Bobbi Brown Gel Eyeliner

4.3

1048 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

BOBBI BROWN LONG-WEAR GEL EYELINER INGREDIENTS (2010): isododecane - cyclopentasiloxane - polyethylene - trimethylsiloxysilicate - disteardimonium hectorite - propylene carbonate - lecithin - phenyl trimethicone - hydrogenated polyisobutene - methicone - barium sulfate - bht - phenoxyethanol [ /- iron oxides (ci 77491, ci 77492, ci 77499) - mica - titanium dioxide (ci 77891) - blue 1 lake (ci 42090) - carmine (ci 75470) - chromium oxide greens (ci 77288) - manganese violet (ci 77742) - yellow 5 lake (ci 19140) - chromium hydroxide green (ci 77289) - bismuth oxychloride (ci 77163) - ultramarines (ci 77007) - ferric ferrocyanide (ci 77510)]


on 1/17/2009 1:54:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this eyeliner, could not survive without it. Every "waterproof" or "smudgeproof" eyeliner I've tried prior to this product has always been dissapointing. I'm a dancer so after dancing at 4-8 hour competitions or showcases, my makeup is pretty much non existant. One of the dress designers for Dancing with the Stars and So You Think You Can Dance came by our studio to give us tips and sell us some of her dresses. She introduced me to the Bobbi Brown gel eyeliner telling it was a necessity when dancing. I went out immediately and purchased Expresso. This is a definite HG. I purchased the Bobbi Brown brush and love that as well. It is easy to apply, and you can determine how thick you want your line. Doesn't smude, doesn't fade, great stuff!! Would love to try the other colors!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 1/16/2009 5:09:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

*** Please click "continued" for a swatch pic of all the liners (except Mahogany, as my Nordstrom was OOS)! ***


So, here are my thoughts on these:


1. So many of them are so gorgeous that I don't know what to do with myself except squirm a little.

2. They have fantastic staying power (took FOREVER to get the stripes off my arm!).

3. They are appropriately priced for their quality and the quantity that comes in each pot ($21 each).

4. I can't recall ever hearing a reasonable argument against them (i.e., never seen a bad review that didn't essentially just say "this suxxx").

5. The brush that the BB SA suggested I use on them (incidentally, also the brush depicted to the right) sucks bigtime (see messy swatches for evidence of this). Go for a fine or angled eyeliner brush, please; if you want a smudged line, use a smudge brush afterward. This brush gives a messy, uneven line that's hard to fix or make it look "correctly" smudged. I know smudging isn't supposed to be perfect, but think of it as the ponytail that's messy in an "I need a shower" way, not a "check-me-out sexy" way.

6. Don't trust the names and assume that a lack of the word "shimmer" in the title means there's no shimmer. Violet Ink does have shimmer in real life. On that note, Indigo Ink does NOT have shimmer, as it appears to in the swatch; unfortunately, I think the shimmer present in that swatch was probably residue left on the brush from the previous swatch. (The SA was getting rude and impatient with me by this point and had decided that instead of letting me wash the brush myself between uses, she should take it from me and wipe it with a dry tissue instead.)

7. My favorites were Violet Ink, Chocolate Shimmer Ink, Graphite Shimmer Ink, Sapphire Shimmer Ink, Cobalt Ink, Ivy Shimmer Ink, and Black Mauve Ink. I find the shimmery ones way more enticing than the matte ones, partially because I enjoy some amount of shimmer (and none of the shimmery ones are too over the top except maybe the Bronze - the Stila Bronze Smudge Pot is a better alternative), but mostly because I found the majority of the matte liners to be far less vibrant in color than the shimmer ones. With that said, I also find them to be rather sophisticated in appearance, so they would probably be perfect for the daytime, 9-5 look.


