Essie Mademoiselle

4.4

388 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ethyl Acetate, Butyl Acetate, Nitrocellulose, propyl acetate, Tosylamide/Formaldehyde Resin, Isopropyl Alcohol, Acetyl Tributyl Citrate, Tripheneyl Phosphate, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Ethyl Tosylamide, Steralkonium Bentonite, Styrene/Acrylate Copolymer, Diacetone Alcohol, Camphor, Polyvinyl Butyral, Stearalkonium Hectorite, Benzophenone 1, Citric Acid, Dimethicone, Silica, Trimethylsiloxysilicate. May Contain: CI 47005:1 (D&C Yellow #10), CI 47000 (D&C Yellow #11), CI 77163 (Bismuth Oxychloride), Mica CAS 12001-26-2, CI 19140 (Yellow 5 Lake), Polyethylene Terephthalate, CI 15850:1 (Red 7 Lake), CI 15850 (Red 6 Lake), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 15880 (Red 34 Lake), CI 77491 (Red Iron), CI 77499 (Black Iron), CI 77510 (Ferric Ammonium Ferrocycyanide), CI 75170 (Guanine), CI 42090 (Blue 1 Lake), CI 60725 (Violet 2), CI 17200 (Red 33), CI 77000 (Aluminum Powder), CI 73360 (Red 30), CI 26100 (Red 17), CI 42053 (Green 3), CI 77288 (Chromium Oxide Green), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77266 (Black 2), CI 45380 (D&C Red 21), CI 45410 (D&C Red 28), Polyester-3 (D&C Colorant)


on 9/17/2012 1:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

this is my second essie nail polish, and i do like it a lot, but it's much lighter than i thought it would be. it definitely does not look like the color of the bottle for whatever reason, still a really pretty nude though.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a very sheer, milky baby pink on my nails. I love to wear this when I wanna give my nails a break from color, but I still want my nails to look done. Formula wasn't too liquidy or too goopy, dried pretty quick. Pretty color but I wouldn't repurchase.


on 8/5/2012 8:56:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Perfect transparent milky pink shade for a natural manicure. I have bought OPI Bubble Bath in the past, but I happened to buy this Essie shade just because the shop I happened to be in didn't carry OPI. Very nice color. Works well with my pale/neutral coloring, neither to warm nor too cool a pink shade. Good alternate to Bubble Bath. If you want an opaque milky pink, this is not it. You'd probably have to apply 4 or 5 coats to come anywhere near opaque. This is meant to be transparent for a natural or French manicure. 1 or 2 coats of this is perfect for a natural nail look-my naturally white tips show through and aren't made too pink.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/4/2012 5:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is beautiful. Looks very simple & elegant: like naked nails, only cleaner and more groomed. Great for the office or a low-key weekend look.

If you expect an opaque pink, don't get this! I hear Fiji is great if you want no sheerness in your light pink polish. Mademoiselle is sheer (and it's supposed to be).
One coat of this does very little compared to a base coat. But add one more layer and your nails will look ever so slightly lighter, fresher, cleaner and healthier... I love the way it makes my hands look a little tanner than usual. The white tips of your nails will still be visible so it looks like a French manicure. I guess the name was a bit of a giveaway. I've heard Ballet Slippers is similar but pinker and streakier. Mademoiselle looks lighter in the bottle than Ballet Slippers and in my experience it doesn't streak.

I get about a week's wear out of this, as I do with all Essie polishes so far. I do have to stop at 2 coats though, any more and it starts to pile up so you can see the edges coming loose after a few showers, if that makes sense.

I tried a few OPI polishes recently but I definitely prefer the consistency and finish of my favourite Essies :) I love my classics: for now I'm sticking with Mademoiselle, Aperitif, A-list, Bordeaux and Wicked.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

After being SO disappointed by Essie's 'ballet slipper' I decided to grab a bottle of this at Target. It did after all have an 'editors pick' sticker underneath it :D

And I am OVER THE MOON with this polish. It is a VERY sheer pink that makes your nails look so much healthier and looking less like you hit each one with a hammer. I have a lot of little white specks on my nails and this polish fades them and makes them less noticeable. I do dance and gymnastics so my nails always have those little specs on them.

Be warned however, what you see in the bottle is not what you get on your nails. Like I said before, it is VERY sheer, so if you aren't into that try a more opaque pink from the line :)

I've only been wearing it for around an hour so I can't really say anything for lasting power and chipping but so far I enjoy it quite a bit. FIVE LIPPIES.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2012 12:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This nailpolish is just plain transparent. I didn't see any pink, white, or just any color at all! I thought this would be a good nailpolish for a french manicure, but really it is colorless :(.


on 7/24/2012 12:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Easy to use - gives you a great, pink and polished nail. No streaks for me. Very sheer - I use this on my fingernails with one coat to even out my nail bed, two for a bit more opacity but it still is sheer. Nothing eye-popping or dramatic, but classy and clean. Will always be a staple in my stash!


on 7/10/2012 5:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

On my NC 25 skin it was like a shiny clear polish... You need 4 coats if you want a light pinkish color... will not buy again.


on 7/10/2012 5:25:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I think everything about this polish has already been said. It's a sheer (very sheer) milky pink with a blue undertone. This was used by a manicurist when he did a french manicure on me and I knew I had to have it. It is just sheer enough to paint over the white tips without making them look pink. This is a staple polish for me for french manicures. I'm almost done with my first bottle, and will repurchase. The reason I gave it 4/5 is for the obvious fact that this color is time consuming to build up. If you want that opaque color you will need at least 3 coats, granted it looks very pretty when you do.


on 6/27/2012 10:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Barely noticeable. Run of the mill sheer pink shade. May as well buy Sally Hansen Hard as Nails sheer pink in that fun vintagey bottle. Looks exactly the same.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

50 reviews
image

Chinchilly

135 reviews
image

Lady Like

65 reviews
Back to Top