Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2177 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 amjQ8 on 8/7/2014 1:04:00 PM more reviews by amjQ8

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The coverage of the foundation is not bad, but I used better foundations.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bella0412 on 8/3/2014 4:47:00 AM more reviews by bella0412

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Iíve been using this product now for the last 4-5 months and have repurchased it twice. It truly is a great foundation. I have extreme skin, from super dry to super oily (it has a mind of its own), and buying make up for my skin type is a nightmare. This foundation stays on my skin great although it tends to get a bit oily. Either way, I just powder and it goes back to how it looked when I first applied it again without caking or moving.

When applying I tend to find it is better to do so with hands. It is definitely build able and I find it extremely moisturising. For oily skin it definitely cannot be used without a setting powder, but for dry skin to normal skin I truly believe this product is just right.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sdrayt1 on 7/31/2014 4:56:00 PM more reviews by sdrayt1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this foundation because of all the hype about this $42 bottle of foundation. On a positive note and probably the main reason I'll repurchase this at some point (after my hyperpigmentation clears up a bit) is because the color was SPOT ON to my skintone. I purchased 178 and it was a perfect color match for me. I'm typically nw45 in MAC but that leans a little red but have had better luck with MAC MatchMaster in 8.0. Overall it is difficult to find a foundation with a neutral undertone, usually everything is too red or yellow based. MUFE HD in 178 was perfect and did not oxidize or turn red throughout the day!

It is really natural looking and looks great on...however, I needed more coverage on my hyperpigmented areas and ended up using more which seemed to be wasteful. Even with 2 layers I had to use a full coverage concealer in some areas. The MUFE HD Foundation applied somewhat sheer but it I don't see how it can be buildable to full coverage unless you apply it very generously. I personally expect a bottle of foundation to last longer than a few weeks. However, if you want to save this as a special occasion foundation, this would work for you versus using it as an everyday foundation. Also, make sure you use a primer if you want this to stay on for a full 8 hours. It would fade if I didn't apply one. Maybe because I tried it in the summer heat in Texas??? I'll re-visit this foundation again once it cools down.

I really wanted to love MUFE HD. Don't get me wrong, it's a really good foundation to have but not for everyday wear in my opinion. I also don't like that I can't really tell how much foundation I have left and I can't open the bottle...I like to get every bit of product out!

If you're thinking about purchasing this, go to Sephora and get a sample first!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 makeupmuaa on 7/31/2014 3:46:00 AM more reviews by makeupmuaa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    


CONS:
This product is very runny and lightweight.
It did not cover any of my redness or acne scars, only worked if i used concealer and more than three pumps! Also it made me get very oily after 2-3 hours of wearing the makeup.

PROS: Doesnt look cakey on your face, and looks great in pictures aswell in real life. It is a good product if you dont need a full coverage, it adds a glow and feels natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amanduhsmith on 7/30/2014 1:36:00 PM more reviews by amanduhsmith

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

after using mainly drugstore foundations, except for lancome's tinted moisturizer, this product is amazing. I have acne and combination skin and it has a very buildable coverage, even though i don't need that much. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CrochetDiva23 on 7/29/2014 9:10:00 PM more reviews by CrochetDiva23

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Dark   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my Fall to Winter foundation. GREAT coverage lightweight feel. I don't recommend it for warm weather months. I switch to their powder foundation which is even more awesome!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zinat on 7/28/2014 4:52:00 PM more reviews by Zinat

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product so much

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amandamarieee on 7/26/2014 10:53:00 AM more reviews by amandamarieee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My experiences with this foundation has been quite bad so to say.

I bought this with EXTREMELY high hopes, caused by all the hype and by all the people who were using it. I will say that i do have dry skin and this is not a dewy foundation which tends to work out best for me, but when i pay so much for a foundation i must admit, that i do expect it to work at least just somehow well.

First off, i find the consistensy of it extremely thick, hard to blend and hard to work with in general. It clinges to all my dry patches possible and it also quite seperated on my skin while wearing it, which was not a good look all in all. I've tried to apply it both with brushes and sponges/beauty blender - still no good results for me.

I actually find it hard to believe that this foundation can be THIS bad and i do consider if I've just been unlucky and maybe got a bad one. I have been considering buying this again to see if i was just unlucky, but i do feel quite bad about spending so much money on a foundation i haven't had good experiences with though.

It stays on the skin for ok long but as i said, it seperated on my skin throughout wearing it which was not a very pleasant experience. It leaves a medium coverage with a velvety/matte finish.

I would personally not recommend if you have dry skin and tends to have dry patches here and there. I wouldn't recommend it either if you like to work with foundations with a more watery texture and a lighter feeling on the face.

Also, im not a very big fan of the packaging either. It has a pump which is very good for purpose of hygiene, but i experienced it becoming very dirty and messy around the pump and inside the lid as well, only after a few uses.

I am very sad that this foundation did not work out for me the way i wanted to at all - even though there must be something good about it hence all the hype, but unfortunately, i can't be on that hype about this particular foundation!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anirbef on 7/26/2014 8:49:00 AM more reviews by anirbef

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have tried Lancome Teint Idole, Christian Dior Forever Flawless Perfection, I think this is my best foundation so far. I have normal to oily skin, with some dry areas when my skin is dehydrated. This foundation settles fairly good, it does not exaggerate the look of dry patches. On my whole face, this gives me dewy finish and still look natural, because my tone gets darker (due to too much sun exposure) and the shade is about 2 tone lighter.
The texture is light, makes it easy to blend. Coverage is sheer-medium. So I do Not recommend for you to cover blemishes, scars, or anything..just put concealer on it!
When my skin gets oilier (also I live in humid country) so I have to blot quite a lot and do some touch ups. But the staying power is fairly good, doesn't melt off easily.

Pros
+ Great for those who want a sheer-medium coverage
+ Staying power quite good on normal-oily skin
+ Packaging is air tight and practical

Cons
- Doesn't contain SPF
- Price $$

I would not repurchase if I am getting bored of sheer coverage :D

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chanel277 on 7/24/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by chanel277

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My skin is on the drier side and this foundation doesn't agree with that. I get why so many people love this foundation but unfortunately its not for my skin type. The color selection is huge but i find it a bit hard to find your exact match since they have a weird way to categorize their selection. In Mac things are easy they have nc/nw 15 and they go up from there. In MUFE things are way more complicated, anyway bottom line is that this foundation comes in a huge variety of shades and you can probably find one that suites you. Many people say that this is a full coverage foundation.This isn't true. With one thin layer you get sheer to light coverage. The good thing is that this foundation is very buildable so with 2-3 layers you can defiantly get fuller coverage. It has very nice texture and spreads easily on the skin and sets to a matte finish which looks natural. The texture isn't too thick neither too runny its somewhere in between and blending it on the skin is piece of cake . It has quite good lasting power and it doesn't set on lines and wrinkles thanks to its silicone base . If you have oily normal or combination skin then this foundation is perfect. On my dry skin this sets completely matte and i look dry and wrinkly. Even without powder on top of it still looks drying on my skin. I use a very thick moisturizer as a base and that way i can almost make it work especially during the summer. In the winter this foundation is a complete disaster for my skin personally. It cracks and makes my skin look dry wrinkly and shallow. I wont buy it again for me but i would happily recommend it to someone with oilier skin

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products