Clinique • Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(1091 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 JJPretty on 9/25/2009 3:03:00 PM more reviews by JJPretty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of this and tried it out first on the back of my hands as I am very susceptible to breakouts from new products. I was amazed at what it did for my skin texture. AMAZING! So after using a mask (proactiv refining) I tried it on my face. So far, so good. The texture looks smooth and it initially seemed to absorb well, altho it still feels a bit stick (not oily). My face also feels tight--could be from the mask. Regarding purchasing it again, I put yes, but i am very fickle so that may change.

UPDATE--on day 2 of this. I like it. Seems to be moisturizing without the greasy feel of most creams. My face does feel a bit tight, and like other reviewers, I think it might be sitting on top of my skin like a barrier--because when I wash my face it feel slick. Stay tuned---

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jlinh2u on 9/23/2009 2:29:00 PM more reviews by jlinh2u

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome moisturizer for combination skin. Picked this up for cheap at my local CCO. It is a gel consistency, almost no fragrance, and absorbs into the skin very well. My make-up seems to hold longer and my t-zone doesn't get as shiny. Great product. I would definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kms83 on 9/22/2009 8:52:00 AM more reviews by kms83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe that some of the ratings for this are so low! I've been using this after my anti-blemish 3 step each night and my skin feels so soft and plump in the morning. I wouldn't use it as a day cream as it doesn't have any SPF, but if my skin is really dry, it just sinks in and I can put some more on until my moisture levels are completely topped up.

In addition to being oil-free, it also encourages my skin to produce less oil as my skin produces oil because it is too dry. It is expensive, but compared to other creams where you normally get 30ml for 30, you get 50ml for 30. It is now a staple in my daily routine and I don't think I will ever stop using it - congrats Clinique on an amazing product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amandapaije on 9/21/2009 9:37:00 PM more reviews by amandapaije

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product. I was using the dramatically different moisturizer before and after years of using it, it just wasn't working for me anymore and I switched to this. I can't believe there were so many negative reviews. A little of this stuff goes a long way and it really helps soothe my dry skin. I love putting it in under my makeup, sometimes my foundation can look cakey because of my dry skin and this stuff really helps prevent that. I love the way it makes my skin feel soooooo soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 beautygirl82 on 9/16/2009 8:49:00 PM more reviews by beautygirl82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I took my moisture surge back the other day as i felt it wasnt doing anything for my skin and the women at the counter told me that u have to use another moisturiser ontop of this!
HUH well they never told me that when i bought the rubbish thing! why do i need to use two moisturisers??? Anyway i dont think this product was worth 30, wat a rip off!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mousebaby70 on 9/12/2009 11:53:00 PM more reviews by mousebaby70

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Let me tell you what a waste of money this product is. First of all, the only reason I purchased this was because the clinique ladies persuaded me that it was something to be used throughout the day to freshen the face. I must admit, when you put this cream on your face you do feel this fresh sensation (although I didn't much care for the tingling sensation--I just thought that it was working its magic. It's not very pleasant actually) but after that feeling is gone, and all your make-up has come off...your realize that it hasn't really done anything special. The cosmeticians also advice me to use this WITH a moisturizer, so when I tried using this alone it is not very exceptional or effective or moisturizing the least bit. After using it alone and with moisturizer for two weeks I started to notice that my forehead and chin were irritated and VERY dry, and when I stopped using it, it went away. The most unusual quality I discovered about this product was that, (after making sure that my sister and mom hadn't gotten their grubby little paws into it) I started to notice that it just happened to evaporate little by little if the lid isn't closed on very very tightly. It just disappears, poof!

