Neutrogena • Shine Control Makeup • Liquid

rated 2.5(84 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.30%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrsTefee on 2/24/2013 9:01:00 PM more reviews by MrsTefee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I dont understand the bad reviews for this. I have the lightest shade classic ivory (im about nc5) and it its perfect for my skintone. I didnt feel any grainyness at all in this so im not sure where people are getting that? I did shake mine up a bit before using so maybe no one is shaking it first? I dont know haha...

I applied this with my fingers and it blended out beautifully to a matte finish (just over my spf 15 moisturizer). I didnt wear a powder after because it looked matte enough and I can just blot later if needed; its been all day and my skin still looks airbrushed! I think the trick is to use a little bit in just your t-zone area and/or on blemishes/marks you need to cover.. dont pile this one with a makeup brush or sponge because it will just look cakey. I got a medium coverage with this.

The only gripe I have is this product is too thick and doesnt pour out of the container..like at all... I dont know why neutrogena didnt put this in a tube or at least with a pump because its pretty obviously too thick for just pouring. Ill buy this again when I run out ONLY IF they change the packaging so it dispenses better but if not ill keep to the skin clearing foundation or try the healthy skin one.....otherwise its too much of a hastle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ezsand007 on 2/20/2013 12:33:00 PM more reviews by ezsand007

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, what can I say..this foundation caused my face to itch and feel like it was on fire. It excacerbated my rosacea and dried on my face like sand making it look flakey and uneven. The color selection is very limited and most if not all of colors are geared towards fair/medium skinned complexions. I am a fan of Neutrogena products and this one was an epic fail in my book.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 INOREDNET on 2/13/2013 6:43:00 AM more reviews by INOREDNET

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, I think it is far too expensive for a drugstore brand foundation (I paid $13),but I do love the finish. I have a hard time finding a foundation that works for me because they tend to break me out, but this was great! The shade I had matched my skin perfectly and the coverage was pretty good. I did notice that it didn't do that great of a job at controlling shine but I have yet to find a foundation that does and this is the best I've found so far. I finish it with mufe's duo mat and I am shine free for a good 4 hours or so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PinkIcing1 on 2/1/2013 6:46:00 PM more reviews by PinkIcing1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Terrible. It doesn't blend well at all and looks totally unnatural. Also, when I apply it, it feels like I'm rubbing sand on my face! It costs way too much for how bad it is. It actually did help control the shine, though, from what I could tell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 qkellie on 2/1/2013 4:01:00 PM more reviews by qkellie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am wearing this right now and literally want to scrape at my face, it's so frustrating. If you like foundation to do key words like "slip," "spread," "fail," "itch," "slime," "clog," and did I mention "itch," then go crazy. This stuff is for you. If not, avoid like the plague, ladies. The bottle is also terrible and impractical and forces you to use a brush. The only good thing about it is you get SO MUCH of this garbage, and as I'm not the sort to toss something unless it's giving me hives, I suppose I'll use this stupid thing up. Ugh. Whiteheads in the crease of my nose, people. I swear, I just looked at my 4 pm face in the mirror and look like an oil slick, so HOW IS THIS SHINE CONTROL?!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 khemp1992 on 1/16/2013 12:26:00 AM more reviews by khemp1992

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

If you're thinking about purchasing this costly drug store foundation, DON'T. You would think that they designed this foundation for people with oily skin types not to make you look even MORE shiny and greasy. Pros: The color I chose matched my skin alright.
Cons: Gritty sand-like texture. Makes oily skin look even more oily about an hour into wearing. Made my skin break out severely. Pricey for drugstore, I paid $15. You have to pound the container on your hand to get it out. You think you wouldnt have to worry with a trusted name like Neutrogena. This is literally the WORST foundation I have ever tried and I strongly suggest anyone with oily, acne- prone, combination, or even normal to dry skin to STAY AWAY from this. I wish I would have read the reviews before purchasing this garbage. What a joke, shine control makeup that actually encourages oil build up on your face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 molgina on 1/12/2013 11:08:00 AM more reviews by molgina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

After trying and LOVING the shine control primer from this same line I was super excited to try the foundation. This foundation was a huge disappointment. Its very hard to get it out of the bottle I have to bang it on my hand, the texture is gritty and this does not blend well at all. I tried to salvage it by mixing a little with my sunscreen/moisturizer (for a tinted moisturizer effect) and it was still very hard to blend. If it helps anyone, I have found the best application to be using a damp blender sponge but even then the foundation doesn't blend well.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 9Chickweed on 12/11/2012 3:38:00 PM more reviews by 9Chickweed

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

This new Neutrogena Shine Control Foundation, like most foundation bottles, doesn't come with a pump. I'm normally not bothered by it, because for most foundations, all you have to do is tilt the bottle to pour some onto the back of your hand. However, for this one, that isn't going to do the job. You literally have to turn it upside down and bang it repeatedly on the back of your hand to get some of the foundation. I was actually ok with the texture when spreading it onto my face with my flat Sigma brush. It reminded me of a thicker Estee Lauder Double Wear.


The coverage was pretty good. I'd say medium to full coverage if you build it up. The smell wasn't off-putting either.


So the deal KILLER? In all my years of wearing makeup, not one foundation has given me a gimungous, whopper ZIT right in the middle of my nose - so bad that 2 months later, the scar of it is still faintly visible. This has never happend before. Small pimples? Check. Itchy rash? Check. But for a company that's supposedly good about skin care, this product is pore clogging crud. I chucked it into the trash after a couple uses. I didn't even want to curse any of my family/friends with it by giving it away to them!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 diane894 on 12/7/2012 8:14:00 AM more reviews by diane894

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love the coverage of this foundation. One of the cons is that I didn't really notice it do as it claims by controlling shine. My face was oily within an hour. I feel like this foundation makes my face more oily than it normally gets. Another con is that it made me get about two or three pimples. I never got pimples until I started using this product. The packaging isn't very good either. I read some reviews commenting on the "gritty texture" that's because the foundation contains rice protein complex.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TrainedDreamer on 11/12/2012 11:34:00 PM more reviews by TrainedDreamer

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I'll start with the pros. The lightest shade is a dupe of NAR's Siberia. If you're super pale & warm toned like me you'll know all too well what a pain in the *** it is to find such light shades!

I also really love the concept of this, shine controlling make up. I'm very oily & most foundations only further make me look like a greaseball.

Now for the cons... It's a shame Nuetrogena did such a bad job with this product, as it could of easily have been a best seller. My biggest complaint is the texture. Who else thought something must of been wrong with the batch they got? Ive learned that I'm not alone on this & that every bottle is the same. It's literally gritty, like dollar store toothpaste. I felt like I was applying water mixed in with sand to my face. If feeling it wasn't bad enough - trust me, it didn't look good either! The shine controlling ingredients only worked for about an hour.

I will not repurchase nor reccomend.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Liquid products