Bourjois • Volumizer Mascara • Mascara

rated 3.7(49 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 Orlikow on 5/18/2011 2:56:00 PM more reviews by Orlikow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I bought this mascara after hearing Tanya from Pixiwoo2 rave about it. I have heard that it is supposed to leave no clumping and that claim is also how they market this product but it was one of the clumpiest mascaras I have ever used. The first step doesn't really do much for my lashes and the second step just adds a whole whack of mascara that does not define, separate or thicken. For twenty dollars that's really disappointing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* athenasius on 5/8/2011 5:21:00 PM more reviews by athenasius

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Excellent mascara! As someone pointed out, this is a 2 step brush. It uses a different wiper screen called a web so the first wipe is just loaded with way less product. The second stage dumps more mascara onto the brush. Both brush and mascara are excellent. This cost me 20$Canadian at Shoppers Drug Mart. Up till now I have thought that Estee Lauder's Projectionist was my top favorite. I prefer the first wipe for day and more volume for night.

Fine soft defined lashes with zero clumps!

Lasts all day without smearing flaking or smudging onto my oily browbone.

Washes off easily at night.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 niffniff on 5/2/2011 11:31:00 AM more reviews by niffniff

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

The step 1 brush is very nice and gives a natural look but putting on step 2 after just leaves me with clumpy spidery lashes. So after using up all of step 1 I will be in search yet again of a decent mascara.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amarock on 3/22/2011 11:48:00 AM more reviews by amarock

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product is very similar in concept to the MAC Haute & Naughty mascara with its 2-in-1 brush system. I was curious to try this type of mascara so I got a chance to purchase the Bourjois version while on holidays in Hong Kong. I paid the equivalent of $16 CAD for this, which is more than my usual price range (typically drugstore brands $8 at regular price). I quite like the formula of this mascara - as in other Bourjois mascaras I've tried in the past, it leaves my lashes very soft and fluttery, and not clumpy or spidery looking. There was some flaking but no smearing on me. Why this mascara did not receive a higher rating from me is the fact that only step 1 of the wand was usable for me. The step 2 wand was ridiculously large and would deposit way too much product onto my lashes causing my lashes to clump together. So in the end, the gimmicky 2 step wand wasn't worth the hype - I would recommend other Bourjois mascaras simply because they all generally perform well, but don't bother with the gimmicky delivery system.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 draganita on 3/20/2011 3:33:00 PM more reviews by draganita

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Both steps use the same brush, but in the second step the brush takes in much more product. You can see how it works if you unroll the second step out of the bottle, and then unroll the first one while the brush is out. It's funny and it doesn't work too well for me. The brush itself is not too bad, but the second step takes in way too much product, it clumps and overloads the lashes. The first one is not enough by itself, so... I would always rather repurchase Volume black clubbing mascara or the Coup the Teatre one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AerisCeres on 1/6/2011 8:55:00 AM more reviews by AerisCeres

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was curious to buy a mascara from this brand after hearing from others how awesome they were.

When I went to the store, the salesperson recommended this mascara after I said that I wanted something to increase volume. And wow, does this increase volume. I was using CoverGirl Lashblast and have alltogether stopped using it because this is so much better.

If I want a more natural/no-makeup look, I only do step 1, but I usually prefer looking more done-up so I follow that up with one coat of step 2.

I haven't experienced any clumping or smudging or running and despite not being waterproof, this mascara lasts. a. long. time. I've been using my eye makeup remover to get it all off after a long day.

It was a bit expensive ($20 CDN), but it does what it says, so I'm satisfied. I'm definitely going to buy either this exact mascara again, or one from this brand and I recommend for others to try it out, if you can find it in your area :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valentina555 on 12/30/2010 11:51:00 PM more reviews by valentina555

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

big fan. the brush for coat 1 is very long and gives excellent control. results for coat 1 are natural, perfect daytime lashes - fanned out, defined, enhanced.
coat 2 brings the drama. save this for night. i'm sure plenty of people would find this second coat to be too clumpy, messy etc. it might be for some, but to me this is the price of a heavy-duty volume mascara. it isnt supposed to look natural.
overall this is a great mascara because it is two in one. perfect for travel. you could probably replace all your other mascaras with this one alone, but who's going to do that? :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dreadreadrea on 12/3/2010 6:58:00 PM more reviews by dreadreadrea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried MANY different mascaras. This one actually does what it says. Very voluminous lashes with no clumps! Almost as good as falsies. Would buy again. Cost $20cdn.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dea2407 on 11/19/2010 3:01:00 AM more reviews by dea2407

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

(0 - 5 points, 5 = excellent, 0 = very bad)
brush: 4
clumping-free: 4
easy application: 4
staying power: 5
tube*: 4
durability**: 5
TOTAL POINTS: 26 of 30 = very good
* Right amount of product? Clumping due to remains of product?
** Does the consistency change in time?

Bourjois Volumizer Mascara is a 2 step mascara. Step 1 is for more definition (you add a light black coat with a smaller brush). Step 2 is for Volume (the actual mascara with a bigger rounded brush). Both brushes (step 1 + 2) use the same product - only that brush 1 automatically adds a smaller amount of it. There is hardly any clumping (I can imagine there would be if you apply to much of the 2nd coat) and it really volumizes very good. I'm very satisfied - I have a better result than with most high end mascaras I tried!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bourjois products

More Mascara products