OPI • Nail Envy - Original • Treatments

rated 4.1(365 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ancatje on 2/8/2013 4:59:00 PM more reviews by Ancatje

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This did NOTHING for my nails. It was about a year ago that my previously always healthy and strong nails started breaking and peeling very easily, something that had never ever happened before. I had 2 nails on each hand that were constantly peeling, no matter what I did.
I tried Nail Envy on them for months and months on end, following the instructions exactly, almost finishing one bottle, and saw no improvement. My nails were not stronger at all, and the same 2 nails on each hand kept breaking, to my dismay. (At least it didn't turn my nails yellow like some other revieweres experienced!)
Then completely randomly, I heard from a dermatologist that actually what makes nails soft and easy to break is nail polish remover! Even if it is acetone free, the remover softens the nails and makes them easier to snap, so the more you use it the weaker your nails get.
So I stopped using Nail Envy and stopped using any nail polish on my nails so that I don't need to remove it. In TWO WEEKS my nails were back to normal and healthy again, all peeling gone!
Please ladies, don't waste your money on this "treatment", all it is is a base/ top coat for your nail polish but does not make nails stronger. And it's a whopping 18.65!
I'd suggest if your nails are breaking and you are a frequent user of nail polish or you change your polish often, try leaving your nails bare for a while and see if not using nail polish remover on them helps.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beantowngrl on 2/1/2013 9:37:00 PM more reviews by beantowngrl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Of late my nails have been peeling and then breaking. I got this after reading the reviews but this did nothing for me. My nails kept breaking. I've used u more than hald the bottle and still no change. I'm giving up. I bought sally hansen nailstrengthner and it works as wel. .........so in my opinion.............try it but keep the receipt coz its not cheap.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 agnesbones on 1/29/2013 11:32:00 PM more reviews by agnesbones

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Black    

It somehow works for my weak nails after the removal of gelish nail polish. **one tip on how to go about using this product as instructed by my mum's manicurist is to remove it every 2 days & reapply it** so it will work, & since other reviewers complains about it being yellowish that's because you didnt remove it. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nabiekebabie on 1/27/2013 5:37:00 PM more reviews by nabiekebabie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a wonderful product. Literally changed my nails! I used to have dry nails that split and chipped easily and nail envy completely strengthened and seemed to reinforce the structure of the nail, and now I can actually have long nails that don't brake as soon as I go about everyday life! The only cons I'd say is that after time it has seemed to yellow the nail slightly. Also, I remember the first time I used nail envy I had a slight tingly warm sensation and was worried i'd had an allergic reaction, but luckily nothing else happened and I've never had that sensation since! Was a little disconcerting at first though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dv_27 on 1/23/2013 4:18:00 PM more reviews by dv_27

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Knock on wood this product totally transformed my brittle nails..I put this on first before applying nail polish or sometimes just this product by itself and I think its amazing! My nails don't don't break anymore, which is awesome. Also love that I got this in BB&B with a coupon, very happy. Just a note haven't tried many nail treatments so I can't compare but this is one of the best ones, I have tried in a long time that helps with nail breakage.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blackygreen on 1/8/2013 5:49:00 AM more reviews by blackygreen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Just...no.
As a treatment, it doesn't do much and your nails look kind of terrible with it on. It's yellowish and peels.
For the latter reason, it doesn't work as a base coat.
So, no, I will not be repurchasing this.
I much prefer my LA girl calcium strengthener or my China Glaze Strong Adhesion Base Coat

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flatteries on 1/6/2013 9:57:00 PM more reviews by flatteries

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

HG base coat/treatment!!! My nails used to peel pretty badly, and to make matters worse, I'd always peel them off whenever they started flaking, leaving my nails very thin and prone to breaking. That was until I started using nail envy regularly, of course. I use this as a base coat and apart from helping my nail polish stay on longer and preventing staining, this strengthens my nails like nothing else! I'm on my third bottle of this, and I rarely ever have any issues with peeling anymore (like, VERY rarely). It is a bit expensive compared to the rest of the OPI range, (I think I paid around $11 for this and I had a $5 off coupon from Ulta) but it is definitely worth it if your nails are in need of some help. Of course, everyone's nails are different, so something that works for one person might not work for the other, but if you've got the money to spare, I would definitely give this a go. I haven't purchased any other base coat/treatment ever since I switched to this from using ORLY Bonder. LOVE it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 12/26/2012 8:22:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Tried & true protein treatment to strengthen weak or thin nails. Be cautious of overuse, as with all protein treatments.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pollybomb on 12/26/2012 6:16:00 AM more reviews by pollybomb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product! It's expensive, especially as I have no income at the moment, but it really works. I've bitten my nails for over ten years, and I also have a habit of peeling my nail polish rather than removing it properly, yet I have noticed that my nails are stronger and don't peel as often as they did before I started using this product around a month ago.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pretty_please on 11/29/2012 4:04:00 AM more reviews by pretty_please

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This did not like my nails. It gave me peeling and more yellowing issues. Just...did not work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More OPI products

More Treatments products