Make Up For Ever • HD High Definition Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.6(2131 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.58%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 aimeexo on 5/16/2014 12:26:00 AM more reviews by aimeexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This was the first high end foundation I ever tried so naturally I thought it was the most amazing foundation on planet earth (until I broadened my horizons and tried others). I feel like if I didn't have very oily skin with dry patches this would be an amazing foundation.

Don't throw out the bottle when the foundation doesn't pump out anymore!!! Unscrew the top and you'll get an extra weeks worth of foundation.

PROS:
- AMAZING color selection. This foundation seriously matches my skin exactly which has never happened with any other
- nice consistency: thin, but buildable with medium coverage
- does not dry quickly as other foundations do, which allows me to dot it all over my face and take my time blending it
- looks EXTREMELY natural while covering imperfections
- packaging: love pump foundations. Very sanitary.

CONS:
- staying power: slides off my skin in a matter of only a couple hours. I have extremely (need to blot within 10 mins of applying makeup) oily skin, and even after setting with mattifying powder and UD setting spray, it begins to slide around my T-zone and stick to dry patches
- definitely not full coverage as it's advertised
- price is pretty steep for a foundation that doesn't last long
- makes mores seem more visible


Overall, I will not repurchase simply because I have found better foundations for the same price. I assume people with normal skin have better luck with this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* larosedechanel on 5/13/2014 2:28:00 AM more reviews by larosedechanel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have HD Invisible Cover Foundation in color 170 Caramel - for medium skin with dark yellow undertones. I wear NC45 in MAC Studio Fix was surprised to find the colour all right on me because I noticed a lot of people who wear NC45 say they actually went with color 173 Amber - for medium skin with dark olive undertones. Colour confusion aside, I was expecting a lot from this because I read a lot of amazing reviews &, of course, it's Make Up For Ever! I found it neither very good nor very bad. I was expecting more. Unfortunately, I think I fell for the hype & wanted to like it because people were swearing by this. I have another product by Make Up For Ever (Mat Velvet + Matifying Foundation) which is one of my Holy Grail foundations, so I kind of assumed I'd be equally as impressed with this. This wasn't anything spectacular or extraordinary to me. I certainly have other foundations that look exactly the same on my skin... for half the cost. While I could wear this without complaining, I wouldn't care if I never wore it again.

Even though it's advertised & reviewed by some of you as medium-to-full-coverage, I found it to be on the lighter side & not good if you have an "ugly day." I have a few dark spots & I could see them clearly through this makeup. You need to conceal if your skin isn't flawless. My skin showing through isn't a bad thing, but like I said, if you have red or dark blemishes, this foundation won't work for you without concealing. Other than the light coverage, this didn't last all day on me.

HD applies nicely. After toning & priming my face, I applied it with a damp beauty blender. It blends smoothly & easily. It looks flawless! However, I wasn't impressed with the wear time. I have oily skin & after being out for maybe 5 hours, I was a greasy mess. It both disappeared into my skin & felt like it was about to fall off my face. I used a primer & a setting powder & my face still oiled (for lack of a better word) through this makeup. Carry a pressed powder or oil-blotting sheets with you, or be prepared to reapply throughout the day. The satin finish is probably what I dislike the most about this product. It makes me look oilier than I already am. If you're oily, this is not the foundation for you.

This is not by any means a BAD foundationójust average. It wasn't what I expected. Because of the price, I'll go ahead & finish off the bottle. I recommend this if you can afford the $42 it costs, but I won't be buying another.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 cubbiejules on 5/10/2014 1:32:00 PM more reviews by cubbiejules

