Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1080 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


on 3/15/2008 9:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am bummed to see this product receiving a low rating! It's by no means a concealing miracle powder, but it does exactly what its name says - giving the face a glowing look. It looks matte but at the same time dewy = healthy looking skin. I have this in the original shade as well as the tinted. 95% of the products I use are Bare Minerals, so this product is the perfect finishing touch to my makeup application. Plus all BM products last FOREVER. Use this under or over makeup, or what I like to do is swirl it into my flawless face brush and throw it in my purse before a night out, really nails my touchups. Works well as an eyeshadow primer, too.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 3/9/2008 5:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i love that this sets my makeup and doesnt give me a chalky matte look that most powders do, rather a nice sheer cover w/ a slightly iridescent glow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2008 8:04:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm on my second Mineral Veil. It lasts such a long time and a little goes a long way. It's finely milled and gives such a nice soft-focus look. Mineral Veil also works wonders with softening blush. Best of all, it keeps oil at bay. I've used many loose and pressed translucent powders since I was a teenager. This is the best by far! For the $, it's worth it. Highly recommended!
Also, I use this over BE Foundation in Fairly Light. And it works well over Cosmedicine Medi-Matte Oil Control Tint in light.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/8/2008 12:02:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'll probably buy again, but it certainly isn't the HG I've been looking for. It seems to accentuate my dry areas more, but it doesn't last, and I get oily and makeup gets patchy as the day goes on. It's difficult to touch up easily, too, without making a mess. I would also prefer a yellow tone color rather than the pink. I'll keep looking though, and if you have any better suggestions for combo skin, let me know. Oh, and I think it's way too expensive and doesn't last that long. I swear the last container I bought, too, was only half filled.


on 3/7/2008 11:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got this in the starter kit and never used it. I found it to be an extraneous step. It didnt seem to alter the look or feel of the BM Foundation. I mean the foundation is a powder so why would you need another powder to set it?

I honestly threw this out and I just use the foundation by itself. I have no complaints just doing that.

Bottom Line: I think Mineral Veil is a waste of time and money.


on 3/7/2008 7:26:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After reading all the great reviews and expecting something amazing, I was so disappointed with Mineral Veil! I have fairly oily skin, and this did nothing to control my shine. I gave it a 2 because it did absorb oil but also accentuated the shine on my face from the BE foundation. This may work for people who like the dewy look, but I definitely wouldn't recommend to anyone with oily or combination skin.


on 3/5/2008 4:17:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love it that it looks light and sheer, but I was shiny again within the hour. I would then have to reapply it several times during the day which I'm not very thrilled about. I would buy it again though -- just because it does look good on me when newly applied -- unless I find a better alternative.


on 3/1/2008 11:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I love the clean, matte finish of mineral veil. I use bare minerals foundations almost everyday on my acne prone combination skin and this has never made me breakout. I have also used the mineral veil over liquid foundation and it looked great. One of my favorite bare minerals products


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The crowning glory of the BE collection. I don't like BE foundation much, but the Mineral Veil is amazing. I use it on top of my Pur Minerals to give me a nice, even finish. It mattifies the skin and makes my large pores less noticable. Since I have really oily skin, this effect does not last however and I require a touch-up. And unlike my previous experience with BE foundation, oddly enough this powder doesn't feel heavy or cakey.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/21/2008 5:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I'm not a huge fan of Bare Escentuals foundation but I love love love mineral veil. I use it to set my foundation.

I have sensitive skin and I love the fact that this product never makes me breakout. It fills in your pores and doesn't sit on your face or emphasize dry or problem areas. On days that I don't use this as a finishing touch, my makeup doesn't last throughout the day and I'm constantly having to reapply.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Rose Radiance

76 reviews
image

Faux Tan

257 reviews
Back to Top