Awful and useless product to say the least.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ispirazione on 9/9/2009 5:06:00 AM more reviews by Ispirazione

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am so surprised by some of the negative reviews of this product. I still love you, moisture surge!!!
My skin is prone to feeling dry and tight just out of the shower. When I break out, those areas tend to scab and flake. This cream is the only thing that soothes and hydrates my skin enough that I am able to apply my foundation. Without this cream, my foundation looks cakey and uneven.
I apply this cream as soon as I get out of the shower, not giving a lot of the water moisture on my face time to dry. I find that applying this cream to a wet face really locks in the moisture so that I can apply my foundation flawlessly. This cream really looks amazing under makeup and I will continue to use it under my makeup.
I do not use this cream at night as I have read that some have tried to do. I do not believe that this is the function of the cream. On the box it reads that it can "even be applied over makeup" making it seem to me like this cream is supposed to be paired with your makeup throughout the day. And if it can be paired with makeup, even over it, then clearly it is not a heavy cream meant to be super moisturizing and used as a mask (although instructions on how much to apply and how long to leave on for a mask are available).
Basically, if you have dry skin that needs an extra dose of moisture and smoothing before you apply your makeup, this cream will give you just that and prepare your skin for your makeup without being oily or heavy feeling underneath. It makes your skin feel very soft and smooth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 yw8808 on 9/8/2009 2:38:00 AM more reviews by yw8808

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I can't express how much I hate this cream. I got the full size cream as part of a package so the price was actually better than the normal retail price.. however, the cream sucks!! It doesn't get absorbed so by the end of the day, it's still sitting on the surface of my skin and i can rub it all off! i hate it when a cream does that!
I tell myself that perhaps for the cream to moisturize, it just purposely makes the cream not absorbed so that there's a layer between the skin and the environment (a bit like the layer of natural wax on an apple) to prevent drying. but even at that, it doesn't keep the moisture! my skin feels dry 5 min after application and i need to slap on an extra layer of this cream.

right now i'm just trying super hard to finish my jar and no i wont buy this again even if you pay me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jbluver on 9/2/2009 3:24:00 PM more reviews by Jbluver

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

To start off with, this is my absolute FAVORITE moisturizer! I first heard about it on youtube from gals who used Clinique's 3 step and in the winter, needed an extra moisturizer and went to this. So I forgot about it and later on when I switched from drugstore acne regimens (FAIL) to Clinique's advanced acne 3 step system I started getting dry all over my face and my skin was like flaking off, it was awful! I THINK it was from the alcohol in the toner (step 2) but anywho, I called clinique and they suggested this. I went to their site and looked it up, and found that 1.7 oz is $34! Personally that's a bit steep for me, so I was lucky enough to swap for it. I've been using it in place of the acne moisturizer at night and ADORE it!
Moisture surge cleared up the dryness within literally 2-4 days! I was shocked. The consistency is very nice, I'm not sure how to describe it, maybe creamy, but not thick? and I adore that it's not oily!! YAY!

I apply it by putting it on my 2nd and 3rd fingers and gently patting it all over; a little bit goes SO far!! I've had a 75%-ish full jar for about 1.5-2 months and now I've got about 1/4th left :D

So I'm very surprised by all the negative reviews on this...but I definitely reccomend you to at least get a sample if possible from Clinique and just try it out for a few days :)

I hope that helps :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 titina206 on 8/24/2009 8:28:00 AM more reviews by titina206

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

First of all I have to say that this is one of my staples.
I have combo to oily skin (depending on the day) and even though this product is not specifically made for oily skin this works on my skin.
It does not make my skin shinnier or oilier, but I really feel it smoother. It works wonders on me on windy days (if I don't use it, my skin tends to produce more oil, and this product saves me this problem).
Other uses: I also use it on my knees and elvows when they get dry and any body milk or body moisturizer does not work.
I used once on my father face (he worked outside the whole day and ended up with some sun burns -he didn't used any sunscreen- and the day after that his skin was back to normal again!! Not even red!)
There are a couple of things I don't like about this product: 1) Does not have SPF. 2) It's not cheap...
I will repurchase again (I've been using it for 2 years now, but I don't use it as an everyday moiturizer.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Moisturizers products