37 out of 38 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2009 1:30:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

My HG eyeliner. I have 5 of them! Even though they're expensive ($18), they will last me a LONG time, I gave it the ultimite test: I wore it when I went to the lake AND while showering. Surprise ...it was still on with no smudges! It comes off easily with makeup remover, though. If you're debating whether to buy this or not ..this is one item that you absolutely *need.* The chocolate shimmer gel eyeliner is my absolute favorite - it looks amazing on people with blue or green eyes!


on 1/14/2009 8:47:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have both chocolate shimmer ink and graphite shimmer ink, and chocolate shimmer is a golden brown with gold shimmer (light color, more shimmer) while graphite ink is a dark grayish black with silver shimmer (dark color, less shimmer).
Gel liner does have both good sides of a pencil and a liquid liner, and with a nice brush and practice, it can be a very versatile liner product depending on how one uses it. Also, a little goes a long way so it's actually cheaper than many pencil liners that you sharpen half of it off, or a liquid liner that will always dry out before finishing. BB gel liners actually stay applicable for a very long time and you can remix it to a softer texture if it's drying out on the surface (a BB SA told me, and it works.)
I have very oily eyelids and the chocolate one smudges a bit but not the graphite one. Recently they seem to bother my eyes(I wear contacts) a little bit more than the pencil liners and liquid liners, maybe it's just me, but hence the 4 lippies.
After all, I think it's a great liner product but it can't replace my liquid ones completely if I need a sharper look. (And it can totally replace pencil liners for me since most of the pencil liners smudges out on me.)


on 1/14/2009 11:00:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my HG eyeliner! I apply with the Sonia Kashuk Bent Eyeliner brush, great application and lasts all day. I'm on my third pot.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have had this product for the longest time.....5-6years and it still looks good on me. it doesn't smudge at all. i work the graveyard shift and no smudges at all. the only problem i have is that it becomes clumpy in the brush and when i start to put it on, some granules would fall in my eye. I spoke to the SR about it and she suggested to put it in the ref since I had it sooo long. I might try the Mac next time but for now, i love this.


on 1/11/2009 5:17:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Love this product! I've had this awhile, but felt like i couldn't put it on smoothly, so i searched for other eyeliners that could take its place. NOTHING could compare to this!!!!!!! I am definitely loving this product ever since i found the ideal brush. I use the shu uemura 4F brush to draw my lines and they look natural, but if i wanted to make it look more dramatic, it could easily be done too! alot of ppl complain about it drying out, but a tip is to place it in front of a hair dryer (or portable heater) and let it moisten out... otherwise it will just flake on you.. and as always, try to put some eyeshadow on ur lid to reduce the chances of it smearing onto ur lid! im one oil slick when it comes to my eyes, and i noticed it hasnt smeared at all lately!

i have espresso, sepia, black mauve shimmer, and black plum ink.
i love espresso-- sepia is a little bit light.. black mauve shimmer is a bit to creamy (makes it a a tad more difficult to put on), and black plum ink is black enough without being too harsh :) love love love and will always be a fan!


on 1/9/2009 11:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Wow, I can't believe so many people are having smudging with this! I love these liners. I use both these and MAC and haven't had a problem with either. What I do like about these better than MAC's is the range of colors. Shimmer Ivy Ink, Shimmer Chocolate Ink and Cobalt Ink are probably my three favs but I love em' all! I find these slightly easier to apply then MAC fluidlines because they have a thicker consistency, but that is just my opinion. I have tried many pot eyeliners and I have found these to be the best by far.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2009 11:14:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Violet

I agree with everyone that is eyeliner has more pros than cons. Much smoother than Mac's Fluidline and very resistant and very black, but if it is at all possible, this can be a disadvantage. It does tend to make the eyes smaller because of it, as someone pointed out earlier.I recently bought the MuGu 3 Eyeliner Gel Set + Eyeliner Brush on Ebay and immediately the difference was clear: bigger eyes, softer look!
And yes, it (BB) does flake a bit. Small specks fall down the cheeks......


on 1/7/2009 11:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

just go ahead and buy it! goes on smooth and lasts all day even in the waterline,transfer-proof and you only need a tiny bit so it will last a loooooooong time (if you don't forget the cap open!!!).
good price for such an excellent product!


Back to Top