Bourjois Volumizer Mascara

3.7

53 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/21/2011 8:26:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I really love this but I do admit I'm quite easy to please when it comes to mascaras. I like to lenghten my lashes and I really hate clumps so the first step of this mascara is perfect for me.I don't use the volumizing part very often and when I do the result isn't fantastic but it is good. Perhaps I'm just a sucker for gimmicky products but I love the fact it can be used in two different ways. I quite like the big bristles although I usually prefer plastic wands. The formula is really nice, I wear contacts and have sensitive eyes and this doesn't irritate them in any way. It doesn't smudge or flake but then again mascaras rarely do that on me. It's also really easy to remove with an oil based make up remover (although I guess you could use a regular one as well).
Edit: Removed one lippie, the second step is really hard to work with, gives you really clumpy lashes.



on 6/22/2011 7:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This mascars is simply wonderful. Regarded as a dupe of Mac's Haute Lash mascara, I must admit that having tried both, I actually prefer the Bourjois version.

I loathe the rubber wand mascaras and so it was great to have some lovely soft fibre bristles to work with. It makes your lashes look full without making them hard or crumbly. I've had non-stop compliments about my eyes since wearing this mascara. Definitely be purchasing this again!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 5/31/2011 4:59:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a great mascara for vavavavoom lashes. I do think they should do something about the second brush. You do get too much product. I can manage it and get really glam lashes, but it's easy to end up with clumpies if you aren't prepared for it. I would buy this again. It didn't smudge or flake and came off quite easily at night with eye makeup remover.


on 5/29/2011 6:50:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I hated this mascara. It clumped terribly and the second brush came out of the tube with way too much product on it. The first brush was ok and did separate but didn't give a very defined look.
Overall, I tried it a couple of times but it just looked messy so won't try to use it up and I definitely won't buy it again.


on 5/18/2011 2:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this mascara after hearing Tanya from Pixiwoo2 rave about it. I have heard that it is supposed to leave no clumping and that claim is also how they market this product but it was one of the clumpiest mascaras I have ever used. The first step doesn't really do much for my lashes and the second step just adds a whole whack of mascara that does not define, separate or thicken. For twenty dollars that's really disappointing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2011 5:21:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Excellent mascara! As someone pointed out, this is a 2 step brush. It uses a different wiper screen called a web so the first wipe is just loaded with way less product. The second stage dumps more mascara onto the brush. Both brush and mascara are excellent. This cost me 20$Canadian at Shoppers Drug Mart. Up till now I have thought that Estee Lauder's Projectionist was my top favorite. I prefer the first wipe for day and more volume for night.

Fine soft defined lashes with zero clumps!

Lasts all day without smearing flaking or smudging onto my oily browbone.

Washes off easily at night.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/2/2011 11:31:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

The step 1 brush is very nice and gives a natural look but putting on step 2 after just leaves me with clumpy spidery lashes. So after using up all of step 1 I will be in search yet again of a decent mascara.


on 3/22/2011 11:48:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This product is very similar in concept to the MAC Haute & Naughty mascara with its 2-in-1 brush system. I was curious to try this type of mascara so I got a chance to purchase the Bourjois version while on holidays in Hong Kong. I paid the equivalent of $16 CAD for this, which is more than my usual price range (typically drugstore brands $8 at regular price). I quite like the formula of this mascara - as in other Bourjois mascaras I've tried in the past, it leaves my lashes very soft and fluttery, and not clumpy or spidery looking. There was some flaking but no smearing on me. Why this mascara did not receive a higher rating from me is the fact that only step 1 of the wand was usable for me. The step 2 wand was ridiculously large and would deposit way too much product onto my lashes causing my lashes to clump together. So in the end, the gimmicky 2 step wand wasn't worth the hype - I would recommend other Bourjois mascaras simply because they all generally perform well, but don't bother with the gimmicky delivery system.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/20/2011 3:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Both steps use the same brush, but in the second step the brush takes in much more product. You can see how it works if you unroll the second step out of the bottle, and then unroll the first one while the brush is out. It's funny and it doesn't work too well for me. The brush itself is not too bad, but the second step takes in way too much product, it clumps and overloads the lashes. The first one is not enough by itself, so... I would always rather repurchase Volume black clubbing mascara or the Coup the Teatre one.


on 1/6/2011 8:55:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was curious to buy a mascara from this brand after hearing from others how awesome they were.

When I went to the store, the salesperson recommended this mascara after I said that I wanted something to increase volume. And wow, does this increase volume. I was using CoverGirl Lashblast and have alltogether stopped using it because this is so much better.

If I want a more natural/no-makeup look, I only do step 1, but I usually prefer looking more done-up so I follow that up with one coat of step 2.

I haven't experienced any clumping or smudging or running and despite not being waterproof, this mascara lasts. a. long. time. I've been using my eye makeup remover to get it all off after a long day.

It was a bit expensive ($20 CDN), but it does what it says, so I'm satisfied. I'm definitely going to buy either this exact mascara again, or one from this brand and I recommend for others to try it out, if you can find it in your area :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Bourjois Products

image

Ambre D'Or

28 reviews
Back to Top