. But it's still pretty though.


on 12/20/2003 2:19:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Beautiful shade of red with brown undertones on my pale, kinda golden Asian skin. The only drawback is that it is a little drying. I usually apply some lipgloss over it.


on 10/11/2003 2:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm new to NARS and was blown away by all the beautiful, wearable reds. So dramatic but not in the least theatrical. It was hard to choose, but I decided I couldn't go wrong with Shanghai Express for night. It's utterly glamorous, rich and deeply pigmented


on 8/17/2003 5:42:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Brilliant! My HG for dark true red! Doesn't turn fushia. Rich color and so sexy! Looks great on PPPs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2003 4:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Not good on me ... turns a bright fuschia pink on my lips. Also, the shade just doesn't flatter my warm PPP coloring. However, I can see it might look real good on a darker skinned brunette.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
179 Reviews
provocalips
41 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

28 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top