Chanel • Lift Lumiere Fluid • Foundations

rated 4.1(77 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 SweetTartx3 on 3/7/2011 2:27:00 AM more reviews by SweetTartx3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

HG foundation for me. amazing coverage. found the perfect match for my skin tone. applies super super easily. matte finish but kinda dewy too. price is outrageous but amazing product! <3

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 yenshelin on 2/26/2011 4:24:00 AM more reviews by yenshelin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My very close girlfriend kept insisting i try Chanel previously but I was reluctant because of the price as I am still schooling.

My skin is horribly dry sometimes[ dry and flaky] and when I used previous foundations, I could always see flakes of my dead skin showing no matter how much MOISTURIZER I slap on before putting the foundation.

The worst part is, I am living in Singpore where the climate is so warm and humid. Makes no sense why my skin is always so dry.

I bought this foundation by luck because I regretted purchasing a lipstick from Chanel as I had the exact colour in lip gloss. Decided I should give their foundation a try and Went back to the counter to exchange for a foundation.

I am using Clair 20 instead of Ivoire 14 as I have got a rather rosy tone.
I am now in love with this foundation, though I really hope that it wont be so expensive.

Foundations that I have tried before include Kose, Shisedo, Maybelline, Bobbi Brown[worst of them all I had terrible break out because of their two-way cake].

To conclude, I really cant think of any foundations that are better than this as of now. Unless there is a cheaper alternative with the exact coverage and performance, I will switch to it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kayabea on 1/15/2011 7:28:00 PM more reviews by Kayabea

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Excellent product for mature skin. It makes my skin look flawless. I need to use very little to get nice coverage. Lift Lumiere is extremely expensive, but as little as you need to use, it will last a long time. I will definitely purchase this product again.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shahensha on 12/20/2010 9:38:00 PM more reviews by shahensha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely love love love this foundation. I apply it with a stippling brush and have been told that my skin looks flawless when I have this on. I have noticed after applying this my pores are gone, I have sun damage which is also not visible with this and I usually apply concealer but I really dont feel the need to do that with this foundation. I feel like it gives my face a nice coverage its not to heavy but good enough that it hides all my problem areas and lasts all day long. I find that it gives a nice sheen or dewy glowy kind of finish which I really like.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flybaby on 10/25/2010 1:56:00 PM more reviews by flybaby

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

UPDATE: Although I still love this, I think I am happier with my new method of mixing equal parts of Le Blanc de Chanel with YSL TEINT RESIST Long Wear Transfer Resistant Foundation. This combo has the luminosity of Chanel Lift Lumeire Fluid, but resists transfer better, lasts longer, and I think looks better. It is a slightly sheerer effect though, and if I need to look super polished, I do go back to cover the few dark spots I have with a touch of concealer.

+++++++++++++++++


I have been on the hunt for the perfect foundation. It just doesn't make sense to me that there can be so many out there, and not one of them, until recently, have I loved to the point of considering stocking up on, or telling my friends or daughter about. This one here.... comes close.

As others have noted, this foundation takes about 15 minutes for it to evolve into how it is going to look. I have not found it necessary to put the rest of my makeup application on hold in the interim though.

I use a primer. Right now I'm working my way through a bottle of POP Beauty Face Magnet, and like it fine. After primer, I've found that one pump of this foundation, using the beauty blender sponge, will do my face for Saturday morning type casual effect, and two pumps is what it takes for a more polished look. With the b. blender sponge it goes on quick, looks perfect. I have a smooth marble beverage coaster on my dressing table, and I just squirt the foundation onto it, dab the bb sponge into the puddle, and quickly daub over my entire face. Squirt a second drop onto the coaster, and go over areas which I would like more coverage. My whole face is done in way less than a minute. This is a foundation that, for me, looks better to err on the side of using too little rather than a heavy hand. I do dust my t-zone very lightly with Chantecaille loose powder.

This foundation will last all day. 10 hours+. It does not accentuate pore size, does not settle into fine wrinkles, doesn't transfer, and doesn't oxidize. Whereas the Guerlain Lingerie De Peau looks amazingly like real skin, the Chanel looks like real skin in soft focus. Really nice, and not too anything. Not too matte, not too shiny, no sparkles.

Comparing it to my next favorite foundation, Armani Lasting Silk, it looks every bit as glow-y but gives more coverage. Armani may be a bit more transfer resistant. However, it, although a thinner consistency does not seem to go quite as far as the Chanel.

So, I think I've finally found "my" foundation. I don't intend to try any others until I've finished this bottle out, and really am not dissatisfied with it in any way. I plan to repurchase.

