Neutrogena • Shine Control Makeup • Liquid

rated 2.5(93 reviews)

Average Rating.2.5
Would buy this product again.31%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dianelarsenemail on 5/9/2013 9:57:00 PM more reviews by dianelarsenemail

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

What i like about this foundation:
-inexpensive
-did not break me out
-absorbs well onto skin

what i dislike about this foundation:
-does not match my skin color exactly
-prefer mineral over liquid
-does not cover acne scars
-not long lasting
-made my face shiny

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 loveover0 on 5/9/2013 9:32:00 PM more reviews by loveover0

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This foundation would be a decent foundation if it wasn't marketed to those with oily skin.

Pros:
- nice dewy finish (when applied with a flat top bush)
- covers light to medium acne and scars
- feels light

Cons:
- NOT FOR OILY SKIN
- high shine within 2 hours
- transfers easily
- gritty texture (but can be avoided when applied with brush)
- you have to use a lot of product for a good coverage
- pretty pricey for a drugstore product ($13) that you have to use a lot of to work
- terrible packaging

I like it enough to try to finish the bottle but not enough to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennifckerrr on 5/4/2013 7:05:00 PM more reviews by Jennifckerrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

If you have near perfect skin and just need to correct your skin tone, this product may be suitable for you. This product has less coverage than a typical BB cream or tinted moisturizer. I wanted something that feels light and will help with shine control in the summer. I ended up having to put multiple layers on with concealer, which defeated the whole purpose. My skin isn't bad, just a little bit of flaws here and there, so I was surprise when the foundation didn't cover any of my imperfections. I applied it onto one side of my face and the only difference is the skin tone, but all the spots were still visible.
The packaging is unsuitable for the foundation. This liquid foundation is thick, so you have to shake the bottle upside down to get it out of the bottle.
The texture is grainy, it feels almost as if you're scrubbing your skin.
I really don't think anyone should buy this product. There are much better products at better price that can give you better results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sweetvictory23 on 4/27/2013 10:15:00 PM more reviews by sweetvictory23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Oh gosh, this is the worst foundation I have ever used. I bought it for the shine control factor and it does not help even a little bit with oil control. If that wasn't bad enough, it is VERY grainy and I agree with other users- feels like you are rubbing sand on your face. And what's worse is that it is hard to blend, therefore you must do more rubbing and it is terrible. I have used this a few times attempting to give this a chance and also get my money's worth. Sometimes it makes my face itch/burn and sometimes it doesn't. I am so disappointed in this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Angelique79 on 4/24/2013 10:22:00 AM more reviews by Angelique79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

You know, if you're going to promote a product as Shine Control, then it better actually control at least SOME oil. Maybe they tested this product on women who didn't actually have oily skin, who knows.

When you have oily skin, often, foundations can mix with that oil throughout the day and darken. So what looked like your matching shade at 8 am, looks at least a shade to a shade and a half darker after lunch. Having said this, Neutrogena didn't offer a shade light enough to combat this issue, but its supposed to CONTROL the shine...so you shouldn't worry about it changing colors after four hours, right? WRONG. Not only did this product not control a single thing on my face, but it darkened almost THREE shades on my face after just a few hours.

If you have normal skin, this foundation is for you....but its not for us gals with active sebaceous glands. Sigh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bigfootsR4real on 4/19/2013 9:48:00 PM more reviews by bigfootsR4real

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this foundation!! I switched to Mary Kay Timewise foundation for a long while because my grandmother uses it, and she paid for it, so I gave it a try. I found a leftover jar of this in my makeup drawer, and used it today, and wondered why I ever switched. It's so perfect for my skin. It has great coverage, a lot of shades so you get the right one, it totally controls my oils so that I could leave out powder if I wanted to. It is a bit gritty compared to others, but I believe that's because of the rice complex. It feels so much lighter compared to the Mary Kay. Mary Kay made my face feel sticky and itchy, but this Shine Control feels like it's barely even there, and it's not sticky at all! I would totally recommend this to people with slightly oily skin like I have! It goes on with a matte finish, and really looks quite natural if you get the right shade. It's $13USD where I get it, which isn't bad, compared to Mary Kay that is $22USD for even less product. I think Mary Kay is a rip off for not very good products. I haven't been impressed with any of the products from them other than the eyeshadow and pressed powder. But, seriously get Neutrogena Shine Control! It's awesome! I will always be a loyal buyer!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lapislazuli17 on 3/30/2013 1:23:00 AM more reviews by lapislazuli17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have a general fondness of Neutragena's foundations and found myself really loving their shine control formula. It made my matte look seem really defined and well blended. Throughout the day I did notice some shine, but not as much as I normally see with other liquid bases. The reduced shine also kept my makeup from oxidizing to that weird orangey shade, since I wear a dark foundation. It also didn't streak. I would recommend this foundation, especially if your skin is oily, or if you just want a perfect matte finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 l3th4rgic on 3/28/2013 3:33:00 PM more reviews by l3th4rgic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product just yesterday at Walmart for about $13. It was a bit pricey, but I'm liking it so far. Unlike a lot of the reviews here, it doesn't make my skin itchy, it blends in well, it does keep my skin matte (i just have to blot every now and then), and it feels and looks very natural. It felt just a little grainy when I applied it, but that was probably due to my old foundation brush. Overall, I'm loving the foundation so far. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bekakerr on 3/17/2013 7:15:00 PM more reviews by bekakerr

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product made me really disappointed in neutrogena. I love nearly all of their products so I really wished I could like this too.
Pros:
-good coverage
-matched my skin tone
-packaging looked very nice and simplistic
Cons:
-felt really grainy
-made my skin itch
-too thick
-dried my skin a lot
-didnt really control any shine
-cost a lot more than it was worth
In my opinion, this product was definitely not worth it. It didn't do anything for my skin and cost way too much. It may be because I only use it twice so I'm just not used to it and haven't gotten the full effects but I won't be buying this product again nor will I use this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrsTefee on 2/24/2013 9:01:00 PM more reviews by MrsTefee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I dont understand the bad reviews for this. I have the lightest shade classic ivory (im about nc5) and it its perfect for my skintone. I didnt feel any grainyness at all in this so im not sure where people are getting that? I did shake mine up a bit before using so maybe no one is shaking it first? I dont know haha...

I applied this with my fingers and it blended out beautifully to a matte finish (just over my spf 15 moisturizer). I didnt wear a powder after because it looked matte enough and I can just blot later if needed; its been all day and my skin still looks airbrushed! I think the trick is to use a little bit in just your t-zone area and/or on blemishes/marks you need to cover.. dont pile this one with a makeup brush or sponge because it will just look cakey. I got a medium coverage with this.

The only gripe I have is this product is too thick and doesnt pour out of the container..like at all... I dont know why neutrogena didnt put this in a tube or at least with a pump because its pretty obviously too thick for just pouring. Ill buy this again when I run out ONLY IF they change the packaging so it dispenses better but if not ill keep to the skin clearing foundation or try the healthy skin one.....otherwise its too much of a hastle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Liquid products