Jane Iredale • Pure Pressed Base • Powder

rated 4.0(616 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 MBROOKS425 on 1/28/2013 4:33:00 PM more reviews by MBROOKS425

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this product. I dont like "painting" my face with foundations and concealer, and was looking for something quick that would even out my skin tone and not break me out, and leave a nice finish. Its a tall order, but this product filled it. You definitely have to wear some sort of primer/sunscreen/lotion underneath. I use a SPF 35 everyday, so I would put a light layer on, and then use a kabuki brush to use the JI pressed powder. It helps cover all my spots/freckles/red/dark spots. I only needed minimal concealer on a blemish. My skin looked even, glowy,soft and natural- just like I wanted. The only downfall is the price! I used the pad inside the powder for the first month since I needed good coverage, and used the kabuski brush the second month. After only 2 months, I have started to hit the bottom pan :( I am going to re order the refill, which is cheaper than buying a whole new compact. Overall, great product. Younglood Also has great mineral pressed foundations as well for a bit less.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heathermrm on 1/21/2013 1:58:00 PM more reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

In my ongoing search to replace my HG pressed powder foundation (EM), I have tried many many options and thought I had succeeded w/ Avon Smooth Minerals until about 1/2 thru, the product got hard = couldn't get any more out w/out digging!


ME: MAC = NC15; EM = Fairly Light; Rimmel Lasting Finish 25 hour = #100 Ivory; Revlon ColorStay = #150 Buff; Avon Smooth Minerals Pressed Foundation = T04 Nude. I'm in my mid 40s, slightly drier cheeks, slightly oiler t-zone, not super sensitive to breakouts, redness/slight rosacea on cheeks, nose, chin, several melasma spots.


This stuff does a decent job as far as pigment if applied w/ a flat top brush (I use either my EM or SK), but if I want to completely cover my melasma and redness, I have to go over those areas w/ my damp Beauty Blender sponge. I do not apply under my eyes as a liquid concealer or foundation works better there. Also, I find it goes on easier and more even if applied over a primer (I use monistat.)


Bisque is a nice match for me. I have since purchased the full size and I do like it, just wish I didn't have to do a 2 step process - I still miss my 1 step EM...:( I always set my MU no matter what I"m wearing but I did go 2 days w/out setting and I recall this foundation lasting about 8 hours w/ a need to blot my nose/chin 1x at 4 hours. W/ the UD = lasts from 6 am until 10:30 pm.


I put I would re-purchase, but not sure due to expense and the fact I have to apply in a 2 step process....I may continue to research/experiment....

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NudeBlush on 12/6/2012 1:44:00 AM more reviews by NudeBlush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great mineral foundation. Love the fact that's it's pressed powder. No more getting loose mineral dust on my clothes. It has medium coverage. Lasts throughout the day and easy to apply. I buff it in with a flat top brush. Will I buy again? Maybe if it weren't so pricey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 osomao on 12/2/2012 2:24:00 AM more reviews by osomao

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This product is simply THE BOMB– but man does it cost a pretty penny. It comes in lots of shades, enough to match any skin tone- notably one with yellow undertones like mine, which seems to be a struggle more often than not. Otherwise, this powder is very natural looking yet still buildable, and gives just the right amount of radiance (I despise when powders completely cut your natural "glow"). And perhaps best of all, it doesn't break me out! Highly recommended... just expensive.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 phdivette on 11/23/2012 9:41:00 PM more reviews by phdivette

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried several mineral powders and most make me look ashy...not many are good for African American skin. But this one I have fallen in love with, especially since it has sunscreen and makes my skin feel healthy. I wear the Butternut, which looked like it would be too light on me, but it does darken a bit after mixing with your skin and oils. Must wear moisturizer under and wait until your moisturizer has absorbed. It feels very light on the skin, unlike other powders or liquids/creams. I like that the compact, which feels luxurious since it is medal, is refillable. I don't mind paying more since it works. I am sensitive but have had no problems with breakouts.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LeslieCZ on 11/9/2012 1:25:00 PM more reviews by LeslieCZ

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this pressed mineral powder foundation for years, long before I joined MUA and never thought to review it! I adore it. It's fast, easy and doesn't look cakey or fakey on my skin. I apply it over primer and/or moisturizer with a fat powder brush and it evens my skin tone and looks natural even in bright sunlight. I use liquid or creme foundation for "dress" but this perfect for every day when you're on the run. The SPF 20 in it is non-irritating and effective, too. I am very fair with blue undertones and use the color Satin. The color selection is vast and the product lasts a long, long time. Definitely recommend.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Tashi09 on 11/1/2012 3:15:00 PM more reviews by Tashi09

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Is this a love it or hate it product, or what? Really not good for my sensitive, oily skin, which broke out in tiny white blistery pimples within a day or two -- after the huge ordeal of finding the right shade. Major pore clogging, and I'm almost 60! I suspect it's the algae and/or pomegranate extracts. Yet it seems to work for many.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bebikayz on 10/24/2012 10:29:00 PM more reviews by bebikayz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have such problem skin--its very dry and acne prone. I never thought a powder foundation would for me due to my skin being incredibly dry but somehow it works. It actually has decent coverage as well which again surprised me. Sometimes I will use a tiny bit of concealer over blemishes but overall it covers imperfections. Never again will I go back to my chemical filled liquid foundations from sephora! I have been searching way too long for line and I can't believe I discounted mineral foundations for so long.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jaclyn86 on 10/3/2012 12:20:00 AM more reviews by Jaclyn86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Was recommended this by a friend who swore it was her HG powder! I carry this around for on the go touch ups, and find it a really soft and finely milled product. Doesn't irritate my skin and is very blendable. Gorgeous compact! Will definitely be checking out more from this range! Perfect setting powder!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shelsbells on 10/1/2012 12:37:00 PM more reviews by shelsbells

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is the most amazing makeup on the market! It has made the inflammation in my acne go down and people have been telling me that my skin looks really healthy. I am using the d2o hydration spray with it and would recommend that as well!! without the spray the powder doesn't look or sit on my skin very well

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jane Iredale products

More Powder products