This year, from the end of May through the present, I've tried Smashbox Hi Def (rubbed off too easily, showed my pores too much, returned it) Arden Pure Finish Mineral Makeup, (returned, color issues plus kind of flat looking. Very convenient and easy to use though) Guerlain Parure Gold, (returned it, loved it but my t-zone was too oily for it) Guerlain Lingerie de Peau Invisible Skin-Fusion Foundation, (returned it, color match issues mostly. Also probably too sheer ), Armani Lasting Silk UV Foundation SPF20, (LOVE it, did not return it, but its a bit too sheer. ok for summer months when I'm using foundation darker than my actual skin tone), & lastly, L'Oreal Visible Lift Serum Absolute Advanced Age-Reversing Makeup, Prepared to love it, but didn't. Returned it, and yes, Target will take back opened bottles, no questions asked, or at least in my experience.

23 out of 24 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 socalgal59 on 9/28/2010 11:54:00 PM more reviews by socalgal59

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I use Chanel Lift Lumiere Beige 40 maybe four or five times a month. This foundation intensifies my large pores, but when I finish with the Bobbi Brown powder (soft sand 5), I can achieve both fabulous color and finish. Overall, not my favorite foundation as it takes a lot of work to achieve the look I want.

Alone the color doesn't work for me; finished with the Bobbi Brown soft sand 5, the color comes alive--it gives me the beautiful glow of a bronzed tan. Problem is, it takes a lot of building to get the finish as the foundation settles into my pores and really intensifies them. So this foundation is really time consuming.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dive14 on 9/23/2010 11:48:00 AM more reviews by Dive14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Kinky, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a very good foundation if you like the glowy look. Finishing/setting powder dims the effect so avoid if possible. I would also avoid if you are on the oiler side (it is not oil-absorbing). My skin is normal-combination and my t-zone can start to look a bit shiny a couple of hours in. Itís perfect for both day and evening as it looks natural enough for day but glamorous enough for evening. It looks like skin post-facial. I am MAC NC25-30 and have this in shade #40 which is warmer than my skin tone but it does not look orange or unnatural. I would say it's medium coverage, not the medium-to-full Chanel claims. It doesn't really 'mask' the skin and its imperfections it seems to 'reflect'. It looks like real skin but through a soft-focus lens. The container is plastic which is good as it's not going to break if you drop it, it has a built-in pump & it also has SPF15. It is quite a moisturizing formula, comparing to other Chanel fdtns I would say less so than Vitalumiere and about the same as Pro Lumiere. One more thing worth mentioning is despite the radiant finish it does not feel sticky or oily either on the skin or to the touch. This means you don't need to fear leaving your face on someone you hug or come into close contact with. It's no Studio Fix but for a 'glowy' fdtn I'm impressed. I like it most for the beautifully refreshed and well-rested look it seems to give my skin. It's very forgiving.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BizzyBunny on 8/26/2010 9:21:00 PM more reviews by BizzyBunny

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

If you like the consistency of the Armani Silk fluid, I found this comparable. It is glowy, not shiny. I diddnt have any problems using my fingers but a brush is probably better.

I used the lightest shade which was a tinge too peachy for me, but corrected it with powder. It has great coverage and doesnt feel heavy on the skin. Loved it. Much better than Chanel Pro. I was deciding between the 2 and should have gotten this one. MUCH better to work with.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shadowline on 7/22/2010 11:23:00 AM more reviews by Shadowline

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Chanel's Lift Lumiere is a difficult foundation to work with.
I'll echo the other reviewers' opinions:
- I'm Faience .5 - the lightest shade and normally I'm 1.0 in Chanel foundations
- This foundation takes time - 15 minutes - to fully settle in and look good
- Because of that, blending and getting that perfect canvas is hard. My morning routine doesn't include a 15 minute break to let my foundation settle in.

All that said, when it does settle down, it's a great slightly dewy finish. I have dry skin even in the summer and I quite like the feel of the foundation. It's been 90 degrees or more every day I've worn this so I can't in good conscience judge how long it wears but I'd say it is performing admirably - not as solid as EL DW or MAC SS, but good. I wouldn't recommend this particular formulation for oily skin.

All in, I think there are better alternatives to this foundation because the settling process is just too much work. I'm still on the hunt for my personal holy grail.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mzthisnthat on 7/7/2010 8:22:00 PM more reviews by mzthisnthat

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

LOVE. I thought Vitalumiere was wonderful (and it is) but the LL gives me a more glowy complexion rather the dewey look I get with VL. I chose Faience 0.5, which is perfect for my fair skin and tones down the little bit of redness I get around my nose. I apply this foundation with my fingers and then set my T-zone with Poudre Universelle Libre in Clair. I find that I need very little or no concealer with this foundation. It looks great and lasts on my dry skin. The cost is a bit steep, but I'd definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Chanel products

More Foundations products