Lancome • La Vie Est Belle • Fragrances

rated 3.6(123 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deuxbisous on 8/26/2013 4:59:00 AM more reviews by deuxbisous

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I remember when this launched and there was nothing about the advertising that made me the least bit interested in trying it, so I didn't and forgot it existed. I'm glad I never read any reviews mentioning comparisons to Flowerbomb and Angel or the list of notes or classification as a 'fruity-floral-gourmand' - all of which would have put this firmly into the category of something I should dislike very much. As it turns out I wanted to try the new Armani Si and headed to my local perfume shop to do so. I quite liked it. Then the SA said 'smell this... this is my favourite and some people think there is a similarity between the two.' She passed me the smelling strip containing LVEB. Wow! I was blown away. This was pure olfactory euphoria. And it reminded me of something, in a good way... I got a flash of a feeling, of good memories, but nothing specific and I couldn't pin it down. I bought the biggest bottle and then, mistake, doused myself with the tester before leaving the store. My husband smelled me as soon as I opened the front door of the house and wasn't exactly euphoric himself. But once I took my coat off and we realised most of the perfume was stuck there, what evolved on my skin was quite a mellow but rich, pipe-tobacco oriental... and I realised of what it had reminded me - the original Mauboussin. The similarity is so strong I was surprised not to find Christine Nagel in the list of names behind this one. The drydown of LVEB definitely has that "biblical oriental" vibe that 'The Guide' mentions as one of her signatures. No matter. A great reminder to me not to dismiss fragrances without trying, and on skin. It's true it can be strong if you over-do it, but two squirts carefully applied last all day and yield that perfect level of sillage. In my opinion this is a perfectly engineered masterpiece with the sweet fruity notes dissipating quickly, the bright florals hanging around for a few hours to lift the scent (which is what I prefer about it over Mauboussin which is overall heavier/darker), and that gorgeously rich oriental base providing a low hum for a good 12 hours. I'm really pleased I found it now that we're heading into autumn as it's definitely more of a cool weather fragrance, and I can't wait to have it lingering in scarves and jumpers over the winter months.

9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 didi123 on 8/22/2013 9:36:00 PM more reviews by didi123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got some samples from a store and loved this so much. Sweet, feminine, long-lasting. But i smelled this on someone while i was outside and changed my mind about the perfume. I felt it was too strong, too sugary sweet and trying too hard. I could smell the girl metres away, surely that can't be good if you're hitting everyone around you with your overbearing perfume. That aside, this perfume reminds me of coco mademoiselle wannabe that doesn't really live up to the careless but enchanting glamour of coco. but it still comes off as a good perfume if you don't think of that comparison. If i were to buy it, i would grab the small bottle only as i love it enough to wear it sometimes but not faithfully for years as i have with coco mademoiselle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kml415 on 8/7/2013 2:12:00 PM more reviews by kml415

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

smells really good reminds me of flower bomb

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gearslut on 7/30/2013 5:15:00 PM more reviews by gearslut

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I got a same of this today from Lancome. I wish I knew that it contained patchouli. I hate patchouli! Needless to say, I hate this fragrance. I got a small dab of it on my hands and I have washed them at least 10 times with 4 different soaps and the scent is still lingering. I have a headache from it now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Magixz on 7/26/2013 1:52:00 PM more reviews by Magixz

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I finally got a lovely large sample of this fragrance and I will be buying the large bottle. I am not going to list the ingredients as I see others have done so already. I will just add here that I find this scent very lovely, soft, and lady like. It makes me feel wonderful when I wear it and I think others probably get a lift from it too. I don't find it too strong or over powering. At first spray it is powerful but that fades pretty quickly and stays closer to the body. It remains on my clothes for quite a few hours and stays fresh. It sort of reminds me of Miss Dior and Shalimar combined. Two of my favorite scents and now this one will be added to my list of favorites.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 aldehyde on 7/17/2013 7:11:00 PM more reviews by aldehyde

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Simply stated, I find this to be a cheap (in the olfactory sense) rip off of Coco Mlle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cocteautwin75 on 6/16/2013 9:25:00 PM more reviews by Cocteautwin75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite new perfume. I absolutely love it!!!! I also love the lotion (almost as much) and the shower gel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TaniaRides on 6/16/2013 11:20:00 AM more reviews by TaniaRides

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've had a sample of this for a while and avoided trying it, because the patchouli & praline made me think it would just be a disappointing Angel clone (I love Thierry Mugler's Angel, but the million fragrances made to somewhat copy it tend to be awful on me). Much to my surprise, I really like this and can't pick out the patchouli or praline at all. On me, this is mostly jasmine, iris, and vanilla with undertones of pear and currant. It's definitely a warm, sweet fragrance, but the jasmine and iris give it a sensual, perfumey feel that cuts through the sweetness nicely. A lot of floral blends tend to be too sharp and give me a headache, but I really like La Vie Est Belle. Sweet, vanilla-y floral. It's almost warm, sunny, and reminiscent of honeysuckle and golden sweetness on my skin (actually, it reminds me quite a bit of the sweet Miss Dior Cherie). I'm not sure if I'd ever purchase a full bottle, in part because I own a bottle of Miss Dior Cherie, but I do like this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CyndiBabulik on 6/5/2013 9:26:00 AM more reviews by CyndiBabulik

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

This fragrance contains: Patchouli, Orange Blossom, Gourmand, Jasmine, and Iris Palida. And in my opinion the marriage of these ingredients is absolutely phenomenal. Each component complements one another. It is strong, but not over-bearing. In fact, I think it is a bit intoxicating to the wearer and others.

Whenever I wear this fragrance, I feel sexy, pretty, and oh so feminine. It lingers a bit when I enter a room; but not in an obtrusive way. It simply envelopes your senses and that of others. This has become a Holy Grail fragrance for me because of the way it makes me feel. In every sense of the word--like a woman!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 IceCheerMom on 5/14/2013 9:45:00 AM more reviews by IceCheerMom

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Nordstrom sent me a sample of this with some makeup I ordered. It is overbearing, cloying, way too sweet and headache inducing. Usually I give away sample vials I do not care for , but that I think my daughter or a friend might like. I actually put the vial of La Vie Est Belle in a ziplock so it would not stink up my garbage can. Yes, that is how godawful I thought this was.
I rated this a 3 on packaging and price because I have no idea what they are. I wish MUA would let us not rate those for fragrance, but I can never seem to post a review without having to do so.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Fragrances products