Maybelline • Color Tattoo 24hr Cream Gel Shadow in Tough as Taupe • Eye Shadow

rated 4.0(237 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 TigerBaby on 5/21/2013 2:51:00 PM more reviews by TigerBaby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

The Color Tattoo line sounded intriguing to me--I figured that the products would somewhat resemble Paint Pots in texture and appearance.
"Tough as Taupe" caught my eye one day as a was speeding through the makeup aisle.
The color through the jar appeared to be a very pretty purplish-tinged taupe,
so into my cart it went. Upon opening the jar, and running my (clean!) finger across the product surface, my jaw dropped open! The purplish taupe "skin" on top gave way
to the ugliest muddiest color that I'd ever laid eyes on.
Trying to be optimistic, I put some on my eyelids in hopes that this color looked better on me than in the jar. Not! Two very muddy looking eyes are what stared back at me,
and it took forever to get it off.
I just hope that I can dig up that receipt!



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rhody on 5/21/2013 1:44:00 PM more reviews by rhody

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Terrible. Compared with the other tattoos, this has no staying power at all - it creases on me within a couple of hours. The colour is awful - more muddy than taupe. It is much darker than it looks in the pot. You could spend your hard-earned money on this, or you could rub some mud on your lids - it would have about the same result.

EDIT: I disliked this so much I gave it away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misanders on 5/21/2013 1:25:00 PM more reviews by misanders

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Not happy with this product. Bought this in hopes that it would be a dupe for Mac's paint pots. And at first it seemed to work quite well. Unfortunately I've had this maybe 4 months and it is completely dried out and unworkable. I've had Mac paint pots a year and they are still creamy. For me I'd rather spend just a little more and have it last longer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Makeupjunky14 on 5/18/2013 3:29:00 PM more reviews by Makeupjunky14

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

When I first saw this, I thought i was getting a purple-ish color. When I rubbed my finger on it, the true color started to show. I was surprised. It is very creamy and stays on a very long time with a primer

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 adrianna511 on 5/9/2013 10:37:00 PM more reviews by adrianna511

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I think they literally meant "tough" when they named this, because it's tough to get on. I also got this in "barely branded" which is part of the metal line. The barely branded one is actually nice to put on and glides on and is creamy. The tough taupe one is really thick and stiff and honestly kind of hard to put on and blend. I tried my finger and also brushes and it was kind of hard to put on. I wouldn't use it as a crease color or anything like that because it's so hard to blend but you could use it as a lid color or base I'm sure. Since I love the color so much I probably won't be returning it, I'll find a use for it. I might use it for my eyebrows. Maybe leaving it on a sunny windowsill would warm it up and make it easier to put on. But yeah, if you think it being thick and kind of hard to apply would really annoy you, you might want to steer clear of it. It stays on nicely though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 peacefulheart on 5/9/2013 3:25:00 PM more reviews by peacefulheart

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Grey, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I do not like it as a shadow. The color was like concrete on me. I agree that many will be able to use it as a brow filler, but not me. There IS alot of product for the money, & that is a plus. Would not repurchase. I returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hotdg77 on 5/5/2013 8:39:00 AM more reviews by hotdg77

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Personally I found this product extremely pigmented and found it best when applied with my fingers. It must be blended in quickly though because once it sets it won't budge! I really like how buildable it is, it can be sheered out to create a naturally defined eye or can be a dramatic grey smoky eye. It barely creases on me even when I don't apply a primer beforehand :) It was a lot cheaper than I had expected and I love this product so much!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hotpa2d on 4/29/2013 3:15:00 PM more reviews by hotpa2d

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The positive reviews have suckered me into buying this. This did not work for me at all! It remained a creamy texture throughout the day, and kept making these liquidy half-moons over my crease which I had to constantly keep blending in. Ugh, just a horrible product for me. The color is pasty looking to boot. I got it on sale, so it wasn't too difficult to toss it in the trash where it belongs.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 donna409 on 4/28/2013 1:38:00 PM more reviews by donna409

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

After reading all the rave reviews I had to give these a try. I purchased the taupe, gold, bronze and audacious asphalt. I have to say I was very disappointed. For me, they went on very chalky, almost impossible to blend and the colors especially the taupe (which I had high hopes for) gave a look of having a been punched. I tried using a different eye primer and washing my lid with another color first but to no avail. The bronze color I had the same issues with application and blending and couldn't get to work for me either. The asphalt color the same however, I did try using it with a liner brush for lining upper lash line and this worked pretty well, still a bit difficult to blend, but for lining I would use it. The packaging is fine and so is the price if it works for you. For me, I'm just glad my drugstore has a liberal return policy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 atlantagal123 on 4/24/2013 11:15:00 AM more reviews by atlantagal123

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect product! I'm 58 with a little crinkling on my upper lids. This matte cream goes on smooth as silk, blends well and stays on until you take it off! You can use your finger to blend it. It's my go-to product especially when in a hurry, and don't want to bother with eye shadow base and powders. LOVE IT!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Eye Shadow products