Neutrogena • Shine Control Makeup • Liquid

rated 2.5(89 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.31%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angelique79 on 4/24/2013 10:22:00 AM more reviews by Angelique79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

You know, if you're going to promote a product as Shine Control, then it better actually control at least SOME oil. Maybe they tested this product on women who didn't actually have oily skin, who knows.

When you have oily skin, often, foundations can mix with that oil throughout the day and darken. So what looked like your matching shade at 8 am, looks at least a shade to a shade and a half darker after lunch. Having said this, Neutrogena didn't offer a shade light enough to combat this issue, but its supposed to CONTROL the shine...so you shouldn't worry about it changing colors after four hours, right? WRONG. Not only did this product not control a single thing on my face, but it darkened almost THREE shades on my face after just a few hours.

If you have normal skin, this foundation is for you....but its not for us gals with active sebaceous glands. Sigh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bigfootsR4real on 4/19/2013 9:48:00 PM more reviews by bigfootsR4real

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation!! I switched to Mary Kay Timewise foundation for a long while because my grandmother uses it, and she paid for it, so I gave it a try. I found a leftover jar of this in my makeup drawer, and used it today, and wondered why I ever switched. It's so perfect for my skin. It has great coverage, a lot of shades so you get the right one, it totally controls my oils so that I could leave out powder if I wanted to. It is a bit gritty compared to others, but I believe that's because of the rice complex. It feels so much lighter compared to the Mary Kay. Mary Kay made my face feel sticky and itchy, but this Shine Control feels like it's barely even there, and it's not sticky at all! I would totally recommend this to people with slightly oily skin like I have! It goes on with a matte finish, and really looks quite natural if you get the right shade. It's $13USD where I get it, which isn't bad, compared to Mary Kay that is $22USD for even less product. I think Mary Kay is a rip off for not very good products. I haven't been impressed with any of the products from them other than the eyeshadow and pressed powder. But, seriously get Neutrogena Shine Control! It's awesome! I will always be a loyal buyer!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lapislazuli17 on 3/30/2013 1:23:00 AM more reviews by lapislazuli17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have a general fondness of Neutragena's foundations and found myself really loving their shine control formula. It made my matte look seem really defined and well blended. Throughout the day I did notice some shine, but not as much as I normally see with other liquid bases. The reduced shine also kept my makeup from oxidizing to that weird orangey shade, since I wear a dark foundation. It also didn't streak. I would recommend this foundation, especially if your skin is oily, or if you just want a perfect matte finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 l3th4rgic on 3/28/2013 3:33:00 PM more reviews by l3th4rgic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product just yesterday at Walmart for about $13. It was a bit pricey, but I'm liking it so far. Unlike a lot of the reviews here, it doesn't make my skin itchy, it blends in well, it does keep my skin matte (i just have to blot every now and then), and it feels and looks very natural. It felt just a little grainy when I applied it, but that was probably due to my old foundation brush. Overall, I'm loving the foundation so far. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bekakerr on 3/17/2013 7:15:00 PM more reviews by bekakerr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product made me really disappointed in neutrogena. I love nearly all of their products so I really wished I could like this too.
Pros:
-good coverage
-matched my skin tone
-packaging looked very nice and simplistic
Cons:
-felt really grainy
-made my skin itch
-too thick
-dried my skin a lot
-didnt really control any shine
-cost a lot more than it was worth
In my opinion, this product was definitely not worth it. It didn't do anything for my skin and cost way too much. It may be because I only use it twice so I'm just not used to it and haven't gotten the full effects but I won't be buying this product again nor will I use this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrsTefee on 2/24/2013 9:01:00 PM more reviews by MrsTefee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I dont understand the bad reviews for this. I have the lightest shade classic ivory (im about nc5) and it its perfect for my skintone. I didnt feel any grainyness at all in this so im not sure where people are getting that? I did shake mine up a bit before using so maybe no one is shaking it first? I dont know haha...

I applied this with my fingers and it blended out beautifully to a matte finish (just over my spf 15 moisturizer). I didnt wear a powder after because it looked matte enough and I can just blot later if needed; its been all day and my skin still looks airbrushed! I think the trick is to use a little bit in just your t-zone area and/or on blemishes/marks you need to cover.. dont pile this one with a makeup brush or sponge because it will just look cakey. I got a medium coverage with this.

The only gripe I have is this product is too thick and doesnt pour out of the container..like at all... I dont know why neutrogena didnt put this in a tube or at least with a pump because its pretty obviously too thick for just pouring. Ill buy this again when I run out ONLY IF they change the packaging so it dispenses better but if not ill keep to the skin clearing foundation or try the healthy skin one.....otherwise its too much of a hastle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ezsand007 on 2/20/2013 12:33:00 PM more reviews by ezsand007

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, what can I say..this foundation caused my face to itch and feel like it was on fire. It excacerbated my rosacea and dried on my face like sand making it look flakey and uneven. The color selection is very limited and most if not all of colors are geared towards fair/medium skinned complexions. I am a fan of Neutrogena products and this one was an epic fail in my book.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 INOREDNET on 2/13/2013 6:43:00 AM more reviews by INOREDNET

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, I think it is far too expensive for a drugstore brand foundation (I paid $13),but I do love the finish. I have a hard time finding a foundation that works for me because they tend to break me out, but this was great! The shade I had matched my skin perfectly and the coverage was pretty good. I did notice that it didn't do that great of a job at controlling shine but I have yet to find a foundation that does and this is the best I've found so far. I finish it with mufe's duo mat and I am shine free for a good 4 hours or so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PinkIcing1 on 2/1/2013 6:46:00 PM more reviews by PinkIcing1

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Terrible. It doesn't blend well at all and looks totally unnatural. Also, when I apply it, it feels like I'm rubbing sand on my face! It costs way too much for how bad it is. It actually did help control the shine, though, from what I could tell.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 qkellie on 2/1/2013 4:01:00 PM more reviews by qkellie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am wearing this right now and literally want to scrape at my face, it's so frustrating. If you like foundation to do key words like "slip," "spread," "fail," "itch," "slime," "clog," and did I mention "itch," then go crazy. This stuff is for you. If not, avoid like the plague, ladies. The bottle is also terrible and impractical and forces you to use a brush. The only good thing about it is you get SO MUCH of this garbage, and as I'm not the sort to toss something unless it's giving me hives, I suppose I'll use this stupid thing up. Ugh. Whiteheads in the crease of my nose, people. I swear, I just looked at my 4 pm face in the mirror and look like an oil slick, so HOW IS THIS SHINE CONTROL?!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Liquid products