Cetaphil • Daily Facial Cleanser (Normal to Oily Skin) • Cleansers

rated 3.5(1111 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Extrapolate73sp on 10/26/2009 9:36:00 PM more reviews by Extrapolate73sp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great basic cleanser if you don't wear heavy makeup or sunscreen daily. lt doesn't dry out my skin or leave a film, doesn't contain a heavy fragrance, and has a convenient pump dispenser. This cleanser is great for prepping my skin for the barrage of anti-acne products that I use day and night (Differin, clindamycin solution, benzoyl peroxide). The bottle is rather difficult to travel with because it tends to leak, but that's nothing a plastic travel bottle can't fix. I'm trying out Neutrogena's redness soothing line because I want something with salicyclic acid in it, but if that doesn't work out, I am definitely returning to this old stand-by.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jillian980 on 10/22/2009 9:41:00 PM more reviews by jillian980

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Blue    

I spent the whole of my adolescence and early 20s searching for the perfect skin cleanser. I would bounce back and forth between brands; Neutrogena, Clinique, Biore, etc. but never found one to stick to. Then I tried Cetaphil and I haven't looked back since. It isn't too harsh, doesn't irritate my skin, removes my makeup, it's just perfect. I've been using this for about 2 years now and I doubt I'll ever switch.

I've found it's also great for cleaning makeup brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* XoXoSinCity on 10/22/2009 7:28:00 AM more reviews by XoXoSinCity

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This cleanser is such an unexpected wonder for me! lol LOVE IT. Honestly I haven't been a fan of drugstore cleansers ever after trying many in my teens that did nothing but dry out my skin and still do for many due to all the sulfates and harsh ingredients in them that counteract all their claims of healing and clearing. Anyhow Im always cleanser obessed even though my HG wil and always be Philosophy Purity for it's amazingness. Yet ofcourse Im an addict and can't resist trying new things thinkin I might run across something even better lol. I never planned on trying this but finally gave in after the billion glowing reviews. I have normal healthy skin that is clear but pain in the ass clog prone so always have to use a very deep cleaning cleanser (sulfate free) that yet never dries me out. I have to say the smell of this cleanser is definitely a little distrubing to say the least lol which is why i first just thought I'ld try it as an eye makeup remover randomly and still in shock at how easily it melted off my waterproof everything lol. It has good ingredients and don't think it will dry out my eyes and just can't believe it works better at removing my makeup thatn my current favorite Mac Cleanse Off Oil or Dior Cleansing Gelee considering it's about 5 times less the cost and drugstore cleanser. I have always wanted to find a daily cleanser that I can double up as a heavy eye makeup remover (that keeps my eyes super soft) but no cleanser I have ever used, sadly not even the Philosophy, has ever been able to completely wash off every last drop of makeup in one wash after only seconds of rubbing (an I'm not jk when I say I have sickly tried every cleanser about on the market haha). As a daily cleanser for your face in general this left my face feeling clean and nice but ofcourse I'm just not sold on it as a cleanser yet since the ingredients and smell don't compare to how pleasant and enjoyable Philosphy is. Also I have to put this to the test to see how clear it keeps my skin and if it doesn't dry your skin our over time which I feel like it might. As of now however this is my new hg makeup remover when I run out of my Mac Cleansing Oil as the Cetaphil will last 50 times longer at such a cheaper price. Definitely worth trying! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* RachelisGreen on 10/22/2009 2:32:00 AM more reviews by RachelisGreen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a pretty pricey drug store brand (almost $7), but it works so good that it's worth it. Even though I have dry skin I accidentally grabbed this in the Normal to Oily formula and so far it has worked really well! I use it with my St Ives Apricot Scrub and it doesn't dry me out and keeps my skin clear. I love it. Smells really clean and your skin really feels nice! I like how you are reassured that it leaves no residue on your skin. I love this stuff. It's really pure and has good gentle ingredients, not too many harsh chemicals.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 becca19 on 10/19/2009 9:08:00 PM more reviews by becca19

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like this cleanser. It has cleared up my face since I started using it. It makes my skin feel clean after using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Retromom104 on 10/19/2009 8:52:00 AM more reviews by Retromom104

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My derm gave me samples of this to try. Could someone tell me why a cleanser that is supposed to be so gentle would have parabens and fragrance in it? It irritated my skin and I would wake up at night because of all the fragrance in this. I wish I could give this a 0 rating.

I am sticking with my Dermalogica Ultracalming Cleanser. I don't care if my derm poo-poo'd it or not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hyperj00 on 10/17/2009 10:41:00 PM more reviews by hyperj00

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Good, basic cleanser. Cleans without overdrying or leaving a residue. Still looking for a HG, but this will do in the meantime. I use this with the clarisonic brush and it seems to keep acne to a minimum.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 akagon on 10/10/2009 8:49:00 AM more reviews by akagon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I wouldn't buy this again only because my skin type has changed lately to normal/dry. I loved it and it worked quite well when I had acne prone skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Belleangelie on 10/7/2009 12:14:00 AM more reviews by Belleangelie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

The worst cleanser I've ever used. This left my face fine after washed it, I didn't find it that it left my skin tight or dry but it didn't feel particularly clean. Maybe 45 minutes after I had washed it, my face was like an oil well. I could literally wipe oil off my face it was the most disgusting feeling in the world and that happened every time I used this product.

I'm not even that oily to begin with so for a "Face Wash" to make me that oily is ridiculous.Thank god I got samples of this and didn't waste my money. Even Neutrogena's oil free face wash that left my skin tight and dry is preferable to feeling like an oil slick. Combination skin be wary of this product.

P.S. I wish I could give this a 0 honestly its not even worth a rating of one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xoxomystyle on 10/3/2009 2:02:00 AM more reviews by xoxomystyle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

this product is working well for me it does it's job but recently since winter is coming my skin becomes kind of dry and after i wash my face with this it feels so tight and stiff if this keeps happening i'm going to stop using it
overall i'll buy it again in the summer time

edit: Paula Begoun changed her review for cetaphil gentle skin cleanser and i wanted to know if anyone knows if she changed her review for this product too.if you are a subscriber in beautypedia then please tell me through a message!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cetaphil products

More Cleansers products