Lancome • La Vie Est Belle • Fragrances

rated 3.7(140 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Dcruz26 on 12/9/2013 8:22:00 PM more reviews by Dcruz26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This perfume falls into the Flowerbomb...Jimmy Choo family. If you do not like those perfumes, this will not be the right fragrance for you. I love the bottle and think they did a great job with presentation. I love this perfume for the first few hours. After that, something about it does not sit well with me at all. Perfumes do not smell the same on everyone so I don't think the same will happen to everyone. It ends up smelling very baby powder like on me. I just don't know how to explain it...only that I just don't like it after a while. You will definitely get compliments and people will ask what you have on. I definitely recommend requesting a sample and trying it out before you commit to buying. I will definitely go through the bottle but would not repurchase it again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Busra30 on 11/22/2013 4:47:00 AM more reviews by Busra30

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

OMG LOVE! Everytime I spray it so many strangers ask me what I have on and some actually note it down!! (I also found out about this perfume when I smelt it on someone. This perfume turns into heaven on skin!)

I tested it, and It is the first and only perfume that stayed on my skin until the next day, so about 16 to 24 hours.
:)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Birkina on 11/16/2013 11:48:00 AM more reviews by Birkina

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Having 30% off coupon on my hands I came to Shoppersdrugmart with a strong intention to buy this perfume. I am glad I took time for reading reviews on this board last night. I totally agree with the lady who wrote it smells like a candle. If you like vanilla smell this perfume is for you. Unfortunately, I didn't notice anything else except straight vanilla and it does smell like a candle.
Ended up buying Jadore as it always work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SorceressOfTheDark on 11/12/2013 10:10:00 PM more reviews by SorceressOfTheDark

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Lancome La vie est belle is a very pretty, elegant smelling perfume for the younger set. I get the patchouli first, it's sweet and soft, not overpowering at all. It's a patchouli for beginners mixed with a candy-like flair. From beginning to end, La vie est belle is soft, never in your face, never too sweet. The pralines lay low and everything is mixed together so well that it almost becomes difficult to discern any notes or evoke any particular images. This is more of an elegant perfume to me, one to wear to dinner, to the theatre, but certainly not out shopping, camping, hanging out or to work. It seems more suited for genteel occasions, linen , silk and lighter fabrics. Not a heavyweight by any means, with the tonka beans exacerbating its vanilla presence, this Lancome addition is better suited for those who prefer quieter perfumes of patchouli leaves, a sweeter vanilla with a powdery overtone. It's not a heavyweight, not a ground-breaker, and not one to be noticed, either. It's similar to many on the market today rolling off the perfume presses. It's just another similar fragrance that others won't be able to put their finger on because it smells so familiar. The juice inside, being pink, probably appeals to a younger set, but don't let a color dissuade you from trying a perfume. Sits closer to the skin and lasts a number of hours. The bottle is pretty tho, very feminine to match the pink inside...pretty for a very quiet perfume if that's your preference.
Top Notes: Black Currant, Pear.
Middle Notes: Iris, Jasmine, Orange Blossom.
Base Notes: Patchouli, Tonka Bean, Vanilla, Praline.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kukundrela on 11/8/2013 12:19:00 AM more reviews by kukundrela

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Very very SEXY smel!I love it!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SuburbanSue on 11/6/2013 1:54:00 AM more reviews by SuburbanSue

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is Angel, 20 years later. The fruit-patchouli accord that inspired a thousand imitators (earlier ones being Sonia Rykiel, Flowerbomb, Prada) has evolved into something smelling like a cross between Lanvin Rumeur and Coco Mademoiselle. It also, oddly enough, smells slightly like Narciso Rodriguez. Notice the trend? All new fragrance releases are starting to smell alike. La Vie Est Belle does not break any new ground, but if you're looking for a sweet, strong, rosy, yet youthful fragrance that has notes of fruit to make it more playful and patchouli to give it depth, you may want to give this a try.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Teochasse on 10/25/2013 2:02:00 PM more reviews by Teochasse

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I am lucky enough to live on the US/Canadian border so I buy my perfumes at the Duty Free Shops on both sides of the border at truly amazing prices. For example I purchased today Forbidden Euphoria /3.4 ounces/ by Calvin Klein for the unbelievable price of $64.50 and Eternity Summer/3.4 ounces/ by Calvin Klein for $ 49.60.Thus being said ,I was really looking forward to try on LVEB, as I was obsessed with the bottle. This is like, the prettiest perfume bottle I have ever seen, so classy and elegant. However, when I sniffed the tester card ,it felt like I've got a punch in the face........ I must have made an instant grimace of repulsion. This fragrance is so sickly sweet, sugary and cloying......I could not sense patchouli notes, just loudly pronounced burned sugar with a flowery twist. Some people here compared it to Flower Bomb by Victor & Rolf, so I sniffed the Flower Bomb too. Ouch! Too heavy, overpowering and powdery flowery. I don't think both fragrances are similar , their only similarity is that they are both nauseatingly strong and intense scents, almost suffocating. So if you like to make a statement by smelling like a woman from a Turkish harem or a Burlesque dancer, these both perfumes are the way to go. But not for me. I love beautifully made,elegant, understated scents that are pleasure to wear both for me and the people around me. So, Thumbs Down for LVEB. Too bad, I really wanted to like it , the bottle is gorgeous.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CoralElectra on 10/22/2013 10:26:00 AM more reviews by CoralElectra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Have received also a sample and was quite curious as this perfume was in every magazine I looked. When I tried it on my hand, I couldn't believe this fragrance was so popular. One word: afwul! Will never purchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 clarissa90 on 10/15/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I got this as a sample from Ulta. When I sprayed this I thought, I have smelled this somewhere before. Now that I look at other reviews, it has to be Flowerbomb. It has the same sweet floral quality. If you are looking for a cheaper alternative, check this out. I however, will not purchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ceq373 on 10/9/2013 5:41:00 PM more reviews by ceq373

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

beautiful smell! receive lots of complements when I wear it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lancome products

More Fragrances products