Neutrogena Pink Grapefruit Oil-Free Cleansing Wipes

2.5

54 reviews

29% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/22/2013 8:20:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Quick highlights: smelly, leaves residue, doesn't really help acne |||||
I have some acne on my upper back because my skin tends to be very oily in that area. I wanted a wipe that I could use quickly in the morning to wipe down my back and remove the oil. I liked that these wipes contain salicylic acid, which helps stop acne, and that they are oil free. These did help me feel less oily, but the clean feeling didn't last long. They leave a bit of a sticky residue that takes a while to dry - I have to wait a minute or two before I put my shirt on. These smell SO strongly, and in my opinion, nothing like grapefruit. It's sort of a chemically smell and it's very powerful. I can't wear perfume after using these wipes because the two smells would be awful together. I wouldn't use these on my face because they're strong and I'd be afraid the fumes would sting my eyes. All of this would be worth it if they helped my acne, but I've gone through a whole pack of wipes without seeing a huge difference. I probably wouldn't buy these again.



on 3/20/2013 5:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Stings quite harshly and burns. In response to the reviewer who wrote that individuals complaining about burning in the eye area failed to "read directions," the vapor from the formula in these wipes were seriously burning my eyes once I took one out of the package and was *about* to start wiping on my cheek, which is nowhere near my eyes. My face totally felt like it was stinging when I used these wipes, and I do not have sensitive skin at all, so it takes a lot for my skin to react to anything. I don't have sensitive eyes either.

I don't have this product anymore, so I do not know if it has alcohol in it, but it sure felt that way with the amount of stinging.

Pretty disappointing, since I love a lot of other Neutrogena products and used their facial cleansers for over ten years without problems. I have even used the grapefruit cleanser and body wash without any problems, including relating to stinging.

For other comparisons, I found that Aveeno and Simple wipes were much less harsh. Definitely avoid this product.


on 2/11/2013 7:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love it! It smells pretty strong, but it smells good after a while. To everyone who's saying it's not removing their makeup that well or anything - IT DOESN'T PROMISE THAT. It's just a cleansing wipe... For the people who say it's burning their eyes, read the instructions on the back.
All in all, the price is a bit much, but it's a good product. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 2/1/2013 10:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I am LOVING these wipes! I don't use them as makeup remover, and I'd never put these around my eye area...because they're a bit harsh.
I "discovered" these babies by accident. I did a photo shoot for an indie horror film I'm in, and had to use this horrid fake blood that stained my face and chest and hands-yikes! One of my good friends, who is also in the movie, let me come over to her apartment to take a shower, which I gladly accepted. I scrubbed, I used baby oil, I used grainy exfoliators and a wash cloth...and still had pink skin. Once I exited the shower, I'd given up hope of ever looking cute again, with my pink chin and pink tatas and red right hand. Then I saw these wipes. I tried one and Voila! I was lily white one mo' gin. It was barely short of a miracle. I also noticed the next day that the whiteheads on my chin were smaller, so, out of curiousity, I purchased a pack of these wipes, and have been hooked ever since! I use them after I wash my face with Cerave, and before I moisturize, so, sort of like cloth toners. They slightly sting but really seem to get any excess oil or makeup off of my skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/14/2013 10:55:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this product. My mom bought them for me because they were out of the makeup remover wipes that i usually get. Even though they were not meant as a makeup remover, i use them in that way. After using them for a week now i can see such an improvement the overall texture and look of my skin. I love the smell of these, and i will be repurchasing this.


on 9/30/2012 10:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I had previously been using the Neutrogena Night Calming wipes and happened to pick these up by accident. At first I really disliked these wipes because the smell is so powerful! Seriously, these things smell so strong they will make your whole bathroom stink! But ... I love these on my skin and I actually think they've helped to clear up some small acne pimples I used to get on the regular. They do a good job of removing makeup (I follow up with my cleanser and Clarisonic) and they do not make my eyes burn (unless I actually get the juice in my eye which I am careful not to do). Now these are the only makeup wipes I buy. It took a while to get over the strong smell, but I absolutely love these now! I only wish Neutrogena sold these in bulk!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/8/2012 3:47:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Holy crap, these are literally the WORST make up remover I've ever used. -Ever-. I'd rather use witch hazel on sand paper to remove my eyeshadow. These things burn like nothing else, it's like someone poured Satan on a cloth and packaged them, then sold them to unknowing customers. Terrible! I didn't even have to put it near my eyes to make them start burning, that's how bad it was!

One pass stung, second time I went over my skin, my face was on FIRE. Not to mention, whatever is on these dries to a horrible sticky sort of film that is hard to remove. Oil free? Oh you bet your bottom dollar, so oil free they'll take all the moisture out of your skin and leave you feeling like a dried out leather couch that's been sitting in the Ashley Furniture Store stock room for three decades.

For the love of all things holy, DON'T BUY THESE THINGS IF YOU HAVE SENSITIVE SKIN. Heck, if you have NORMAL skin! If you want your skin to not feel like it's been smacked repeatedly with a belt sander, covered and petrol and set of fire, DON'T buy these. Find something else! If you have to spend a little more on something else, then do that, seriously, this is just not worth that agony.

Summary: Awful, will burn like the eye of sauron, dries sticky and leaves your skin with NO moisture in it, makes face feels stiff and disgusting.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

These smell good, but the appeal stops there. They make my eyes water, even when I keep them away from my eyes, which is the main purpose of wipes for me anyway. I like to use them to remove the eye makeup I wear. I can't use these for that, and even when I use them on the rest of my face I get really irritated and teary. I will not be repurchasing.


on 8/13/2012 4:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Let me start off by saying that these wipes smell pretty amazing. However, they didn't sit well with my sensitive skin. The first night I tried it, I woke up with slightly irritated skin. I thought I'd give it one more try the night after, and the next morning woke up with actual pimples. Which is really rare since I'm more proned to blemishes. I know I should've stoped using it immidiately after the first nights results but it just smelled so good! I would definitely not recommend this product to anyone with sensitive skin. I've been using garnier's oil-free towlettes for about two weeks and those are definitely working better with my skin.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I really like these for quick removal of my makeup when I get home late from school, however.. the scent in these are ridiculous. It made my eyes burn when I first started using these (and I did not these these on my eyes as directed on the packaging). Besides the overly strong scent, it helped with keeping acne at bay, and removing makeup, 1 star off for the overpowering scent.


Back to Top