NARS • Shanghai Express • Lipstick

rated 4.4(54 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dreamer81 on 10/10/2005 3:06:00 AM more reviews by dreamer81

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This color freaks me out. I freak myself out when i wear this... i have no clue why i bought this, i'm scared enough as it is with "REDDISH" colors, but this is DARK, matte (but creamy) blooooooody red RED :) I must use a lip brush with this, as it is very difficult to apply from the tube and get it to stay within my lip lines. Makes my lips look TINY! Although i'd like to say it's flattering, i can't. Just too MUCH. For reference, i'm an asian nc30 yellow/olive gal!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Cygentte3 on 9/11/2005 9:10:00 PM more reviews by Cygentte3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

*Perfect* semi-matte red lipstick for those of us with yellow toned skin. It's definitely a red, but it's got enough brown tones mixed into it that it works for warmer toned girls. I'd still definitely consider it a dramatic red, and the browns don't mute it too much, but make it perfect for warmer girls.

Very dramatic if applied straight from the tube, or a bit more subtle if applied with a brush. Definitely classy and sophisticated, and my favorite red. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aero21 on 3/29/2005 11:45:00 AM more reviews by aero21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

wonderful. nars lipsticks look similar to how it is in the tube and dont change into weird orangy or brown colors. very wearable red, but beware that it is a little on the darker dramatic side unless you blot well. would definately repurchase, looks good for formals or cocktail parties.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Serena94 on 12/17/2004 10:51:00 PM more reviews by Serena94

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Asian women all across MUA world: This is a five-star red lipstick! Finally, finally, I holler! It has just enough brick/brown in it to mix well with yellow-toned/tan skin. The only drawback: It is slightly drying, and requires application of balm before applying and after applying. But the color lasts forever and doesn't turn pink.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AmyBianca on 9/19/2004 10:06:00 AM more reviews by AmyBianca

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Woo hoo! I love red lipsticks like this, ya know that are a little bit different than the "true" red. I agree with May, it's a beautiful vivid blood red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsiLLneSs on 5/4/2004 8:51:00 AM more reviews by MsiLLneSs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Shanghai is a deep red, but is too strong for me. It's like trans siberian but redder. I can only pull this off if I'm going for a specific look. Other than that it's not something I can wear everyday. But it's still pretty though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 marykimlee1 on 12/20/2003 2:19:00 AM more reviews by marykimlee1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Beautiful shade of red with brown undertones on my pale, kinda golden Asian skin. The only drawback is that it is a little drying. I usually apply some lipgloss over it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juliebelle on 10/11/2003 2:27:00 AM more reviews by juliebelle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm new to NARS and was blown away by all the beautiful, wearable reds. So dramatic but not in the least theatrical. It was hard to choose, but I decided I couldn't go wrong with Shanghai Express for night. It's utterly glamorous, rich and deeply pigmented

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 horton1 on 8/17/2003 5:42:00 PM more reviews by horton1

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Brilliant! My HG for dark true red! Doesn't turn fushia. Rich color and so sexy! Looks great on PPPs.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ncdecolover on 8/13/2003 4:04:00 PM more reviews by ncdecolover

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Not good on me ... turns a bright fuschia pink on my lips. Also, the shade just doesn't flatter my warm PPP coloring. However, I can see it might look real good on a darker skinned brunette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Lipstick products