Clinique • Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(1097 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ulalegna on 11/4/2009 10:22:00 AM more reviews by ulalegna

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I usually don't post reviews of products I use, because none have been without flaw. But I felt obliged to review moisture surge, because I'm so glad that I have finally found THE perfect moisturiser for me after years of skipping between skincare regimes! I was initially put off by the sounds of 'moisure surge' with my oily skin. I had only ever used oil free, matte, gel-like moisturisers previously. But I'd found that although they gave me a matte finish in the first hour or two after application, they made my skin more oily in the hours thereafter. I think it's because they actually don't provide enough moisture, and so triggers the skin's natural mechanism to deal with dryness - and that is to produce more oil. Moisture surge actually HYDRATES my skin, without being at all greesy. It give a matte finish and it stays matte for hours. I can put as much of it on as I need, and my skin would absorb it all. Best of all, it doesn't give me breakouts that I get from using moisturisers generally. So moisture surge is definitely not only for dry skins, and can be perfect for oily skins like mine. 5 stars from me on this one :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dumbdookie on 10/16/2009 1:09:00 AM more reviews by dumbdookie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This product is in gel form and when applied, it is light and makes your face feel cool and refreshed. It works great as an every day casual moisturizer, but it is too light to be used as a nighttime cream/moisturizer. This product sits well under make up.

One of the cons of this product is that after putting it on, my face feels a bit sticky and it stays that way. But it's not too bad, so I definitely will repurchase this product again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 velikii on 10/13/2009 8:41:00 PM more reviews by velikii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This moisturizer is in a gel form, is very hydrating yet feels light and does not leave an oily residue. It's great as a nighttime moisturizer but you can also use it during the day, along with sunscreen, of course. I really like it because it's not pore-clogging and it restores moisture to my skin, keeping it soft and supple. My only complaint is that it comes in a jar—if it would come in a more sanitary packaging, it'd be perfect. Still, it's pretty good! I will definitely keep purchasing this.

EDIT: Unfortunately I had to stop using this product because it gave me a small rash all over. I ended up giving it to my mother to try it and she loved it. It just didn't work for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MrsDevall on 10/1/2009 6:05:00 AM more reviews by MrsDevall

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I got two of these from the recent GWP and thought to myself "What the heck am I going to do with this?". My skin is pretty normal, not too dry or oily, and even in winter just a light moisturizer is enough to do the trick.

Then I got an idea. I figured if it's that great and I have two, I'd try it on my horribly dry elbows, after all I could always give away the other one. Well, let me tell you...I used a prescription lotion from my derm twice a day for over a month with little result. I used this once at night for two days and have silky smooth elbows. This even blew away the prescription. I've been using this for five days now and the difference is incredible. Now I won't have to worry about having ouchtastic cracked elbows this winter.

Plus, with this, a little bit goes a long way. After five days of use, and storing it upright, I still haven't even finished what little bit was stuck to the cap. I doubt I'll need to buy a jar at all this winter, but when I run out of what I have I have no doubt that I will. It's mighty expensive, but for something that works this good, I'd be willing to pay just about anything.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 RAWRitsCM on 9/29/2009 9:07:00 PM more reviews by RAWRitsCM

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I'm already at my 2nd jar! It's probably the best moisturizer I've used so far.
The other moisturizers I've used either did nothing to my skin or was way too oily. I love that its unscented and oil free. It just melts into my skin without leaving a sticky residue.
Though I love this product, I don't really find the 5-minute mask* (a layer of this moisturizer) that great. In fact, the mask burns my face.

*There's a suggestion on the bottom of the jar for a 5-min moisturizing mask.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 reneesan on 9/28/2009 12:29:00 AM more reviews by reneesan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

My favorite Clinique moisturizer! I love gel-based moisturizers. Makes my skin feel and look refreshed. I only wish I could afford to purchase more often. For my skin needs, the Clinique skin care line is perfect. When my finances are more in order and back on track, I look forward to returning to using all their skin care products.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JJPretty on 9/25/2009 3:03:00 PM more reviews by JJPretty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of this and tried it out first on the back of my hands as I am very susceptible to breakouts from new products. I was amazed at what it did for my skin texture. AMAZING! So after using a mask (proactiv refining) I tried it on my face. So far, so good. The texture looks smooth and it initially seemed to absorb well, altho it still feels a bit stick (not oily). My face also feels tight--could be from the mask. Regarding purchasing it again, I put yes, but i am very fickle so that may change.

UPDATE--on day 2 of this. I like it. Seems to be moisturizing without the greasy feel of most creams. My face does feel a bit tight, and like other reviewers, I think it might be sitting on top of my skin like a barrier--because when I wash my face it feel slick. Stay tuned---

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jlinh2u on 9/23/2009 2:29:00 PM more reviews by jlinh2u

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome moisturizer for combination skin. Picked this up for cheap at my local CCO. It is a gel consistency, almost no fragrance, and absorbs into the skin very well. My make-up seems to hold longer and my t-zone doesn't get as shiny. Great product. I would definitely buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kms83 on 9/22/2009 8:52:00 AM more reviews by kms83

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I can't believe that some of the ratings for this are so low! I've been using this after my anti-blemish 3 step each night and my skin feels so soft and plump in the morning. I wouldn't use it as a day cream as it doesn't have any SPF, but if my skin is really dry, it just sinks in and I can put some more on until my moisture levels are completely topped up.

In addition to being oil-free, it also encourages my skin to produce less oil as my skin produces oil because it is too dry. It is expensive, but compared to other creams where you normally get 30ml for £30, you get 50ml for £30. It is now a staple in my daily routine and I don't think I will ever stop using it - congrats Clinique on an amazing product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amandapaije on 9/21/2009 9:37:00 PM more reviews by amandapaije

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product. I was using the dramatically different moisturizer before and after years of using it, it just wasn't working for me anymore and I switched to this. I can't believe there were so many negative reviews. A little of this stuff goes a long way and it really helps soothe my dry skin. I love putting it in under my makeup, sometimes my foundation can look cakey because of my dry skin and this stuff really helps prevent that. I love the way it makes my skin feel soooooo soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Moisturizers products