OPI • Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous • Polishes

rated 4.6(57 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 fireflies7 on 11/12/2010 10:04:00 PM more reviews by fireflies7

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

A gorgeous and unique shade...a shimmery pewter. It's absolutely perfect for winter. I will be wearing this one again and again. I hope they keep this one as part of their permanent line! I'm definitely buying a backup in case they don't.

I also find a layer of it over Yodel Me on My Cell (also from the Swiss line) to be a lovely different look for yet another alternative.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MsEmilyPark on 11/11/2010 1:48:00 PM more reviews by MsEmilyPark

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this from my local Ulta. I found the gunmetal grey with silver & light green sparkle to be very unique! I only hoped it would apply the way it looks in the bottle - and it does! The color applies nicely. I topped it with my Seche Vite top coat and it has great staying power! No streaking, no bubbling, just a great even application.

I'd definitely recommend this product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sunnygator007 on 11/4/2010 1:25:00 PM more reviews by sunnygator007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this polish to wear on Halloween. Its a very pretty sparkly charcoal grey color. I normally stick to boring neutrals, but I have to admit I love the "edginess" of this color. It is beautiful in the sunlight due to its sparkles, but just the same kind of "blah" when you look at it indoors. However the lasting power is phenomenal. I've had it on for close to a week now and not a single chip-- I am impressed!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vanillanoir10 on 10/17/2010 8:21:00 PM more reviews by vanillanoir10

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This was the fourth polish I bought from the swiss collection and my least favorite that I purchased but I still love it. The color payoff is wonderful but it's just so different from anything I normally wear. I have pink under-toned skin and if my hands are cold and they get more pink the polish does not look the best. I've been wearing it for the past few days and I do have to say it's growing on me. I don't have another silver in my collection so I can't really compare it to anything but I do like the polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmnixa on 10/10/2010 11:39:00 AM more reviews by pmnixa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I am really happy with this recent purchase from the OPI Swiss Fall 2010 line. This color is a beautiful dark grey with a lot of exciting sparkles and shimmer. The shimmer gives it a bit of a blue tint. It's dark , but not super dark. My other grey (YSL Tuxedo Grey) is much darker (near black). I received several compliments on this which is not the norm for me. And, the OPI formula is my favorite - it beats all the high end (and low end) for wearability and easy of application. This one was a tad sheer - took 3 coats. Check out some swatches and see for yourself!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 losangelesvintage on 10/4/2010 4:04:00 PM more reviews by losangelesvintage

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Overall Rating: 4.2/5

Product Efficacy: 3.5/5
Quality: 5/5
Value: 4/5

Review: I bought this on a whim at the beauty store - I went in planning to buy Ski Teal We Drop, also from the Swiss Collection, but found it to be much more blue than the promo images showed. I bought this polish instead because it's stunning in the bottle, and I needed a good winter neutral (I think I own mayyyyybe five nail polishes?). It was $7.99, if I remember correctly. The color is lovely - a gunmetal gray with tiny sparkles that look lighter in bright light.
I have very high standards for nail polish, mostly because a) I'm cheap and b) I'm a spaz. Take a chimp, blind him, remove a few digits on his dominant hand, and then have him start mainlining Adderall*, and he'd STILL be a better manicurist than I am. With that in mind, the smoothness of a polish is important to me, because I can't handle ones that are tricky to apply. This went on very nicely - I did two coats and a topcoat of Seche Vite - although it did take me a little while to get the hang of it. In the future, I will either do two thicker coats or three thin ones, because the polish isn't totally opaque. OPI's brushes are always nice, and with the topcoat, the polish dried quickly without any streaking or pooling at one end of the nail. I did notice that it was very difficult to clean up the little mistakes I made, which is annoying.
It's been three days and still looking fine except for a little unevenness around the cuticles that's probably due to my amateur application. A tiny, tiny bit of tipwear, but nothing noticeable. Overall, the staying power is quite good.

Would I buy this again? No, only because I'm sure it will last until I'm beyond bored with it.
Would I recommend it? Yes.


*Just to be clear, never, ever, under any circumstances, actually do this to a chimp.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cyeung71 on 10/1/2010 12:46:00 AM more reviews by cyeung71

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Lucerne-tainly Look Marvelous is OPI Swiss Collection 2010. This is a silver glitter polish flashing some subtle blue/green color. The application is easy and the color is great. To me, it has a strong silvery color with blue grey undertone and it's very attractive both in indoor and under sunlight. It also reminds me of OPI Take It For Granite but this one is more Christmasty.

I love the application and it dries very quickly. The only negative is that it chips easily. However, I still give it a 5 because this is a beautiful color and I will buy it again and again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Brunettegirl on 9/30/2010 6:14:00 PM more reviews by Brunettegirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am on a mega polish kick lately...I think I am SO ready for fall to come visit us here in sunny Florida, that changing up my polish seems to be the only connection to fall...It's still in the 90's by me, lol...
...The Swiss collection has caught my eye again and again at various stores and today I had to bite the bullet at Ulta when I saw the bye2 get 1 free deal...This color is simply AWESOME ladies!!!!!!!!!! It's different, it's not your typical silver, mixed with glitter/shimmer like every other line I have been looking at. I agree with the reviewer that compared this shade to pencil lead, as I think that's quite accurate. Smokey charcoal may be a another way I'd describe it. I initially dabbed jitterbug by China glaze on a piece of paper, then put this beside it and I knew I had to have this...IMO, this shade is deeper and more interesting. As I mentioned earlier, I have seen many variations of silver, so I wanted soemthing along those lines but a little unique and richer, this won me over hands down!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cnabbey88 on 9/24/2010 9:03:00 PM more reviews by cnabbey88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a GREAT polish. I really love it. I applied it today and it went o like a dream. The color is really interesting. It definitely has some silver sparkle/glitter but the undertone of the polish is like a blackened teal (blue/green) pewter color. 2 coats was enough for an opaque finish. It's definitely glitzy and glam great for a night out! I used this polish over my Sally Hansen Diamond Strength base coat and top coat finished off with Seche Vite. I would highly recommend this polish if you love it in the bottle. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 smkmacca on 9/17/2010 2:02:00 PM more reviews by smkmacca

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Being a sucker for all things Swiss, when i heard that OPI were coming out with a Swiss collection I knew I was going to make at least one purchase. I usually only wear dark reds or purple colours but ive been on the hunt for a nice gunmetal colour and this certainly doesnt disapoint, it was the only one that stood out to me from the whole collection! Two coats gives the most amazing charcoal, silvery foil finish that looks amazing when it catches the light! It leaves a very smooth finish despite being shimmery. I am awaiting delivery of Chanel Le Vernis in Steel which looks darker and less shimmery than this.

I cant wait to my next night out to wear this, I keep admiring my nails now even as I type!

They say that Lucerne is the most beautiful city in Switzerland and this certainly is a beautifuly colour. Would I repurchase this?? HELL YES!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Polishes products