Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1059 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tC_girl on 2/16/2008 5:03:00 AM more reviews by tC_girl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Although I no longer use Bare Escentuals on a regular basis (I've since switched to MAC Studio Fix Fluid because I think liquid foundations just cover better and have better staying power), I still like applying Mineral Veil at the end of my makeup routine for finishing touches. In fact, I even carry some around in Bare Escentuals' Flawless Face Case. It's just a nice loose powder that when applied, won't change the color of your underlying makeup (like foundation, blush, bronzer, etc.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* graceface07 on 2/9/2008 7:08:00 PM more reviews by graceface07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

EDIT: although BE will always have my heart I have been converted to Everyday Minerals Silk Dust which is silimar to be but has better oil control and is better priced.

i do like this but as a primer not a powder. using it as a primer i apply BEFORE my BE foundation...i know it sounds backwards but try it! primer is supposed to smooth out pores reduce shine (which is what mineral veil does) so why apply it last? and it makes my BE foundation last longer when applied first. so i do like this but i consider it a primer b/c of the way i use it. its pretty good as a powder on a humid day for touch ups as well. versitile and lasts forever since you only need a little at a time. i usually set my BE foundation with a very light mist of evian spray giving me a creamy looking lasting finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kayelle on 2/9/2008 1:25:00 PM more reviews by Kayelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Mineral Veil is a good loose powder, and it's great over BareMinerals Foundation. It's light, free of parabens, oils, fragrances, etc., and never looks cakey or chalky. There are a few other loose powders I prefer to this, but this does what it should so I'll probably repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jenaht on 2/7/2008 3:51:00 PM more reviews by jenaht

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I think I LOVE Mineral Veil. It can work well under your foundation - but I use it mostly as a finishing powder to help set your foundation. I switched to Everyday Minerals for my foundation [BE foundation irritated skin after several months of use]. I might test out some of their powders, but I doubt I will find something I'll love as much as the Mineral Veil [if I do - I'll write a review about!]



It feels cool to the skin. Silky soft. Refreshing on my face. Mineral Veil helps to minimize my pores. Doesn't irritate my skin. Definitely helps with oil control. I still might have to blot once during the day - but I do carry some Mineral Veil around in the BE compact should I have need. It doesn't do the "cakey" thing that powders can do throughout the day. It just feels good to have on. No smell. No problem with eyes or lungs [by inhaling]. I do use a Flawless Application Brush to put this on and it does work - however I am also searching for the ultimate powder brush.


Be Warned - it can be messy to tap into the lid - but you have to use a restraining hand. It does seem to last a good long time - a plus when spending the coin for it.


The only reason I give this 4 lippies due to possible mess during application as well as cost - $18 is a bit high. But the product really is a gem so perhaps it's worth it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 verykristin on 2/3/2008 7:25:00 PM more reviews by verykristin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I think this is the best of the Bare Escentuals products. It goes on light and blends well. It is the reason for the soft glow when using the minerals. This really is nothing more than a finishing powder, albeit a very nice one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sed_wood on 2/3/2008 2:21:00 PM more reviews by sed_wood

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Excellent as a primer and finshing powder with the bare minerals foundation. Without mineral veil I find that the bare minerals foundation can sometimes go a little shinny. Really lovely fine light powder - I occassionally just wear this on its own.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CarlinaG1 on 2/3/2008 2:03:00 AM more reviews by CarlinaG1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Ummm...I dont understand the point of using this product. I used it for about a couple of weeks and stopped when I tried to cut down on my makeup time. I had started using it because I thought it would give me that "flawless look". But, after I stopped using it I realized that it didnt really do anything, or I would have noticed the difference and started using it again. I think the Bare Essentuals Rose Gossamer does more for your face, I use it over my blush and it gives me that glow!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ejmj on 2/1/2008 9:35:00 PM more reviews by ejmj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I fell in love w/ Bare Minerals for a while, then I realized its just too much work to get it on "just right" Too little and there is no coverage, too much and you look like a clown. I have since switched to tinted moisturizer w/ some loose powder and its 10x easier. The "glow" with this is kind of too obvious.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pathofpeace on 1/25/2008 12:44:00 AM more reviews by pathofpeace

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I really like this product. As others have said, there is a somewhat pinkish hue to the powder but that works great for my complexion.

I apply it after putting on my blush and/or bronzer. It seems to tone down the blush and just set my face evenly, for a more natural look. I have pale skin and too much color on my face looks clownish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ncwclark on 1/21/2008 9:40:00 PM more reviews by ncwclark

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I first bought this when I tried the package deal of mineral makeup with bare escentuals. The main problem is that even though it is tinted, it has a pinkish hue. I'd prefer a yellowish one. I bought a second one even though I don't use their foundation anymore and keep it around. It is okay. It's not my HG of powders but if I run short and need it, it may be my 'go to' powder in a pinch.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products