E.L.F. • Essential Eyelid Primer - Sheer • Eye Primer

rated 3.9(790 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 xoxomalak on 6/1/2014 10:32:00 PM more reviews by xoxomalak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I get the same outcome with urban decays primer. I have trialed both of them. Urban decays does eventually crease sometimes and so does this. Sometimes I felt like this lasted longer. This doesnt make ur lids matte but does keep shadow from creasing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* troo12 on 5/14/2014 1:58:00 PM more reviews by troo12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know what changed but this primer no longer is working for me. It's greasy and just sits on my eyelids. Even if I barely use any, it still creases like crazy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 anglmill on 5/10/2014 10:30:00 PM more reviews by anglmill

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This product was pretty worthless for me. Worked slightly better than nothing at all, but at the end of the day I still had shadow build up in my creases. Maybe it works for some people, and I just have especially oily eyelids. I didn't expect much for the price, but was still a little disappointed.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AsianWonder805 on 5/8/2014 2:41:00 PM more reviews by AsianWonder805

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is better than the Urban Decay Primer Potion! The UD one runs for about $20 while this one only runs for $1 & it works even better!! My eyeshadow will stay for 12+ hours & it never creases! I am almost finished with bottle #2 & I will be repurchasing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BubblegumKisses on 5/7/2014 6:04:00 PM more reviews by BubblegumKisses

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

All I can say about this product is YEEEESSS. Before buying this, I just tried using concealer as a primer, but it creased horribly. This actually withstands my oily eyelids and keeps my shadows on all day!! I used this primer today when i went to a glassblower studio and my shadows DID NOT BUDGE even next to the heat of 3 furnaces! Just remember that this is a primer, it doesn't claim to make your shadows look more vibrant, although it does help a little with that. For $1, you must! try this if you have not!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Chinesegirl04 on 4/17/2014 12:18:00 PM more reviews by Chinesegirl04

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    


Con's
- didnt help with the shadow, after 1 hour my shadow greased.
- little product in the tube.

Its around $1-2 in the states, but here it is around $5,- for the elf primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 melissalovesmakeup on 4/11/2014 12:34:00 AM more reviews by melissalovesmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great primer for beginners - but that's about it. I find that there are so many better quality primers for just a few dollars more. I do see a difference in using this and using nothing at all, but after wearing during the day I found that the eyeshadow creased and caked with this primer. The eyeshadow found its way into the lines in my eyes and the colors separated and it didn't look very pretty. I find myself always using my UDPP or my WnW Fergie eyeshadow primer. They work 1000x better and I don't notice any problems with either of them. The WnW primers is a bit more oily so I do prefer my UDPP over everything. If you are just beginning makeup, I would recommend using this primer because it's an inexpensive way to experiment with makeup. For the first few months when I was buying makeup I would stick to drugstore makeup such as E.L.F., Covergirl, Maybelline, WnW, and N.Y.C. After a while of experimenting with makeup from these brands, I find myself STILL loving them but also loving my Urban Decay, Lorac, and Sephora brand makeup. I will NEVER stop buying inexpensive brands because sometimes the deal is too great to pass up and a lot of the time you are pleasantly surprised by the quality of some of these products, but they won't live up to the standards of a more pricey high-quality product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SteffStarrr on 4/11/2014 12:14:00 AM more reviews by SteffStarrr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I was actually very pleasantly surprised by this primer! I've tried my fair share of primers from Urban Decay, Too Faced, Smashbox, and NYX. For how cheap it is, it works just as well and the Urban Decay and Too Faced primers, possibly even surpassing the Urban Decay Primer Potion since shadows seem to blend over the ELF Primer better. I don't have major issues with eyeshadows creasing that I used to, but I like this primer for how it provides a base for my eyeshadows without drying my lids out or making it too hard to blend. It has a creamy texture similar to UDPP, and a little thicker than TFSI or the NYX HD Eye Primer. I also find that my shadows last all day with this without creasing, and I wear my makeup for over 12 hours most days. I don't really notice if this makes my shadows appear more vibrant as I always layer a cream shadow over this, but I'm glad that it prevents my eyeshadows from creasing all day!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TheHipsterlicious on 4/10/2014 10:18:00 PM more reviews by TheHipsterlicious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I love this primer! I can most definitely tell a difference in the lasting power of my shadows when I don't use this. It has sort of an odd smell (reminds me of glue, funnily enough). It is the same color as the tube, but when it goes on it blends in and is clear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 saddle57 on 4/10/2014 7:38:00 PM more reviews by saddle57

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I just purchased the E.L.F. Essential Eyelid Primer in Sheer yesterday. I was very excited to use it, because I read so many great reviews about it. I won't be using it a second time. I have to say it smells horrible, like plastic. The doe foot applicator is alright, and it went on like a dream. My eyeshadow looked really nice when I left the house. It's after I got home from work, that I looked in the mirror and was horrified! It caked, creased, and went into all my lines, nooks and crannies. It was actually flaking off! Maybe it's only good for a few hours. I have very dry skin on my face, and maybe now my lids are dry too. I normally take back any makeup that does not work for me, but since this was only a dollar, it's not worth it. I tossed it in the trash. If it works for you great, because you can't beat the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More E.L.F. products

More Eye Primer products