Neutrogena • Ageless Intensives Tone Correcting Moisture SPF 30 • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(52 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* blog_antagonist on 1/21/2010 9:05:00 AM more reviews by blog_antagonist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I've only been using this for about a week, but hopefully I won't have reason to come back and edit. I usually wait a little longer before reviewing, but this is a GREAT product.


As an extremely oily skinned gal, it is really difficult to find anti-aging treatments that are appropriate for my skin type. Most are heavily moisturizing which, though oily skin needs some moisture, just exacerbates my oiliness. I'm a BIG believer in sun protection, but have the same problem with sunscreens; they're greasy, they sting, and they cause horrible breakouts. I've historically avoided those products altogether, opting instead for big sunglasses and a hat.


I was anxious to try this product because it seemed to have everything I was looking for, and the reviews were very encouraging. However, as I always am with new facial products, I was braced for disaster.


I was very pleasantly surprised.


It has a nice light consistency. It absorbs really quickly and completely, leaving no greasy residue behind AT ALL. That in itself was almost enough to sell me on it completely.


I applied my make-up over it with no problems and as the day wore on, it didn't seem to exacerbate my oiliness, which was a big plus right off the bat. Often sunscreens and products containing sunscreen sting my face upon application, but I did not have that problem with this product either.


After only a week, the texture of my skin is already improved. It's even and hydrated and has a nice velvety feel. I think the two prominent lines in my forehead are already diminished, although that could simply be due to the increased hydration. I don't notice a marked change in my hyperpigmentation, but I can't expect drastic results that quickly, and it does seem to have diminished a little. I do have a few small blemishes, but I think that's due to a visit by Mother Nature.


I have not experienced any of the burning, peeling, or redness that the package warned about. My skin has tolerated this incredibly well. I do recommend that you use caution around your eye area as it will sting if you get in in your eyes (I know....DUH).


Overall, I am very pleased with this product and will continue to use it. My only real complaint is that I seem to have gotten a defective pump and I have to unscrew the top to dispense the product. I took off one lippie because I feel it's a teensy bit expensive for a drugstore product. I got it at Wal-Mart for $20. But, I have a feeling I'm going to decide it's worth it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shannonmiller on 1/13/2010 12:38:00 AM more reviews by shannonmiller

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm just finishing my second bottle of this and I am still on the fence. I love how it is a sunscreen and moisturizer combination. I love that it hasn't clogged my pores or caused breakouts as well. It absorbs well and looks good under make-up too. My biggest issue is that it hasn't helped my hyperpigmentation as much as I had hoped. I'm just not sure if it's worth the money.

The other issue I have is the packaging. I can no longer pump any lotion out of the tube, but if I unscrew the top there is still at least a weeks worth left in the bottle. It's not a huge deal, it's just inconvenient.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dani7865 on 1/5/2010 2:32:00 PM more reviews by dani7865

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

UPDATE: Still loving it...really wish they would make it in a larger size though. In Canada it is more readily available now, at most Shoppers Drug, Superstore and Walmarts. It USED to be the best price $15.00 or so at Superstore, but I was in the other day and I have noticed they have jacked it up to about 24.00 as well, so not a great price up here....still best pricing in the US at Target where it is $14.00 or so. I still use it everyday under makeup, but if I am going to sit by the pool or spend extended periods in the sun, I use something that is waterproof/water resistant such as Peter Thomas Roth Uber Dry SPF 30 or Anthelios Ac Spf 30 (the one for combination oily skin in the spray pump bottle), both are also great for oily skin!

UPDATE NOTE: I FINALLY SAW THIS IN CANADA AT WALMART!!!! YAY!!!

HG! This stuff is fabulous. I have oily skin in the Tzone and normal everywhere else. I have had an extremely difficult time finding a daytime product to use that has SPF in it (i use Retin A at and BHA so I have to for sure, every one should anyway IMHO). THIS IS FINALLY IT!!! It is lightweight, packed with good ingredients, has a stable sunscreen with spf 30. The only drawback is that it is in a pretty small bottle and that the bottle is glass, although it does have a pump, which is nice for dispensing the product and keeping all the good ingredients stable.

