Maybelline • Illegal Length Fiber Extensions- Waterproof • Mascara

rated 3.4(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.57%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* silkpuppet on 6/4/2012 5:23:00 PM more reviews by silkpuppet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I want to review this mascara solely for its layering properties. By itself, I am pleased with the deep black colour but it's a little heavy and obviously doesn't do much for volume. Mediocre silver packaging and decent short-bristle wand. HOWEVER, I use this in conjunction with my HG, Maybelline the Falsies Flared, and it adds tons of length. I apply the Falsies all over, then use the Illegal Length on the tips of my lashes and all over the bottom ones. If I go really crazy, it gets a bit spidery and flaky but otherwise it looks fantastic. The combo of those two mascaras really does look like a natural pair of false lashes. I have tried this with the non-WP and it works well also.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xcarbonx on 5/19/2012 2:45:00 PM more reviews by xcarbonx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I bought this on a whim since it was on sale for 6.99.
I didn't have great expectations for it since mascara is the one thing I really love to splurge on. Diorshow is my absolute favourite.

My first impression when opening the cardboard/plastic container was that the mascara felt, and looked, very cheap. The tube is lightweight plastic that doesn't feel very durable.

My first application went horribly wrong - I tried to apply it like I do my other mascaras; start at the base and wiggle. Bad move. I instantly had fibers in my eyes and being a contact lense wearer, this was unbearable. I cleaned my eyes and tried again using the same technique. No fibers in my eyes this time, but my lashes were extremely clumpy and the fibers were sticking out in all directions. It looked awful. I wrote it off and put it in my 'box of things I don't use'.

I decided to try it again after seeing some good reviews on Youtube and totally changed my application approach. I started about 2mm from the base of my lashes and instead of wiggling, I pulled straight up and out (as lightly as possible). This created the most beautiful length I have ever gotten from any mascara. I wore, and have been wearing, this for around 10 hours per day and I've had no flaking or transferring. It also holds the curl beautifully.

My one downside with this mascara is that I don't get any volume with it. I wasn't anticipating much volume, but I figured a little bit would come as standard. Unfortunately this isn't the case. For this reason, I wouldn't repurchase but I'll definately use up the tube since it does give me the most amazing length.

I'd recommend this mascara if you have medium length, relatively full lashes. If you have short or long sparse lashes, it's not going to do anything for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 WistfulRouge on 5/15/2012 12:07:00 AM more reviews by WistfulRouge

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this is by far, the very best mascara i have ever purchased.
firstly, i was drawn in by all the advertising and the packaging. the tube it comes in kind of resembles the maybelline lash stiletto mascara. i personally have never tried lash stiletto, or even fibre mascaras. needless to say, i wasnt exactly sure about what to expect with this mascara.
the wand has a fibre bristled applicator, and i definitely like these types of brushes other than the stubbly plastic ones. this wand seperates my eyelashes amazingly well.
as far as the formula is concerned, this makes my lashes look three times longer. no joke. i have really short lashes that are extremely sparse and thin. this is definitely my HG mascara.
but the thing is, that since this mascara is a lengthening mascara, i always put over a layer of volumizing mascara to give that extra flare and volume. i use cheater by thebalm.
i give my lippies to this mascara!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cinnamonglaze on 4/19/2012 6:12:00 PM more reviews by cinnamonglaze

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this souly for lengthening as I already have much needed volume. I think that's why so many gave bad reviews. But it is what it is- a Lengthening mascara. I really like the brush- it defines & separates. The formula goes on smooth, nice rich black color- I got blackest black- does not clump up at all on my lashes, & zero flaking which is hard to find.
I like to do one coat of illegal length, one coat of lash blast then one more coat of Illegal length again. My lashes look really long, rich in color, opens up my eyes more as if I used a lash curler & lasts fantastically through a 12 hour day. The only thing I don't like( & why I took one lippie off) is that I have to use makeup remover to get it off when I usually just use purity made simple cleanser. Ill try removing with purity mineral oil, hopefully that will get it off without me having to bother with remover then it'll be perfect. I do recommend if your main concern is lengthening the lashes. But it also works if you layer it with a volumizing mascara like I do.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mirageangelhope on 4/6/2012 2:20:00 AM more reviews by mirageangelhope

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I did not see this mascara adding any extensions to my lashes.I was told that it adds tubes on to your lashes wasn't my experience.It adds a little length but no where near the amount that voluminous mascara does.THIS is just a nice formula is dryer and less messy than voluminous but it's just average and for 11$ I want better than average/

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MedusaSant on 4/2/2012 7:57:00 AM more reviews by MedusaSant

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Despite the negative reviews Ive read for this product, I went ahead and purchased one. Blackest Black. It went on perfectly and added a LOT of length, not so much volume tho. It holds up well, 8 hours wearing and no flakes or smears. Its not easy to remove. Cream remover doesn't work fast enough for me, so I use oil remover to reduce the amount of contact with my lids.
*IMPORTANT* WHEN APPLYING THIS MASCARA I FIND IT WORKS BEST IF YOU DO SLOW, STEADY PASSES. THREE OR FOUR IS SUFFICIANT FOR ME... JUST PUT IT ON SLOOOOOW.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ceriseangel2 on 4/1/2012 8:55:00 PM more reviews by ceriseangel2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is an okay product. The formula is okay but the large brush with spread out thin bristles makes the application really clumpy and messy. It didn't give great lengths and feels uncomfortable on the eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Dakotaf13 on 3/20/2012 3:34:00 AM more reviews by Dakotaf13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this because I'm a mascara layerer and I wanted to add this to my collection. I'm going to keep playing with different application techniques but after a week of wearing it, I realized I hated the way it made my lashes look. It did add length but it clumped and looked spidery! The main problem is the brush because it's long and narrow and the bristles are widely spread out...I'm going to try the formula with a cover girl or tarte brush, maybe that will work better!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 kk71350 on 3/18/2012 7:41:00 PM more reviews by kk71350

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I fell for the gimic of this mascara, I thought it would make my lashes really long and that the fiber extensions are just what I needed, but this mascara is really nothing special. Sure, it lengthens decently, it has decent staying power, but the brush reminds me of Great Lash which means that it clumps. You will not get the dramatic false lash look with this mascara unless you layer it. I say, spend your money on a better mascar

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fullmoonlv7 on 2/22/2012 12:56:00 AM more reviews by fullmoonlv7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Along with my HG Volum' Express The Falsies waterproof mascara, this one can actually keep up my super straight Asian lashes (after curling of course). This gives cleaner, longer lashes than The Falsies, but the volume is lacking, which was expected since it was promoted as a lengthening mascara. If I feel extra fancy I'll swipe this on before The Falsies for super dramatic lashes, but since it gives such great definition for my lower lashes I tend to use it more as a lower lash mascara. Great mascara overall, even better if you're looking for curl and length.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products