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I heard so much good stuff about the HD foundation and was very exited to try it out but sadly this missed the mark. The color matched me perfectly, the initial application was great. The formula itself is light-medium coverage. If you have redness, freckles and blemishes this stuff will barely cover any of it. You would think that a product called "HD" would deliver better coverage than this! The MUA at Sephora said if you don' use a primer, this will "disappear" at the end of the day. But even with a primer it STILL disappeared. Incredibly disappointed with this product. For me personally if a foundation HAS TO have a primer used with it to do what it's supposed to do is a huge waste of money and a sham. Before primers were invented and became popular, people lived without them. I'm very well versed with make-up and application techniques and even with multiple ways of applying (fingers, foundation brush, beauty blender, stipple brush), and I still had the same results. I really did like how it felt and looked, but for someone who needs more coverage, this is not working for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 riree87 on 5/1/2014 4:11:00 PM more reviews by riree87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this in Sephora on holiday in France and I am in love. I have oily skin with occasional dry patches. I like my foundation full coverage and matte. I usually avoid satin finish as it tends to make me look more oily. This foundation doesn't. The coverage is medium but buildable to full and it makes my skin look really flawless when I buff it in with a brush. It doesn't make my skin look oily and it lasts ALL DAY. I can put it on first thing and by the evening it's still looking pretty solid. I just hope I can find this in the UK.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 daniak57 on 4/30/2014 3:49:00 PM more reviews by daniak57

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First its not that high coverage second it clings to dry patches like crazy so i think people with dry skin won't like this unless the moisturized and exfoliated their skin really well.
But I actually really like it with my skin being normal it stays on pretty well and the 127 matches me perfectly and it looks AMAZING with flash photography. But if you have alot of blemishes I'd say you should get a really good concealer or get another foundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Caseyyy24 on 4/28/2014 5:16:00 PM more reviews by Caseyyy24

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I am in love with this foundation. It gives my skin a very natural glow and gives me the ability to build on it for different coverages. I either apply it using my fingers or my Make Up Forever 122 brush, but I actually think that using my fingers to apply and blend works better and also saves more of the product. The amount that comes in the bottle I guess is decent for the price. When the pump starts getting harder to dispense it I screw the top off by twisting the base part of the pump and then I kind of bang it on my hand to get the last little bit out, just a helpful tip!

Pros:
Flawless, really does look good in pictures
Has never made me break out (and I have very sensitive skin) or dried my skin.
Looks natural, not cakey.
Does not settle into fine lines.

Cons:
Is stupid expensive
Does not stay 100% perfect all day, sometimes have to reapply

Overall, this is a wonderful foundation and if you are able to shell out the money for it, go for it! Highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RenZen on 4/21/2014 9:54:00 PM more reviews by RenZen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I can't say that I love this foundation. I feel it is perfect for a night out because it does leave a more satin finish and can become quite oily in a short amount of time if you are not careful with touch ups. The Sephora clerk said that this foundation is perfect for pictures and flash so this is not the everyday foundation, at least for me. I also found that this foundation really brought out my flaws rather than covering them lol Going to continue using until product runs out but would not repurchase any time soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luvtolaugh1234 on 4/15/2014 6:07:00 PM more reviews by luvtolaugh1234

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG foundation! I apply it with the MAC 187 brush (the stiffling one) and buff it in and it looks flawless and makes my skin look airbrushed. And it doesn't break me out! I only wish it wasn't so pricey

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Nusaiba on 4/11/2014 7:04:00 PM more reviews by Nusaiba

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product, it doesn't give you a full coverage which is perfect for everyday's use, my skin looks really flawless when I apply it with the '' too faced oil free primer " the only problem I face with this product is that it doesn't stay matte for a long time, and you'll start getting greasy especially in the summertime , I don't think I'll repurchase it again because it doesn't suit my oily skin.


1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 30rockette on 4/11/2014 4:36:00 PM more reviews by 30rockette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This foundation range, while pretty broad in a lot of ways, really needs to recognize that pale, neutral-undertoned girls exist. I've seen so many wonderful photos of this foundation being worn by various people, and I wanted to try it out, but sadly the lightest shades were either cotton candy pink or lemonade yellow.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Foundations products