The biggest issue I have found is that it is NOT available anywhere in Canada yet that I have found. I have been having friends bring it back from the US or stocking up when we go to the us, or buying on ebay and paying shipping.....however I will so whatever it takes to get this stuff as it is now my HG. It has made such a difference to my skin in keeping it matte, and clear, and not oiling me up during the day, while protecting me from the sun year round. I hope that EVENTUALLY it will make it up to Canada, but who knows....sometimes the spf products don't due to some labelling issues. If anyone ever sees this in Canada, would you mind letting me know please!!!! I would be very greatful!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jamie11210 on 12/6/2009 2:45:00 PM more reviews by jamie11210

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have only been using this for about a week, but I absolutely love this!!! I have been long searching for a facial moisturizer that has SPF, leaves a nice matte finish and also will help treat old acne scars on my face. Since I have only been using this a week, I have not really noticed my scars fading too much, but the consistency and SPF is enough for me to keep coming back to this. It is a new HG.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alicerc3 on 11/4/2009 6:40:00 PM more reviews by alicerc3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've found my perfect day cream finally! I've tried many face creams, but this does it all for a very reasonable price. It has retinol, SPF 30, vitamin C --all these are absolutely essential for good skin. LOVE IT!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jacie07 on 11/3/2009 12:48:00 PM more reviews by jacie07

Age: Unknown   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I finally found my HG facial sunscreen! This leaves no shine on my oily face and my make-up stays matte. The retinol and anti-oxidents are a big plus. Wish it was cheaper for such a small bottle but its widely available and so I'm not paying for shipping. This comes in a small opaque glass bottle with a pump. I'm taking one star off because I think plastic would be safer and more lightweight.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bibiramdayal on 11/1/2009 10:50:00 AM more reviews by bibiramdayal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ok, so I waited 3wks to review this product and will update accordingly. I must say it is impressive to have a moisturizer that has tone correcting, a high level of SPF, with retinol and vitamin C all in one at a reasonable price made by a reputable company.

Overall, I am impressed with this product. It goes on very light and the SPF blends well. It is not heavy at all and has a pleasant scent. I have noticed that the product is effective and if used correctly it is very effective. So it took me about a week to get use to it. My acne scars are fading rapidly and in spots where I have dead skin or potential breakouts, the skin is peeling. Because I also use Retin A at night for my acne, I have to be careful with this product because it will peel more than I would like if I use two days in a row... so I use every other day and adjust accordingly.

I have found that the key to this product is to pay attention to what it is doing to your face and adjust accordingly. I also find that I will exfoliate more often to get raid of the dead skin so it does not build up. I use a mild exfoliater (Remede Sweep) which works well and can be used 2-3x per week. Also, if I am feeling a little dry, I will apply a little bit of a heavy moisturizer around the dry areas which for me is around the nose and chin.

Bottom line - the product is very effective but requires that you pay close attention to what it is doing to your face because of all the active ingredients and adjust accordingly given other elements of your regime. With that, you will see the benefits of this product.

Update:
1/25 - I just finished my first bottle and will repurchase. I was able to get my skin adjusted so that I am able to use every day. this is truly a great product

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 s2861 on 10/30/2009 4:43:00 AM more reviews by s2861

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

Great product that actually works . . my dark spots are fading!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misspris26 on 10/1/2009 7:12:00 PM more reviews by misspris26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Wow, so far I am very impressed. I have been a die hard Olay Complete user (for endless yrs now) well, I saw this and purchased it due to the helioplex, the vit c, and the retinol. I will say that I can sort of smell the sunscreen-y scent but it's mild. It sinks in nicely and my MU smoothes right over it. Very nice!

***Update: MUAers informed me that retinol when exposed to light is useless therefore I returned this (and deducted 1 lippie). I don't want to use retinol day and night! I love the night version of this so I will stick with that and go back to my beloved Olay, lol

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SSCLBC on 9/30/2009 4:15:00 PM more reviews by SSCLBC

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I think I have found my perfect day time moisturizer. It has retinol, vitamin c and SPF 30. Plus it comes in packaging which protects the integrity of the product. It has a slight fragrance which does not last and doesn't bother me. It goes on easily (one pump is perfect for my face) and doesn't feel too heavy under makeup. In fact I've found it to be a good base to apply my Estee Lauder double wear powder over. The only thing I'm less than thrilled with is the price. I think it's overpriced compared to Neutrogena's other moisturizers with sunscreen.
Update: I took one lippie off because I started to be bothered by the smell of the product and noticed that it had changed color (most likely due to oxidation of the vitamin c). Still looking for a better daytime sunscreen.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Treatments (Face) products